Category: Non-fiction

Jörg Baberowski
Verbrannte Erde. Stalins Herrschaft der Gewalt
[Scorched earth. Stalin's rule of terror]

Non-Fiction

Review

​A district conference of the CPSU in a Russian province in 1937: a letter to Stalin in Moscow is unanimously approved. A standing ovation begins. Six, seven, eight minutes; it seems the frenetic applause, the feigned collective ecstasy, will never end. Whoever stops clapping first and fails to show the ‘father of the nation’ sufficient deference will arouse the ubiquitous NKWD agents’ suspicion. In the eleventh minute the director of a paper factory plucks up the courage and lowers himself onto his chair, gasping for breath. Relieved, everyone else follows him. “Acts such as this were enough to identify free-thinking individuals. Once identified they were seized: the director was arrested that same night.”

This incident from Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipeligo opens Berlin historian Jörg Baberowski’s monumental study Scorched Earth – Stalin’s Rule of Terror. He could hardly have chosen a better incident, as it illustrates his central thesis in miniature: Josef Stalin remained architect and executor of the Bolshevik horrors throughout – an absolute dictator who succeeded in choreographing the terror even in effigy.
It may initially sound obvious that the architect of Stalinism was Stalin. But it is not. At least not according to recent historical wisdom, which ascribes the millions of deaths instead to Soviet turbo-modernisation and the effects of a ‘Stalinism from below’ – a murderous, escalating dynamic of social and ideological struggles within the huge empire of diverse peoples.

In Scorched Earth Jörg Baberowski now sets about refuting these arguments, and this is surprising not least because for many years he propounded them himself. In his 2003 book The Red Terror he too still subscribed to the Polish sociologist Zygmunt Baumann’s thesis which explained Stalin’s rule of terror via the notion of the “modern ‘gardening state’ with its drive to achieve clarity and overcome ambivalence, its obsession with order.”
With detailed use of source material and a gripping narrative style Baberowski has now succeeded in demonstrating that the murderous frenzy of the Stalin era was not dictated by ideological or socio-structural forces but above all by the will of the dictator. While Stalin consistently justified the terror as history’s tool for refining world communism, here Baberowski shows that the dream of the ‘new human’ served only as a salvation-history cloak for a power strategy of mass murder, its aim the unscrupulous maintenance of a pre-modern personality-dictatorship.

But how did the former bank robber Josef Vissarionovich Dzhugashvili Stalin succeed in concentrating so much power on himself? Baberowski begins with a detailed analysis of Stalin’s rapid ascent to the status of apparatchik after the death of Lenin. In contrast to his competitors Trotsky and Bukharin, Stalin had always used mafia-like methods in politics and knew how to operate effectively within the client system of the nomenklatura. Having reached the summit of the Kremlin, his first step towards consolidating power was naturally to install a tightly woven system of personal relationships based on trust. This meant surrounding himself mainly with ambitious proletarians who would repay him for their career breaks with unquestioning loyalty. The second step was even more critical however. Through arrests and executions Stalin created an atmosphere of paranoia. Not even his confidantes felt any sense of security.

Stalin’s strategies for managing power included not only the ritualised humiliation of his Camarilla; he was fully prepared to have his closest companions executed: Nikolai Yezhov, for instance, once his most obedient bloodhound. Head of the NKWD for many years, the Great Purge, or Yezhovshchina, was named after him, but in the end he too was executed, his image even erased posthumously from official photographs. Many other loyal aides escaped this fate only by first committing suicide. “There was no way to escape Stalin’s orbit. You were either a victim or a perpetrator or you opted to end your own life.”

