Category: Children's Books

Ute Krause
Im Labyrinth der Lügen
[In the Labyrinth of Lies]

Novel

Adventure and Ancient Times

This thrilling novel for children aged 10 years and up takes place in 1984. The year was chosen carefully: we are in the midst of a surveillance society, which in many ways is reminiscent of George Orwell’s classic "1984." It is the GDR, a society dominated by lies and an intricate network of spies, various mechanisms of oppression, a petty criminal bartering system, deadly maneuvers to escape the regime, "unofficial collaborators" of the secret service, and censorship – it is a world today’s children can hardly imagine, or conceive that it ever had existed on German soil, let alone that such regimes, unfortunately, remain a horrifying reality today in many countries in the world.

In her new children's novel, „Im Labyrinth der Lügen", Ute Krause describes this reality without pathos, and in prose that is simple and easy to understand. The entire political context, as well as the facts necessary for a child to understand the period, are woven inconspicuously into the story of twelve year old Paul. There is no finger pointing, nor is anybody being denounced. The reader is provided with the same level of knowledge as Paul and, as he does, tries to make sense out of the enigmatic story he suddenly has gotten mixed up in.

Paul lives with his grandmother and his uncle Henry in East Berlin. His parents had attempted to flee with him to the West two years before, but somebody had betrayed the family. The parents were sent to prison and Paul was forced to live in one of the gruesome children's homes, until his courageous grandmother rescued him and his parents were ransomed by the West. We learn little by little the mysterious circumstances surrounding the boy’s life and what had traumatized him, yet Paul barely remembers any of it himself.

One day Paul and his girlfriend Millie visit his Uncle Henry, who is a night watchman at the Pergamon Museum. (After Henry’s brother had tried to flee, he was no longer allowed to study archaeology, the grandmother also lost her job as a librarian and works as a restroom attendant at the Hotel Metropol.) One night, the children discover a stranger in the museum, there is an uproar and chase scene, and they briefly suspect the uncle of being involved in theft or dealing in stolen goods.

The uncle offers an entirely different explanation for his actions: he tells them he is doing secret research on the Ishtar Gate, which is located in the museum. Soon the plot thickens: the uncle is picked up by the police, put under Stasi surveillance after his release, and then he loses his job. Paul and Millie try to help him, but their actions endanger the entire family. In fact, the uncle hadn’t been conducting scientific research for a long time, rather he’d been involved in political resistance. Not until the end, when the intricate strands of the story are unwoven, is Paul allowed to leave for the West and reunite with his parents.

If at first it might appear that Ute Krause’s children’s novel could drift into spook stories and fantasy, it quickly becomes clear that „Im Labyrinth der Lügen" is both a thrilling escape and detective story with an authentic historical background. It also makes readers curious about the ancient world. Sculptures, friezes, cuneiform and hieroglyphics create a colorful and fascinating backdrop for the mysterious plot. Ancient times, the Arab world and adventure all wrapped into one.

Ute Krause treats her characters with palpable sympathy, yet she does not pity them. The hands-on grandmother, the unworldly uncle and, last but not least, Paul, are all convincingly drawn and readers can easily relate to their feelings. Children need that - as well as a happy ending! The book also offers a very sweet praise of friendship. Millie was "…the very best friend [Paul] ever had, and surely the wisest." What could possibly go wrong?
Sylvia Schwab

By Sylvia Schwab, 22.11.2016

​Sylvia Schwab is a radio journalist with a special interest in literature for children and teenagers. She serves on the jury for the monthly ‘Best 7’ list of books for young readers produced under the aegis of Deutschlandfunk and Focus, and works for Hessischer Rundfunk, Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandradio-Kultur.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Ute Krause
Im Labyrinth der Lügen

Abenteuer und Antike

Im Jahr 1984 spielt dieser spannende Roman für Kinder ab 10 Jahren. Und dieses Jahr ist mit Bedacht gewählt: Finden wir uns doch mitten in einem Überwachungsstaat wieder, der in vielen Details an George Orwells „1984" erinnert: In der DDR. Ihr Lügen- und Spitzel-System, ihre Unterdrückungsmechanismen und ihr kleinkrimineller Tauschhandel, Republikflucht, Inoffizielle Mitarbeiter und Zensur – Kinder von heute können sich wohl kaum vorstellen, dass dieses System auf deutschem Boden je existierte. Dass so etwas überall auf der Welt möglich und in vielen Ländern leider auch wirklich ist.

