Category: Non-fiction

Andreas Tönnesmann
Monopoly. Das Spiel, die Stadt und das Glück
[Monopoly. The Game, the City and the Luck]

Non-Fiction

Review

​All successful games share one common trait: that their basic concept can be summed up in one sentence. In football, the winning team is the one that scores the most goals. In chess, the ultimate aim is to checkmate your opponent’s king. And with the best-selling party game of all time, it’s this: To stay solvent as long as you possibly can whilst forcing your opponents into bankruptcy.

There are probably very few people who have never moved a play figure along Monopoly’s streets. Who haven’t trembled in front of a hotel on the Boardwalk and pocketed their salary with relief as soon as they made it past ‘Go’. Since being patented on New Year’s Eve in 1935, Monopoly has sold around 10,000 copies a day. But where does this fascination for a board game that revolves entirely around land speculation come from?

Bonn art historian Andreas Tönnesmann searches for the answers in his book ‘Monopoly: The Game, the City and the Luck’. With remarkable dedication, he links the game’s historical background with his own interpretation, based on architectural theory. He takes a triple jump approach – ‘idea, game, city’ – and executes it perfectly to the highest of academic standards. This isn’t just down to the illustrations, which number more than thirty, but to a combination which is quite rare in these parts: the Art and Architectural History professor writes in a way which combines academic meticulousness and depth with appealing comprehensibility and nonchalance.

As Tönnesmann explains, the player with the best chance of winning at Monopoly is the one who can most skilfully combine daring, reason and optimism. Chance plays an important role too of course, but to win you also need to behave in a way which modern psychology would describe as ‘hostile and damaging’ rivalry. The motto is: ‘One against all’. This dog-eat-dog mentality was also shared by the game’s inventor: Charles Darrow from Germantown, Pennsylvania. A heating engineer and plumber in his early forties, Darrow – like millions of other Americans – lost his job during the Great Depression.

A board game called the ‘Atlantic City Game’ became one of his hobbies, and the template for his own version, made at home with the help of a fret saw, a wax cloth and paintbrushes. Street names, ‘chance’ cards, the start and jail squares – he copied them all straight across. But instead of just seeing Darrow as an audacious plagiariser, Tönnesmann emphasises his ‘conceptual imagination’ and design talent. Even if his ‘invention’ was based on various forerunners, Darrow still gave it its catchy name and made it marketable. And so a board game developed in times of crisis became a global mass product. And its inventor very quickly became a millionaire.

Monopoly didn’t get very far in National Socialist Germany. But that made it even more popular in other parts of the world. Tönnesmann highlights the game’s seemingly unlimited potential for adaptation, an important pre-requisite for its triumphal march around the globe, a journey which started out from Philadelphia’s shopping centre ‘Wanamaker’s’. In 1942, a version called ‘Ghetto’ was even made in the Theresienstadt concentration camp, and is now on display in the Yad Vashem memorial. But Monopoly’s moment of glory came in the Cold War. Despite a strict ban on imports in places like the GDR, in the West it became the epitome of the ‘American Way of Life.

Tönnesmann makes a connection between the history of its creation and the concept of the ideal city. For the 58-year old college professor, Monopoly is without doubt a product of the modern age, and one which is inextricably linked with town-planning ideas of the modern era. To illustrate this, he touches upon classical examples of ideal cities: from the Hippodamus city plan he jumps forward to the Renaissance, to Filarete’s ‘Sforzinda’ and Thomas More’s ‘Utopia’. In this light, Monopoly seems like the ideal of a city, a ‘played utopia’. Drawing further parallels, Tönnesmann compares the game with Ebenezer Howard’s garden city and the urban concepts of the American architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

Despite being a symbol of the modern city, Monopoly lacks crucial landmarks like churches, hospitals, schools, museums or swimming pools. Nor does the board, which essentially functions as a street plan, show any signs of productive industry or trade. And, unlike real cities, you can’t leave Monopoly. Not one of the four train stations gives you the chance to; all of the railway lines end at the edge of the playing area. The ideology is clear: Liberalist economic practice dominates, the goal of which is the independence of the individual. Profiteering and a ‘deliberately excessive yield policy’ define the lives of the inhabitants of Monopoly. Over seventy-five years after it was first brought onto the market, the game still remains popular, and there are now even Monopoly world championships. For a game which represented a critical commentary of Franklin D. Roosevelt’s economic and social reform from the very start, it has lost very little of its relevance today. Because regardless of what happens on the board, the bank can never go bankrupt. 
Vorname Name

By Daniel Grinsted, 18.03.2012

​Daniel Grinsted is a cultural critic with a degree in Anglo-American literature. He works as a freelance arts journalist for the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, Börsenblatt and other media. 

Translated by Jamie Lee Searle

Sparte: Sachbuch

Andreas Tönnesmann
Monopoly. Das Spiel, die Stadt und das Glück

Sachbuch

Buchbesprechung

​Alle erfolgreichen Spiele haben gemein, dass sich ihre Grundidee in einem Satz zusammenfassen lässt. Im Fußball gewinnt, wer mehr Tore erzielt als die gegnerische Mannschaft. Beim Schach geht es darum, den König des Kontrahenten schachmatt zu setzen. Und für das meistverkaufte Gesellschaftsspiel aller Zeiten gilt: Solange wie möglich zahlungsfähig zu bleiben, während man seine Gegner in den Bankrott zwingt.