In his foreword Baberowski confesses that the monstrous violence he was forced to confront while writing the book pursued him into his dreams. Some readers may undergo a similar experience. As the reader is taken deeper and deeper into the precisely documented hell of the Soviet bloodlands, at some point the scale and extent of the killing become hard to deal with. Scorched Earth does however present a precise picture of the Stalin era which, by the time of the Great Purge in 1937-8 at the latest, had reached excesses previously unimaginable. As keeper of the Soviet human zoo, Stalin ensured that the senseless terror knew no boundaries. In late January 1938 for instance he gave orders that 57 200 ‘enemies of the people’ were to be arrested by mid March, 48 000 of them to be shot. “The violence,” Baberowski claims, “became such a matter of course that no-one was required to provide statements justifying their actions.” As a result the figures for the two years of the Great Purge are beyond comprehension: 1 575 259 people were arrested, of which 1 344 923 were convicted, 681 692 of these to death.

Stalin’s main technique for maintaining control thus consisted of a ‘shock and awe’ strategy, which nipped any resistance in the bud. Paradoxically, his personal grip on power remained so strong because it relied on the permanent destabilisation of the system. By sending shock waves through the empire at the touch of a button, the dictator was able to stage-manage a chronic state of emergency which allowed him to rule pretty much as he pleased. Stalin had thoroughly internalised Carl Schmitt’s famous dictum: sovereign is he who decides over the state of emergency.

Clearly this required many thousands of compliant helpers. But Baberowski convincingly illustrates that they often acted less out of ideological conviction than as part of the unavoidable cycle of fear and denunciation. The party cadres and NKWD officers were so concerned about their own survival that they sought to remain in favour with Stalin at any cost. And this could only be ensured if they paid a high blood tax. Stalin’s henchmen resorted to pre-emptive obedience, continually offering to raise the death quotas, to dispose of even more ‘human detritus’. Stalin directed the functionaries like a puppeteer and retained control of the terror at all times; all the significant murder commands were issued by him, or at least approved. On the other hand any highhandedness on the part of provincial leaders met with draconian punishment. Stalin had the head of the Kazakh communist party shot solely because his image on a local demonstration poster overlapped the dictator’s own.

Scorched Earth gives a genuinely shocking insight into Stalin’s regime of terror and shows clearly that there could have been no Stalinism without Stalin – at least not in this form. It was only after he died in 1953 that Khrushchev could end the despotic terror. Some may still take issue with Baberowski’s study; not because it contains one or two theoretical inconsistencies but because it challenges the accepted view of Stalinism. But this demonstrates the point emphasised by the jury at the Leipzig Book Fair when they awarded Scorched Earth the 2012 prize for the best non-fiction book: in the future anyone who wishes to study Stalin will not be able to ignore this book.
Nils Markwardt

By Nils Markwardt, 18.11.2012

​Nils Markwardt is a freelance writer contributing to publications such as Literaturen and der Freitag.

Translated by Steph Morris

Sparte: Sachbuch

Jörg Baberowski
Verbrannte Erde. Stalins Herrschaft der Gewalt

Sachbuch

Buchbesprechung

​Russische Provinz im Jahr 1937; Bezirkskonferenz der KPdSU: Einstimmig wird am Ende ein Schreiben an Stalin gen Moskau verabschiedet. Stehende Ovationen brechen sich Bahn. Sechs, sieben, acht Minuten. Der frenetische Applaus der gespielten Kollektivekstase will nicht enden. Denn: Wer als erster zu klatschen aufhört und „Väterchen“ die Ehrerbietung versagt, macht sich in den Augen der allgegenwärtigen NKWD-Agenten verdächtig. Erschöpft fasst sich der Direktor einer Papierfabrik in der elften Minute schließlich ein Herz und lässt sich atemlos in seinen Stuhl sinken. Erleichtert tun es ihm alle anderen nach. „Allein an solchen Taten werden unabhängige Leute erkannt. Erkannt und festgenagelt: In selbiger Nacht wird der Direktor verhaftet.“

Mit dieser Episode aus Alexander Solschenizyns „Archipel Gulag“ beginnt Jörg Baberowski seine monumentale Studie „Verbrannte Erde - Stalins Herrschaft der Gewalt“. Eine Episode, die der Berliner Historiker kaum besser hätte wählen können. Veranschaulicht sie doch en miniature bereits seine zentrale These: Urheber und Regisseur des bolschewistischen Terrors war stets Josef Stalin – ein unumschränkter Diktator, der selbst in effigie noch als Choreograph des Schreckens auftrat.
Dass Stalin der Schöpfer des Stalinismus war, mag zunächst logisch klingen. Ist es aber nicht. Zumindest nicht im Lichte der neueren Geschichtswissenschaft. Denn diese verbucht die Millionen Toten vielmehr als Produkt der sowjetischen Turbomodernisierung und des Wirkens eines „Stalinismus von unten“, einer mörderischen Eskalationsdynamik sozialer und weltanschaulicher Kämpfe innerhalb des riesigen Vielvölkerreichs.

