Category: Children's Books

Jutta Bücker
Zorilla
[Zorilla]

Storybook

Fear of Strangers

Many a secret turns out not to be a secret at all if only we look closely enough. We may well find this to be our experience in the case of Jutta Bücker’s picture book ‘Zorilla’, where the picture on the cover already reveals the essentials of the story. The first thing that hits us, however, is the flagrant red colour that the jacket is steeped in. There’s danger here! A furry black animal stands looking around by the entrance to a side-alley, and we can see various animals both large and small hiding in an archway. They’re clearly shadowing him. Full of mistrust, the residents of the street follow him with their eyes, even the open shutters on the houses look like eyes observing his every move, while up in the sky the moon keeps inexorable watch over the entire scene. In Jutta Bücker’s picture book eyes are so eloquently expressive of inner processes that it is instantly clear to us how the animals are waiting in trepidation for whatever is going to happen. Yet another twilight street scene ensues - but even the neon glare in the old part of town does nothing to diminish the menace occasioned by the path of the zorilla - a polecat with a turned-up coat-collar.
Jutta Becker scored a sales hit in 2004 with ‘Rosalie und Trüffel’ and its cuddly pair of pigs, but this present picture book is a quite different proposition. The very name of its eponymous hero, ‘Zorilla’, may denote a type of African polecat, but it also alludes to Zorro and to gorillas. As might happen in a crime movie, Jutta Bücker chooses Hamburg’s street-scene as the backdrop to her story. The lights of Hamburg’s famous Fair gleam in the night sky. Decked in his pink stole the circus horse sits on a bar stool chatting to the walrus, on duty here as the local policeman. Jutta Bücker lives in Hamburg, its topography is familiar to her, and she uses it to great effect. The highly atmospheric setting lends the story extra intensity and conviction. The polecat comes across as alien and menacing not only to the animals within the story, but also to us - a sensation subtly reinforced by the fact that we, too, see only the whites of its eyes peering out from the overall blackness of the figure. But then Jutta Bücker switches perspective, for no sooner have we been discomfited by the strange creature’s inscrutability than we find the town’s citizens forming a mob: they, too, now radiate an air of menace.
The outsider becomes an object onto which the locals project their own fears. Thus for instance the rats suspect he’s out to drown them in the harbour. Suspicious noises are heard coming from the zorilla’s workshop. We see the frightened mice, the helpless little pig - the atmosphere becomes ever more tense. This tension is heightened by drawings that depict the actions in the foreground, but simultaneously recede into the far distance. This sense of depth lends the story a powerful extra dimension. At the same time Jutta Bücker uses stark colours conveying an undertone of hysteria: an aggressive yellow, a disconcerting pink, an oppressive green. The atmosphere is unmistakably poisonous - until all of a sudden everything changes.
Needless to say, the zorilla is not a monster at all: inside his workshop he has constructed a ship in a giant bottle, and during the night he has launched his bottle onto the water unnoticed in order to sail back home to Africa. And this ship in a bottle was already plainly to be seen on the cover of the book. The zorilla now comes across as small and wholly without menace: ‘If only they had asked the zorilla...’, we’re told at the start of the book’s second part, which depicts what had actually been happening and conveys the zorilla’s longing to get back home. The animals have thereby lost someone possessed of a clever mind and an inventive spirit.
With great subtlety in her depiction of the characters, their behaviour, and the overall setting, Jutta Bücker vividly confronts us with the consequences of xenophobia.
 
Thomas Linden

By Thomas Linden, 18.09.2019

​Thomas Linden is a journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) specializing in the areas of literature, theater and film. He also curates exhibitions on photography and picture book illustration.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Jutta Bücker
Zorilla

