Category: Children's Books

Sonja Bougaeva
Zwei Schwestern bekommen Besuch
[Two sisters have a visitor]

Review

Most people are thrilled when their beloved relatives announce that they’re going to pay a visit – especially if they haven’t seen them for some time. And the two sisters who give the book its title are no exception. Already somewhat elderly, they live in peace and quiet in their cosy little house on an island. Their cousin comes to stay – and because he’s of a practical bent, he’s barely arrived before he starts making good all the little deficiencies in their house. The old ladies are delighted. But their cousin keeps on finding new spheres of activity – and with every renovation and (so he thinks) improvement, the sisters’ home becomes ever less cosy. The animals are banished to the garden for hygiene reasons; the sisters’ diet is amended, and they are forced to start every day with sport. Polite as they are, they let their cousin do as he likes, but become unhappier by the day, and eventually fall ill. That’s when they decide that they really must say something to him after all. But by an amazing stroke of luck, their cousin has already decided that he’s not going to stay a moment longer with his „ungrateful“ relatives, and hops on the next ferry. Relieved, all the inhabitants – animals and humans alike – set about restoring their home to its original state.

With this short story and highly expressive illustrations, Sonja Bougaeva manages to deal with several questions at the same time, all of which play an important role in the lives of adults as well as children. To what extent are other people allowed to poke their noses into my life? How polite should you be if you feel that things are going wrong? Who knows the „right“ way to live? Are you supposed to be grateful for things you don’t remotely want?

Sonja Bougaeva doesn’t answer these questions, instead leaving the reader to think about them. In her story, fortunately enough, the problem sorts itself out, but it’s clear that conflict would have been unavoidable, had their cousin not happened to leave when he did. And so the sisters still think kindly of their cousin afterwards; it’s just „ such a pity he went off in a huff.“

In this book, the author addresses the issues of tolerance and politeness in a way that corresponds perfectly to children’s imaginations. The illustrations are large and intensely colourful, and the sisters are depicted in such a way that we are guaranteed to sympathise with them: fat, friendly and contented, they radiate huge amounts of warmth and cosiness. But the further the story progresses, the more they slump; the corners of their mouths start to turn down, and helplessness and dismay spread across their faces. At the same time their cousin, with all his hard work and good intentions, is even to small children evidently not a „baddie“ – the different characters simply have different ideas.

It’s entirely possible that bright children reading this book could ask themselves questions about the boundaries of parental authority; you just have to think of those tiresome discussions about messy playrooms or the thank-you call to Granny for the most recent pair of pyjamas. If you’re not scared of that, then this book will be a real addition to your children’s library.
Heike Friesel

By Heike Friesel, 18.11.2005

Translated by Helena Ragg-Kirkby

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Sonja Bougaeva
Zwei Schwestern bekommen Besuch

Buchbesprechung

Die meisten Menschen freuen sich, wenn sich liebe Verwandte zu einem Besuch ankündigen, vor allem, wenn man sich schon lange nicht mehr gesehen hat. So auch die beiden, schon etwas älteren Schwestern, die in Ruhe und Frieden in ihrem gemütlichen kleinen Haus auf einer Insel leben. Sie bekommen Besuch von ihrem Cousin, und weil dieser praktisch veranlagt ist, beginnt er, kaum angekommen, mit der Reparatur kleinerer Mängel im Haus. Die alten Damen sind entzückt. Doch der Cousin findet immer wieder neue Betätigungsfelder und mit jeder Renovierungs- und vermeintlichen Verbesserungsmaßnahme wird das Heim der Schwestern ungemütlicher. Die Tiere werden – aus Hygienegründen – in den Garten verbannt, die Ernährung wird umgestellt und die Schwestern zum Frühsport genötigt. Aus Höflichkeit lassen sie den Cousin gewähren, werden aber von Tag zu Tag unglücklicher und schließlich sogar krank. Da beschließen sie dann doch, mit ihm zu sprechen. Doch – welch ein Glück! – der Cousin hat bereits selbst beschlossen, nicht länger bei seinen „undankbaren“ Verwandten zu bleiben und nimmt die nächste Fähre. Erleichtert machen sich alle Bewohner des Hauses – Tiere wie Menschen – daran, ihr Zuhause wieder in seinen ursprünglichen Zustand zu versetzen.

Mit dieser kleinen Geschichte und den ausdrucksstarken Illustrationen ist es Sonja Bougaeva gelungen, gleich mehrere Fragen anzusprechen, die für Kinder und durchaus auch für Erwachsene eine wichtige Rolle spielen: Wie sehr dürfen sich andere Menschen in mein Leben einmischen? Wie höflich muss man sein, wenn man das Gefühl hat, dass etwas falsch läuft? Wer weiß, wie man „richtig“ lebt? Muss man sich für Dinge bedanken, die man gar nicht haben will?

Sonja Bougaeva beantwortet diese Fragen nicht, sondern überlässt dies dem Leser. In ihrer Geschichte löst sich das Problem glücklicherweise von allein, doch es ist offensichtlich, dass ein Konflikt unausweichlich gewesen wäre, wäre der Cousin nicht rechtzeitig abgereist. So erinnern sich die Schwestern nachher noch gerne an den Cousin, nur „schade, dass er so beleidigt abgereist war.“

Hier werden die Themen Toleranz und Höflichkeit in einer Weise angesprochen, die der kindlichen Vorstellungskraft sehr gut entspricht. Die Illustrationen sind großflächig und farbintensiv, und die Figuren der Schwestern sind die idealen Sympathieträger: dick und freundlich und zufrieden strahlen sie viel Wärme und Gemütlichkeit aus. Doch je weiter die Geschichte fortschreitet, desto mehr sacken sie in sich zusammen, die Mundwinkel sinken nach unten und Ratlosigkeit und Bestürzung macht sich auf ihren Gesichtern breit. Gleichzeitig ist aber der Cousin in seinem Eifer und mit all seinen guten Absichten auch für die Kleinsten erkennbar nicht „böse“ – man hat eben einfach unterschiedliche Vorstellungen.

Aufgeweckten Kindern könnte sich bei der Lektüre des Buches durchaus die Frage nach den Grenzen elterlicher Autorität stellen, man denke nur an die leidigen Diskussionen um unaufgeräumte Kinderzimmer oder den Bedank-Dich-Anruf bei der Oma für den letzten Schlafanzug. Wer davor keine Angst hat, für den stellt dieses Buch eine echte Bereicherung der Kinderbibliothek dar.
Heike Friesel

Von Heike Friesel, 18.11.2005