Category: Non-fiction

Jörg Baberowski
Räume der Gewalt
[Spaces of Violence]

Non-Fiction

Unending Violence?

Can we hope for a peaceful future? Since the Enlightenment, philosophers from Immanuel Kant to Karl Marx have devised narratives of progress promising that violence would be kept in check. Even in the gloomy year of 1939, Norbert Elias in The Civilizing Process told the story of such progress, and he is not the only one to share this view of history. In a much noted book, The Better Angels of Our Nature: A History of Violence and Humanity (2011), psychologist Steven Pinker affirms once more the notion of a peaceful future by pointing to the evidence of historical progress toward nonviolence.

To clear up this promise of improvement is the aim of Jörg Baberowski, a Berlin-based historian of Eastern Europe, in his latest compact work Räume der Gewalt [Spaces of Violence]. If we examine the rich history of human experiences and practices with violence, a history that reaches into the present, a simple anthropological truth is revealed: Man is a violent creature. Historical empiricism shows that human beings have used violence in the most varied epochs and constellations--and that violence always produces more violence Those who profit from such situations in which cruelty is no longer sanctioned can let violence become the norm. And such "violence experts" do not even have to be psychopaths. Once we are socially disinhibited, we injure, torture, and kill for many reasons--not just out of sadism or the desire for power but also, for instance, out of a sense of duty. At best "civilization" acts here to slow the process but it also often intensifies it, as evidenced in the extremes and atrocities of the recent past. "In its potential for annihilation," the author argues, violence has "become the mark of the 20th century." Baberowski does not believe in progress but is even less a theoretician of decadence, for "humanity [...] has never been any different."

Space plays a special role in this work. Time and again, "spaces of violence" have opened up that produce and permit more violence—ranging from the colony to the concentration camp and on to regions afflicted by terrorism. Baberowski’s background as a specialist of Stalinist terror becomes relevant here: he is highly familiar with the deep recesses of the history of violence, and he knows how to describe them in often shocking intensity and clarity. In his focus on how human beings hurt and feel pain ("[I]f no one has pain, then there has been no violence") Baberowski is at the same time applying a narrow concept of violence, when compared to other sociologists of violence. He does not want to hear about structural or epistemic violence, or violence without a concrete perpetrator. Instead, he highlights the immediacy of the victim-perpetrator relationship. He is thus consciously distinguishing himself from the recent expansion of the concept of violence. However, he may also in the process be overlooking important insights on violence in complex social systems where direct physical brutality is frowned upon but more indirect forms of it are permitted.

Of course, not all spaces and epochs are equally violent, as Baberowski clearly differentiates in his book. Social and political orders are possible that prevent spaces of violence in the making and sanction cruelty in a preemptive fashion. There is no such thing as absolute security that never slips into the normality of violence, for systems of security are able to turn into their violent opposite. In the 17th century, political philosopher Thomas Hobbes had ruled out the possibility of state terror that so doubtlessly typifies the 20th century and our present one as well.

Although this small volume is easily comprehensible, it is--precisely because of its clarity--a challenging read: Baberowski lets us hear in detail from witnesses to the worst moments of violence in recent history, from Rwanda to Auschwitz. Nonetheless, for all its pessimism, his book is unsettling and its political implications are important. For only if we acknowledge how the worst is always possible will we be able to counteract it: by closing up spaces of violence wherever they may be opening up.
Eva Marlene Hausteiner

By Eva Marlene Hausteiner, 22.08.2016

Dr. Eva Marlene Hausteiner is a Research Associate in Political Theory and the History of Ideas at the Humboldt University of Berlin and works on issues of imperial and federal systems. Her book, Greater than Rome. Neubestimmungen britischer Imperialität 1870-1914 (Campus Verlag), was published in 2015.

Translated by David A. Brenner

Sparte: Sachbuch

Jörg Baberowski
Räume der Gewalt

Sachbuch

Gewalt ohne Ende?

Können wir auf eine friedliche Zukunft hoffen? Seit der Aufklärung haben Philosophen von Immanuel Kant bis Karl Marx Fortschrittsnarrative entworfen, die die Einhegung von Gewalt versprechen. Noch im düsteren Jahr 1939 hat Norbert Elias mit Der Prozess der Zivilisation die Geschichte eines solchen Fortschritts erzählt und bleibt weiterhin mit diesem Geschichtsbild kaum allein: Im vielbeachteten Buch Gewalt. Eine neue Geschichte der Menschheit (2011) bejahte der Psychologe Steven Pinker erneut die Frage nach einer friedlichen Zukunft, indem er auf historische Fortschritte hin zur Gewaltlosigkeit verwies.

