Category: Non-fiction

Georg von Wallwitz
Mr. Smith und das Paradies
[Mr. Smith and Paradise. The invention of wealth]

Non-Fiction

Review

​The historical rise of homo economicus started out with a good thrashing. That is the pointed if unconventional way it is described by Georg von Wallwitz in his new book, Mr. Smith and Paradise. Unconventional, however, is also the key word to apply to the author himself. Wallwitz (born in 1968), who studied philosophy and mathematics in Munich and Princeton, is unique in German business journalism: a professional asset and funds manager, he simultaneously draws on an enormous wealth of cultural knowledge, thus bringing together theory and practice like no one else in Germany. That is likely why he is so successful at explaining economic relationships in such an uncommonly amusing, witty, and comprehensible manner.

After exploring the nature of the financial markets in his 2011 debut, Odysseus and the Weasels, Wallwitz has now embarked on a journey through the modern history of ideas in search of the “invention of wealth.” The first stage of his overview of economic philosophy leads to Voltaire. Which brings us back to that initial “good thrashing.” For, after making a pointed remark to the influential Chevalier de Rohan in 1726, Voltaire was beaten up by the latter’s minions. As a result of this episode, the young philosophe eventually had to flee to England.

But what Voltaire saw in his involuntary exile impressed him deeply. England was a plural, dynamic society that was marching with its merchants to the beat of progress. The stock exchanges, in particular, were revealed to him as temples of bourgeois emancipation. There the Christian promise of salvation was replaced by the sweet – yet also profane -- pursuit of wealth. In Voltaire’s Philosophical Letters, economics for the first time began to operate as “political economy,” and "thereby ceased to be a marginal phenomenon and doctrine for good landowners and farmers.” Once Voltaire began to understand the market as a model for social order, one that would guarantee individual freedom and material prosperity, capitalist expertise would itself turn into the knowledge of enlightened government. “More than anyone else, [Voltaire] played a role in replacing paradise with earthly prosperity in people’s heads.”
Voltaire’s economic epiphany was later articulated by Adam Smith in his much-cited notion of the "invisible hand” in which ostensibly chaotic market events were interpreted as a self-regulating system of coordinating interests. It is significant that Smith was not an economist but a (rather) absent-minded moral philosopher, who was affirming a primarily ethical argument. In contrast to Christian tradition, Smith no longer conceived of pursuing personal advantage as a sin but rather as a contribution to the common good. He nonetheless harbored a strong aversion to public companies, recognizing early on the dangers of corporate capitalism.

Smith forcefully warned that the state should not let itself be fooled by those using patronage to conduct business at the expense of the general public. Yet that is exactly what happened in the course of the Industrial Revolution. What (on the one hand) was a bourgeois project of emancipation implemented against aristocratic elites turned out (on the other) to be a losing proposition for the remaining “99 percent” (as today’s Occupy Movement might put it). Instead of Smith’s predicted "wealth of nations,” abject poverty came to predominate. Tolstoy’s dictum was more appropriate than ever: "Whoever’s got money has got those without it in the bag."

What is so appealing about "Mr. Smith and Paradise" is that despite proceeding chronologically and keeping pace with the history of ideas, it also repeatedly builds bridges to the present. When Wallwitz discusses industrialization, he conveys en passant the design flaws of the euro. When analyzing the global economic crisis, he also scrutinizes the role of subsidies. His thematic focus holds surprises as well. Whereas the miserable conditions of Manchester capitalism brought a series of great thinkers onto the world stage—the book addresses not only evergreens like Proudhon and Marx but also two other (nowadays somewhat neglected) theorists: the anarchist Mikhail Bakunin, whose political legacy Wallwitz sees in the present-day Tea Party movement, and the co-founder of utilitarianism, John Stuart Mill.

The latter is so important because he expressed explicitly what economists usually assume implicitly: that man is purely out to maximize utility. Today, especially in light of the financial crisis, that is often deemed a reductionist neoliberal premise. Seen historically, however, it is a plausible source for the basic idea of social democracy. If capitalism, as Mill concluded, was of such little benefit for so many people, then it was going to have to be modified through redistribution. And that’s indeed what also happened. Capitalism proved quite adaptable while Communism (in Europe) remained little more than a ghost.