Mit „Verbrannte Erde“ schickt Jörg Baberowski sich nun an, diese Argumentation zu widerlegen. Und das kann zunächst deshalb überraschen, weil er sie lange Zeit selbst vertrat. In seiner 2003 erschienen Untersuchung „Der Rote Terror“ folgte auch er noch den Thesen des polnischen Soziologen Zygmunt Baumann, indem er Stalins Gewaltherrschaft aus dem „Streben nach Eindeutigkeit, der Überwindung von Ambivalenz und der Ordnungswut des modernen Gärtnerstaats“ erklärte.
Mit akribischer Quellenarbeit und in einem fesselnden Erzählstil gelingt es Baberowski nun aber faktenreich darzulegen, dass der Blutrausch der Stalin-Ära nicht ideologischen oder soziostrukturellen Zwängen, sondern vor allem dem Willen des Diktators gehorchte. Rechtfertigte Stalin den Terror zwar stets als historischen Hobel des kommunistischen Weltgeistes, so zeigt Baberowski hier, dass ihm der Traum vom Neuen Menschen nur als heilsgeschichtliches Kostüm einer massenmörderischen Machtpolitik diente, deren Ziel die skrupellose Selbsterhaltung einer vormodernen Personendiktatur war.

Doch wie gelang es dem ehemaligen Bankräuber Josef Wissarionowitsch Dschugaschwili, derart viel Macht zu konzentrieren? Eingehend analysiert Baberowski zunächst, wie Stalin nach dem Tod Lenins einen rasanten Aufstieg zum Apparatschick vollzog. Im Gegensatz zu seinen Konkurrenten Trotzki und Bucharin wusste Stalin, der Politik schon immer mit mafiösen Methoden praktizierte, sich nämlich effektiv im Klientelsystem der Nomenklatura zu bewegen. An der Spitze des Kremls angekommen, bestand seine erste Säule der Macht dann konsequenterweise in der Installation eines engmaschigen Systems persönlicher Treuebeziehungen. Dabei scharte er vor allem proletarische Aufsteiger um sich, die ihm den Karrieresprung mit unbedingter Loyalität dankten. Noch entscheidender war indes die zweite Säule. Durch willkürliche Verhaftungen und Erschießungen schuf Stalin eine Atmosphäre der Paranoia. Selbst seine Vertrauten konnten sich nie in Sicherheit wiegen.
Zu Stalins Machtmanagement gehörten nämlich nicht nur ritualisierte Demütigungen seiner Kamarilla, sondern er schreckte auch nicht davor zurück, engste Weggefährten hinrichten zu lassen. So wie Nikolai Jeschow, seinen einst willfährigsten Bluthund. Der langjährige NKWD-Chef, der dem Großen Terror, der Jeschowschtschina, seinen Namen gab, wurde schließlich exekutiert und sogar posthum von offiziellen Fotos retuschiert. Viele andere Getreue entgingen diesem Schicksal nur, weil sie rechtzeitig Selbstmord begingen. Kurz gesagt: „Aus Stalins Orbit gab es kein Entkommen. Man war entweder Opfer oder Täter oder wählte den Freitod.“

