Category: Non-fiction

Lorenz Jäger
Walter Benjamin. Das Leben eines Unvollendeten
[Walter Benjamin: An Unfinished Life]

Biography

The Aura of the Intellectual
Lorenz Jäger’s biography of Walter Benjamin presents the messianism and materialism of a radical thinker whose aim was to combine the political, aesthetic and theological

In September 1940, Walter Benjamin fled through the Pyrenees to the Catalan town of Portbou. He had an entry visa for the United States but did not have exit papers for France. Arriving in Portbou, they threatened to send him back. This would have meant falling into the hands of the Nazis, who had marched into Paris in June and were hunting down Jews, Benjamin included. In this seemingly hopeless situation the 48-year-old philosopher, cultural critic and translator took his life with an overdose of morphine pills in a hotel room of this border town.

The huge impact of his work would unfold only after his death, entire generations of students being socialized with The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction, the flâneur of his Arcades Project, his One-Way Street and the "angel of history" in his Theses on the Philosophy of History. He was – and is – venerated as an unorthodox thinker associated with the Frankfurt School and critical theory, a luminary interested in deconstructing the "aura."

This new biography of Walter Benjamin, written by publicist and long-time editor of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung Lorenz Jäger, emphasizes the intellectual development of a philosopher whose unfinished work – the book’s subtitle is "An Unfinished Life" – is equally marked by messianic and materialist approaches. The cultural critic’s range of topics was immense: from graphology to Dadaism and Surrealism, from Baroque tragedies and their obsession with death to the silent language of things and the obscure consumer world of Paris shopping arcades. "From the very outset his metaphysics had the potential, indeed a strong tendency to suddenly shift into a peculiar materialism of ‘things’ – and his messianism was strangely linked to an inner-worldly, secular promise of happiness," writes Jäger about the cultural critic who had hoped for something radically new. In 1913–4 Benjamin wrote "The Metaphysics of Youth," and in 1917, as a twenty-five-year-old, a strikingly self-confident "Program of the Coming Philosophy."

But Jäger begins by describing Benjamin’s origins, his birth in 1892 into a Berlin merchant family. Jäger briefly sketches the upper-class assimilated environment of his childhood and his reformist adolescence, before going into more detail about the friendships of his university years. In 1915 he met the math student and future historian of religion and Kabbala scholar Gershom Scholem, who emigrated to Palestine in 1923. Jäger uses this friendship to illustrate how Benjamin grappled with his Jewishness.

"The cultural environment that Benjamin lived in from 1915 to 1925 was marked by the imminent expectation of tremendous world-historical events and changes. Zionism was about to put an end to almost two thousand years of exile for the Jewish people." Unlike Scholem, who became a Zionist early on and radically broke with the assimilation of his parents’ home, "Jewishness played but a minor role" in Benjamin’s life, as he wrote in a letter to Ludwig Strauss. He had little use for "Emigration Zionism" or "National Jewishness."

Jäger emphasizes the personal relationships that repeatedly had a formative intellectual influence on Benjamin. In Switzerland, where he lived with his wife Dora from 1917 to 1919 and worked on his dissertation, he was deeply impressed by the philosopher Ernst Bloch. In 1924 he met Asja Lācis on the island of Capri, "a Bolshevist Latvian woman from Riga" who acted like a "communist electrical shock" on him. In the late 1920s he came into contact with Brecht and intensified his engagement with Marxism. Later, in the mid-1930s, he sought his "salvation in demagification." He focused on the commodity, and "in a chilly, almost compulsive way his findings are projected onto the motif of capitalism," Jäger concludes regretfully. The flâneur and creator of scintillating concepts increasingly concentrated on a "ruthlessly fixed idea."

