Category: Children's Books

Paul Maar
Eva Muggenthaler (Illustrator)

Paulas Reisen
[Paula‘s Travels]

Storybook

Whoever goes a traveling....

Traveling broadens the mind. Traveling is fun. While traveling we encounter distant and foreign worlds. That is true for travels in the real world, but even more so for trips into the world of (children’s-) literature. With the help of travel books we can gain experiences and make discoveries, which we would never make in our daily life. We can explore exciting, interesting or even dangerous situations without ever leaving the house. We can travel to countries, which we don’t even know be it to South America or to the Arab world. And we can go on fantasy travels, which only happen in the mind or in a dream. Like "Paula’s Travels."

When two artists, such as Paul Maar and Eva Muggenthaler jointly create a picture book, it can only turn into something magnificent! The brilliant inventor of the "Sams" children’s book series and the award winning illustrator published "Paula’s Travels" for the first time in 2007. But the book hasn’t lost any of its original charm. In numerous children’s novels and picture books Paul Maar has qualified as a specialist for fantasy; with "Lippels Traum" (Lippel’s Dream) he, in his own way, connected with the fairy tales from The Arabian Nights. And Eva Muggenthaler’s numerous picture books, such as "1000 Dummheiten" (1000 Follies) or "Als die Fische spazieren gingen" (When the Fish Went for a Walk) are creative disputes with the many varied ranges of fantasy.

„Paula’s Travels"begins like so many bed-time stories. Paula dreams of a country, in which all objects and people are circular or roly-poly - from the emperor to the schoolchild. This is why crisp bread or chocolate – being angular – are forbidden. But before Paula is irreversibly "made round as the landscape" by the "circular police", she can flee. In "Thousand Corner Land" she suffers a similar fate. Here she also manages to flee, just as later from the "Shades of Red Land" and from the little "Upside Down Land" where everything and everybody stands on their head.

So far, so fantastical. But also: so creative. Since Little Paula, being an outsider, manages to create a bolt hole in each respective country and to disappear again and again; (To draw a way out for oneself is a popular motif in picture books. From Crockett Johnsons "Harald And The Magic Chalk" to Aaron Becker’s "The Journey.") until she finally lands on eiderdowns and cuddly cushions in "Bed Land" and sleeps until the next morning.

Paul Maar’s verses are as brisk and vivid as the story. By all means one has to read the picture book out aloud! Every country is painted in a witty-individual way; and then in a kind of refrain, Paula’s respective unsuccessful domestication and flight follow. For this purpose the rhyme scheme changes from episode to episode. Paul Maar uses traditional poetic motifs to balance the colorful fantasy of the trip.

Can one present an artist with more beautiful motifs than a "Thousand Corner Land "or a "Shades of Red Land"? And Eva Muggenthaler’s pictures take up the challenge with panache! In terms of a purely visual perspective they dominate Maar’s verses, but that is only adequate for a picture book! They just ooze colors, forms, fantasy and in many small extra episodes continue to tell the dream ballad. In these episodes not everything is straightforward!

For instance, when in the little "Upside Down Land" the clock is pictured the wrong way round, but the book is additionally shown mirror-inverted. Paula’s travels lead into the illogical, into fun and craziness, the further away from our reality, the better!

Whoever perceives Germany as the country of logic, order and accuracy is due to this picture book - once again – taught a lesson in matters of originality and exoticism. Not only German children will enjoy it – and they then might also want to listen to the musical, which originated from the book and will be performed by Konstantin Wecker and the Munich Radio Orchestra.
Sylvia Schwab

By Sylvia Schwab, 04.01.2017

​Sylvia Schwab is a radio journalist with a special interest in literature for children and teenagers. She serves on the jury for the monthly ‘Best 7’ list of books for young readers produced under the aegis of Deutschlandfunk and Focus, and works for Hessischer Rundfunk, Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandradio-Kultur.

Translated by Henriette Schroeder

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Paul Maar
Eva Muggenthaler (Illustrator)

Paulas Reisen

Bilderbuch

Wenn eine eine Reise tut....

Reisen bildet. Reisen macht Spaß. Auf Reisen lernen wir ferne, fremde Welten kennen. Das gilt für Reisen in der Wirklichkeit, viel mehr aber noch für Reisen in der (Kinder-)Literatur. Mit Reise-Büchern können wir Er-Fahrungen und Ent-Deckungen machen, die wir in unserem täglichen Leben nie machen würden. Wir können Spannendes, Interessantes oder sogar Gefährliches erleben, ohne aus dem Haus zu gehen. Wir können in Länder reisen, die wir gar nicht kennen, ob nach Südamerika oder in den arabischen Raum. Und wir können phantastische Reisen unternehmen, Reisen, die nur im Kopf stattfinden oder im Traum. Wie „Paulas Reisen".

