Category: Children's Books

Michael Roher
Tintenblaue Kreise
[Ink-blue Circles]

Novel

The sweet poison of conformism

The ‘ink-blue circles’ of the book’s title are a special kind of decoration not vouchsafed to everyone. 12-year-old Sabina, known to her friends and neighbours as ‘Bee’, only draws them on the forearms of people she is really fond of - such as her friend Berry Boy, for example. Whenever he visits Café Leguan, run by Bee’s parents, he immediately rolls up his sleeve, and Bee fishes out her biro and starts drawing patterns or animals on his skin. Bee’s entire life is steeped in pure happiness and sunshine; her parents treat her with love and affection, and above all she is driven by an immense hunger to know the world. However this hunger inevitably also brings her face to face with the darker aspects of existence. Thus for instance Berry Boy is burdened by a massive worry, as his son Yan needs an operation on his heart and no one can tell him whether the boy will survive it.

Bee wants to know what happens once people have died, and this constitutes one particular strand in Michael Roher’s novel. In Bee he presents us with a narrator who enjoys being liked by everyone, but at the same time is altogether capable of going her own way. Children’s literature can radiate the sense of a world that is kind and replete with happiness, and yet free of even the slightest touch of kitsch. But this world, too, is not without its conflicts - and Roher develops them with real subtlety. At school Bee and her friend Shirin belong amongst the group of ‘popular’ children - in sharp contrast to Phillip, the thin boy with the red hair. He is new to the class, and is tormented by Tenka, the son of a wealthy doctor - at first just verbally, but then by means of various ‘pranks’, such as having ink tipped into his school bag by Tenka and his gang. Phillip’s books are ruined, and he ends up with an ink-blue circle on his nose.

It is through none other than Phillip - who happens to be a particularly talented painter - that Bee learns something about death. Phillip fascinates her even before she becomes aware of it herself. Michael Roher shows how this fascination begins to produce effects in his narrator. It bothers her to see Phillip suffering humiliation after humiliation without making any attempt to defend himself. At the same time a ‘coalition of indifference’ begins to develop within the class. Even Shirin reckons that Phillip is such a wimp that, far from meriting help, he deserves whtever he gets. In the midst of Roher’s sun-filled book a dark chasm thus suddenly opens up as the class proves incapable of protecting its seemingly weakest member. And Bee herself, normally quick to respond to such situations, holds back, despite being aware of Phillip’s difficult family background, and despite having become very close to him through their joint swimming sessions: it would seem that she too has fallen prey to the cloying quiescence of conformism.

Between the lines Roher enables us to sense that Bee can’t really cope with Phillip’s wimpishness. In their conversations a harsh undertone occasionally creeps into her words that he finds hurtful. There are shades and nuances galore in this finely wrought prose, as also in Roher’s sensitive illustrations. At the same time, though, his protagonist recounts her story in a refreshingly straightforward manner, though not everything has to be revealed straightaway, leaving plenty of scope for surprises and the dramatic effects that they bring about. We sense that this 12-year-old girl has to get the story off her chest: it’s about love, after all, which at this age has no physical means of expression. But without spoiling the story we can safely say that Michael Roher comes up with a clever conclusion that works well for both the novel and its two protagonists.
Thomas Linden

By Thomas Linden, 30.10.2018

​Thomas Linden is a journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) specializing in the areas of literature, theater and film. He also curates exhibitions on photography and picture book illustration.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Michael Roher
Tintenblaue Kreise