The biography, however, is less focused on the chronological stages in Benjamin’s life than on "metaphysical upheavals"; his family setting plays less of a role than the intellectual worlds he moves in. It is fascinating how Jäger describes the cultural critic’s shifts between thing and commodity, and highly original the way he substantiates his "physiognomic" take on the philosopher using impressions from contemporaries – from Adorno to photographer Gisèle Freund and chiromancer Charlotte Wolff – without our having to agree with this physiognomic reading. Unlike previous biographers, Jäger mainly concentrates on the Benjamin intensely interested in the fringes of knowledge, in the merging of political, aesthetic and theological thought. In doing so he approaches his subject in a highly illuminating fashion without ever adopting a hagiographic tone.
Jutta Person

By Jutta Person, 19.10.2017

Jutta Person, born 1971 in South Baden, studied German, Italian and Philosophy in Cologne and Italy and earned her doctorate with a dissertation on the History of Physiognomy in the 19th Century. The journalist and cultural scientist is based in Berlin and writes for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Literaturen, Die Zeit and the Philosophie Magazin. From 2004 – 2007, she was an editor at Literaturen, since October 2011, she has been in charge of the books department at Philosophie Magazin. She was a member of the jury for the German Book Prize in 2012.

(Updated: 2019)

Translated by David Burnett

Sparte: Sachbuch

Lorenz Jäger
Walter Benjamin. Das Leben eines Unvollendeten

Biografie

Die Aura des Intellektuellen
Lorenz Jägers Biografie Walter Benjamins stellt Messianismus und Materialismus eines radikalen Denkers vor, der Politisches, Ästhetisches und Theologisches verschmelzen will

Als Walter Benjamin im September 1940 über die Pyrenäen ins katalanische Portbou flüchtet, hat er zwar ein Einreisevisum für die Vereinigten Staaten bei sich, aber keine Ausreisepapiere für Frankreich. In Portbou droht man, ihn nach Frankreich zurückzuschicken; damit wäre er den Nationalsozialisten, die im Juni in Paris einmarschiert waren und ihn als Juden verfolgten, in die Hände gefallen. In einem Hotelzimmer des Grenzstädtchens nimmt Benjamin sich mit Morphiumtabletten das Leben, 48 Jahre alt war der Philosoph, Kulturkritiker und Übersetzer geworden.

Die große Wirkung seines Werks setzte erst nach seinem Tod ein; ganze Studentengenerationen wurden mit dem „Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit", mit dem Flaneur aus dem „Passagen-Werk" , der „Einbahnstraße" oder dem „Engel der Geschichte" aus den Thesen „Über den Begriff der Geschichte" sozialisiert. Er wurde – und wird – als unorthodoxer Denker im Umfeld der frühen Frankfurter Schule und der Kritischen Theorie verehrt: eine Lichtgestalt, die doch gerade an der Destruktion der „Aura" interessiert war.

Die Biografie Walter Benjamins, die Lorenz Jäger, Publizist und langjähriger FAZ-Redakteur, nun veröffentlicht hat, legt den Akzent auf die intellektuelle Entwicklung eines Denkers, dessen unvollendetes Werk – so auch der Untertitel, „Das Leben eines Unvollendeten" – von messianischen und materialistischen Ansätzen gleichermaßen geprägt ist. Die Themenspannweite des Kulturkritikers war dabei immens: von der Graphologie über Dadaismus und Surrealismus, die barocken Trauerspiele mit ihrer Todesverfallenheit bis zur stummen Sprache der Dinge und der obskuren Warenwelt der Pariser Ladenpassagen. „Seine Metaphysik hatte von vorneherein die Möglichkeit, mehr noch, die starke Tendenz, in einen eigentümlichen Materialismus der ‚Dinge’ zu kippen – und sein Messianismus war seltsam verbunden mit innerweltlichen, säkularen Glückshoffnungen", so Jäger über den Kulturkritiker, der auf das radikal Neue hoffte: 1913/14 verfasste er eine „Metaphysik der Jugend" und 1917, als Fünfundzwanzigjähriger, ein selbstbewusstes „Programm der kommenden Philosophie".

