Category: Children's Books

Nataly Elisabeth Savina
Meine beste Bitch
[My Best Bitch]

Stories

Longing, joie de vivre, grief and humor

The title of Nataly Elisabeth Savina's new novel „Meine beste Bitch” is not the sole instance in which the book plays with English words. Many chapters also have English titles and the author repeatedly quotes from international songs. This opening gambit creates the impression that the young adult novel also could have been written anywhere in the western world. This impression is also reinforced by the fact that most of the plot takes place in Berlin, the in-metropolis of Europe.

“I don't need a happy ending, I just want to read about a main character that I enjoy following and understand,” Nataly Elisabeth Savina said in an interview about her first novel “Love Alice”. As in her second novel, “Herbstattacke”, the young author with Latvian roots, portrays a phase of youth that is hanging in the balance between liberation and nightmare, and which revolves around the major experiences of life and the twin pursuits of happiness and identity. These experiences are portrayed with the kind of intensity that we know mostly from young people.

Also, in „Meine beste Bitch” - a bitch is a brat or a slut – the author gives us the entire gamut of emotions. “Normality is not a state, but an assertion,” says Faina's mother, who works as a psychiatrist in a clinic. And in this novel, almost nobody is “normal”. Not the seventeen-year-old narrator, Faina, who suffers from panic attacks, itching and nightmares. Not her mother, who constantly interferes in Faina's life in a way that seems filled with envy and borders on being abusive. Nor is Faina's dearest friend Nike, who gets involved in every possible social and political project that crosses her path, and which at some point leads her to steal Faina’s beautiful, opaque boyfriend Julian.

Even Berlin, the big city of dreams, is not “normal”, rather is described as, “fluttering, cherry juice flirty and funky glittering,” as well as its converse: bleak, filthy and lonely. There, where everything is possible, Faina spends a crazy summer with Julian, where the two celebrate their new freedom with sex, alcohol and kinky art performances. They want to study art and deal on a practical and theoretical level with the question of how innovative, independent, or original art can still be today. Questions that are not answered in this novel, but with this novel.
 
Indeeed, if “Meine beste Bitch” is anything, it's creative! And it is so in many ways: not only are the eccentric cast of characters and densely atmospheric city of Berlin unusual, Savina’s narrative style is also idiosyncratic and charming. With intuitive certainty, she masters the most diverse tones. Faina analyzes her mental and physical defects in a language that is clear and incisive, her life and experiences are described in a cool and concentrated style. Then - as if enlightened - she describes her feelings and moods with intensively poetic imagery, sensual and dense, or she makes witty-ironic comparisons as a way to describe complicated states of mind. Her ability to express herself is as rich and multilayered as her psyche, and it is not only gripping, but also touching to observe how distance and closeness, freedom and inner conflict directly express themselves through the medium of language.

The literary and musical quotations peppered throughout Nataly Elisabeth Savina’s text perfectly suit the Berlin scene. Whether Leonhard Cohen, David Bowie, Atomic Swing or Albert Camus - they are Faina's reference points and her companions throughout the painful and euphoric process of growing up. „Meine beste Bitch” describes a very special phase in life that takes place everywhere in the Western world, if not in the same way, then under similar auspices. The intoxication of freedom and the trance of first love: of leaving and letting go, of betrayal and loss, of new beginnings. Without a happy ending, without sentimentality, breathless, confusingly beautiful, much as the author also describes the Sean Lennon song “Wait for me”: as a “mixture of longing, joie de vivre, grief and humor.”
 
Sylvia Schwab

By Sylvia Schwab, 20.12.2018

​Sylvia Schwab is a radio journalist with a special interest in literature for children and teenagers. She serves on the jury for the monthly ‘Best 7’ list of books for young readers produced under the aegis of Deutschlandfunk and Focus, and works for Hessischer Rundfunk, Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandradio-Kultur.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Nataly Elisabeth Savina
Meine beste Bitch

Erzählung

Sehnsucht, Lebenslust, Trauer und Humor

„Meine beste Bitch“ – nicht nur der Titel von Nataly Elisabeth Savinas neuem Roman integriert wie nebenbei englische Begriffe. Auch viele Kaptitel haben englische Titel und immer wieder zitiert die Autorin internationale Songs. So entsteht von Anfang an der Eindruck eines Jugendbuchs, das überall in der westlichen Welt entstanden sein könnte. Verstärkt wird er durch die Tatsache, dass die Handlung zum großen Teil in Berlin spielt, der In-Metropole Europas.
 
