Category: Fiction

Robert Menasse
Die Hauptstadt
[The Capital]

Novel

Slapstick, Tragedy and Europe

Robert Menasse (b. 1954, Vienna) is one of Austria's most eminent contemporary authors and a passionate European. He has repeatedly defended the European Union in his polemical writing, while also expressing concern that the stability of the alliance is being endangered by the return of nationalism, competitive thinking, power struggles, petty bureaucracy and isolationism. In his essay, "Der Europäische Landbote," published in 2012, Menasse questioned whether the European Commission "wasn’t the stuff of a novel." He answered the question with the brilliant novel, "Die Hauptstadt" [The Capital] which won the German Book Prize in 2017, topped the bestseller lists, and was the subject of lively debates in the German-speaking world

After years of doing research in Brussels, the author found a form of representation reminiscent of Robert Altman's classic episodic film, "Short Cuts:" rather than concentrating on a single protagonist, he mirrors the multi-headed institution by focusing on a number of ‘players’ in Brussels’ labyrinthic organization, who meet by chance or plan, forge alliances, battle one another and engage in intrigues. Everybody is pursuing their own narrow-minded interests, in fact, there is no common ground for anybody to truly relate and therein lies the satirical hyperbole that makes Robert Menasse's portrait of the EU such a thoroughly enjoyable read.

An upcoming major event—the round anniversary of the founding of the EU—kicks off the merry-go-round of activity. Fenia Xenopoulou, the Cypriot Head of the Directorate-General for Culture, calls for original proposals for the ‘Big Jubilee Project’. While on a business trip to Poland, her Austrian consultant Martin Susman, son of a pig farmer and brother of a pig lobbyist, comes up with the idea of making Auschwitz the center of the festivities: the site of Germany’s crimes against humanity—the ultimate symbol of "never again"—should serve as a reminder to overcome nationalistic sentiments and individual state interests.

This macabre and curious constellation becomes the motor of a campaign that Menasse portrays with a keenly analytic knowledge of history and a brilliant sense of comedy. A stray pig wandering the streets of Brussels kicks off the action and appears throughout the story as a vivid and powerful running gag.

Caught in the mill of the morally charged, endlessly debated Babylonian handling of the project are a Holocaust survivor, who was taken to an old age home in Brussels, and an emeritus of economics, who wants to build the ideal "Capital of Europe" on the Auschwitz site. Both of their paths cross at the military cemetery, where the resistance fighter Brunfaut has been buried. He is the grandfather of a criminal investigator, who discovers a Vatican conspiracy in the midst of solving a murder case.

Menasse masterfully holds the strings of all these wild connections, while drawing a complex moral picture in which slapstick and tragedy blend vertiginously with the earnestness of the European vision and lampooning its dismantling. Beneath it all is a subtle and ingenious reflection of another great European epic, "Man without Qualities," Robert Musil’s swan song to the Austro-Hungarian monarchy - a portent for the EU that hopefully will remain fiction.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 08.05.2018

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Belletristik

Robert Menasse
Die Hauptstadt

Roman

Slapstick, Tragik und Europa

Robert Menasse, 1954 in Wien geboren, ist einer der wichtigsten Gegenwartsautoren Österreichs und leidenschaftlicher Europäer. In philosophischen und politischen Streitschriften hat er immer wieder für das Projekt der Europäischen Union argumentiert und sich zugleich besorgt darüber geäußert, dass die Solidarität, Weltoffenheit und Stabilität des Bündnisses zunehmend gefährdet seien durch den Rückfall in nationalstaatliches Konkurrenzdenken, Machtkämpfe, Bürokratismus und Kleingeisterei. In seinem 2012 erschienenen Essay „Der Europäische Landbote" hatte Menasse sich gefragt, ob die Europäische Kommission womöglich „romanfähig" sei. Beantwortet hat er die Frage mit dem fulminanten Roman „Die Hauptstadt", der den Deutschen Buchpreis des Jahres 2017 gewann, die Bestsellerlisten eroberte und im deutschen Sprachraum lebhaft debattiert wird.

Nach jahrelangen Recherchen in Brüssel hat der Autor eine Darstellungsform gefunden, deren episodischer Charakter an Robert Altmans Filmklassiker „Short Cuts" erinnert: Statt einer Hauptfigur gibt es, wie es der vielköpfigen Institution entspricht, eine Reihe von handelnden Personen, die einander im Labyrinth des Brüsseler Apparats planmäßig oder zufällig begegnen, Allianzen schmieden, sich bekämpfen oder gegeneinander intrigieren. Es fällt auf, dass keine echte Gemeinsamkeit und Interaktion stattfindet, sondern jeder seine eigenen, bornierten Interessen verfolgt: Auch darin zeigt sich die satirische Zuspitzung, die Robert Menasses EU-Porträt insgesamt zu einer äußerst vergnüglichen Lektüre macht.

Ausgelöst wird der Reigen der Umtriebigkeit durch ein bevorstehendes Großereignis, ein rundes Jubiläum der EU-Gründung. Für das „Big Jubilee Project" fordert Fenia Xenopoulou, die zypriotische Leiterin der Generaldirektion Kultur, originelle Vorschläge ein. Ihr österreichischer Referent Martin Susman, Sohn eines Schweinebauern und Bruder eines Schweinelobbyisten, kommt während einer Dienstreise nach Polen auf die Idee, Auschwitz zum Zentrum der Festivitäten zu machen: Der Ort des deutschen Menschheitsverbrechens soll als Symbol für das „Nie wieder" die Überwindung von Nationalgefühlen und staatlichen Partikularinteressen fördern. Diese makaber-kuriose Konstellation wird zum Motor einer Kampagne, die Menasse mit scharf analysierendem Geschichtsbewusstsein und hohem Sinn für Komik schildert. Ein herrenloses Schwein, das zu Beginn der Geschichte durch Brüssels Straßen irrt, taucht dabei als bildkräftiger „running gag" bis zum Ende immer wieder auf.

In die Mühlen der moralisch aufgeladenen, babylonisch zerredeten Projektabwicklung geraten ein Holocaust-Überlebender, den es in ein Brüsseler Altersheim verschlagen hat, und ein Emeritus der Ökonomie, der die ideale „Hauptstadt Europas" auf dem Gelände von Auschwitz errichten möchte. Die Wege der beiden kreuzen sich auf dem Soldatenfriedhof, auf dem der Widerstandskämpfer Brunfaut begraben liegt, Großvater eines Kriminalkommissars, der einen Mord aufklären muss und dabei auf eine vatikanische Verschwörung stößt.

Bei all diesen abenteuerlichen Verknüpfungen behält Menasse souverän die Fäden in der Hand und zeichnet ein komplexes Sittenbild, in dem Slapstick und Tragik, der Ernst der europäischen Vision und der Spott über ihre Demontage sich auf schwindelerregende Weise vermischen. Dahinter erscheint in raffinierten Spiegelungen ein anderes großes europäisches Epos, Robert Musils „Mann ohne Eigenschaften", der Abgesang auf die österreichisch-ungarische Monarchie – gleich einem Menetekel für die EU, das hoffentlich Fiktion bleiben wird.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 08.05.2018

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.