Category: Non-fiction

Martin Geck
Robert Schumann - Mensch und Musiker der Romantik
[Robert Schumann, the Romantic: Musician and Man of his Time]

Biography

Review

Among the great composers of the 19th century, Robert Schumann is the very portrait of the tragic Romantic artist and introverted man of sorrows; a character riddled with contradictions, his life was an emotional roller coaster between creative highs and profound identity crises, his early end marked by loneliness and mental derangement.

Schumann passed away on the afternoon of July 29, 1856. A man of a mere 46 years, he met his death in the Endenich Sanitorium. Two years prior to that – following a failed suicide attempt and suffering from severe auditory hallucinations – he had given his consent to be committed to this psychiatric institution in greater Bonn. “Melancholia with delusions” reads the diagnosis placed in his medical records at the time; after Schumann’s death, this annotation was also supplemented with the term “Paralysia.” The question as to whether these symptoms might be construed as long-term effects of syphilis, which Schumann is said to have acquired as a young man, is still the subject of debate today.

The diagnosis given the composer Schumann, born in Zwickau in 1810, has retained its mystifying inscrutability in spite of the wealth of source materials available to us; and this vague medical diagnosis became – in equally full measure – a disaster for the composer posthumously as ensuing generations projected it onto his music. Conductor Giuseppe Sinopoli, for example, has described Schumann’s second symphony in C major as “composed-out psychosis”; for composer Dieter Schnebel, the “Dichterliebe” lieder cycle, written in 1840 during Schumann’s first highly seminal creative period, conveys a “deeply rooted melancholic resignation, one crippling his will to live.”

Indeed, Schumann’s last orchestral work, the Violin Concerto in D minor, though kept from the public by the trustees of his estate until 1937, has won a permanent place in the repertoire of numerous violin virtuosos; yet this piece, as one of the late works by the great poet of Romantic music, still continues to be viewed in light of his mental breakdown, a sort of musical profile of his psychological state.

Now, exactly 200 years after Schumann’s birth, Martin Geck is coming to Schumann’s defense to shield him from such reductionist interpretative tendencies. On the occasion of this momentous bicentennial, the Düsseldorf musicologist has dedicated his efforts to presenting us with a biography that interpolates a chronological narration of the composer’s fortunes and misfortunes with highly readable accompanying essays focused on various individual pieces and specific moments of genesis within the composer’s life. Geck, too, has no doubts that Schumann’s music was shaped by his distinctive personality traits and that his life and work, in keeping with the universal aesthetic characteristic of the Romantic period, are “melded together in an almost symbiotic way,” as he emphasizes at the very beginning of the book – while still reminding us that this does not mean his work can be explained exhaustively by his life.

In response to the cliché of the raving musical genius, Geck paints the nuanced portrait of a highly reflective artist who, time and again, subordinates his overflowing creativity and pathological longsuffering in favor of an unrelenting work ethic and a musical approach marked by its clear and well-constructed poeticism. Schumann appears in this book as the heroic figure who faces and overcomes the yawning chasm of madness within his soul, an epic character who has attained his programmatic artistic aspiration of poetically reshaping subjective experience through the act of composition and thereby creating a new ethos with his music, one that reaches above and beyond the individual self – all the while showcasing a remarkable sense of discipline that extends to the very brink of his final breakdown.

Geck focuses on the phenomenon that is Schumann in all its complexity, illuminating the various concomitant facets with even-handed aplomb: Schumann as composer; as musical journalist, filled with literary ambitions; as politically active contemporary; as father of eight children, and as husband of highly celebrated piano virtuoso Clara Schumann.

When he turns to Robert’s relationship with the latter, the biographer zealously resumes his role as vindicator. According to a persistent rumor, he reports, Clara allegedly had a fling with the young Brahms as the end drew nigh for her solitary, clinic-bound husband. Geck brands this charge, however, as anchorless and sensationalistic. In formulating his formal objections to the allegation, Geck counters it not in his usual, even-handed manner but instead passionately, even polemically. And so, in these last pages of the book, the appreciation Geck has expressed throughout for Schumann the musician – as informed as it is accessible – gives way to a deep empathy for Schumann the person.
Marianna Lieder

By Marianna Lieder, 01.09.2010

​Marianna Lieder works as a freelance journalist and literary critic for publications including the Tagesspiegel, the Stuttgarter Zeitung and Literaturen. She has been an editor at Philosophie Magazin since 2011.

Translated by Gratia Stryker-Härtel

Sparte: Sachbuch

Martin Geck
Robert Schumann - Mensch und Musiker der Romantik

Biografie

Buchbesprechung

Robert Schumann gilt als Inbegriff der romantisch-tragischen Künstlerpersönlichkeit, als introvertierter Schmerzensmann unter den großen Komponisten des 19. Jahrhunderts: ein Charakter voller Widersprüche, ein Leben im Wechselbad von Schaffensrausch und Daseinskrise, ein frühes Ende in Einsamkeit und geistiger Umnachtung.

