Category: Children's Books

Sabine Ludwig
Isabel Kreitz (Illustrator)

Die Tür bleibt zu!
[The Door Stays Shut!]

Storybook

The super-kind magic cupboard. "The Door Stays Shut!" - An ingenious picture book by Sabine Ludwig and Isabel Kreitz

Why, at his very first glimpse of a particular magical object in this picture book, is your reviewer instantly reminded of the clothes cupboard that figured in his earliest childhood?

The deep dark reddish-brown patterning of the grain on the door of the cupboard seemed distinctly threatening, as if it might somehow pull me into some unknown and frightening realm. Whenever as a little nipper of four or five I couldn’t get off to sleep, I would turn my bedside light on and gaze at the magic shapes and swirls until they swallowed me up and then spat me out again in the world of my dreams. My mother would find me in a state of apparently peaceful slumber, and turn my light out.

And now, a few decades later, I encounter little Oskar in this picture book by Sabine Ludwig and Isabel Kreitz. Oskar is a kitten with whom the very young - and those who have remained young in spirit - can immediately identify. A touch cuddly; a touch wild; a touch rebellious; a touch dreamy; a touch stubborn. Exhibiting a sure eye for essentials, the comic-book artist Isabel Kreitz has depicted Oskar and all the physical appurtenances of the story in a manner at once bright, cheerful and variegated. There is never a sense of anything being overloaded with colour or ‘atmosphere’. And in the appropriate white spaces between the illustrations we find the short, concise sentences of the author, Sabine Ludwig. ‘Whenever Mum and Dad have visitors in the evening Oskar has to go to bed...’. It rings some kind of bell in our own head to hear that a thousand things then promptly occur to Oskar that might add further to his well-being. A mere glass of water on his bedside table? How ignorant his parents must be! Where’s the cocoa?! Where’s the cake?! Bring them now, if you please ! - But if the grown-ups out there respond to all the pacing around and the grumbling and grousing by simply calling out ‘Your door stays shut!’ - what then?!

It is at this point that we begin to appreciate the huge disparity between what the now very much older ‘cat’ experienced when little, and the experiences of today’s young kittens. As children we of the older generation stared anxiously at the mysterious patterns on the doors of our bedroom cupboards, but today’s ‘kittens’ - today’s young children, in other words - are very much more courageous. Oskar’s purple cupboard door is emblazoned with a giant-sized octopus, but it doesn’t cause him the least anxiety. It thus seems quite natural to our Cheerful Charlie of a kitten when, following his string of demands (‘Cocoa!’, ‘Cake!’, ‘Clean the place up!’, ‘Music!’), the octopus door bursts open to disgorge a bevy of minions who fulfil each of his wishes in turn (minions, four in all, who bear a striking resemblance to his parents’ guests). Once Oskar and his cuddly monsters have eaten their fill, the domestic angel has hoovered up the cake crumbs, and the nostalgic final strains of the banjo player and his backing singers have died away in the cupboard, Oskar will fall contentedly asleep. Where? - this is not vouchsafed to us.

However sympathetic any adults looking at this adorable and ingenious picture book might feel towards all those mums and dads the world over who, like the mum and dad here, would like to enjoy a pleasant evening with friends completely free of parental responsibilities at long last, they are nonetheless likely to be unreservedly on the side of the child - the Oskar within the story, and their own inner Oskar, hankering as ever for just such a super-kind magic cupboard.
Siggi Seuß

By Siggi Seuß, 26.10.2018

​Siggi Seuß, freelance journalist, radio script writer and translator, has been writing reviews of books for children and young people for many years.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Sabine Ludwig
Isabel Kreitz (Illustrator)

Die Tür bleibt zu!

Bilderbuch

Der überaus freundliche Zauberschrank. „Die Tür bleibt zu!“ - Ein pfiffiges Bilderbuch von Sabine Ludwig und Isabel Kreitz

Warum fällt dem Rezensenten beim ersten Blick auf ein zauberhaftes Utensil in der Bildergeschichte „Die Tür bleibt zu!“ sofort der Kleiderschrank aus frühesten Kindertagen ein?
 