Roman

Das süße Gift des Konformismus

Die „tintenblauen Kreise“ sind ein besonderer Schmuck, der nicht jedem zuteilwird. Die 12-jährige Sabine, die in ihrer Straße und von den Freunden nur „Biene“ genannt wird, malt sie nur den Menschen auf den Unterarm, die sie aus tiefstem Herzen mag. Beere ist zum Beispiel so ein Freund.  Wenn er im Leguan, dem kleinen Café, das Bienes Eltern betreiben, zu Gast ist, krempelt er gleich die Hemdsärmel hoch, Biene zückt den Kugelschreiber und beginnt, ihm Ornamente oder Tiere auf die Haut zu malen. In pures Glück und Sonnenschein ist Bienes Leben getaucht, sie hat Eltern, die liebevoll mit ihr umgehen, und vor allem besitzt Biene einen großen Welthunger. Der stößt zwangsläufig auch auf die dunklen Seiten des Daseins. So trägt Beere etwa einen großen Kummer mit sich herum, da sein dreijähriger Sohn Jan am Herzen operiert werden soll, und niemand weiß, ob Jan diesen Eingriff überleben wird.
 
Biene will wissen, was nach dem Tod geschieht. Das ist der eine Erzählstrang in Michael Rohers Roman. Sein Text präsentiert uns mit Biene eine Erzählerin, die es genießt, von allen gemocht zu werden und die dabei doch ganz eigene Wege zu gehen vermag. Kinderliteratur kann in eine freundliche, glückssatte Welt getaucht sein und doch ohne jeden Anflug von Kitsch funktionieren. Ohne Konflikte geht es jedoch auch dort nicht, und die entwickelt Roher subtil. In der Schule zählen Biene und ihre Freundin Shirin zu den „beliebten“ Kindern, ganz im Gegensatz zu Phillip, dem dünnen Jungen mit den roten Haaren. Er ist der Neue und wird von Tenka, dem Sohn des wohlhabenden Arztes, gequält. Erst mit Worten, dann mit „Streichen“, die Jungsclique gießt ihm Tinte in die Schultasche. Phillips Bücher sind ruiniert, und er trägt einen tintenblauen Kreis auf der Nase.
 
Gerade von diesem Jungen, der so besonders gut malen kann, erfährt Biene etwas über das Sterben. Phillip fasziniert sie, noch bevor sie selbst es bemerkt. Michael Roher zeigt, wie es in seiner Erzählerin arbeitet. Es treibt sie um, dass Phillip eine Demütigung nach der anderen einsteckt, ohne sich zu wehren. Zugleich bildet sich eine Koalition der Gleichgültigkeit in der Klasse. Auch Shirin findet, wer ein solcher Schlappschwanz sei, dem brauche man nicht zu helfen, der hat es nicht besser verdient. In Rohers sonnendurchflutetem Buch öffnet sich ein Abgrund, da die Klasse den vermeintlich Schwächsten nicht aufzufangen vermag. Und die sonst so schlagfertige Biene, die Phillip und dessen schwierige Familienverhältnisse kennengelernt hat und ihm beim gemeinsamen Schwimmen ganz nah gekommen ist, bleibt verhalten. Der süßen Untätigkeit des Konformismus scheint auch sie zu erliegen.
 
Zwischen den Zeilen, lässt uns Roher spüren, dass Biene Phillips Schwäche nicht ertragen kann. Wenn sie mit ihm spricht, entfährt ihr mitunter ein harscher Ton, der ihn verletzt. Die Zwischentöne sind in dieser Prosa durchweg fein gesetzt, ganz so, wie die sensiblen Illustrationen des Autors. Dessen Protagonistin erzählt gleichwohl erfrischend geradlinig. Wenn auch nicht alles ausgeplaudert werden muss, so dass noch Raum für Überraschungen und die entsprechende Dramatik bleibt. Man spürt, die 12-Jährige muss diese Geschichte erzählen, immerhin geht es um die Liebe, und für die gibt es in diesem Alter noch keine körperliche Entsprechung. Aber – so viel darf verraten werden – Michael Roher hat ein kluges Ende für seinen Roman und seine beiden Protagonisten parat.
 
Thomas Linden

Von Thomas Linden, 30.10.2018

​Thomas Linden arbeitet als Journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) in den Bereichen Literatur, Theater und Film und konzipiert als Kurator Ausstellungen zur Fotografie und zur Bilderbuchillustration.