„Ich brauche kein Happy End, aber ich möchte eine Hauptfigur lesen, der ich gerne folge und die ich nachvollziehen kann“ sagte Nataly Elisabeth Savina in einem Interview zu ihrem ersten Roman „Love Alice“. Die junge Autorin mit den lettischen Wurzeln zeichnete dort – wie auch in ihrem zweiten Roman „Herbstattacke“ – ein Stück Jugend nach, das zwischen Befreiung und Albtraum balanciert und die großen Lebensthemen wie Glück und Identität so intensiv umkreist, wie es – meist – nur Jugendliche tun.
 
Auch in „Meine beste Bitch“ – eine Bitch ist eine Göre oder Schlampe – geht es ums Ganze. „Die Normalität ist kein Zustand, sondern eine Behauptung“ sagt Fainas Mutter, die als Psychiaterin in einer Klinik arbeitet. Und „normal“ ist in diesem Roman fast niemand. Die siebzehnjährige Erzählerin Faina nicht, die unter Panikattacken, Juckreiz und Albträumen leidet. Ihre Mutter nicht, die sich eifersüchtig und übergriffig permanent in Fainas Leben einmischt. Auch Fainas allerliebste Freundin Nike nicht, die sich rastlos bei jedem sozialen oder politischen Projekt engagiert und Faina irgendwann den schönen, undurchsichtigen Julian ausspannt.
 
Auch Berlin, die  Großstadt der Träume, ist nicht „normal“, sondern „flatterhaft, kirschsaft-flirty und funky-glitzernd“, dann wieder trostlos, schmutzig und einsam. Hier, wo alles möglich ist, verbringt Faina mit Julian einen verrückten Sommer, in dem die beiden mit allen Poren ihre neue Freiheit mit Sex, Alkohol und schrägen Kunst-Perfomances zelebrieren. Sie wollen Kunst studieren und beschäftigen sich praktisch und theoretisch mit der Frage, wie innovativ, selbständig oder originell Kunst heute noch sein kann. Fragen, die zwar nicht in diesem Roman beantwortet werden, aber mit diesem Roman.
 
Denn wenn „Meine beste Bitch“ etwas ist, dann kreativ! Und das in mehrfacher Hinsicht. Ungewöhnlich sind nicht nur das exzentrische Personal und die atmosphärisch dicht gezeichnete Großstadt Berlin. Auch Fainas Erzählweise ist eigenwillig und reizvoll. Mit intuitiver Sicherheit beherrscht sie die unterschiedlichsten Töne. In klaren, kurzen Sätzen analysiert sie ihre seelischen und körperlichen Defekte, kühl und konzentriert beschreibt sie ihre Lebenssituation und ihre Erlebnisse. Um dann – wie erleuchtet – in poetisch-intensiven Bildern und sinnlich-dichten Formulierungen ihre Gefühle und Stimmungen zu schildern oder mit witzig-ironischen Vergleichen komplizierte Seelenzustände auf den Punkt zu bringen. Ihre Fähigkeit, sich auszudrücken, ist so reich und vielschichtig wie ihre Psyche, und es ist nicht nur packend, sondern auch anrührend zu beobachten, wie sich hier Distanz und Nähe, Freiheit und Zerrissenheit unmittelbar selbst ausdrücken im Medium der Sprache.
 
Zur Berliner Szene passt, dass Nataly Elisabeth Savina literarische und musikalische Zitate einstreut. Ob Leonhard Cohen, David Bowie, Atomic Swing oder Albert Camus – sie sind Fainas Orientierungspunkte und Begleiter in dem ebenso schmerzhaften wie euphorischen Prozess des Übergangs und Erwachsenwerdens. „Meine beste Bitch“ erzählt von einer ganz besonderen Lebensphase, die überall in der westlichen Welt wenn nicht gleich, so doch unter ähnlichen Vorzeichen abläuft. Vom Rausch der Freiheit und der Trance der ersten Liebe. Vom Weggehen und Loslassen, von Verrat und Verlust und Neubeginn. Ohne Happy End, ohne Sentimentalität, atemlos, verwirrend schön. So, wie die Autorin auch den Sean-Lennon-Song „Wait for me“ charakterisiert: in einer „Mischung aus Sehnsucht, Lebenslust, Trauer und Humor“.
Sylvia Schwab

Von Sylvia Schwab, 20.12.2018

​Sylvia Schwab ist Hörfunkjournalistin und hat sich auf Kinder- und Jugendliteratur spezialisiert. Sie ist Jurorin bei den "Besten 7" von Deutschlandfunk und Focus und arbeitet für den Hessischen Rundfunk, den Deutschlandfunk und Deutschlandradio-Kultur.