Category: Non-fiction

Josef H. Reichholf
Johann Brandstetter (Illustrator)

Evolution. Eine kurze Geschichte von Mensch und Natur
[Evolution: A Short History of Humans and Nature]

Non-Fiction

Why are we the way we are

An era of major climatic fluctuation began around two million years ago. Hippopotamuses were sometimes romping about on the banks of the Thames; as were shaggy-haired woolly rhinoceroses on the frozen ground of Central Europe. The ancestors of modern humans had to figure out how to survive. And they did survive. Their brains increased in size, their larynxes shifted lower, making speech possible, and that in turn improved their ability to work together. Human babies were born increasingly early, and the mothers, who had long since started walking on two legs, could carry them when it was time once again to migrate, sometimes to the north, sometimes to the south, wherever it seemed that life would be easier. Thus, climate change probably made us more intelligent.

In his new book, biologist Josef Reichholf, a disputatious environmentalist who has been acclaimed for his understandable science books, does not just recount the history of evolution from the primordial soup to the human being; he starts with humanity and shows us how knowledge of evolution can help us understand why we are the way we are.

Evolution, according to Reichholf, stands for diversity. It never attains a stable, much less an optimal state. It does not know purpose, only changes, which either help or hurt those affected. Just as black skin is advantageous in bright sunlight where solar radiation is intense, white skin is beneficial in colder climates where people have to wear clothing and the few remaining exposed skin areas need to receive enough sunlight for their skin to absorb sufficient vital vitamin D.

Regarding human natural history, Reichholf explains how genetic family trees are created and what they reveal about us, our ancestors, and their dispersal throughout the world. Not only do they tell us that humans came from Africa, but also that the migratory movements were so complex that it makes no sense to speak of human races. The genetic diversity within a group of people is greater than the differences between the different "cultures" or "peoples" who like to think of themselves as a unit.

With respect to the natural history of the oldest pet of humans, the dog, Reichholf describes the mechanisms of evolution, such as that mutations in regulator genes can have a great impact very quickly. Here too he does not shy away from relating the theory of evolution to current problems: When humans practice extreme breeding of dogs that cannot survive on their own, it should give us food for thought when we consider intervening in our own evolution. It shows how difficult it is to make sustaining plans for the future.

Of course Reichholf’s story of evolution also includes the classics: the tree of life, which connects all forms of life, plants and animals and humans; the dinosaurs and their extinction triggered by the impact of a comet; and the diversity of bird beaks, which shows how different species specialize on a particular food source or way of life.

Reichholf follows a common thread connecting all this diversity. Evolution, he says, means becoming more independent of the environment. This process started around three-and-a-half billion years ago, when the first cells isolated themselves from their surroundings and strictly controlled what was allowed in and what was not. Today a complex brain is well-protected in a sturdy skull and with its help human beings, more than any other species, have emancipated themselves from nature. Might they even be going too far?

In the third and last part of the book the author returns to humanity and asks about its future: We are by far the most warring living beings on earth, Reichholf declares, and a double-page illustration depicts the "progress" in weapons technology from the hand axe to the machine gun. Aggression and the willingness to defend one’s own group against animals and other people have long benefitted humans in the history of evolution. Now they are causing problems for our coexistence. Can we be both human beings and humane, asks Reichholf. He sees hope in the connecting power of the digital media. The computer generation is the first generation to have the means and the language through which individual human beings can be united into one humanity.

Reichholf has once again written an extraordinarily readable book. Numerous drawings by illustrator Johann Brandstetter accompany the explanations; important key words are highlighted in color; boxes at the margins provide summaries or additional information. But most importantly, Evolution: Eine kurze Geschichte von Mensch und Natur (Evolution: A Short History of Humans and Nature) shows that evolution is not just a boring theory, but instead it helps us understand ourselves and some of our most pressing concerns.
Manuela Lenzen

By Manuela Lenzen, 10.11.2016

Manuela Lenzen is a freelance science journalist. The main subject areas of her writing are evolution, cognition, and artificial intelligence.

Translated by Allison Brown

Sparte: Sachbuch

Josef H. Reichholf
Johann Brandstetter (Illustrator)

Evolution. Eine kurze Geschichte von Mensch und Natur

Sachbuch

Warum wir sind, wie wir sind

Vor rund zwei Millionen Jahren begann eine Epoche großer klimatischer Schwankungen: Mal tummelten sich Nilpferde an den Ufern der Themse, mal zottelige Wollnashörner auf dem gefrorenen Boden Mitteleuropas. Und die Vorfahren der modernen Menschen mussten zusehen, wie sie damit zurechtkamen. Sie kamen zurecht: Ihre Gehirne wurden größer, der Kehlkopf verlagerte sich nach unten und ermöglichte das Sprechen, welches sie wiederum besser zusammenarbeiten ließ. Die Menschenbabys wurden immer früher geboren, die Mütter, längst auf zwei Beinen unterwegs, konnten sie bei sich tragen, wenn es wieder einmal weiterzuziehen galt, mal nach Norden, mal nach Süden, immer dorthin, wo das Leben leichter erschien. So hat uns wahrscheinlich der Klimawandel klug gemacht.

