Category: Children's Books

Torben Kuhlmann
Armstrong. Die abenteuerliche Reise einer Maus zum Mond
[Armstrong. The Adventurous Journey of a Mouse to the Moon]

Storybook

Top secret!

In Armstrong Torben Kuhlmann reveals a simply incredible secret: the first visitor to the moon was a mouse!

A mouse travelling to the moon in a tiny home-made spaceship? Surely this can only be a picture book for young children?! After all, we somewhat older folk long since stopped believing that the moon is made of cheese.

Well, no - not if the young writer and illustrator Torben Kuhlmann is anything to go by. Already in his debut book Lindbergh, Kuhlmann chose a flying mouse as his hero, in the process scoring a much lauded success as a master of photo-realistic book-illustrating; and now in his third picture book on the adventures of space-travelling mice he has gone so far as to create a fictional but nonetheless convincingly narrated and illustrated prequel to man’s first landing on the moon on 21 July 1969.

What Kuhlmann tells his utterly flabbergasted readers seems altogether sensational - namely that only a tiny number of people back then were in the know about the existence of a moon mouse! And NASA’s top secret codename for this mouse was ‘Armstrong’. ‘This ensured that no one could inadvertently betray the secret. Whenever there was any discussion about the first visitor to the moon, the answer was simple: "It was Armstrong". ’

The biography of our hero as put to us by Kuhlmann is even more startling than the sheer fact that man was beaten to it by a mouse. For the moon mouse is a very special creature: highly gifted, curious, thirsty for knowledge, full of ideas, skillful with his hands, courageous, and in the face of adversity unshakeably true to his dreams and his mission. With his realist drawing style and fascinating perspectives Kuhlmann the illustrator takes us straight into 1950s America: World War Two is over, and in its place are years of explosive economic and techno-scientific development, and an all-pervading ‘Can do!’ mentality.

And right there, in an attic room in downtown Manhattan, we encounter a tiny picture-book mouse, perched on top of a stack of old books, staring intently - and, if we’re not much mistaken, somewhat dreamily - through a telescope. Thus begins a weird and wonderful illustrated tale that on one level appears to be taken straight from real life, yet is viewed from the perspective of a small rodent. We witness an assembly of mice in a cheese shop, at which our hero tries in vain to explain to his fellow creatures the exciting things he has found out about the moon in his unquenchable thirst for knowledge. It is only when a mysterious letter arrives from the world-famous National Air and Space Museum at the Smithsonian Institute that possibilities open up for the mouse that previously he could only dream about. A venerable old mouse-inhabitant of the Museum tells him how mice as well as men had long been gripped by a fascination for flight. Our hero’s decision is made: ‘I shall be the first mouse on the moon.’ And with this decision, numerous doors - or rather mouse-holes - are opened up for him onto strange new worlds. He secretly studies at university. By dint of a lengthy period of arduous, painstaking work he contrives to produce a space suit, a space capsule and a catapult. His venture fails, he tries again, he fails again, but he refuses to give up, until - yes! - one day...

Numerous scenes in the wildly adventurous life of this mouse simply take our breath away. It’s as if we are being plunged into the world of America via the medium of a Hollywood film in Cinemascope and full technicolour. Kuhlmann creates images that draw us in with tremendous power, even though - or perhaps precisely because - their style and their message both derive from a deep commitment to realism. However, this doesn’t mean that the story is devoid of the fantastical and its attendant magic. The magic comes through in the subtle insights we are offered, it manifests itself in seemingly unimportant details within the drawings, in unexpected perspectives, and not least in the mouse’s somewhat dreamlike air as he gazes up at the night sky.

If this fantastic-realistic take on the excitement of pursuing science and making new discoveries doesn’t encourage inquisitive children to engage with the world beyond their immediate horizon, what will?!

 
Siggi Seuß

By Siggi Seuß, 21.03.2017

​Siggi Seuß, freelance journalist, radio script writer and translator, has been writing reviews of books for children and young people for many years.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Torben Kuhlmann
Armstrong. Die abenteuerliche Reise einer Maus zum Mond

Bilderbuch

Streng geheim!

Torben Kuhlmann lüftet in „Armstrong“ ein schier unglaubliches Geheimnis: Eine Maus war der erste Besucher auf dem Mond

Eine Maus als Astronaut in einem klitzekleinen, selbstgebastelten Raumschiff auf dem Weg zum Mond? Das kann doch nur eine Bildergeschichte für kleine Kinder sein! Schließlich glauben wir etwas Größeren schon lange nicht mehr daran, dass der Mond aus Käse besteht.