Im Vorwort bekennt Baberowski, dass ihn die monströse Gewalt beim Schreiben des Buches bis in die Träume verfolgte. Auch manchem Leser mag es so ergehen. Wenn man bei der Lektüre nämlich immer tiefer in diese minutiös dokumentierte Hölle der sowjetischen Bloodlands absteigt, so erscheint einem der Dauerexzess des Tötens mitunter schwer erträglich. Doch vermittelt „Verbrannte Erde“ gerade dadurch ein präzises Bild der stalinistischen Ära, die spätestens mit dem Großen Terror 1937/38 alle Vorstellungen sprengte. Denn als Direktor des sowjetischen Menschenparks forcierte Stalin eine willkürliche Entgrenzung des Terrors. Ende Januar ’38 gab er beispielsweise den Befehl, dass bis Mitte März noch einmal 57 200 „Volksfeinde“ verhaftet und davon 48 000 erschossen werden sollten. „Die Gewalt“, urteilt Baberowski, „wurde so sehr zur Selbstverständlichkeit, dass Begründungen zur Selbstrechtfertigung von niemanden mehr benötigt wurden.“ Dementsprechend fällt auch allein die zweijährige Bilanz des Großen Terrors schier unfassbar aus: 1 575 259 Menschen wurden verhaftet, davon 1 344 923 verurteilt – 681 692 zum Tode.

Stalins zentrale Herrschaftstechnik bestand somit in einer Shock-and-Awe-Strategie, die jeden Widerstand im Keim erstickte. Paradoxerweise war seine persönliche Machtposition also deshalb so stabil, weil sie auf der permanenten Destabilisierung des Systems beruhte. Indem der Diktator wie auf Knopfdruck paralysierende Schockwellen durch sein Imperium sandte, inszenierte er einen chronischen Ausnahmezustand, der es ihm ermöglichte, nahezu beliebig walten zu können. Stalin hatte das berühmte Diktum Carl Schmitts zutiefst verinnerlicht: Souverän ist, wer über den Ausnahmezustand entscheidet.

Freilich bedurfte es hierfür abertausender willfähriger Helfer. Doch illustriert Baberowski nachvollziehbar, dass diese oft weniger aus ideologischer Überzeugung, denn aufgrund des allgegenwärtigen Kreislaufs von Angst und Denunziation handelten. Die KP-Kader und NKWD-Offiziere waren so sehr mit dem eigenen Überleben beschäftigt, dass sie Stalins Gunst um keinen Preis verlieren durften. Und dies gelang nur, wenn man reichlich Blutzoll zahlte. In vorauseilendem Gehorsam erbaten Stalins Schergen deshalb immer wieder die Todesquoten zu erhöhen, um noch mehr „menschlichen Abfall“ entsorgen zu können. Der Diktator dirigierte die Funktionäre wie ein Puppenspieler und behielt die Fäden des Terrors dabei stets in der Hand. Denn alle wesentlichen Mordkommandos wurden von ihm erteilt, zumindest abgesegnet. Jede Eigenmächtigkeit von Provinzfürsten hingegen drakonisch bestraft. Den Chef der kasachischen KP ließ Stalin beispielsweise nur deshalb erschießen, weil dessen Konterfei auf einem örtlichen Demonstrationsplakat das des Diktators überragte.
„Verbrannte Erde“ gibt einen buchstäblich erschreckend klaren Blick auf Stalins Gewaltregime und zeigt eindrücklich, dass es – zumindest in dieser Form – keinen Stalinismus ohne Stalin gegeben hätte. Deshalb musste dieser auch erst sterben, damit die Willkür des Terrors 1953 von Chruschtschow beerdigt werden konnte. Mancher wird sich an Baberowskis Studie indes reiben. Weniger weil sie sich einige theoretische Inkonsequenzen leistet, sondern weil sie den eingeübten Blick auf den Stalinismus neu ausrichtet. Aber gerade deshalb trifft zu, was bereits die Jury der Leipziger Buchmesse hervorhob, als sie „Verbrannte Erde“ mit dem diesjährigen Preis für das beste Sachbuch auszeichnete: Wer sich in Zukunft mit dem Stalinismus befasst, kommt an diesem Buch nicht vorbei.
Nils Markwardt

Von Nils Markwardt, 18.11.2012

​Nils Markwardt arbeitet als freier Autor und schreibt u.a. für Literaturen und der Freitag.