Yet with the advent of the Great Depression in the 1920s, economists once again found themselves in an ideological muddle. The markets were simply unwilling to regulate themselves. That in turn kindled the great controversy between Friedrich von Hayek and John Maynard Keynes. Wallwitz has managed the feat of vividly bringing to life these two schools of thought, in an imaginary discussion they hold in a pub. At the same time, he is likewise able to demonstrate incisively that we have hardly advanced further in the eighty years since then. Whenever debates take place about onerous government debts, the advocates of austerity are even now face-to-face with those who support growth policies.
"Mr. Smith and Paradise" therefore proves a superbly charming book that can be read in two ways: on the one hand, as a nimble introduction to economic theory; on the other, as an anecdotal compendium of incisive reflections on the nature of wealth. And although Wallwitz argues in a highly differentiated way, he also invites controversy on occasion. One can certainly dispute whether Marx's thinking really bore the seeds of Leninism within it or whether financial markets that periodically collapse are truly the price one must pay for prosperity. But that would be precisely in the sense of the author, if his book were to demonstrate but one thing: economic theories, not unlike literature and philosophy, are always by necessity products of the spirit of their age, and they are always to be mistrusted when claiming to offer definitive, irrefutable answers.
Nils Markwardt

By Nils Markwardt, 18.06.2014

​Nils Markwardt is a freelance writer contributing to publications such as Literaturen and der Freitag.

Translated by David A. Brenner

Sparte: Sachbuch

Georg von Wallwitz
Mr. Smith und das Paradies. Die Erfindung des Wohlstands

Sachbuch

Buchbesprechung

​Der historische Aufstieg des homo oeconomicus, er begann mit einer gehörigen Tracht Prügel. So pointiert wie unkonventionell beschreibt es zumindest Georg von Wallwitz in seinem neuen Buch "Mr. Smith und das Paradies". Unkonventionell ist indes auch das Stichwort, das auf den 1968 geborenen Autor zutrifft. Denn Wallwitz, der Philosophie und Mathematik in München und Princeton studierte, ist in der deutschen Wirtschaftspublizistik ein Unikat. Als hauptberuflicher Fondsmanager und Vermögensverwalter, der gleichzeitig aus einem enormen kulturellen Wissensschatz schöpft, vereint er Theorie und Praxis wie hierzulande kaum ein zweiter. Wohl nicht zuletzt deshalb gelingt es ihm, ökonomische Zusammenhänge so ungewohnt amüsant, geistreich und vor allem verständlich zu erklären.
Nachdem Wallwitz in seinem 2011 erschienenen Debüt "Odysseus und die Wiesel" bereits unterhaltsam das Wesen der Finanzmärkte ergründete, begibt er sich nun auf eine Reise durch die moderne Ideengeschichte, um der „Erfindung des Wohlstands“ nachzuspüren. Die erste Etappe dieser wirtschaftsphilosophischen Tour d'Horizon führt ihn zu Voltaire. Und da sind wir wieder bei der Tracht Prügel. Denn nachdem sich Voltaire 1726 eine spitze Bemerkung gegenüber dem einflussreichen Chevalier de Rohan erlaubte, bekam er von dessen Schergen einen auf die Schnauze. In der Folge dieser Affäre musste der junge Philosoph schließlich nach England fliehen.

Doch was er in seinem unfreiwilligen Exil nun sah, beeindruckte ihn zutiefst: eine plurale und dynamische Gesellschaft, die im Takt mit den Kaufleuten in Richtung Fortschritt marschierte. Vor allem die Börsen offenbarten sich ihm als Tempel bürgerlicher Emanzipation, die die christlichen Heilsversprechen durch das ebenso profane wie süße Streben nach Wohlstand ersetzen. In seinen Philosophischen Briefen firmierte die Wirtschaft deshalb auch erstmals als „politische Ökonomie“ und „hörte damit auf, eine Randerscheinung und Lehre für brave Haus- und Landwirte zu sein.“ Begriff Voltaire den Markt also als gesellschaftliches Ordnungsmodell, das individuelle Freiheit und materiellen Reichtum garantierte, so avancierte kapitalistische Expertise zum aufklärerischen Regierungswissen. „Mehr als jeder andere trug [Voltaire] dazu bei, in den Köpfen der Menschen das Paradies durch den irdischen Wohlstand zu ersetzen.“

Adam Smith wird dieses Voltaire'sche Erweckungserlebnis dann später auf den vielzitierten Begriff der „unsichtbaren Hand“ bringen und das scheinbar chaotische Marktgeschehen als autoregulatives System der Interessenkoordination deuten. Smith, der bezeichnender Weise kein Ökonom, sondern ein ziemlich zerstreuter Moralphilosoph war, machte damit vor allem ein ethisches Argument geltend. Entgegen der christlichen Tradition galt ihm die Verfolgung des eigenen Vorteils nicht mehr als Sünde, sondern als Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl. Gleichwohl erkannte Smith, der eine ausgeprägte Aversion gegen Aktiengesellschaften hegte, aber auch bereits die Gefahren des Corporate Capitalism.