In seinem neuen Buch erzählt der Biologe, streitbare Naturschützer und für seine verständlichen Wissenschaftsbücher ausgezeichnete Autor Josef Reichholf nicht einfach die Evolutionsgeschichte nach, von der Ursuppe zum Menschen, er setzt beim Menschen an und zeigt, wie die Kenntnis der Evolution uns helfen kann zu verstehen, warum wir sind, wie wir sind.

Evolution, so Reichholf, steht für Vielfalt. Sie erreicht keinen stabilen und schon gar keinen optimalen Zustand. Sie kennt keine Zwecke, nur Veränderungen, die ihren Trägern entweder nützen oder schaden. So wie schwarze Haut bei starker Sonneneinstrahlung von Vorteil ist, weiße dagegen dort, wo der Mensch sich wegen der Kälte bekleiden muss und die wenigen verbleibenden nackten Stellen genug Sonnenlicht abbekommen müssen, damit in der Haut das lebenswichtige Vitamin D entstehen kann.

An der Naturgeschichte des Menschen erklärt Reichholf, wie genetische Stammbäume erstellt werden und was sie über uns, unsere Vorfahren und ihre Ausbreitung über die Erde verraten. Sie verraten nicht nur, dass die Menschen aus Afrika stammen, sondern auch, dass die Wanderungsbewegungen so komplex waren, dass die Rede von menschlichen Rassen keinen Sinn ergibt. Die genetische Vielfalt innerhalb einer Gruppe von Menschen ist größer, als die Unterschiede zwischen den so gerne als Einheit betrachteten „Kulturen" oder „Völkern".

An der Naturgeschichte des ältesten Haustiers des Menschen, dem Hund, erklärt Reichholf die Mechanismen der Evolution, etwa, dass Mutationen in Regulatorgenen schnell große Auswirkungen haben können. Auch hier lässt er es sich nicht nehmen, die Evolutionstheorie auf aktuelle Problem zu beziehen: Die vom Menschen betriebene Züchtung extremer und in Freiheit nicht lebensfähiger Hunderassen sollte uns zu denken geben, wenn wir erwägen, in unsere eigene Evolution einzugreifen: Sie zeige, wie schwer es ist, nachhaltig in die Zukunft zu planen.

Natürlich fehlen in Reichholfs Evolutionsgeschichte auch die Klassiker nicht, nicht der Stammbaum des Lebens, der alle Lebensformen, Pflanzen wie Tiere und Menschen miteinander verbindet, nicht die Dinosaurier und ihr Aussterben durch einen Kometeneinschlag, nicht die Vielfalt der Vogelschnäbel, die zeigt, wie sich die Arten auf eine Nahrung oder eine Lebensweise spezialisieren.

In all der Vielfalt findet Reichholf einen roten Faden: Evolution bedeute, von der Umwelt unabhängiger zu werden. Dieser Prozess begann, als sich vor etwa dreieinhalb Milliarden Jahren die ersten Zellen von ihrer Umgebung abgrenzten und streng kontrollierten, was hinein darf und was nicht. Heute sitzt ein komplexes Gehirn wohlverwahrt in einem stabilen Schädel und mit seiner Hilfe haben sich die Menschen stärker von der Natur emanzipiert als jede andere Art. Übertreiben sie es vielleicht?

Im dritten und letzten Teil des Buches ist der Autor wieder beim Menschen und fragt nach seiner Zukunft: Wir sind das mit Abstand kriegerischste Lebewesen der Erde, konstatiert Reichholf, und eine doppelseitige Illustration zeigt den „Fortschritt" der Waffentechnik vom Faustkeil zum Maschinengewehr. Aggression und die Bereitschaft, die eigene Gruppe zu verteidigen, gegen Tier und Mensch, haben den Menschen in der Evolutionsgeschichte lange genützt. Jetzt erschweren sie unser Zusammenleben. Können wir beides sein, Menschen und menschlich, fragt Reichholf. Er setzt seine Hoffnung auf die verbindende Macht der digitalen Medien: Die Computer-Generation habe als erste Generation überhaupt die Mittel und die Sprache, die Menschen zu einer Menschheit zu vereinen.

Reichholf hat, wieder einmal, ein hervorragend lesbares Buch geschrieben. Zahlreiche Zeichnungen des Illustrators Johann Brandstetter unterstützen die Erklärungen, wichtige Schlagworte sind farblich abgesetzt, Kästen am Rand liefern Zusammenfassungen oder weitere Informationen. Vor allem aber zeigt die „Kurze Geschichte von Mensch und Natur", dass Evolution keine trockene Theorie ist, sondern uns hilft, uns selbst und einige unserer drängendsten Probleme zu verstehen.
Vorname Name

Von Manuela Lenzen, 10.11.2016

Manuela Lenzen ist freie Wissenschaftsjournalistin und schreibt vor allem über die Themen Evolution, Kognition und Künstliche Intelligenz.