Am Nachmittag des 29. Juli 1856 starb Schumann, gerade 46 Jahre alt, in der Endenicher Psychiatrie. Zwei Jahre zuvor hatte er sich nach einem gescheiterten Selbstmordversuch und mit schweren Gehörshalluzinationen in die Anstalt bei Bonn einweisen lassen. „Melancholie mit Wahn“ lautete damals der Vermerk auf der Krankenakte, nach Schumanns Tod wurde diesem Eintrag der Begriff „Paralysie“ hinzugefügt. An der Frage, ob diese Symptome als Spätfolgen einer Syphilisinfektion gedeutet werden können, die sich Schumann als junger Mann zugezogen haben soll, scheiden sich die Geister bis heute.

So rätselhaft das Krankheitsbild trotz des ausführlichen Quellenmaterials auch bleibt, es geriet dem 1810 in Zwickau geborenen Komponisten noch postum zum Verhängnis. Die vage medizinische Diagnose wurde von der Nachwelt auf seine Musik übertragen. Als „auskomponierte Psychose“ bezeichnete beispielsweise der Dirigent Giuseppe Sinopoli die zweite C-Dur Sinfonie. Für den Komponisten Dieter Schnebel kündet der Liederzyklus „Dichterliebe“, entstanden in Schumanns erster produktiver Hochphase von 1840, von einer „tief angelegten melancholischen Resignation, welche den Lebenswillen lähmt”.

Und obgleich das letzte Orchesterwerk, das bis 1937 von Schumanns Nachlassverwaltern unter Verschluss gehaltene Violinkonzert in d-Moll, mittlerweile zum festen Repertoire vieler Geigenvirtuosen gehört – vor allem das Spätwerk des romantischen Tondichters wird noch immer als Psychogramm seines geistigen Verfalls wahrgenommen.

Pünktlich zu seinem 200. Geburtstag wird Schumann gegen diese reduktionistische Deutungstendenz von Martin Geck in Schutz genommen. Der Düsseldorfer Musikwissenschaftler hat dem Jubilar eine Biografie gewidmet, in der die chronologische Schilderung des Komponisten-Schicksals durch eingeschobene, geschmeidig lesbare Essays zu einzelnen Stücken und bestimmten Schaffensmomenten ergänzt wird. Auch für Geck steht außer Zweifel, dass Schumanns Musik von den Besonderheiten seiner Persönlichkeit geprägt wurde, dass Leben und Werk im Sinne einer romantischen Universalästhetik „geradezu symbiotisch miteinander verschmolzen“ seien, wie direkt gleich zu Beginn des Buches betont wird. Nur bedeute dies gerade nicht, dass das Werk erschöpfend durch das Leben erklärt werden könne.

Dem Klischee vom delirierenden Musikgenie setzt Geck das differenzierte Porträt eines hochreflektierten Künstlers entgegen, der seine überschäumende Kreativität und pathologische Leidensfähigkeit konsequent einem unerbittlichen Arbeitsethos und einer klar durchdachten Musikpoetik unterordnete. Schumann erscheint hier als heroischer Bezwinger der eigenen Abgründe, der seinen kunstprogrammatischen Anspruch, das subjektive Erleben im Akt des Komponierens poetisch zu überformen und so in seiner Musik einen neuen, überindividuellen Sinn zu erzeugen, mit bewundernswerter Disziplin bis zum endgültigen geistigen Zusammenbruch eingelöst hat.

Geck widmet sich dem Phänomen Schumann in seiner ganzen Vielschichtigkeit und beleuchtet dessen unterschiedliche Facetten mit gleichbleibender Souveränität: Schumann als Komponist, als literarisch ambitioniertern Musikjournalist, als politisch umtriebiger Zeitgenosse, als Vater von acht Kindern und Ehemann der gefeierten Klaviervirtuosin Clara.

Was die Beziehung mit Letzterer angeht, schlüpft der Biograf erneut in die Rolle des Verteidigers: Einem zählebigen Gerücht zufolge soll sich Clara mit dem jungen Brahms vergnügt haben, während ihr Mann in der Klinik einsam seinem Ende entgegendämmerte. Geck brandmarkt dies als haltlose, sensationsheischende Unterstellung. Seinen Einspruch formuliert er diesmal nicht in der gewohnt nüchternen Manier, sondern leidenschaftlich, regelrecht polemisch. Neben Gecks so fachkundig wie nachvollziehbar vorgetragener Wertschätzung des Musikers Schumann bricht hier, auf den letzten Seiten, die Empathie für den Menschen durch.
Marianna Lieder

Von Marianna Lieder, 01.09.2010

​Marianna Lieder ist seit 2011 Redakteurin beim „Philosophie Magazin“. Als freie Journalistin und Literaturkritikerin arbeitet sie u. a. für den Tagesspiegel, die Stuttgarter Zeitung und Literaturen.