Category: Children's Books

Jörg Bernardy
Mann Frau Mensch. Was macht mich aus?
[Man, Woman, Human Being. What Makes Me What I Am?]

Stories

Otherness makes life interesting

A large butterfly launching itself into the air: the cover picture of Jörg Bernardy’s book “Mann Frau Mensch” immediately sets the tone for all that follows. In mythology butterflies are the intermediary between heaven and earth, and so each of the six chapters of this essay-like book focuses on the question of how our body determines our identity. The visual aspect plays a significant role here, thus for instance the front endpaper immediately blazons red as the colour of femininity, white as the colour of masculinity, and blue to represent the realm of the imagination invoked throughout the book. ‘What makes me what I am?’ runs the subtitle - and it is by no means easy to come up with an answer to this question. Thus while a series of photographs of skin and of various specific areas of the body clearly show how vulnerable human beings are, they give no hint of whether we’re looking at the skin of men or women. Such is Jörg Bernardy’s overall objective in this elegantly written book – not merely to steer clear of mono-perspectivism himself, but to actively encourage us to open our own eyes to the multiple possibilities of life instead of seeing it too readily in terms of a set of clichéed pigeon-holes.
 
The subject of Jörg Bernardy’s book is identity and sexual orientation, and since we can neither seek nor find our identity as a sort of ready-made package but must instead build it up in the course of a never-ending process, the book cannot simply echo the style of self-help guides and offer a string of neat maxims. Bernardy’s premise is that our sexual orientation is not simply determined by our biological gender; rather, we are turned into men or women, as proposed by Simone de Beauvoir. Upbringing, milieu, culture, language, the media - all play a part in the formative process, with the result that the straightforward duality of man/woman begins to look decidedly shaky. Bernardy invites us to take a serious look at homosexuality, bisexuality, the queer movement, transgender forms of sexuality, and asexuality.
 
Life can take an infinitude of forms, and so this book takes us on a journey, inspired by the notion of tolerance, through all of life’s various aspects, from friendship, family and career right through to language itself. It makes no attempt to disguise the fact that it is aimed at a specific audience: it sets out to make teenagers aware of the full range of possibilities that are available in terms of sexual identity. Everything now needs be explicitly spelled out in order to counter anxiety and ignorance. Without trumpeting it in any way, this carefully formulated book makes it clear that its purpose is to foster a humane approach in place of the destructive clichés of populism, and the hate-filled diatribes on the internet that notoriously encourage exclusion. Needless to say, attaining one’s own particular identity does not mean having a stake in each and every form of sexual orientation; what is absolutely fundamental is respect for the dignity of others. Jörg Bernardy’s book compellingly demonstrates that anyone who feels committed to evincing such respect has powerful arguments on their side in any debate about binding values; it not only quietly dismantles taboos, but also shows that it is precisely the rich potential of our fellow human beings that makes life interesting.
 
Thomas Linden

By Thomas Linden, 14.12.2018

​Thomas Linden is a journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) specializing in the areas of literature, theater and film. He also curates exhibitions on photography and picture book illustration.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Jörg Bernardy
Mann Frau Mensch. Was macht mich aus?

Erzählung

Das Andere macht das Leben interessant

Ein großer Schmetterling fliegt hoch hinaus. Schon das Cover von Jörg Bernardys Buch „Mann Frau Mensch“ schlägt im Bild den Ton des folgenden Textes an. Der Schmetterling ist mythologisch der Mittler zwischen Himmel und Erde, und so dreht sich jedes der sechs Kapitel dieses im Stil eines Essays geschriebenen Sachbuchs um die Frage, wie unser Körper unsere Identität bestimmt. Die visuelle Seite spielt hierbei eine wichtige Rolle, gleich auf dem Vorsatzpapier leuchtet das Rot als Farbe der Weiblichkeit, das Weiß als Farbe der Männlichkeit und das Blau als imaginäres Feld der Vorstellung von den Seiten dieses Buchs. „Was macht mich aus?“, fragt der Untertitel, und die Antwort ist eben nicht im Handumdrehen zu geben. So zeigt zwar eine Serie mit Fotografien der Haut und der Oberflächen einzelner Körperteile, wie verletzlich die Menschen doch sind, sie bietet aber keinen Aufschluss darüber, ob hier nun männliche oder weibliche Haut zu sehen ist. Das ist die Absicht des elegant geschriebenen Textes von Jörg Bernardy: nicht alleine Eindeutigkeit zu vermeiden, sondern die Fenster und Türen für Vieldeutigkeit zu öffnen, bevor das Leben voreilig in die Schubladen der Klischees verstaut werden kann.
 
Ein Buch über Identität und geschlechtliche Orientierung hat Jörg Bernardy geschrieben, und weil wir Identität nicht suchen oder finden können, sondern wir sie erst in einem niemals abzuschließenden Prozess herstellen müssen, kann es hier keine Devisen im Stil der Ratgeber-Literatur geben. Bernardy geht davon aus, dass nicht alleine unser biologisches Geschlecht über unsere sexuelle Orientierung entscheidet, sondern wir in der Tradition von Simone de Beauvoir zum Mann und zur Frau erst gemacht werden. Erziehung, Milieu, Medien, Kultur und Sprache sind Teil der Prägung, so dass die Dualität von männlich und weiblich ins Wanken gerät. Bernardy öffnet den Blick für Homosexualität, Bisexualität, für die Queer-Bewegung, die Transgender-Orientierungen oder ein asexuelles Empfinden.
 
Das Leben ist alles, was sein kann, und so verfolgt das Buch den Gedanken der Toleranz durch alle Lebensbereiche von der Freundschaft über die Familie, den Beruf bis in die Sprache hinein. Ein Sachbuch, das nicht die Absicht verhehlt, für eine bestimmte Zielgruppe geschrieben zu sein: Den Teenagern soll das ganze Spektrum geschlechtlicher Identität eröffnet werden. Alles muss einmal beim Namen genannt werden, um Ängsten und Unkenntnis begegnen zu können. Ohne dass es explizit erwähnt würde, scheint durch den behutsam formulierten Text die Intention hindurch, den zerstörerischen Klischees des Populismus und den hasserfüllten Kommentaren des Internets, die notorische Ausgrenzung betreiben, Humanismus entgegenzusetzen. Man muss nicht jede Orientierung teilen, auch das gehört zur Identität, aber die Würde der anderen zu achten, ist die Basis von allem. Wer sich ihr verpflichtet fühlt, hat starke Argumente in der Diskussion um verbindliche Werte, das beweist Jörg Bernardys Buch überzeugend. Hier werden nicht alleine Tabus mit sanfter Diktion trockengelegt, sondern auch gezeigt, dass auch und gerade die Vielfalt des Anderen das Leben interessant macht.
Thomas Linden

Von Thomas Linden, 14.12.2018

​Thomas Linden arbeitet als Journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) in den Bereichen Literatur, Theater und Film und konzipiert als Kurator Ausstellungen zur Fotografie und zur Bilderbuchillustration.