Category: Children's Books

Hans Carl Artmann
Elsa Klever (Illustrator)

Maus im Haus
[A mouse in the house]

Storybook

On seals and mice: H.C. Artmann’s and Elsa Klever’s fantastic-realist picture book ‘Maus im Haus’ [‘A mouse in the house’]

‘I want to tell you the story of Ompul and how he chased the mice out of his house because they kept nibbling away at his best-quality bacon, his cheese, and his biscuits.’

Thus begins the story ‘Maus im Haus’ by the Austrian poet, writer and translator H.C. Artmann (1921-2000) – a beginning that bodes no ill but at the same time tickles our curiosity. We immediately prick up our ears, as though we had found ourselves in a cosy little huddle with a wise and humorous old story-teller who is just about to open a secret door onto the even more secret recesses of his own daydreams. We are teased at once by phrases such as ‘far, far away in the deepest depths of South America’, ‘trees [...] so dense and close together that [...] you can walk along on the tops of them without sinking in’, and we hear about Ompul himself – a moustachioed seal who was once a seaman and now works as a lighthouse keeper; and where? – close by Tierra del Fuego, the Land of Fire: where else?!

Lovers of a good story, be they young or old, don’t really need to know that H.C. Artmann was one of the most significant exponents of a new, experimental kind of poetry in post-war Europe, a writer given to poetic fantasies who delighted in ignoring the formal conventions of traditional poetry. All we need to do is to abandon ourselves to the magic of his narrative artistry – just as the illustrator Elsa Klever does in her colourful, clear-cut visualisation of this tale from 1979 (one of the few stories for children that Artmann ever wrote), full of lovable figures and twinkly-eyed dramatic effects. She demonstrates complete mastery of a realistic symbolism that is reduced to its bare essence, and which she conveys with a mixture of acrylic and spray painting, in conjunction with scenes manipulated on a computer. By these means she conjures up a symbolic world at once exciting and stimulating, the constituent parts of which both young and old can readily decode and then assimilate within the framework of their own sense of reality and their own imagination. Through her depictions of the characters and their surroundings she creates an unmistakable visual world that is in perfect harmony with Artmann’s fantastic realism. In addition, every page sports a capitalised word or phrase, the coloured letters of which reflect the palette of colours used in the accompanying illustration.

One day, then, Ompul returns from one of his shopping trips to the the nearby town. He is completely at one with himself and the world. Nothing could be more calm and peaceful than the image of him waddling up the steps to his lighthouse, wearing his old seaman’s cap and red-and-white-striped scarf and carrying his bag of shopping. Everything seems set for a relaxing weekend when, having attended to his responsibilities up in the control room by the lamphouse and returned to his private realm downstairs, he settles down in the rocking chair in his parlour, leafs through the local paper (the ‘Tierra del Fuego Times’), and abandons himself to his day dreams about the stars, about viewing our wonderful blue planet from outer space, about going to the cinema with a penguin, about riding a motor bike... But his fantasies – Elsa Klever’s illustrations of which appear to take shape entirely of their own accord – are suddenly interrupted by a plain and simple, but for that very reason all the more penetrating ‘SQUEAK!’ This marks the beginning of a wonderfully jolly cat-and-mouse – sorry: cat-and-seal – escapade. Whilst the successive phases of this ever-intensifying contest do not all pan out to Ompul’s advantage, at the same time it never descends to the in-your-face brutalist, black-and-white level of the Tom and Jerry stories.

In Artmann, both the seal and the mice are representative of creatures forged by the adversities of existence, pragmatists who draw on their cunning as seal and mouse respectively in order to deploy their talents and their survival strategies within their neighbour’s domain, without ever doing the other down, let alone doing them harm. Ompul meets the cunning of the mice with the wisdom of his years and the power of his imagination. At the end of the story neither rates as a ‘Silly Billy’, and the almost symbiotic fraternity within the lighthouse can look forward to their next tussle. There is no question of boredom descending either on cheerful old Ompul and his house mice, or on the book’s readers, whether young or old. Adults will relish Artmann’s veiled irony, children will delight in the slapstick humour and the fantastic world evoked by the illustrations. And common to both is the realisation that we never know what kind of a visitor an evening might bring. What’s making that noise underneath my desk?!
Vorname Name

By Siggi Seuß, 01.02.2017

​Siggi Seuß, freelance journalist, radio script writer and translator, has been writing reviews of books for children and young people for many years.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Hans Carl Artmann
Elsa Klever (Illustrator)

Maus im Haus

Bilderbuch

Von Robben und Mäusen: H.C. Artmanns und Elsa Klevers fantastisch-realistische Bildererzählung „Maus im Haus“

„Ich will euch nun die Geschichte von Ompül erzählen, wie er die Mäuse aus dem Haus gejagt hat, weil sie ihm den guten Speck, den Käse und die Kekse wegknabberten." So beginnt die Erzählung „Maus im Haus" des österreichischen Lyrikers, Schriftstellers und Übersetzers H.C. Artmann (1921 - 2000) – harmlos und gleichzeitig unsere Neugier erweckend. Man spitzt schon im Geiste die Ohren, als säße man in einer lauschig-launigen Runde mit einem weisen, alten Erzähler, der gleich eine geheime Tür in die noch geheimeren Gemächer der eigenen Tagträume öffnen wird. Da fallen sogleich Reizworte wie „ganz weit unten in Amerika", von „unheimlich dichten Wäldern", über deren Gipfeln und Wipfeln man sogar spazieren gehen kann – und eben von Ompül, dem kleinen schnauzbärtigen Robbenmann, der einst einmal ein Seemann war und jetzt als Leuchtturmwärter arbeitet. Gleich in der Nähe von Feuerland. Wo sonst?

