Category: Fiction

Matthias Brandt
Raumpatrouille
[Space Patrol]

Novel

A Desire for Normality

A boy is home alone with his father one late afternoon. He knows his father is there from the smell of tobacco smoke drifting through the house. Shyly and with great care, the boy turns the doorknob to the study. There, he sees his father, glasses perched at the tip of his nose, head tipped forward onto his chest. He’s asleep, seated in front of a stack of documents, an ashtray, and a glass full of ice cubes and brown liquid. The boy stands observing his father until, suddenly, he startles awake with a "Hmm?" Then the boy dares to do the unheard of. "Can you read me something?" he asks his father - and his father agrees. "I could hardly believe my eyes," the narrator remarks. The boy wants to hold on to the moment, but falls asleep almost immediately.

A story hardly worth telling or spectacular in any way if the father under discussion didn’t happen to be the chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany at the time. The boy’s name is Matthias, the father’s Willy Brandt. In 2006, Lars Brandt, Matthias’s ten-year-older brother, published "Andenken" ["Momento", unavailable in English], a charming little book filled with snatches of memory from his childhood. And now, when reading Matthias Brandt’s "Space Patrol", the sense one already had of an enormous disconnect only intensifies: There’s Brandt the politician and later recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, the personification of an open, liberal country. And, as is perhaps only natural, there’s the absent father, ever distant and oddly lost in thought.

Growing up under such exceptional circumstances is precisely what stirs in the eight- or nine-year-old Matthias (born in 1961) a deep desire for normality. The title itself, "Space Patrol", is a reference to the exploration of the universe and the new, unchartered dimensions of the make believe brought about by the first moon landing. This little book bursts with nostalgic potential. The accoutrements and zeitgeist of the former German republic are captured in passing, as it were, by the child’s observations. At the same time, however, what really takes place in "Space Patrol" is what always happens when the challenges of narrating from a child’s perspective are successfully overcome: the pure, innocent viewpoint manages to expose, illuminate, and reveal in an almost frightening way, thereby peeling back the official images that have anchored themselves in the collective memory of an entire nation.

In one especially funny chapter, for example, Matthias is designated to go on a bike ride with his father and a colleague of his, one Mr. Wehner, following their ongoing professional differences. The adventure was conceived as the ideal setting for an official reconciliation. The boy has never seen his father on a bike before, and, in fact, an extra bicycle must first be obtained. Yet the outing ends after only a few minutes when his father crashes. Cursing, Brandt abandons his bike, lights a cigarette, and walks back to his house, leaving the dumbfounded Mr. Wehner at the side of the road and his son to continue the ride all by himself. "I should have taken better care of him," he still tells himself. This book has its share of unreciprocated affection. That and a young boy’s instinctive protest against outer constraints, against the police and guards permanently installed on their property, and against the embarrassing fact that while all other fathers have a driver’s license, his own is always being driven around by a chauffeur.

When the young Matthias sleeps over at a friend’s house one night, he is overcome with joy at partaking in a completely normal family evening - dinner together, TV in jogging suits - until he becomes terribly homesick at night. Such ambivalence lurks everywhere in "Space Patrol", which recounts the story of a privileged, sheltered childhood - and one that is just as empty and lonely.
Christoph Schröder

By Christoph Schröder, 21.03.2017

​Christoph Schroeder is a freelance writer (Sueddeutsche Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit) based in Frankfurt am Main and is a lecturer in literary criticism at the university there.

Translated by Franklin Bolsillo Mares

Sparte: Belletristik

Matthias Brandt
Raumpatrouille

Roman

Sehnsucht nach Normalität

An einem späten Nachmittag ist der Junge mit seinem Vater alleine zu Hause. Dass der Vater da ist, bemerkt er an dem Tabakrauch, der durch das Haus zieht. Schüchtern und ganz vorsichtig drückt der Junge die Klinke des Arbeitszimmers herunter; dort sitzt der Vater, die Brille weit vorne auf der Nase, den Kopf auf der Brust, und schläft, vor sich einen Stapel Akten, neben sich den Aschenbecher und ein Glas mit brauner Flüssigkeit und Eiswürfeln. Der Junge betrachtet den Vater genau, bis dieser plötzlich aus seinem Schlaf hochschreckt und nur ein Wort sagt: „Ja?" Dann wagt der Junge das Ungeheuerliche: „Kannst du mir vorlesen?", fragt er den Vater – und der leistet der Bitte Folge. „Ich konnte kaum glauben, was geschah", kommentiert der Erzähler. Der Junge will den Augenblick festhalten. Und schläft fast sofort ein.