Zunächst einmal aber beschreibt Jäger die Herkunft Benjamins, der 1892 in eine jüdische Berliner Kaufmannsfamilie geboren wurde. Die großbürgerlich-assimilierte Umgebung der Kindheit wie auch die reformbewegte Jugendzeit skizziert der Biograf knapp, ausführlicher wendet er sich den Freundschaften der Studienjahre zu. 1915 lernt Benjamin den damaligen Mathematikstudenten und späteren Religionshistoriker und Kabbala-Gelehrten Gershom Scholem kennen, der 1923 nach Palästina auswandert; an dieser Freundschaft mit Scholem zeigt Jäger, wie sich Benjamin mit dem eigenen Jüdischsein auseinandersetzt.

„Das kulturelle Feld, in dem sich Benjamin zwischen 1915 und 1925 bewegte, war bestimmt von der Naherwartung ungeheurer weltgeschichtlicher Ereignisse und Wendungen. Der Zionismus ging daran, das fast zweitausendjährige Exil des jüdischen Volkes zu beenden." Im Gegensatz zu Scholem, der früh zum Zionisten geworden war und mit der Assimilation des Elternhauses radikal gebrochen hatte, spielt bei Benjamin „das Jüdische nur eine Teilrolle", wie er in einem Brief an Ludwig Strauss festhält; mit dem „Auswanderungszionismus" und dem „National-Jüdischen" kann er wenig anfangen.

Jäger betont, dass Benjamin immer wieder durch persönliche Beziehungen intellektuell geprägt worden sei; in der Schweiz, wo er von 1917 bis 1919 mit seiner Frau Dora lebt und an seiner Dissertation arbeitet, beeindruckt ihn der Philosoph Ernst Bloch. 1924 lernt er Asja Lacis auf Capri kennen, „eine bolschewistische Lettin aus Riga"; eine Begegnung, die wirkt wie ein „kommunistischer elektrischer Schlag". Ende der zwanziger Jahre kommt es zum Kontakt mit Brecht; Benjamin intensiviert seine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Marxismus. Später, Mitte der dreißiger Jahre, sucht er sein „Heil in der Entmagisierung". Er konzentriert sich auf die Ware, und „ausgekühlt, fast zwanghaft werden die Funde auf das eine Motiv des Kapitalismus projiziert", wie Jäger bedauernd feststellt. Der Flaneur und Verfasser funkelnder Denkbilder orientiere sich immer stärker an einer „gnadenlosen fixen Idee".

Die Biografie ist dabei weniger an chronologischen Lebensstationen als an „metaphysischen Umwälzungen" ausgerichtet; auch das familiäre Umfeld spielt eine geringere Rolle als die geistigen Welten, in denen sich der Kulturkritiker bewegt. Faszinierend ist, wie Jäger das Changieren zwischen Ding und Ware bei Benjamin nachzeichnet; und originell ist, wie er seinen „physiognomischen" Blick auf die Gestalt des Philosophen mit den Eindrücken der Zeitgenossen von Adorno über die Fotografin Gisèle Freund bis zur Chiromantin Charlotte Wolff belegt (auch wenn man der physiognomischen Lesart dabei nicht folgen muss). Jäger konzentriert sich, anders als vorangegangene Biografen, vor allem auf den Benjamin, der sich brennend für die Ränder des Wissens, für die Verschmelzung politischer, ästhetischer und theologischer Gedanken interessiert – und kommt seinem Protagonisten damit (ohne je ins Verehrungsregister zu wechseln) auf höchst erhellende Weise nah.
Jutta Person

Von Jutta Person, 19.10.2017

Jutta Person ist Literaturkritikerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin, sie schreibt unter anderem für die "Süddeutsche Zeitung", "Literaturen" und "Die Zeit". Beim "Philosophie Magazin" betreut sie als Redakteurin das Ressort Sachbücher.