Category: Non-fiction

Jutta Person
Korallen. Ein Portrait
[Corals: A Portrait]

Cultural Studies

Fantastic Creatures of the Sea

They are everywhere. The more persistently you look, the more eagerly they appear before you. That is how the literary critic and cultural studies scholar Jutta Person describes her encounter with corals. Nowadays the multifarious underwater animals are generally mentioned within the context of global warming, which is threatening their existence. Jutta Person looked persistently and found many perspectives on them—in history, art, literature, and underwater. In her portrait she sketches both vividly and poetically how long these fantastical animals have been fascinating people, showing all the more clearly what a treasure they (still) are for us.

Corals live in the light zones of the oceans and are therefore relatively easy to reach. The author first approached them carefully on snorkeling excursions, but she was quickly enchanted by the world of corals. She learned how to scuba-dive and discovered a strange, underwater cosmos, where there was a lot of dabbling, swaying, and moving on tentacles … but no interest whatsoever in human beings.” A cosmos that is alive, “and indeed beastly alive,” in which the corals clearly control their own movement rather than simply swaying in the current.

This world does not become any less exotic, although human beings have transported the vocabulary of their human environment under water. And so they find brain, cauliflower, lettuce, elkhorn, and organ pipe corals, as well as dead man’s fingers and broccoli tree coral. The most beautiful specimens have their own portrait in the appendix.

On her excursion into natural history the author reports that in fact it took until the eighteenth century, through the research of the natural scientist Jean-André Peyssonnel, for corals to be recognized as animals. Scientists today classify corals and jellyfish as cnidarians. They consist of numerous polyps that build structures out of limestone, which they live on or in. They subsist on plankton or small fish that they capture with an arrow-like barb and a toxin discharged from their stinging cells (cnidocytes). Each new generation of riff-building corals settles on the remains of the previous one, creating entire islands over the course of tens of thousands of years. Even the rather level-headed Darwin started raving in his description of his insights into the earth-changing power of these corals.

However, people were enthusiastic about corals even much earlier, according to the author, as she shifts from natural to cultural history. Jewelry made of the brilliant red precious corals were already sold beyond the Alps as early as the Iron Age, and in ancient Egypt they were placed in tombs to offer magical protection for the deceased. The more the author looked, the more she found the typical red coral necklaces or entire branches of corals in paintings and on vases, in churches and in the curiosity cabinets of early scholars, as amulets and even as pacifiers and on crocheted artworks.

Jutta Person follows the corals through poetry and literature, finding examples in Ovid and Pliny, as well as in Shakespeare, Jules Verne, and Karl Marx. A wide variety of authors continues to be fascinated by what the cooperation of so many minuscule animals can create. Marx used the countless riff-building corals as an analogy for the masses of workers in early industrial society. And the middle class discovered corals at the same time: as ornamental gems in aquariums.

Of course this beautifully illustrated, coral-red volume cannot close without a rather dismal look at how climate change, overfishing, and tourism impacts corals. Like many before her, however, Jutta Person also found a recipe among the corals for resolving the present-day problems: Let us “forget simplifications and create ramifications.”
Manuela Lenzen

By Manuela Lenzen, 18.09.2019

Manuela Lenzen is a freelance science journalist. The main subject areas of her writing are evolution, cognition, and artificial intelligence.

Translated by Allison Brown

Sparte: Sachbuch

Jutta Person
Korallen. Ein Portrait

Kulturwissenschaft

Wunderwesen der Meere

Sie sind überall, je hartnäckiger man hinschaut, desto williger wachsen sie einem entgegen: so beschreibt die Literaturkritikerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin Jutta Person ihre Begegnung mit den Korallen. Von den vielgestaltigen Unterwasserwesen ist heute meist im Zusammenhang mit der Klimaerwärmung die Rede, die ihre Existenz bedroht. Jutta Person hat hartnäckig hingeschaut und in Geschichte, Kunst und Literatur ebenso wie unter Wasser noch viele andere Perspektiven gefunden. In ihrem Portrait zeichnet sie so lebendig wie poetisch nach, wie lange diese wundersamen Tiere die Menschen schon faszinieren, und macht damit umso deutlicher, welchen Schatz wir (noch) an ihnen haben.

