Category: Non-fiction

Florian Illies
1913. Der Sommer des Jahrhunderts
[1913. The year before the storm]

Non-Fiction

Review

​Those who fear the number thirteen are probably a bit unnerved this year. At least that was the case a hundred years ago. On New Year’s day1913, Franz Kafka imagined himself being decapitated and blamed it on the unlucky number. The composer Arnold Schoenberg also was horror-stricken by anything having to do with the number thirteen. Might this have been the reason he invented twelve-tone music?

Until now, the year 1913 has received little attention. Wedged between two catastrophes - the sinking of the Titanic and the outbreak of the First World War - it served mostly as a stopgap. In his absorbing non-fiction narrative, “1913. Der Sommer des Jahrhunderts,” Florian Illies shows us, by contrast, it was a year of tremendous cultural activity. Formerly an arts journalist, Illies has been managing partner of the auction house Villa Grisebach since 2011.

For years, Illies sifted through letters, diaries and newspapers in search of the experiences and thoughts of key players from the world of arts, music, science and literature. One of his greatest achievements lies in the ability to portray the central protagonists of that year as human beings with all their fears, quirky idiosyncrasies and ailments. The result is a wonderful collage of a particularly overwrought and febrile year populated with people in a state of nervous exhaustion. Driven by a powerful surge into modernity, 1913 brought the long 19th century to a swift end.

Marcel Duchamp produced his first Readymade, Henry Ford introduced the assembly line into his factories, the bust of Nefertiti, the ozone layer, and the ruined city of Machu Picchu all were discovered that year. A Russian pilot flew the first loop in history, the stolen Mona Lisa was found again, two brothers in Milan founded the fashion label Prada, and the Armory Show shocked America. Illies offers his readers many facts like these as short interludes in this pithy and entertaining narrative.

"1913" is an engaging kaleidoscope of a year at the edge of the abyss – and, as Illies puts it, with no claim to completeness. The collected material is organized according to months and includes everything Illies finds fascinating and amusing. In showing the synchronicity of key events, the book belongs to a literary tradition along the lines of Werner Stein's „Kulturfahrplan“ ["Cultural roadmap]”, the “Jahrbuecher” “[Year books]” by Karl Schlögel, which examines Stalinist Moscow in 1937, and Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht's "1926," which focuses on the everyday phenomena of the interwar period.

Consistently writing in the present tense, Illies depicts highly sensitive artists who perceived the year 1913 as a time of upheaval. War seemed possible, though unlikely. The pre-war era can only be seen as such in retrospect. The book introduces us to an artistic milieu bristling with both creative enthusiasm and fatigue, and focuses on the “four cities at the forefront of modernity”: simmering Berlin, glittery Paris, overwrought Vienna, and sedate Munich. Many geniuses of the era suffered from neurasthenia - a forerunner of today's burn-out syndrome – which they hoped to cure at spa towns. A wide range of innovations ignited a feverish frenzy in these creative minds, but it also demanded a lot in return. People tried to create new models of partnership, psychoanalyzed their drives, and rebelled against their fathers.

Illies describes these twelve months of delusion and reality with an affectionate irony and verve. Much like a friend checking up on his friends, he continuously returns to many of the more than fifty people described in the book: Franz Kafka, who continuously sends missives to Felice Bauer. Gustav Klimt, who has models lining up like groupies in front of his apartment. Robert Musil, who conscientiously noted a “C” in his diary for each of his sexual encounters. A fascinating book about the early days of modernity; it shows how closely we can relate to the people who lived a hundred years before us.
Vorname Name

By Daniel Grinsted, 18.06.2013

​Daniel Grinsted is a cultural critic with a degree in Anglo-American literature. He works as a freelance arts journalist for the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, Börsenblatt and other media. 

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Sachbuch

Florian Illies
1913. Der Sommer des Jahrhunderts

Sachbuch

Buchbesprechung

​Wer sich vor der Zahl Dreizehn fürchtet, dem muss dieses Jahr bange zumute sein. Das war auch schon vor hundert Jahren so. Am Neujahrstag 1913 malt sich Franz Kafka seine Enthauptung aus und schiebt es auf die Unglückszahl. Auch den Komponisten Arnold Schönberg quält panische Angst vor allem, was mit der Dreizehn zu tun hat. Ob er wohl deshalb die Zwölftonmusik erfand? Das Jahr 1913 hat bislang wenig Beachtung gefunden. Eingezwängt zwischen zwei Katastrophen – dem Untergang der Titanic und dem Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs – diente es meist als Lückenfüller. Dass es aber im Gegenteil ein Jahr von ungeheurer kultureller Blüte war, zeigt Florian Illies, früher Kulturjournalist und seit 2011 geschäftsführender Gesellschafter des Auktionshauses Villa Grisebach, in seinem erzählenden Sachbuch „1913. Der Sommer des Jahrhunderts“.