Eindringlich warnte er davor, dass der Staat sich nicht von jenen übertölpeln lassen dürfe, die mittels Klientelismus auf Kosten der Allgemeinheit wirtschaften. Genau das geschah jedoch im Zuge der industriellen Revolution. War diese zwar einerseits ein bürgerliches Emanzipationsprojekt, das gegen die aristokratischen Eliten durchgesetzt wurde, entpuppte sie sich andererseits, so würde man heute mit Occupy sagen, für die 99% als Verlustgeschäft. Statt des prognostizierten „Wohlstands der Nationen“ herrschte bittere Armut. Mehr denn je galt nun der Satz Tolstois: „Wer Geld besitzt, hat denjenigen, der keins besitzt, im Sack.“

Das reizvolle an "Mr. Smith und das Paradies" ist, dass das Buch zwar chronologisch die Ideengeschichte abschreitet, gleichzeitig aber auch immer wieder Brücken zur Gegenwart schlägt. Diskutiert Wallwitz die Industrialisierung, so analysiert er en passant die Konstruktionsfehler des Euros; erörtert er die Weltwirtschaftskrise, beleuchtet er nebenbei die Rolle von Subventionen. Und auch die thematische Schwerpunktsetzung birgt Überraschungen. Riefen die elenden Verhältnisse des Manchester-Kapitalismus eine ganze Reihe großer Denker auf die Weltbühne, so verhandelt das Buch zwar auch Evergreens wie Proudhon und Marx, legt den Fokus aber ebenfalls auf zwei andere, heute bisweilen etwas vernachlässigte Theoretiker: den Anarchisten Michail Bakunin, dessen politisches Erbe Wallwitz gegenwärtig bei der Tea-Party-Bewegung sieht, und den Mitbegründer des Utilitarismus, John Stuart Mill.

Letzterer ist deshalb so wichtig, weil er explizit ausspricht, was Ökonomen meist implizit voraussetzen, nämlich die Annahme, dass der Mensch ein reiner Nutzenmaximierer sei. Heute, zumal im Lichte der Finanzkrise, erscheint uns das als neoliberale Verkürzung. Historisch gesehen steckt in dieser Prämisse jedoch gewissermaßen die Grundidee der Sozialdemokratie. Denn wenn der Kapitalismus, so folgerte Mill, für so viele Menschen so wenig Nutzen bringt, muss er per Umverteilung justiert werden. Und so sollte es auch kommen. Der Kapitalismus zeigte sich wandelbar, der Kommunismus blieb in Europa hingegen nur ein Gespenst.

Mit der Weltwirtschaftskrise der 1920er Jahre standen die Ökonomen jedoch abermals vor einem ideologischen Scherbenhaufen. Die Märkte wollten sich einfach nicht selbst regulieren. In der Folge entbrannte deshalb die große Kontroverse zwischen Friedrich von Hayek und John Maynard Keynes. Wallwitz gelingt nun nicht nur das Kunststück, diese beiden Denkschulen in einer imaginierten Kneipendiskussion überaus anschaulich zu illustrieren, sondern er vermag ebenso prägnant zu verdeutlichen, dass wir 80 Jahre später kaum weiter gekommen sind. Wird heute über drückende Staatsschulden debattiert, stehen sich Verfechter von Austeritäts- und Wachstumspolitik wie eh und je gegenüber.

"Mr. Smith und das Paradies" zeigt sich somit als wunderbar charmantes Buch, das sich auf zwei Arten lesen lässt. Einerseits als leichtfüßige Einführung in die ökonomische Theorie, andererseits aber auch als anekdotisches Kompendium pointierter Reflexionen über das Wesen des Wohlstands. Und obschon Wallwitz dabei weitestgehend abwägend argumentiert, lädt er bisweilen auch zur Kontroverse ein. Denn ob Marx' Denken tatsächlich bereits den Keim des Leninismus' in sich trägt oder periodisch kollabierende Finanzmärkte wirklich den Preis des Wohlstands bilden, darüber ließe sich freilich streiten. Doch gerade das wäre wohl im Sinne des Autors, zeigt sein Buch doch vor allem eins: Wirtschaftstheorien sind, nicht anders als Literatur und Philosophie, notwendigerweise immer Produkte ihres Zeitgeistes, sodass stets jenen zu misstrauen bleibt, die vermeintlich endgültige, unumstößliche Antworten anbieten.
Nils Markwardt

Von Nils Markwardt, 18.06.2014

​Nils Markwardt arbeitet als freier Autor und schreibt u.a. für Literaturen und der Freitag.