Die Geschichte wäre nicht weiter erwähnenswert oder gar spektakulär, wenn es sich bei dem Mann, von dem die Rede ist, nicht um den seinerzeit amtierenden Kanzler der Bundesrepublik Deutschland handeln würde. Matthias heißt der Junge, Willy Brandt der Vater. Bereits im Jahr 2006 hat Lars Brandt, Matthias Brandts zehn Jahre älterer Bruder, mit „Andenken" ein wunderbares, kleines Buch mit Erinnerungssplittern an die Zeit seiner Kindheit veröffentlicht. Und wenn man nun Matthias Brandts „Raumpatrouille" liest, verstärkt sich der Eindruck einer ungeheuren Diskrepanz: Da ist zum einen der Politiker Brandt, der spätere Friedensnobelpreisträger, personalisiertes Symbol eines offenen, liberalen Landes. Und da ist, möglicherweise naturgemäß, der abwesende, seltsam entrückte, distanzierte Vater.

Es ist ein Aufwachsen unter außergewöhnlichen Umständen, das als Gegenbewegung bei dem acht- oder neunjährigen Matthias (geboren 1961) eine tiefe Sehnsucht nach Normalität hervorruft. Bereits der Titel „Raumpatrouille" ist eine Anspielung auf die Erforschung des Weltraums und die Ausdehnung von Phantasiewelten in eine neue Dimension, die mit der ersten Mondlandung einhergeht. Es steckt eine Menge nostalgisches Potential in diesem kleinen Buch. Die Accessoires und der Zeitgeist der alten Bundesrepublik werden in den Beobachtungen des Kindes quasi en passant eingefangen. Gleichzeitig aber geschieht in „Raumpatrouille" genau das, was immer geschieht, wenn die Schwierigkeit eines Erzählens aus Kinderperspektive erfolgreich bewältigt wird: Der unverdorbene, unschuldige Blick hat etwas ungeheuer Entlarvendes, Erhellendes, Enthüllendes. Er betrachtet die Rückseite der offiziellen Bilder, die sich im kollektiven Gedächtnis eines Landes festgesetzt haben.

Hochkomisch beispielsweise das Kapitel, in dem der Vater nach einem Streit mit dem Sohn und einem gewissen Herrn Wehner eine Fahrradtour unternehmen soll, um Bilder für eine offizielle Versöhnung zu liefern. Der Junge hat den Vater noch nie auf einem Fahrrad gesehen; es muss zunächst extra eines angeschafft werden. Der Ausflug endet nach wenigen Metern in einem Sturz; Brandt lässt das Fahrrad fluchend fallen und geht rauchend ins Haus; zurück bleibt ein konsternierter Herr Wehner; der Sohn macht die Fahrradtour allein. „Ich hätte besser auf ihn aufpassen müssen", sagt er sich noch. Es steckt auch viele enttäuschte Liebe in diesem Buch. Und ein intuitives Aufbegehren gegen äußere Zwänge, gegen die Polizisten und Wachleute, die sich permanent auf dem Grundstück aufhalten, gegen den peinlichen Umstand, dass alle anderen Väter einen Führerschein haben und nur der eigene Vater ständig von einem Chauffeur durch die Gegend gefahren wird.

Als der kleine Matthias einmal bei einem Schulfreund übernachtet, überwältigt ihn die Freude über seine Teilhabe an einem ganz normalen Familienabend – gemeinsames Abendessen, Fernsehschauen im Jogginganzug – bis er in der Nacht entsetzliches Heimweh bekommt. Überall in „Raumpatrouille" scheint die Ambivalenz auf: Es ist eine behütete und sichere Kindheit, von der hier erzählt wird. Und eine ziemlich leere und einsame noch dazu.
Christoph Schröder

Von Christoph Schröder, 21.03.2017

​Christoph Schröder, lebt als freier Autor (Süddeutsche Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit) in Frankfurt am Main und ist Dozent für Literaturkritik an der dortigen Universität.