Jahrelang hat er Briefe, Tagebücher und Zeitungen durchforstet, auf der Suche nach den Erlebnissen und Gedanken der Schlüsselfiguren aus Kunst, Musik, Wissenschaft und Literatur. Sein großes Verdienst ist, dass er die zentralen Gestalten dieses Jahres als Menschen zeigt, mit all ihren Ängsten, schrulligen Eigenarten und Gebrechen. Herausgekommen ist die wundervolle Collage eines überdrehten und überhitzten Jahres, dessen Zeitgenossen sich zumeist in einem nervösen Erschöpfungszustand befanden. Angetrieben von einem gewaltigen Modernitätsschub setzte 1913 dem langen neunzehnten Jahrhundert ein Ende.

Marcel Duchamp erschafft sein erstes Readymade, Henry Ford setzt erstmals Fließbänder in seinen Fabriken ein, man entdeckt die Büste der Nofretete, die Ozonschicht und die Ruinenstadt Machu Picchu. Ein russischer Pilot fliegt den ersten Looping der Geschichte, die gestohlene Mona Lisa taucht wieder auf, in Mailand gründen zwei Brüder die Modefirma Prada, die Armory Show schockiert Amerika. Vieles davon schiebt Illies als Zwischenspiele in seine ohnehin knappen und somit stets kurzweiligen Schilderungen ein.

In „1913“ entwirft er ein feuilletonistisches Kaleidoskop eines Jahres am Rande des Abgrunds – ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit. Das gesammelte Material ordnet Illies nach Monaten, innerhalb derer er alles aufführt, was ihn erheitert und interessiert. Indem er Gleichzeitiges zusammenstellt, reiht er sich ein in eine literarische Tradition, in der auch Werner Steins „Kulturfahrplan“ steht. Desgleichen die 'Jahrbücher' von Karl Schlögel über das stalinistische Moskau 1937 und Hans Ulrich Gumbrechts „1926“ über Alltagsphänomene der Zwischenkriegszeit.

Durchgängig in der Gegenwartsform berichtet Illies von höchst feinfühligen Künstlern, die das Jahr 1913 als eine Zeit des Umbruchs wahrnahmen. Ein Krieg schien zwar möglich, aber doch sehr unwahrscheinlich. Eine Vorkriegszeit entsteht eben nur in der Rückschau. Er schildert ein schaffensfreudiges und zugleich übermüdetes Künstlermilieu, das sich auf die vier „Frontstädte der Moderne“ konzentriert: das brodelnde Berlin, das glitzernde Paris, das aufgewühlte Wien und das beschauliche München. Viele Genies der Zeit litten unter Neurasthenie – ein Vorläufer des heutigen Burn-out-Syndroms –, die sie in Kurorten zu heilen suchten. Ganze Bündel von Neuerungen versetzten die schöpferischen Geister in fieberhafte Erregung und verlangten ihnen einiges ab. Man probierte neue Modelle von Partnerschaft aus, psychoanalysierte seine Triebe und begehrte gegen die Väter auf.

Illies beschreibt diese zwölf Monate zwischen Wahn und Wirklichkeit mit einer liebevollen Ironie und großer Lebendigkeit. Ähnlich einem Freund, der wissen will, wie es seinen Bekannten geht, kehrt er wiederholt zu vielen der mehr als fünfzig aufgeführten Personen zurück: Franz Kafka, der eine Nachricht nach der anderen an Felice Bauer schickt. Gustav Klimt, vor dessen Wohnung die Modelle wie Groupies Schlange stehen. Robert Musil, der gewissenhaft für jeden Beischlaf ein „C“ für Coitus in seinem Tagebuch vermerkt. Ein faszinierendes Buch über den Beginn der Moderne, das zeigt, wie nah uns die Menschen vor hundert Jahren schon waren.  
Vorname Name

Von Daniel Grinsted, 18.06.2013

​Daniel Grinsted ist Kulturwissenschaftler und Anglist/Amerikanist. Er arbeitet als freier Kulturjournalist für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, das Börsenblatt und andere Medien.