Category: Fiction

Melinda Nadj Abonji
Schildkrötensoldat
[Tortoise Soldier]

Novel

The poetry of gentle resistance

In 2010 the German Book Prize was awarded to a Swiss writer for the first time. Melinda Nadj Abonji - who was born in 1968 into a minority-Hungarian family in what is now Serbia, but moved to Zurich with her parents at the age of five - won the award for her novel Tauben fliegen auf (Fly away, Pigeon). Whereas in that book she wrote essentially about herself - about the childhood home she had lost but still pined for, and about the problems faced by her family when they left Yugoslavia and had to integrate into the hyper-clean idyll that was Switzerland - she has centred her new novel Schildkrötensoldat (Tortoise Soldier) on a hero, or rather anti-hero, who bids fair to become an unforgettable if not undying figure in the literary firmament.

This novel, too, takes place in Melinda Nadj Abonji’s birthplace, the multi-ethnic province of Vojvodina, and takes the reader back to 1991, the year the Yugoslav wars began. Zoltán Kertész, nickname Zoli, the son of a half-gypsy father and day-labourer mother, grew up in rural poverty, and although he is regarded by others as mentally retarded, he is in fact an exceptionally sensitive outsider and highly imaginative dreamer who is completely out of place not only in the rough-edged community of his village but also in his dismal family home, wrecked as it is by drink and a pervasive sense of hopelessness.

What Zoli most likes doing is spending his time in the garden, talking to the trees and flowers and to his dog Tango. He bestows a certain order on the incomprehensible world around him by making up crosswords, and breaking words down into their constituent elements. By dint of a sort of gentle friendship he enjoys a warm bond with his cousin Hanna, who has emigrated to Switzerland, and who is clearly the author’s alter ego. Following Zoli’s premature death she travels to Serbia to investigate the background to this sad turn of events. Her narrative voice is deployed to parallel and mimic that of the protagonist, who - fully aware of his disability and his otherness - speaks about his life in an idiosyncratically poetic language that verges on the surreal.

The baker he worked for having beaten him half to death, Zoli shows symptoms of epilepsy, and appears no longer fit for any kind of work. His parents, as ignorant as they are feckless, want to make a ‘real man’ out of him and force him to join the army. There, he tries to save himself by behaving like a tortoise, doing everything slowly and retreating into his shell at every opportunity. But a gentle eccentric and ingenuous innocent such as Zoli can’t help but be destroyed by the brutality of the military machine with its dirty tricks and its humiliations. When the relentless drills bring about the death of his only friend, Jenö, he goes completely to pieces and is discharged from the army as ‘incurably insane’, and dies soon afterwards from an epileptic seizure.

Melinda Abonji shows the hidden side and inner make-up of the violence that wreaks such destruction at the front line of the war. But she also shows that the engine that drives all wars - the dull but oppressive routine of power and subjugation, of orders and obedience - can be subverted by the wilful use of inventive language combined with a rebellious imagination. The rebel with the mind of a child may meet a tragic end, but the author - a musician as well as a writer - endows him with his own special voice and his own special language (a considerable challenge for translators!), and in so doing flies a flag for the world’s misfits and dissenters. At the same time, too, this moving story is a stirring monument to a broken land, and a homeland now lost.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 08.05.2018

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Belletristik

Melinda Nadj Abonji
Schildkrötensoldat

Roman

Poesie des sanften Widerstands

Im Jahr 2010 ging der Deutsche Buchpreis erstmals an eine Schweizer Schriftstellerin: Melinda Nadj Abonji, 1968 im heutigen Serbien als Angehörige der ungarischen Minderheit geboren und als Fünfjährige mit ihren Eltern nach Zürich übergesiedelt, erhielt die Auszeichnung für ihren Roman „Tauben fliegen auf". Erzählte sie damals noch autobiografisch vom Sehnsuchtsort ihrer Kindheit und von den Integrationsproblemen ihrer Familie im eidgenössischen Sauberkeits-Idyll, hat sie ihr neues Prosawerk „Schildkrötensoldat" einem Helden – oder Anti-Helden – gewidmet, der als literarische Figur unvergesslich, wenn nicht unsterblich werden könnte.

Auch dieser Roman spielt in der Herkunftsregion Melinda Nadj Abonjis, in der Vielvölker-Provinz Vojvodina, und er führt zurück ins Jahr des Kriegsausbruchs 1991. Zoltán Kertész, genannt Zoli, Sohn eines Halbzigeuners und einer Tagelöhnerin, ist auf dem Land unter ärmlichen Verhältnissen aufgewachsen. Er gilt als geistig zurückgeblieben; in Wahrheit ist er ein ungewöhnlich sensibler Außenseiter, ein fantasiebegabter Träumer, der weder in das grobschlächtige Dorfmilieu passt noch in sein tristes, von Alkohol und Perspektivlosigkeit zerrüttetes Elternhaus.

Am liebsten hält er sich im Garten auf, redet mit Bäumen und Blumen und mit seinem Hund Tango. Die unbegreifliche Welt ordnet er für sich, indem er Kreuzworträtsel erfindet, Wörter in ihre Bestandteile auflöst. Und es verbindet ihn eine zarte Freundschaft mit seiner in die Schweiz ausgewanderten Cousine Hanna, in der wir das Alter Ego der Autorin erkennen. Nach Zolis frühem Tod reist sie nach Serbien und erforscht die Hintergründe des traurigen Geschehens. Ihre Erzählstimme begleitet und spiegelt die des Protagonisten, der sich seiner Behinderung, seiner Andersartigkeit vollkommen bewusst ist und in einer eigenwillig poetischen, oft ans Surreale rührenden Sprache aus seinem Leben berichtet.

Seit der Bäcker, bei dem er arbeitete, ihn halbtot geprügelt hat, leidet der Junge an Epilepsie-Symptomen und scheint zu nichts mehr zu taugen. Seine Eltern, so unwissend wie hilflos, wollen einen „richtigen Mann" aus ihm machen und zwingen ihn zum Eintritt in die Armee. Dort versucht er, sich gleich einer Schildkröte durch Verzögerung und Rückzug zu retten. Aber ein sanftmütiger Sonderling und reiner Tor wie er muss an der Brutalität der militärischen Maschinerie, an ihren Schikanen und Erniedrigungen zugrunde gehen. Nachdem sein einziger Freund Jenö beim gnadenlosen Drill ums Leben gekommen ist, bricht Zoli zusammen, wird als unheilbar verrückt aus der Armee entlassen und stirbt kurz darauf bei einem epileptischen Anfall.

Melinda Abonji zeigt die Rückseite und die innere Struktur der Gewalt, die an der Front ihr zerstörerisches Werk verrichtet. Doch sie zeigt auch, dass das Betriebssystem aller Kriege, die dumpfe Routine von Macht und Unterwerfung, Befehl und Gehorsam, unterlaufen werden kann durch sprachschöpferischen Eigensinn und eine widerständige Fantasie. Zwar findet der Rebell mit dem Kindergemüt ein tragisches Ende, aber die Autorin, die auch Musikerin ist, hat ihm eine Stimme und eine eigens für ihn komponierte Sprache verliehen (für Übersetzer eine schöne Herausforderung) und damit allen Unangepassten und Abweichlern dieser Welt ein Denkmal gesetzt. Zugleich ist die berührende Erzählung ein Monument für ein zerfallenes Land und eine verlorene Heimat.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 08.05.2018

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.