Category: Fiction

Lukas Bärfuss
Hagard
[Hagard]

Novel

Hunting scenes from the metropolis

Every season of new book releases we witness just how much contemporary German-language literature is enriched by the works of Austrian and Swiss authors. With the release of his most recent novel, "Hagard," Lukas Bärfuss has been one of the most widely discussed Swiss authors of the year. Looking back on the career of the writer and playwright (b.1971 in Thun), this should hardly come as a surprise. He became famous with the play Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern [The sexual neuroses of our parents] and continues to provoke with his political statements and literary works that focus on the smugness and complacency of his home country.

The French word "haggard" can be translated as "wild, shy, disturbed". In the lexicon of hunting, it refers to captive animals, especially birds of prey, which can be trained, yet are never fully tamable. Philip, the protagonist of the novel, is a real estate manager in his late forties, who is trapped in an average everyday life—the pressure to increase efficiency and concomitant sense of emptiness in his own life. While waiting for an insolvent business partner on a March afternoon in Zurich's pedestrian zone, he experiences a strange break in his life, which possibly begins as a whim, but grows into a full-fledged obsession As if under a mysterious spell, he spontaneously begins to follow a young woman, who has just stepped out of a department store wearing a pair of plum blue ballerina flats. She nimbly winds her way through the city, and though Philip is unable to see her face, he is fascinated and irresistibly drawn to her. He frequently loses track of her but manages to stay on her trail.

The chase, which turns the hitherto inconspicuous, well-earning father (he has a son) into a wild stalker, leads the hunter into the desolate periphery of the metropolis and into increasingly bizarre and macabre situations. It also becomes a race against time as the battery of his cell phone is low and he depends on it entirely as a bridge to his middle class existence.

Bärfuss stages the breathless, tragicomic odyssey not only as a parcours of a personal obsession, but also as a panorama of a prosperous modern world with its hostile precincts and latent threats. The plot is insouciantly dated to the exact two days of March 2014, in which the Boeing 777 of Malaysia Airlines had disappeared, the occupation of the Crimea, and Asian avian flu, all of which had dominated the media at the time. The topography of Zurich also can be traced to the real city, even though it is never mentioned by name. The author's art consists in creating a completely surrealistic ambience from this realistic time and space constellation, in which digital machines inevitably will lead to "the abolition of humankind," through an easily accepted external control.

Against this background is the stalker’s intoxicating crazy love, whose fantasies have turned the object of his hunt into a being made of light, even a "goddess," which ultimately turns out to be a final desperate escape from his dystopic present. Even though the frame story, consisting of a retrospective look back at Philips' biography, as well as the somewhat enigmatic catastrophic conclusion, is not as convincingly portrayed as the oppressive, satirically exaggerated sequence at the center of the novel, "Hagard" is nonetheless one of the most important and exciting German-language prose works in recent times.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 03.11.2017

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Belletristik

Lukas Bärfuss
Hagard

Roman

Jagdszenen aus der Großstadt

Wie sehr die deutschsprachige Gegenwartsliteratur durch ihre österreichischen und schweizerischen Anteile bereichert wird, erweist sich fast in jeder Büchersaison aufs Neue. In diesem Jahr gehört der Schweizer Lukas Bärfuss mit seinem Roman „Hagard" zu den meistdiskutierten Autoren. Was kaum überrascht, wenn man auf den Werdegang des 1971 in Thun geborenen Schriftstellers und Dramatikers zurückblickt, der mit dem Stück „Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern" bekannt wurde und seitdem immer wieder mit provokanten Stoffen, manchmal auch mit politischen Verlautbarungen die satte Selbstzufriedenheit seines Heimatlandes attackiert hat.

Das französische Wort „hagard" lässt sich mit „wild, scheu, verstört" übersetzen. In der Jägersprache bezeichnet es gefangene Tiere, zumal Raubvögel, die zwar abgerichtet werden können, aber nie vollständig zähmbar sind. Philip, die Hauptfigur des Romans, ist ein Immobilienverwalter Ende vierzig, gefangen in einem durchschnittlichen Alltag zwischen äußerem Effizienzdruck und innerer Leere. Als er an einem Märznachmittag in der Zürcher Fußgängerzone auf einen säumigen Geschäftspartner wartet, bricht die Verstörung in sein Leben ein. Zunächst aus einer Laune heraus, dann zunehmend wie unter einem geheimnisvollen Bann, folgt er einer unbekannten jungen Frau, die aus einem Kaufhaus gekommen ist und sich nun leichtfüßig, in pflaumenblauen Ballerinaschuhen, auf verschlungenen Pfaden durch die Stadt bewegt. Philip kann ihr Gesicht nicht erkennen und verspürt doch eine unwiderstehliche Faszination; er verliert immer wieder ihre Fährte und bleibt ihr doch auf der Spur.

Die Verfolgungsjagd, die den bis dahin unauffälligen Gutverdiener und Vater eines Sohnes zum wildgewordenen Stalker mutieren lässt, führt in die triste Peripherie der Metropole und bringt den Jäger in skurrile bis makabre Situationen. Sie wird außerdem zum Wettlauf mit dem Akku des Mobiltelefons, an dem die gesamte bürgerliche Existenz des Getriebenen hängt. Am Ende, nach gerade einmal sechsunddreißig Stunden, ist diese Existenz vernichtet.

Bärfuss inszeniert die atemlose, tragikomische Odyssee jedoch nicht nur als Parcours einer persönlichen Obsession, sondern zugleich als Panorama der modernen Wohlstandswelt mit ihren lebensfeindlichen Orten und latenten Bedrohungen. Beiläufig wird die Handlung präzise datiert auf jene zwei Märztage des Jahres 2014, in denen die verschwundene Boeing 777 der Malaysia Airlines, die Besetzung der Krim und die asiatische Vogelgrippe die Nachrichten dominierten, und auch die Topographie Zürichs lässt sich in der Realität nachvollziehen, wenngleich die Stadt nicht genannt wird. Die Kunst des Autors besteht darin, in dieser realistischen Raum-Zeit-Konstellation ein vollkommen surreal anmutendes Ambiente zu erzeugen, in dem die „Abschaffung des Menschen", als Vollendung seiner bereitwillig akzeptierten Fremdsteuerung durch digitale Maschinen, mühelos vorstellbar ist.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wirkt der rauschhafte Liebeswahn des Stalkers, in dessen Fantasie das Objekt der Verfolgung allmählich die Züge eines Lichtwesens, ja einer „Göttin" annimmt, wie ein letzter verzweifelter Ausbruch aus einer dystopisch organisierten Gegenwart. Auch wenn die Rahmenhandlung, bestehend aus Rückblicken auf Philips Biographie und einem verrätselt katastrophalen Schluss, nicht ganz so überzeugen kann wie die beklemmende, satirisch zugespitzte Sequenz im Zentrum des Romans, gehört „Hagard" zu den wichtigsten und aufregendsten deutschsprachigen Prosawerken der jüngsten Zeit.
Vorname Name

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 03.11.2017

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.