Wenn zwei Künstler wie Paul Maar und Eva Muggenthaler zusammen ein Bilderbuch machen, kann das eigentlich nur großartig werden! Der geniale Sams-Erfinder und die hoch dekorierte Illustratorin haben „Paulas Reisen" 2007 zum ersten Mal veröffentlicht, von seinem Reiz hat das Buch aber nichts verloren. Paul Maar hat sich in vielen Kinderromanen und Bilderbüchern als Spezialist fürs Phantastische ausgewiesen, mit „Lippels Traum" schloss er auf seine Weise an die Märchen aus 1001 Nacht an. Und Eva Muggenthalers viele Bilderbücher wie „1000 Dummheiten" oder „Als die Fische spazieren gingen" sind kreative Auseinandersetzungen mit den vielen verschiedenen Spiel-Räumen der Phantasie.

„Paulas Reisen" beginnt wie ganz viele Einschlaf-Geschichten. Paula träumt von einem Land, in dem alle Dinge und Menschen kreis- bzw. kugelrund sind. Vom Kaiser bis Schulkind. Weshalb Knäckebrot oder Schokolade – weil rechteckig – verboten sind. Doch bevor Paula von der „Kugel-Polizei" der Kreis-Welt „angepasst" wird, kann sie fliehen. Ähnlich ergeht es ihr „im Land der tausend Ecken". Auch hier gelingt die Flucht, wie dann auch aus dem „Land der roten Töne" und aus dem „kleinen Land Kopfunter", in dem alle und alles auf dem Kopf stehen.

So weit, so phantastisch. Aber auch: so erfinderisch. Denn die kleine Paula versteht es immer wieder, sich als Außenseiterin im jeweiligen Land ein Schlupfloch zu schaffen und zu verschwinden. (Sich selbst seinen Aus-Weg zu malen ist ein beliebtes Bilderbuch-Motiv, von Crockett Johnsons „Harold und die Zauberkreide" bis zu Aaron Beckers „Die Reise".) Bis sie schließlich im „Bettenland" auf Daunendecken und Kuschelkissen landet und schläft bis zum nächsten Morgen.

So frisch und lebendig wie die Geschichte sind auch Paul Maars Verse. Man muss das Bilderbuch unbedingt laut vorlesen! Jedes Land ist witzig-individuell gezeichnet, dann folgt, in einer Art Refrain, jeweils Paulas erfolglose Domestizierung und Flucht. Dazu wechseln von Episode zu Episode die Reimschemen. Paul Maar nutzt traditionelle dichterische Motive, um die bunte Phantastik der Reisen auszubalancieren.

Kann man einer Künstlerin schönere Motive in den Schoß legen als ein „Land der tausend Ecken" oder ein „Land der roten Töne"? Eva Muggenthalers Bilder fangen die ihr zugespielten Bälle mit Schwung auf! Rein optisch dominieren sie gegenüber Maars Versen, aber das ist einem Bilderbuch nur angemessen! Sie knallen nur so vor Farben, Formen, Phantasie und erzählen die Traum-Ballade in vielen kleinen Nebenepisoden weiter. Da ist nicht alles eindeutig! Zum Beispiel, warum im kleinen Land Kopfunter die Uhr falsch herum, das Buch aber zusätzlich spiegelverkehrt dargestellt ist. Paulas Reisen führen ins Unlogische, Lustige und Ver-rückte, je weiter weg von unserer Realität, desto besser!

Wer Deutschland für das Land von Logik, Ordnung und Genauigkeit hält, bekommt mit diesem Bilderbuch – wieder einmal – eine Lektion in Sachen Originalität und Exotik. Nicht nur deutsche Kinder werden ihren Spaß haben – und dann vielleicht auch das aus dem Buch entstandene Musical mit Konstantin Wecker und dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester hören wollen!
Vorname Name

Von Sylvia Schwab, 04.01.2017

​Sylvia Schwab ist Hörfunkjournalistin und hat sich auf Kinder- und Jugendliteratur spezialisiert. Sie ist Jurorin bei den "Besten 7" von Deutschlandfunk und Focus und arbeitet für den Hessischen Rundfunk, den Deutschlandfunk und Deutschlandradio-Kultur.