Category: Non-fiction

Dietmar Dath
Superhelden. 100 Seiten
[Superheroes. 100 Pages]

Non-Fiction

The Evolution of Superheroes

Is it possible to depict the phenomenon of superhero comics in just 100 pages? That ought to be sufficient, but not in this case. For, since the late 1930s, this popular subgenre of the art form called comics has undergone a multiplicity of changes, from rather naive beginnings to today's elaborate books and films, such that it almost seems impossible to reduce it to a common denominator.

Yet Dietmar Dath has dared to discuss this subject in essayistic form, as required by Reclam Verlag’s series 100 Pages. The author, born in 1970, has an affinity for science fiction chiefly reflected in his journalism as film editor of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung but also in literary works such as his 2008 novel The Abolition of the Species (Die Abschaffung der Arten). Likewise, Dath has been intrigued by superhero comics since childhood. According to him, these stories continue to fascinate today’s children and adolescents to such a great extent because they wish to identify with heroes who surpass themselves. Dath thereby incorporates his own early reading experiences into his inquiry while still making it clear that there is also much to captivate adult readers in works that may only seem "incredible."

Dath addresses the first two of these heroes, the most significant representatives of their kind to the present, namely Superman and Batman. He examines the fundamental differences between these prototypes: one an extraterrestrial demigod born with supernatural powers, the other a human who has acquired them by hard work.

Their origins date back well before 1938, the year of the first Superman book. Dath cites a number of historians of literature and philosophy who had already anticipated the phenomenon theoretically, locating an important source in the age of Romanticism. In addition, he demonstrates the fantastic and mythical elements in various superhero series. He explains clearly terms that are essential to the genre, such as "golden / silver age" and "origin stories," as well as distinguishing between the two leading comics publishers, DC and Marvel. Dath introduces as well some of the most central superhero characters who are presently experiencing renewed popularity at the movies. By way of illustration, he delves more deeply into a few works that he considers important milestones for the genre, such as Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight, Chris Claremont’s Uncanny X-Men, and Swamp Thing and Watchmen (both based on scenarios by Alan Moore). Dath attributes a key role to these writers inasmuch as they succeeded in adapting outdated ideas about superheroes to a new era. Particularly in the 1980s, these authors took up current social issues, reflecting upon them with intelligence. The superhero genre, which had been declared dead, was now revived by interrogating itself, practicing social criticism, and becoming political.

In his essay, Dath succeeds in providing a well-founded analysis of the pop-cultural phenomenon of "superheroes" and how it has developed, motivating readers themselves to discover or re-read some of the works that he has introduced.
Ralph Trommer

By Ralph Trommer, 08.05.2018

Ralph Trommer, Dipl. Animator, is a freelance writer and artist who is a regular contributor of reviews and articles on comics, graphic novels and films for a variety of media.

Translated by David A. Brenner

Sparte: Sachbuch

Dietmar Dath
Superhelden. 100 Seiten

Sachbuch

Die Evolution der Superhelden

Ganze 100 Taschenbuchseiten, um das Phänomen der Superhelden-Comics darzustellen? Müsste doch ausreichen. Doch weit gefehlt! Das seit den späten dreißiger Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts beliebte Subgenre innerhalb der Comic-Kunstform hat von seinen eher naiven Anfängen bis zu heutigen aufwendigen Comics und bombastischen Verfilmungen so viele Wandlungen durchlebt, dass es fast unmöglich scheint, alles auf einen Nenner zu bringen.

Dietmar Dath hat es dennoch gewagt, das Thema in dem vom Reclam Verlag vorgegebenen Format 100 Seiten zu erörtern, in essayistischer Form. Der 1970 geborene Autor hat eine Affinität zu Science Fiction, was sich schwerpunktmäßig in journalistischen Texten als Filmredakteur der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung niederschlägt, aber auch in literarischen Werken, wie seinem Roman Die Abschaffung der Arten von 2008. Entsprechend ist Dietmar Dath auch den Superheldencomics seit seiner Kindheit verbunden. Laut Dath hält die Faszination dieser Geschichten auf Kinder und Jugendliche bis heute weitgehend an, da diese sich gerne mit Helden identifizieren, die über sich hinauswachsen. So bezieht Dath seine eigene frühe Leseerfahrung in die Untersuchung mit ein, macht aber auch deutlich, dass in den nur scheinbar ‚unglaubwürdigen‘ Comics vieles drinsteckt, das auch erwachsene Leser fesseln kann.

Dietmar Dath kommt auf die ersten beiden Helden und bis heute wichtigsten Vertreter ihrer Art, Superman und Batman, und die wesentlichen Unterschiede zwischen diesen Prototypen zu sprechen: der eine ist ein außerirdischer Halbgott, dem übernatürliche Kräfte angeboren sind, der andere ein Mensch, der sich diese selbst antrainiert hat.

Ihre Ursprünge reichen weit vor 1938, dem Erscheinungsjahr des ersten Superman-Heftes, zurück. Dath zitiert verschiedene Autoren der Literatur- und Philosophiegeschichte, die das Phänomen bereits gedanklich vorwegnahmen, und sieht eine wichtige literaturhistorische Quelle in der Epoche der Romantik. Außerdem weist er auf fantastische und mythische Elemente in verschiedenen Superhelden-Serien hin. Für das Genre wesentliche Begriffe wie ‚Golden/Silver Age‘ oder ‚Origin Stories‘ werden verständlich erklärt, sowie die Unterschiede zwischen den beiden führenden Comicverlagen DC und Marvel. Auch stellt Dath einige der wichtigsten Superhelden-Charaktere vor, die heute durch Verfilmungen einen neuen Popularitätsschub erfahren. Exemplarisch steigt er in einige Werke tiefer ein, die er als wichtige Meilensteine für das Genre versteht, etwa The Dark Knight von Frank Miller, Uncanny X-Men von Chris Claremont oder Swamp Thing und Watchmen nach Szenarien von Alan Moore. Diesen Autoren weist Dath eine tragende Rolle zu, da es ihnen gelungen ist, veraltete Superhelden-Konzepte der neuen Zeit anzupassen. Vor allem in den 1980er Jahren wurden auf intelligente Weise aktuelle gesellschaftliche Prozesse aufgegriffen und widergespiegelt. Das schon totgesagte Superhelden-Genre wurde wiederbelebt, indem es sich selbstreflexiv in Frage stellte, Gesellschaftskritik übte und politisch wurde.

Dietmar Dath gelingt in seinem Essay eine fundierte Analyse des popkulturellen Phänomens ‚Superhelden‘ und seiner Entwicklung, die Leser dazu anregt, einige vorgestellte Werke selbst zu entdecken oder wieder zu lesen.
Ralph Trommer

Von Ralph Trommer, 08.05.2018

Ralph Trommer, Dipl. Animator, freier Autor und Künstler, schreibt für verschiedene Medien regelmäßig Rezensionen und Fachartikel über Comics, Graphic Novels und Filme.