Dessen tiefdunkelrotbraune Türmaserung drohte einen förmlich in ein unbekanntes, furchterregendes Universum hineinzuziehen. Immer wenn ich kleiner Steppke von vier, fünf Jahren nicht einschlafen konnte, knipste ich das Nachttischlämpchen an und starrte auf das magische Muster, bis es mich verschlang und mich in der Welt meiner Träume wieder ausspuckte. Die Mutter fand ein scheinbar friedlich schlummerndes Kind vor und löschte das Licht.
 
Und jetzt, ein paar Jährchen später, treffe ich in dieser Bildergeschichte von Sabine Ludwig und Isabel Kreitz den kleinen Oskar. Oskar ist ein Katerchen, mit dem sich die ganz Jungen aber auch die Junggebliebenen sofort identifizieren können. Ein bisschen schmusig. Ein bisschen wild. Ein bisschen widerspenstig. Ein bisschen träumerisch. Ein bisschen eigensinnig. Die Comickünstlerin Isabel Kreitz hat Oskar und das gesamte Interieur der Geschichte bunt und hell und fröhlich ins Bild gesetzt, mit sicherem Blick für das Wesentliche. Nichts wirkt mit Farben und Stimmungen überfrachtet. Und im passenden weißen Leerraum der Bildflächen erscheinen die kurzen, auf den Punkt gebrachten Sätze der Erzählerin Sabine Ludwig. „Immer, wenn Papa und Mama abends Besuch haben, muss Oskar ins Bett ...“ Dass Oskar gerade dann noch tausend Sachen einfallen, die seinem Wohlergehen dienen könnten, kommt einem irgendwie bekannt vor. Nur ein Glas Wasser auf dem Nachttisch? Diese Ignoranten von Eltern! Kakao! Kuchen, bitteschön! - Aber was tun, wenn die Erziehungsberechtigten da draußen aufs Getappse und Gemaule nur mit den Worten reagieren: „Die Tür bleibt zu!“?
 
Hier beginnt der riesige Erfahrungsunterschied eines inzwischen gealterten Katers gegenüber den Kätzchen der jungen Generation. Während wir Alten als Kinder ängstlich auf die rätselhaften Muster der Schlafzimmerschranktür starrten, sind die Katzen- beziehungsweise Menschenkinder  von heute erheblich couragierter. Oskars lila Schranktür ziert ein riesengroßer Oktopus, der den Kleinen nicht die Bohne ängstigt. Deshalb scheint es für das putzmuntere Katerkind selbstverständlich, wenn sich nach entsprechender Aufforderung („Kakao!“, „Kuchen!“, „Sauber machen!“, „Musik!“) die Tintenfischschranktür öffnet und das entsprechende Dienstpersonal der Reihe nach Oskars Wünsche erfüllt (die vier Diener haben eine verblüffende Ähnlichkeit mit den Gästen). Wenn Oskar und seine Knuddelmonster satt sind, die Putzfee die Kuchenkrümel weggestaubsaugt hat, die letzten Sehnsuchtstöne des beorderten Banjospielers und seiner Backgroundsängerinnen im Schrank verklungen sind, dann wird Oskar zufrieden einschlummern. Wo? Das wir hier nicht verraten.
 
Bei aller Sympathie für die Eltern, die so oder ähnlich überall auf diesem Planeten leben könnten und sich – frei von erzieherischen Verpflichtungen – endlich einmal einen vergnüglichen Abend mit Freunden gönnen wollen: Die Solidarität der Betrachter dieser liebenswerten und pfiffigen Bildergeschichte wird wohl uneingeschränkt dem kleinen Kater gelten – dem kleinen Oskar in der Geschichte und dem kleinen Oskar in uns Erwachsenen, der sich immer einen solch überaus freundlichen Zauberschrank gewünscht hat.
 
Siggi Seuß

Von Siggi Seuß, 26.10.2018

​Siggi Seuß, freier Journalist, Hörfunkautor und Übersetzer, schreibt seit vielen Jahren Kinder- und Jugendbuchkritiken.