Korallen leben in den lichten Zonen der Meere und sind damit relativ leicht zu erreichen. Die Autorin nähert sich ihnen zuerst in vorsichtigen Schnorchelgängen, doch die Welt der Korallen zieht sie schnell in ihren Bann. Sie lernt tauchen und findet unter Wasser einen fremden Kosmos, in dem es „gründelt, wiegt und tentakelt … ohne das geringste Interesse am Menschen“. Einen Kosmos, in dem es lebendig, „und zwar tierisch lebendig“ zugeht, in dem die Korallen sich erkennbar selbstgesteuert bewegen, statt sich nur in der Strömung zu wiegen.

Diese Welt wird auch dadurch nicht weniger exotisch, dass der Mensch, das Vokabular seiner Lebenswelt unter Wasser transportiert und dort Hirn-, Himbeer-, Salat-, Elchgeweih- und Orgelkorallen, die Tote Mannshand und das Broccoli-Bäumchen findet. Die schönsten von ihnen bekommen im Anhang ein eigenes Portrait.

Tatsächlich sollte es bis zu den Arbeiten des Naturforschers Jean-André Peyssonnel im 18. Jahrhundert dauern, bis die Korallen überhaupt als Tiere erkannt wurden, erklärt die Autorin in einem Ausflug in die Naturgeschichte. Heute ordnen Forscher die Korallen wie die Quallen den Nesseltieren zu. Sie bestehen aus zahlreichen Polypen, die Strukturen aus Kalk bilden, in oder auf denen sie leben und sich von Plankton oder kleinen Fischen ernähren, die sie mit Giftpfeilen aus ihren Nesselzellen jagen. Bei riffbildenden Korallen siedelt jede neue Generation auf den Überresten der vorigen, wodurch im Laufe zehntausender Jahre ganze Inseln entstehen. Selbst der eher nüchterne Darwin kam bei der Beschreibung seiner Einsichten über die erdverändernde Kraft dieser Korallen ins Schwärmen.

Doch die Menschen begeisterten sich noch viel früher für die Korallen, konstatiert die Autorin, als sie von der Natur- in die Kulturgeschichte wechselt. Schmuck aus den leuchtend roten Edelkorallen wurde schon in der Eisenzeit bis über die Alpen verkauft, im alten Ägypten gab man ihn den Verstorbenen als magischen Schutz mit ins Grab. Und je länger die Autorin sucht, desto häufiger findet sie die typischen roten Perlenketten oder ganze Äste von Korallen auf Gemälden und Vasen, in Kirchen und den Wunderkammern früher Gelehrter, als Amulette, selbst als Schnuller und gehäkeltes Kunstwerk.

Jutta Person folgt den Korallen durch Dichtung und Literatur und wird bei Ovid und Plinius ebenso fündig wie bei Shakespeare, Jules Verne und Karl Marx. Immer wieder fasziniert die unterschiedlichsten Autoren, was durch die Kooperation vieler winziger Tiere entstehen kann. Marx nimmt die zahllosen riffbildenden Korallen gleich als Analogie für die Arbeitermassen der frühen Industriegesellschaft. Und auch das Bürgertum entdeckte die Korallen zeitgleich: als Schmuckstücke im Aquarium.

Natürlich kann dieses liebevoll illustrierte, korallenrote Werk nicht ohne einen eher düsteren Blick auf die Auswirkungen von Klimawandel, Überfischung und Tourismus auf die Korallen enden. Doch wie viele andere vor ihr, findet auch Jutta Person bei den Korallen ein Rezept für die Probleme der Gegenwart: Man möge Vereinfachungen vergessen und Verzweigungen erfinden.
Manuela Lenzen

Von Manuela Lenzen, 18.09.2019

Manuela Lenzen ist freie Wissenschaftsjournalistin und schreibt vor allem über die Themen Evolution, Kognition und Künstliche Intelligenz.