Aber nein, der junge Illustrator und Autor Torben Kuhlmann - der bereits in „Lindbergh“ eine fliegende Maus zum Helden der Geschichte erkoren und damit ein viel beachtetes Debüt als Meister fotorealistischer Illustrationskunst vorgelegt hat -, Kuhlmann wagt sich in seiner dritten Bilderzählung über das Abenteuer Mäuseluftfahrt an nichts Geringeres als die fiktive, dennoch glaubwürdig erzählte und illustrierte Vorgeschichte der ersten Schritte eines Menschen auf dem Mond am 21. Juli 1969.

Was Kuhlmann uns über alle Maßen staunenden Lesern mitzuteilen hat, klingt sensationell: Nur ein paar Eingeweihte wussten damals von der Existenz einer Mondmaus. Und die NASA gab ihr - streng geheim! - den Namen Armstrong. „So war sichergestellt, dass niemand aus Versehen das Geheimnis verraten konnte. Wann immer die Rede vom ersten Besucher auf dem Mond war, hieß es einfach nur: Das war Armstrong.“

Noch erstaunlicher als die Tatsache, dass die Maus damals dem Menschen um einige Schritte voraus war, ist die Biografie des Helden/der Heldin, die uns Kuhlmann nahebringt: Bei der Mondmaus handelt es sich um ein hochbegabtes, neugieriges, wissensdurstiges, einfallsreiches, handwerklich geschicktes, mutiges und auch durch Rückschläge nicht an ihrem Traum und an ihrer Mission zweifelndes Wesen. Mit realistischem Strich und faszinierenden Perspektiven führt uns der Illustrator in die amerikanische Welt der 1950er Jahre. Nachkriegszeit. Jahre des wirtschaftlichen und technisch-wissenschaftlichen Aufbruchs und des Glaubens an das „Alles ist möglich.“

In jenen Jahren sitzt in Down Town Manhattan in einer Bodenkammer wie aus dem Bilderbuch eine kleine Maus auf einem Stapel alter Bücher und guckt mit beharrlichem (wenn uns nicht alles täuscht: auch mit leicht verträumtem) Blick ins Okular eines Teleskops. So beginnt eine wundersame Geschichte mit Bildern, die dem wirklichen Leben entsprungen scheinen, nur eben aus der Perspektive eines kleinen Nagers. Wir werden Zeuge eines Mäusetreffens in einem Käseladen, wo unsere wissbegierige Maus ihren Artgenossen vergeblich zu erläutern versucht, was sie durch ihre Nachforschungen über den Mond herausgefunden hat. Erst ein geheimnisvoller Brief aus dem weltbekannten Luft- und Raumfahrtmuseum des Smithsonian Institutes in Washington eröffnet der Maus eine Zukunft, von der sie bisher nur träumen konnte. Eine uralte Museumsmaus erzählt ihr von der Faszination des Fliegens, die gleichermaßen Menschen wie Mäuse erfasst habe. Der Entschluss steht fest: „Ich werde die erste Maus auf dem Mond.“ Und mit dieser Entscheidung öffnen sich für sie Fenster - oder besser gesagt: Mauselöcher in fremde Welten. Sie studiert heimlich an der Universität. Sie baut sich in mühsamer, langwieriger Kleinarbeit Raumanzug, eine Kapsel, ein Katapult. Sie scheitert und versucht es neu und scheitert wieder und gibt nicht auf, bis, ja bis …

Wir sehen Szenen dieses abenteuerlichen Mäuselebens, die uns schier den Atem rauben. Als würden wir in diese amerikanische Welt eintauchen wie in einen Cinemaskop-Hollywood-Farbfilm. Kuhlmann kreiiert Bilder von immenser Sogwirkung, obwohl oder gerade weil sie sich sowohl in der Gestaltung als auch in den Botschaften einem seriösen Realismus verpflichtet fühlen. Das heißt aber nicht, dass der Geschichte der Zauber des Fantastischen fehlte. Der kommt mit den verborgenen Einblicken. Er findet sich in scheinbar nebensächlichen Bilddetails, in ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven und nicht zuletzt in jenem leicht verträumten Augen-Blick der Maus, wenn sie hinauf zum Nachthimmel blickt.

Was, wenn nicht dieser fantastisch-realistische Zugang zum Abenteuer des Forschens und Entdeckens bringt wissbegierige Kinder dazu, sich ernsthaft mit der Welt da droben, über dem nahen Horizont, zu beschäftigen?
Siggi Seuß

Von Siggi Seuß, 21.03.2017

​Siggi Seuß, freier Journalist, Hörfunkautor und Übersetzer, schreibt seit vielen Jahren Kinder- und Jugendbuchkritiken.