Und von dieser Realität erzählt Ute Krause in ihrem neuen Kinderroman „Im Labyrinth der Lügen". Ganz ohne Pathos, schlicht und gut verständlich. Alle politischen Informationen und Fakten, die ein Kind braucht, um die Geschichte des zwölfjährigen Paul zu verstehen, fließen wie beiläufig ein. Nie wird der Zeigefinger erhoben, niemand wird denunziert. Der Leser ist auf dem gleichen Wissenstand wie Paul und bemüht sich mit ihm zu begreifen, in welche rätselhafte Geschichte er da plötzlich hineingerät.

Paul lebt bei seiner Oma und seinem Onkel Henry in Ost-Berlin. Vor zwei Jahren haben seine Eltern versucht, mit ihm in den Westen zu fliehen, die Familie wurde verraten. Die Eltern kamen ins Gefängnis, Paul in eines der grauenvollen Kinderheime, bis die mutige Großmutter ihn da rausholt und die Eltern vom Westen freigekauft werden. Pauls ganze Geschichte erfährt man peu à peu im Laufe der Handlung, sie belastet den Jungen traumatisch, er mag sich kaum erinnern.

Eines Tages besuchen Paul und seine Freundin Millie Onkel Henry, der im Pergamonmuseum Nachtwächter ist. (Er durfte nach der Flucht seines Bruders nicht mehr weiter Archäologie studieren, auch die Großmutter verlor damals ihren Job als Bibliothekarin und arbeitet als Klofrau im Hotel Metropol.) Die Kinder entdecken nachts einen Fremden im Museum, es kommt zu Tumult und Verfolgung, kurzzeitig verdächtigen sie den Onkel, in Diebstahl oder Hehlerei verwickelt zu sein.

Der Onkel hat eine ganz andere Erklärung: es gehe um geheime Forschungen am Ischta-Tor, das im Museum steht. Doch dann überschlagen sich die Ereignisse: der Onkel wird von der Polizei abgeholt, nach seiner Freilassung von der Stasi überwacht, er verliert seinen Job, Paul und Millie setzen sich für ihn ein und bringen damit die ganze Familie in Gefahr. Längst geht es nicht mehr um wissenschaftliche Funde, sondern um politischen Widerstand. Bis sich am Schluss alle komplizierten Knoten lösen und Paul in den Westen zu seinen Eltern ausreisen darf.

Glaubte man anfangs, Ute Krauses Kinderroman könne in Spuk und Fantasy abdriften, so stellt sich schnell heraus, dass „Im Labyrinth der Lügen" nicht nur eine spannende Flucht- und Detektivgeschichte mit authentischem Hintergrund erzählt, sondern auch neugierig macht auf die Welt der Antike. Skulpturen, Friese, Keilschrift und Hieroglyphen bilden eine bunte und interessante Kulisse für die geheimnisvolle Handlung. Antike, arabische Welt und Abenteuer liegen hier nah beieinander.

Ihren Figuren begegnet Ute Krause mit spürbarer Sympathie, aber ohne Mitleid. Die zupackende Großmutter, der weltfremde Onkel und nicht zuletzt Paul überzeugen durch ihre klare Haltung und ihre sehr gut nachvollziehbaren Gefühle. Das brauchen Kinder – wie auch das Happy End! Dazu kommt ein sehr liebevolles Lob der Freundschaft. Über Millie heißt es: „Sie war die beste Freundin, die er je gehabt hatte, und die klügste sowieso." Was soll da noch schief gehen?
Vorname Name

Von Sylvia Schwab, 22.11.2016

​Sylvia Schwab ist Hörfunkjournalistin und hat sich auf Kinder- und Jugendliteratur spezialisiert. Sie ist Jurorin bei den "Besten 7" von Deutschlandfunk und Focus und arbeitet für den Hessischen Rundfunk, den Deutschlandfunk und Deutschlandradio-Kultur.