Monopoly – es gibt wahrscheinlich nur wenige Menschen, die noch nie eine Spielfigur über seine Straßen bewegt haben. Die nicht vor einem Hotel auf der Schlossallee gezittert und mit Erleichterung das Gehalt eingestrichen haben, sobald sie über „Los“ gezogen sind. Seit seiner Patentierung am Silvestertag 1935 geht es täglich gut zehntausend Mal über den Ladentisch. Doch woher rührt die Faszination für ein Brettspiel, bei dem sich alles um Grundstücksspekulation dreht?

In seinem Buch Monopoly. Das Spiel, die Stadt und das Glück sucht der Bonner Kunsthistoriker Andreas Tönnesmann nach Antworten. Mit bemerkenswerter Hingabe verknüpft er den historischen Hintergrund mit seiner architekturtheoretischen Interpretation. Idee, Spiel, Stadt lautet sein Dreisprung, den er mit wissenschaftlich hohem Anspruch anschaulich vollführt. Dies liegt nicht allein an den mehr als dreißig Abbildungen, sondern an einer hierzulande seltenen Kombination: Wissenschaftliche Genauigkeit und Tiefe verbinden sich bei dem Professor für Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte mit wohltuender Verständlichkeit und Nonchalance.

Wie Tönnesmann darlegt, ist Monopoly ein Spiel, bei dem derjenige die besten Chancen hat, der Wagemut, Verstand und Optimismus am geschicktesten zu kombinieren weiß. Natürlich spielt der Zufall eine wichtige Rolle, doch braucht es zum Sieg auch ein Verhaltensmuster, das die moderne Psychologie als „feindselig-schädigende Rivalität“ bezeichnet. Das Motto lautet: „einer gegen alle“. Diese Ellbogenmentalität zeichnete auch den Erfinder des Spiels aus: Charles Darrow aus Germantown, Pennsylvania. Ein Heizungsbauer und Installateur Anfang vierzig, der während der Großen Depression wie Millionen anderer Amerikaner seinen Job verlor.

Ein Brettspiel namens „Atlantic City Game“ diente als Zeitvertreib und Vorlage für seine Version, die er in Heimarbeit mit Stichsäge und Pinseln auf Wachstuch herstellte. Straßennamen, Ereigniskarten, Start- und Gefängnisfelder übernahm er einfach. Tönnesmann sieht in Darrow jedoch nicht bloß einen dreisten Plagiator, sondern hebt dessen „Formphantasie“ und Designtalent hervor. Auch wenn seine „Erfindung“ auf diversen Vorläufern beruhte, gab Darrow ihm seinen eingängigen Namen und brachte es zur Marktreife. So wurde ein in Krisenzeiten entwickeltes Brettspiel zum globalen Massenprodukt. Und sein Erfinder schnell zum Millionär.

Im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland konnte sich Monopoly nicht durchsetzen. Dafür wird es in anderen Teilen der Welt umso erfolgreicher. Tönnesmann hebt das scheinbar unbegrenzte Anpassungspotenzial des Spiels hervor, eine wichtige Voraussetzung für seinen globalen Siegeszug, der in Philadelphias Kaufhaus Wanamaker's seinen Ausgang nahm. Sogar im KZ Theresienstadt entstand 1942 eine Version namens „Ghetto“, die heute in der Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem zu sehen ist. Seine Glanzepoche erlebte Monopoly im Kalten Krieg. Während etwa in der DDR striktes Einfuhrverbot herrschte, wurde es im Westen zum Inbegriff des American Way of Life.

Von der Entstehungsgeschichte schlägt Tönnesmann einen Bogen zur Vorstellung der Idealstadt. Zweifellos ein Erzeugnis der Moderne, steht Monopoly für ihn vor allem in der Tradition stadtplanerischer Ideen der Neuzeit. Um dies zu belegen, streift er klassische Beispiele für Idealstädte: Vom Hippodamischen Schema springt er in die Renaissance, zu Filaretes „Sforzinda“ und Thomas Morus' „Utopia“. In diesem Licht erscheint Monopoly als Wunschvorstellung einer Stadt, als „gespielte Utopie“. Diese Linie weiterführend, vergleicht Tönnesmann das Spiel mit Ebenezer Howards Gartenstadt und den urbanen Konzepten des amerikanischen Architekten Frank Lloyd Wright.

Obgleich ein Sinnbild der modernen Stadt, fehlen Monopoly so entscheidende Merkmale wie Kirchen, Krankenhäuser, Schulen, Museen oder Schwimmbäder. Auch produzierende Industrie und Handel sucht man vergebens auf dem Spielbrett, das gleichzeitig Stadtplan ist. Und anders als reale Städte kann man Monopoly nicht verlassen. Nicht einmal die vier Bahnhöfe bieten Ausweichmöglichkeiten – ihre Gleise enden am Spielfeldrand. Klar ist nur die Ideologie: Es herrscht eine liberalistische Wirtschaftspraxis, deren Ziel die Unabhängigkeit des Einzelnen ist. Wucher und eine „bewusst übertriebene Renditepolitik“ bestimmen das Leben der Bewohner von Monopoly. Sein Reiz ist auch gut fünfundsiebzig Jahre nach der Markteinführung ungebrochen, sogar Weltmeisterschaften gibt es. Und während es bereits zu Beginn einen kritischen Kommentar zu Franklin D. Roosevelts Wirtschafts- und Sozialreformen darstellte, hat es auch heute von seiner Aktualität wenig eingebüßt. Denn ganz gleich, was auf dem Spielfeld passiert: Die Bank kann niemals pleitegehen.       
Vorname Name

Von Daniel Grinsted, 18.03.2012

​Daniel Grinsted ist Kulturwissenschaftler und Anglist/Amerikanist. Er arbeitet als freier Kulturjournalist für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, das Börsenblatt und andere Medien.