Category: Fiction

Heinz Helle
Die Überwindung der Schwerkraft
[Overcoming Gravity]

Novel

Communing with the Dead

Heinz Helle, a Munich native and graduate of the Swiss Literature Institute in Biel, writes short novels that cut quickly and disturbingly to the fundamental questions of existence. His début, Superabundance, offered a glimpse of a kind of ‘thinking degree zero’ on the question love and relationship skills. If Niklas Luhmann had tried his hand at confessional fiction, the end result might have been this book. Helle’s second novel, Euphoria, by contrast, is a dystopia that avoids the current fashion for lurid post-apocalyptic fantasies and instead offers something more akin to a scientific experiment: five young men spend the weekend in a remote Alpine chalet only to discover that the world has ended while they were away. Just like that their former lives are reduced to a machine-like struggle for survival.

Now, in his third and latest novel, Helle tells the story of a difficult reconciliation between two very different brothers. Helle is a versatile stylist. In contrast to his previous two novels, here he writes in long, meandering sentence cycles, some spanning several pages, which are so elegantly constructed that the reader is able to follow them effortlessly. A stream of consciousness, an attempt to remember, a work of mourning.

Two brothers go out drinking. The elder of the two is the kind of guy you typically try to avoid, especially in a bar at night. He talks a lot and is convinced of the weight and validity of everything he says. He is highly intelligent and deeply misanthropic. And as is so often the case with such figures, we soon come to realise that he is a humanist who has gone over to the dark side, a man who has had to let go of his hopes. He is obsessed with the evils of mankind; he has delved into the history of the Second World War and can tell you the minutest details about the Belgian paedophile Marc Dutroux’s despicable acts. He who has seen through the façade of the human, one might conclude, has no other choice but to turn his back on humanity.

His brother, the narrator, is twelve years his junior and serves initially only as a conduit for this endless torrent of words. But the elder brother, as we quickly discover, is dead. And hence what appears at first to be an unmediated monologue is in fact a reconstruction based on the younger brother’s unreliable memory. On the one hand, this act of writing is his attempt to get closer to his deceased brother. On the other hand, of course, this also means that the younger brother has ultimate authority over the narrative: he decides what his brother says and how he says it.

Helle has this enormously dense web of images, perspectives, and temporalities firmly in his grasp. Overcoming Gravity is a novel about the peculiar combination of affection and distance that informs the relationship between siblings (though strictly speaking in this case they are half-siblings) and also about the question of guilt and responsibility—especially also in the context of family. And last but not least, it is a novel whose twists and turns frequently lead into the realm of the grotesque. As this uncommonly intelligent author well knows, there is a close relationship between comedy and despair.
Christoph Schröder

By Christoph Schröder, 11.09.2019

​Christoph Schroeder is a freelance writer (Sueddeutsche Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit) based in Frankfurt am Main and is a lecturer in literary criticism at the university there.

Translated by Kári Driscoll

Sparte: Belletristik

Heinz Helle
Die Überwindung der Schwerkraft

Roman

Annäherung an einen Toten

Heinz Helle, in München geboren, Absolvent des Literaturinstituts im schweizerischen Biel, schreibt kurze Romane, die auf beunruhigende Wiese schnell zu den existentiellen Lebensfragen vorstoßen: In seinem Debütroman „Der beruhigende Klang von explodierendem Kerosin“ konnte man dem auf den Nullpunkt heruntergekühlten Nachdenken über Liebe und Beziehungsfähigkeit zuschauen. Wenn Niklas Luhmann versucht hätte, Innerlichkeitsprosa zu schreiben, wäre möglicherweise dieses Buch dabei herausgekommen. Helles zweiter Roman „Eigentlich müssten wir tanzen“ wiederum ist eine Dystopie, die sich nicht an der Mode der lustvollen Untergangsbeschwörung beteiligt, sondern vielmehr eine Versuchsanordnung, in der fünf Männer nach einem Wochenende in den Bergen feststellen, dass in der Zwischenzeit die Welt untergegangen ist – die Menschen, die sie zuvor waren, werden schlagartig zu auf das pure Überleben getrimmten Maschinen.
 
Nun, in seinem dritten und neuen Roman, erzählt Heinz Helle von einer komplizierten Annäherung zwischen zwei ungleichen Brüdern. Helle ist ein wandlungsfähiger Stilist. Er schreibt hier, anders als in den vorangegangenen Büchern, in langen, sich manchmal über Seiten hinziehenden Satzperioden, die so elegant gefügt sind, dass sie sich mühelos verfolgen lassen. Ein Gedankenstrom, ein Erinnerungsversuch, eine Trauerarbeit.
 
Zwei Brüder gehen zusammen trinken. Der ältere ist einer von der Sorte, denen man ungerne begegnen möchte, vor allem nicht an einem Abend in der Kneipe. Er redet viel und er ist überzeugt davon, dass seine Rede Gewicht und Geltung hat. Er ist hochintelligent und zutiefst misanthropisch. Und wie so oft bei solchen Figuren bemerken wir bald, dass dieser Mann ein ins Dunkle gewendeter Humanist ist, der seine Hoffnungen hat fahren lassen müssen. Er ist besessen von der Bösartigkeit der Menschen, hat sich hineingebohrt in die Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkriegs; er kennt alle Details über die widerwärtigen Umtriebe des belgischen Kinderschänders Marc Dutroux. Wer die Menschheit durchschaut hat, so könnte man schlussfolgern, hat keine andere Wahl als die, sich von den Menschen abzuwenden.
 
Der zwölf Jahre jüngere Ich-Erzähler ist zunächst nur das Medium, durch das die Suada des Älteren fließt. Doch der ältere Bruder, das erfährt man recht schnell, ist tot. Die vermeintliche Unmittelbarkeit des Erzählten ist in Wahrheit die unzuverlässige Erinnerung des jüngeren Bruders. Durch den Akt des Aufschreibens versucht er zum einen, posthum Nähe herzustellen. Zum anderen aber verfügt der jüngere Bruder dadurch auch über die Deutungshoheit: Er entscheidet, was wie erzählt wird.
 
Heinz Helle hat dieses enorm dichte Gewebe an Motiven, Perspektiven und Zeitebenen fest im Griff. „Die Überwindung der Schwerkraft“ ist ein Buch, das das Verhältnis von Zuneigung und Distanz unter Geschwistern (die hier streng genommen  nur Halbgeschwister sind) reflektiert und auch die Frage nach Schuld und Verantwortung stellt – selbst und gerade auch innerhalb des familiären Kontextes. Und es ist nicht zuletzt auch ein Buch, das immer wieder Ausflüge in das Groteske unternimmt. Komik und Verzweiflung, das weiß dieser ungemein kluge Autor, liegen stets nah beieinander.
Christoph Schröder

Von Christoph Schröder, 11.09.2019

​Christoph Schröder, lebt als freier Autor (Süddeutsche Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit) in Frankfurt am Main und ist Dozent für Literaturkritik an der dortigen Universität.