Man muss als junger oder älterer Geschichtenliebhaber nicht wissen, dass H.C. Artmann einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter einer neuen, experimentellen Nachkriegslyrik in Europa war, ein poetischer Fantast, der mit Freude die formalen Konventionen herkömmlicher Dichtung übersprang. Es reicht, wenn man sich dem Zauber seiner Fabulierkunst hingibt, so wie es auch die Illustratorin Elsa Klever tut, wenn sie Artmanns Erzählung von 1979 – einer der wenigen Texte, die er für Kinder geschrieben hat – vor unseren Augen bunt und klar mit liebenswerten Geschöpfen und in augenzwinkernder Dramatik ausbreitet. Sie beherrscht meisterlich eine aufs Wesentliche reduzierte realistische Symbolik, die sie mit einer Mischung aus Acrylmalerei, Sprühtechnik und mit computerbearbeiteten Szenarien aufs Papier bringt. Damit erschafft sie eine aufregend anregende Symbolwelt, deren Einzelteilchen für jedes Kind und für jeden Erwachsenen leicht zu entschlüsseln und mit dem eigenen Sinn für Wirklichkeit und mit der eigenen Fantasie zu verknüpfen sind. Mit ihrer Landschafts- und Figurengestaltung kreiert sie – kongenial zum fantastischen Realismus des Autors – eine unverwechselbare Bilderwelt. Auf jeder Textseite erscheint zudem ein Schlüsselwort, dessen colorierte Buchstaben auf die Farbgebung des dazugehörigen Bildes verweisen.

Eines Tages also kommt Ompül von einem seiner Einkäufe in der nahen Stadt zurück. Im Einklang mit sich und der Welt. Ein friedliches Bild, wie er da mit seiner alten Matrosenmütze, seinem rotweiß gestreiften Wollschal und den Einkaufstüten die Treppen des Leuchtturms hochrobbt. Es könnte ein entspanntes Wochenende werden, wenn er sich nach seiner verantwortungsvollen Tätigkeit, oben im Dienstzimmer bei den Scheinwerfern, ins Privatleben zurückzieht und unten in der Guten Stube im Schaukelstuhl sitzt, in der Zeitung („Der Feuerländer") blättert und seinen Tagträumen nachhängt: von Sternen, vom Blick aus dem Weltall auf den wunderschönen Blauen Planeten, vom Kinobesuch mit Pinguin, vom Motorradfahren... Doch seine Fantastereien, zu denen die Bilder von Elsa Klever wie von selbst zu entstehen scheinen, werden von einem einfachen, aber umso durchdringenderen PIEP! jäh unterbrochen. Das ist der Beginn einer wunderbar fröhlichen Katz-und-Maus-, Entschuldigung: Katz-und-Robbe-Geschichte. Die geht zwar nicht in jeder Phase der Eskalation im Sinne des guten alten Ompül aus, aber sie erreicht auch nie das vordergründig brutale und schwarzweißgemalte Niveau von Tom-und-Jerry-Storys.

Robbe und Mäuse sind bei Artmann Vertreter von durch die Widrigkeiten des Lebens gereiften Spezies von Geschöpfen, die pragmatisch robben- bzw. mäuseschlau ihre Talente und Überlebensstrategien im Revier des Nachbarn ausspielen, ohne diesen ernsthaft zu diskreditieren oder gar zu verletzen. Der Schlauheit der Mäuse setzt Ompül die Lebensklugheit seiner Jahre entgegen und die Kraft seiner Fantasie. Am Ende ist keiner ein Dummrian und die fast schon symbiotische Leuchtturm-Hausgemeinschaft kann sich auf die nächste Reiberei freuen. Langweilig wird weder dem frohgemuten Ompül und seinen Hausmäusen noch den jungen und alten Lesern. Die Großen goutieren Artmanns hintergründige Ironie, die Kleinen erfreuen sich an der Situationskomik und an der fantastischen Bilderwelt. Und beiden gemeinsam ist die Erkenntnis, dass man nie weiß, was einem der Abend für Besucher bringt. Was raschelt denn da unterm Schreibtisch?
Vorname Name

Von Siggi Seuß, 01.02.2017

​Siggi Seuß, freier Journalist, Hörfunkautor und Übersetzer, schreibt seit vielen Jahren Kinder- und Jugendbuchkritiken.