Category: Children's Books

Flix
Spirou in Berlin
[Spirou in Berlin]

Comic

A comic-strip hero gets involved in Germany’s recent history

Spirou - who doesn’t know the diminutive comic hero? For more than seven decades, the eternal hotel bellboy in his red uniform, his best friend, the hot-tempered reporter Fantasio, the cute little squirrel Pips and the brilliant scientist Count von Rummelsdorf have been experiencing the wackiest adventures around the globe.

As the first German comic artist, Flix is the newest member of the illustrious circle of illustrator/authors of the traditional Franco-Belgian comic series. And rightly so. With a turbulent story inspired by events that had taken place shortly before the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989.

At first glance, one is struck by the witty, satirical and joyful experimentation of the Ligne Claire drawing style that the artist employs to create a distinctive atmosphere. In thrillingly synchronized changes of perspective, the images create scene for scene an action packed plot that could keep pace with a James Bond film.

In the summer of 1989, Graf von Rummelsdorf receives an unexpected invitation to the First International Congress of Mycologists in East Berlin, the capital of the GDR. Since Spirou’s and Fantasio's friend is naturally also a renowned mushroom researcher, he accepts – full of hope that he will learn something about the “small-headed Portabriris”, an extremely rare mushroom that possesses extraordinary properties: its spores don't merely deform metal, its serum can even - as we discover in the course of the story- set in motion an ominous “wonder weapon of socialism”.

The professor disappears as he heads towards East Berlin under mysterious circumstances. Spirou, Fantasio and Pips follow his lead and get suspicious. They set off for East Berlin by way of West Berlin and are surprised at how peaceful and colorful life goes on in the workers' and farmworkers' country. Little do they suspect, however, that that they have been targeted by the state security right from the very start. The situations they get themselves into, depicted in the style of a nerve-racking spy thriller along with a good measure of slapstick elements, would make any self-respecting historian’s hair stand on end: mind-boggling chase scenes, shoot-outs, arrests, interrogations, stopovers in a luxury hotel, in a prison cell, and in an underground military experiment laboratory, then they are rescued by a herd of orangutans and finally they make the acquaintance of a young woman who had been bitterly disappointed by real socialism and is determined to do anything and everything. But not to worry: the historian’s hair will soon calm down again.

In the always exceedingly adventurous comic-strip plot of the Spirou stories, Flix peppers in tidbits of verifiable information about contemporary history and everyday life during the final phase of the GDR. The artist, who lives in Berlin, proves to be an expert on events that took place during the time of the peaceful revolution in 1989. Above all, he knows about the differences between the outward appearance of the “peaceful state” and the often subtle, often clumsy repressive mechanisms of the government body vis-à-vis dissenters. This begins with being harassed at border controls and ends in the psycho-terror of the state security against anti-state and suspicious “elements”.

Flix’s Ligne Claire style also makes of him a precise documentarist of the situation on the ground- whether in his depiction of the border crossing at Bahnhof Friedrichstraße (known in the vernacular as the “Palace of Tears”), the facades and interiors of the now demolished East Berlin Palace Hotel, or the street scenes around Alexanderplatz. Even the revolving restaurant in the television tower is used as a setting for dramatic events.

That the characters move as caricature types in front of this realistic backdrop and credibly drawn milieus, and drive the action to mindboggling extremes, also facilitates the reader's process of cognition. Small Aha experiences combine with great reading pleasure. Irony and satirical exaggeration have always been extremely useful tools and feared by those in power, for their ability to expose individual and social conditions worthy of criticism. In this regard, young readers in particular who want to learn and read about the history of the German-German division in a less conventional way will hunger for more such topics in the form of exciting, imaginative and yet profound comics!


The whole album is available here: http://www.europecomics.com/album/spirou-in-berlin/
Siggi Seuß

By Siggi Seuß, 15.01.2019

​Siggi Seuß, freelance journalist, radio script writer and translator, has been writing reviews of books for children and young people for many years.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Flix
Spirou in Berlin

Comic

Ein Comic-Held mischt sich in die deutsche Zeitgeschichte

Spirou – wer kennt den kleinen Comic-Helden nicht? Seit mehr als sieben Jahrzehnten erleben der ewige Hotelpage in der roten Uniform, sein bester Freund, der rasende Reporter Fantasio, das putzige Eichhörnchen Pips und der geniale Wissenschaftler Graf von Rummelsdorf die verrücktesten Abenteuer rund um den Globus.

Als erster deutscher Comic-Künstler wurde nun Flix in den erlauchten Kreis der Zeichner/Autoren der traditionsreichen frankobelgischen Comicserie aufgenommen. Zu Recht. Mit einer turbulenten Geschichte, die sich von den Ereignissen kurz vor dem Fall der Berliner Mauer im November 1989 inspirieren ließ.