Mit diesem Versprechen aufräumen will der Berliner Osteuropahistoriker Jörg Baberowski in seinem neuesten, kompakten Buch Räume der Gewalt. Ein Blick in die reichhaltige und bis in die Gegenwart reichende Geschichte menschlicher Gewalterfahrungen und –praktiken erweise eine einfache anthropologische Wahrheit: Der Mensch ist ein Gewaltwesen. Die geschichtliche Empirie zeige, dass Menschen in den unterschiedlichsten Epochen und Konstellationen Gewalt ausüben – und dass Gewalt stets mehr Gewalt produziert. Profiteure solcher Situationen, in denen Grausamkeit nicht mehr sanktioniert wird, lassen diese zur Normalität werden, und dabei müssen diese „Gewaltexperten" nicht einmal Psychopathen sein. Einmal sozial enthemmt, verletzen, foltern und töten wir aus vielen Motiven - nicht allein aus Sadismus oder Machtstreben, sondern beispielsweise auch zur Pflichterfüllung. Die „Zivilisation" wirkt hier allenfalls verlangsamend, oft aber auch verstärkend, wie gerade die Extreme und Grausamkeiten der jüngsten Vergangenheit zeigten: Die Gewalt sei „in ihrer Vernichtungspotenz [...]zum Signum des 20. Jahrhunderts geworden." Jörg Baberowski glaubt nicht an den Fortschritt, ist aber ebenso wenig Dekadenztheoretiker: „Der Mensch [...] ist niemals ein anderer gewesen."

Eine besondere Rolle spiele hier der Raum. Immer wieder täten sich „Räume der Gewalt" auf, die weiter Gewalt hervorbringen und gestatten – von der Kolonie über das Konzentrationslager bis hin zur vom Terror geschüttelten Region. Baberowskis Hintergrund als Kenner des Stalinschen Terrors kommt hier zum Tragen: Die tiefen Abgründe der Geschichte der Gewalt kennt er gut, und er weiß sie in oft erschütternder Eindringlichkeit und Anschaulichkeit zu beschreiben. In seinem Fokus auf das Zufügen und Erleiden von Schmerz („[W]enn niemand Schmerzen hat, gibt es auch keine Gewalt") legt Baberowski, gerade im Vergleich zu anderen Gewaltsoziologien, gleichzeitig einen engen Gewaltbegriff an: Von struktureller oder epistemischer Gewalt, von Gewalt ohne konkreten Täter will er nichts wissen, sondern betont die Unmittelbarkeit der Täter-Opfer-Beziehung. Damit setzt er sich bewusst von der jüngeren Ausweitung des Gewaltbegriffes ab – verpasst aber damit möglicherweise auch wichtige Einsichten zur Gewalt in komplexen sozialen Ordnungen, in denen direkte physische Brutalität verpönt ist, indirektere Formen aber zulässig sind.

Freilich sind nicht alle Räume und Epochen gleichermaßen gewalttätig, wie Baberowski differenziert: Es gibt Möglichkeiten der sozialen und politischen Ordnung, die die Gewalträume am Entstehen hindern und Grausamkeit präventiv sanktionieren. Absolute Sicherheit vor dem Abrutschen in die Normalität der Gewalt gibt es aber nicht, denn auch die Ordnungen der Sicherheit können in ihr gewaltsames Gegenteil umschlagen: Der Staatstheoretiker Thomas Hobbes habe im 17. Jahrhundert jene Möglichkeit des Staatsterrors verschwiegen, die das 20. Jahrhundert und wohl auch unsere Gegenwart so unzweifelhaft prägt.

Obwohl das schmale Buch gut verständlich geschrieben ist, ist es – gerade aufgrund seiner Anschaulichkeit – eine herausfordernde Lektüre: Baberowski lässt Zeugen der schlimmsten Gewaltmomente der jüngeren Geschichte ausführlich zu Wort kommen, von Ruanda bis Auschwitz. Doch es ist, trotz allen Pessimismus, auch eine aufrüttelnde Lektüre mit politisch wichtigen Implikationen. Nur dann nämlich, wenn wir die ständige Möglichkeit des Schlimmsten anerkennen, können wir ihr entgegenwirken: Durch das Verschließen von Räumen der Gewalt, wo immer sie sich gerade auftun.
Eva Marlene Hausteiner

Von Eva Marlene Hausteiner, 22.08.2016

Dr. Eva Marlene Hausteiner ist Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in Politischer Theorie und Ideengeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und arbeitet zu Fragen imperialer und föderaler Ordnungen. 2015 erschien ihr Buch Greater than Rome. Neubestimmungen britischer Imperialität 1870-1914 (Campus Verlag).