Bilderbuch

Die Angst vor dem Fremden

Manches Geheimnis ist gar keines, wenn man nur genau genug hinschaut. So kann es einem mit Jutta Brückers Bilderbuch „Zorilla“ gehen, das die Essenz seiner Geschichte schon auf dem Cover erzählt. Zunächst fällt jedoch das unerhörte Rot auf, in das der Buchumschlag getaucht ist. Gefährlich. Ein schwarzes Pelztier steht da an der Ecke einer Passage, schaut sich um und wir sehen die Tiere, kleine und große, die sich in einem Torbogen vor dem Fremden verstecken. Offenbar beschatten sie ihn. Die Bewohner der Straße folgen ihm misstrauisch mit ihren Blicken, selbst die offenen Fensterläden der Häuser wirken wie Augen, die ihn beobachten, während oben am Himmel der Mond unerbittlich über die Szene wacht. Die Augen erzählen in Jutta Bückers Bilderbuch so beredt von inneren Vorgängen, dass man genau erkennen kann, wie die Tiere auf das kommende Geschehen lauern. Handelt es sich hier noch um eine Straßenszene im Halbdunkel, so weicht die Bedrohung auch im Neonlicht der Altstadt nicht von der Fährte des „Zorilla“, eines Marders mit hochgeschlagenem Mantelkragen.
 
2004 gelang Jutta Bücker mit dem knuddeligen Schweineduo „Rosalie und Trüffel“ ein Verkaufsschlager, ihr aktuelles Bilderbuch ist da aus ganz anderem Holz geschnitzt. Schon im Namen des Titelhelden „Zorilla“, einer afrikanischen Marderart, stecken Verweise auf Zorro und Gorillas. Wie in einem Kriminalfilm entwirft Jutta Bücker ihre Geschichte vor Hamburgs Stadtkulisse. Die Lichter des Jahrmarkts leuchten in der Nacht. Das Zirkuspferd sitzt in seiner pinkfarbenen Stola auf dem Barhocker im Gespräch mit dem Walross, das hier seinen Polizeidienst versieht. Jutta Bücker lebt in Hamburg, sie kennt die Topographie der Stadt und nutzt sie effektvoll. Die Geschichte gewinnt zusätzlich an Dichte und Überzeugungskraft, weil das Setting so viel Atmosphäre besitzt. Nicht nur auf die Tiere wirkt der Marder fremd und bedrohlich. Ein Gefühl, das subtil geschürt wird, da auch wir nur das Weiß seiner Augen aus dem Schwarz seiner Gestalt aufblitzen sehen. Doch Jutta Bücker wechselt die Perspektiven. Erscheint uns der Fremde undurchsichtig, so erleben wir im nächsten Moment, wie sich die Bewohner der Stadt zu einer Meute zusammenschließen. Auch von ihnen geht etwas Bedrohliches aus.
 
Der Fremde wird zur Projektionsfläche für die eigenen Ängste. So mutmaßen die Ratten, dass er vorhaben könnte, sie im Hafenbecken zu versenken. Geheimnisvolle Geräusche, sind aus der Werkstatt des Marders zu vernehmen. Wir sehen die ängstlichen Mäuse und das ratlose kleine Schwein, die Atmosphäre ist zum Zerreißen gespannt. Aufgeladen wird sie mit Bildern, die Aktionen im Vordergrund zeigen und sich dann in die Ferne hin öffnen. Diese Tiefe verleiht der Geschichte eine bedeutsame Dimension. Zugleich arbeitet Jutta Bücker mit hysterisch grellen Farben, das aggressive Gelb, ein beunruhigendes Pink, ein aufdringliches Grün, die Atmosphäre ist unübersehbar vergiftet, bevor sie dann plötzlich umschlägt.
 
Der Marder ist natürlich kein Monster, er hat sich in seiner Werkstatt ein eigenes Schiff in einer großen Flasche gebaut, die er des Nachts unbemerkt ins Wasser hat gleiten lassen, um sich auf den Weg in seine Heimat Afrika zu machen. Und dieses Schiff in der Flasche hätte man auch schon auf dem Buchumschlag erkennen können. Nun wirkt der Zorilla auf einmal klein und gar nicht mehr gefährlich. „Hätten sie nur einmal den Zorilla gefragt...“ heißt es zu Beginn des zweiten Teils, der uns die „wahre Geschichte“ des Marders und seines Heimwehs erzählt. Einen klugen Kopf mit viel Erfindungsgeist haben die Tiere da verloren. Subtil in der Darstellung von Figuren, Gesten und Kulisse führt uns Jutta Bücker das fatale Ergebnis von Fremdenfeindlichkeit vor Augen.  
Thomas Linden

Von Thomas Linden, 18.09.2019

​Thomas Linden arbeitet als Journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) in den Bereichen Literatur, Theater und Film und konzipiert als Kurator Ausstellungen zur Fotografie und zur Bilderbuchillustration.