Schon auf den ersten Blick fällt die witzig-satirische und experimentfreudige Spielart des Zeichenstils der Ligne Claire auf, mit der der Künstler Atmosphäre schafft. Die Bilder im spannend getakteten Perspektivwechsel erzeugen Szene für Szene eine Dynamik der Handlung, die einem James-Bond-Film alle Ehre machen würde.

Graf von Rummelsdorf erhält im Sommer 1989 eine unerwartete Einladung zum Ersten Internationalen Mykologenkongress in Ost-Berlin, der Hauptstadt der DDR. Da Spirous und Fantasios Freund natürlich auch ein anerkannter Pilzforscher ist, sagt er zu – voller Hoffnung, etwas über den „kleinköpfigen Portabriris“ zu erfahren, einen extrem seltenen Pilz mit ungeheurer Wirkung: Seine Sporen verformen mir nichts dir nichts Metall, sein Serum könnte sogar – wie sich im Lauf der Geschichte herausstellt – eine ominöse „Wunderwaffe des Sozialismus“ in Gang setzen.

Unter geheimnisvollen Umständen verschwindet der Professor Richtung Ost-Berlin. Spirou, Fantasio und Pips verfolgen seine Spuren. Ihr Misstrauen ist geweckt. Via West-Berlin machen sie sich auf den Weg nach Ost-Berlin und sind erstaunt, wie friedlich und bunt sich das Leben im Arbeiter- und Bauernstaat präsentiert. Sie ahnen allerdings nicht, dass sie sich von Beginn an im Visier der Staatssicherheit befinden. Was sie dann im Stil eines nervenaufreibenden Agententhrillers mit vielen Slapstickelementen erleben, lässt die Haare ehrenwerter Historiker erst einmal zu Berge stehen: Irrsinnige Verfolgungsjagden, Kugelhagel, Festnahmen, Verhöre, Zwischenstationen im Luxushotel, in einer Gefängniszelle und in einem unterirdischen militärischen Versuchslabor, Rettung durch eine Herde Orang-Utans und schließlich die Bekanntschaft mit einer zu allem entschlossenen jungen Frau, die vom realen Sozialismus bitterlich enttäuscht wurde. Doch, keine Sorge: die Haare der Historiker beruhigen sich bald wieder.

In die wie immer höchst abenteuerliche Comic-Handlung der Spirou-Geschichten streut Flix peu à peu belegbare Informationen über Zeitgeschichte und Alltagsleben in der letzten Phase der DDR ein. Der in Berlin lebende Künstler erweist sich dabei als Kenner des Geschehens in der Zeit der friedlichen Revolution 1989. Vor allem weiß er von den Unterschieden zwischen dem äußeren Schein des „Friedensstaates“ und den oft subtilen, oft plumpen Unterdrückungsmechanismen der Staatsorgane gegenüber Andersdenkenden. Das beginnt bei den Schikanen der Grenzkontrolle und endet beim Psychoterror der Staatssicherheit gegenüber staatsfeindlichen und verdächtigen „Elementen“.

Flix ist in seiner Ligne Claire zudem ein präziser Dokumentarist der örtlichen Verhältnisse – sei es in der Darstellung des Grenzübergangs im Bahnhof Friedrichstraße (im Volksmund „Tränenpalast“ genannt), der Fassaden und des Interieurs des inzwischen abgerissenen Ostberliner Palasthotels oder der Straßenszenen um den Alexanderplatz. Selbst das Drehrestaurant im Fernsehturm wird Schauplatz dramatischer Ereignisse.

Dass sich vor dieser realistischen Kulisse und in den glaubwürdig gezeichneten Milieus die Figuren als Typenkarikaturen bewegen, die die Handlung in irrsinnigen Aktionen auf die Spitze treiben, erleichtert auch Erkenntnisprozesse der Leser. Kleine Aha-Erlebnisse verbinden sich mit großem Lesevergnügen. Ironie und satirische Überzeichnung waren schon immer ungemein brauchbare und von den Machthabern gefürchtete Handwerkzeuge zur Entlarvung kritikwürdiger individueller und gesellschaftlicher Zustände. Insofern ist gerade jungen Lesern, die sich der Geschichte der deutsch-deutschen Teilung auf etwas andere als der konventionellen Les-Art nähern wollen, zu wünschen: Mehr solcher Themen in Gestalt von spannenden, fantasievollen und trotzdem tiefgründigen Comics!
 
Siggi Seuß

Von Siggi Seuß, 15.01.2019

​Siggi Seuß, freier Journalist, Hörfunkautor und Übersetzer, schreibt seit vielen Jahren Kinder- und Jugendbuchkritiken.