Category: Children's Books

Nikolaus Nützel
Mein Opa, sein Holzbein und der Große Krieg
[My grandpa, his wooden leg, and the Great War]

Non-Fiction

Review

​Why did the assassination of the Austrian Archduke Franz Ferdinand by a high school student in Sarajevo, Bosnia, spark worldwide bloodshed of unprecedented barbarity in the summer of 1914? Who was mainly responsible for the First World War? And how did “the great seminal catastrophe of [the twentieth] century” impact the further course of history?

In Germany’s “super memorial year” 2014 (Translator’s note: 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War, 75th of the start of the Second World War, and 25th of the fall of the Berlin Wall.) alone, monumental new books are filling entire libraries in an attempt to resolve these questions, which remain relevant to this day. Nikolaus Nützel has demonstrated for us the ability to present the essential aspects of the First World War, and its aftermath, on roughly 150 pages—including numerous illustrations, info-boxes, and diagrams—in his young people’s book Mein Opa, sein Holzbein und der Grosse Krieg (My Grandpa, His Wooden Leg, and the Great War). History, politics, and the history of mentalities are conveyed within their far-reaching contexts in a concise and appropriate manner. For example, Nützel explains what people expected from the German Empire’s invasion of Belgium on August 3, 1914, in accordance with the Schlieffen Plan. He depicts the brutality of the battlefield without any sugarcoating, sketches the peculiar dynamics of the war economy, and describes the sinking of the British ocean liner RMS Lusitania. With an eye toward imperialism, Pan-Slavism, and the Pan-German League’s craving for status, he outlines the prologue to the war. Nazi rule and the Second World War move into the focus as the “logical consequence” of the events of 1914–1918—making a reference to a theory that is by no means undisputed among historians. Nützel spans a bridge all the way to present-day wars. But he also talks about neo-Nazis, who march today carrying the flag of the defeated German Empire, and about why no public high schools in the western part of Germany are named after Karl Liebknecht, an antimilitarist and Marxist who was murdered in 1919.

Nützel teaches his young readers by encountering them on equal footing. Using a first person narrative, he approaches the historical events, describing how as a schoolchild in history class he simply could not comprehend the reasons and motives for the outbreak of war. He recalls his uneasiness during a vacation in Verdun, where in 1916 one of the most terrible and protracted battles between Germans and French raged. Most of all, however, it is through his own family history that Nützel succeeds in vividly illustrating world history. The fate of his grandfather, a Protestant pastor named August Müller, serves as the common thread running through the ideas and emotions of previous generations. As a typical representative of the “hurrah patriotism” of the Wilhelmine period, the young August Müller enthusiastically went to war in August 1914, only to return home just a few weeks later. A piece of shrapnel had cost him his left leg. From then on he clung ever more desperately to his nationalist sentiments. He viewed the Treaty of Versailles as a disgrace that had to be avenged at all costs, and was outraged by the democracy of the Weimar Republic. Even before 1933 August Müller had already become a committed supporter of Hitler.

Nützel knows very well how challenging it is for today’s young people to grasp the abstract, unfathomable numbers of casualties of the war. That is why in addition to his grandfather he also lets other individuals stand out from the masses and speak: He mentions the fate of the British soldier Thomas Highgate, who at nineteen years of age was shot as a deserter. And a letter written by the 22-year-old German frontline soldier Franz Blumenfeld is quoted: “One thing weighs upon me … the fear of getting brutalized” Blumenfeld wrote to his family in October 1914, when he was shocked to see that he was becoming accustomed to seeing corpses and hearing the screams of the seriously injured. Two weeks later the young man, who wanted to complete his law studies after the war, was dead.

Through these individualizing images and his consistently subjective view of history, Nützel does not even come close to hazarding any ultimate explanations. All the more dauntlessly he broaches the big questions in his small, smart book, not only historical ones, but also philosophical and moral ones. “What makes up a person?” “Can people exist without war?” “How would I have acted if I had been in the same situation as my grandfather?” For Nützel there aren’t any answers to these questions. But they affect us all and show us clearly and unmistakably “what the First World War has to do with us.”
Marianna Lieder

By Marianna Lieder, 19.12.2014

​Marianna Lieder works as a freelance journalist and literary critic for publications including the Tagesspiegel, the Stuttgarter Zeitung and Literaturen. She has been an editor at Philosophie Magazin since 2011.

Translated by Allison Brown

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Nikolaus Nützel
Mein Opa, sein Holzbein und der Große Krieg

Sachbuch

Buchbesprechung

​Weshalb brach im Sommer 1914 ein weltweites Blutvergießen von beispielloser Grausamkeit aus, nachdem ein Gymnasiast im bosnischen Sarajevo den österreichischen Erzherzog Franz Ferdinand erschossen hatte? Wer trägt die Hauptschuld am Ersten Weltkrieg? Inwiefern hat er sich als "Urkatastrophe des 20. Jahrhunderts" auf den weiteren Verlauf der Geschichte ausgewirkt?

Allein im Supergedenkjahr 2014 füllen monumentale Neuerscheinungen ganze Bibliotheken, um diese nach wie vor zentralen Fragen zu klären. Dass sich die wesentlichen Aspekte des Ersten Weltkriegs samt seiner Folgen allerdings auch auf knapp 150 Seiten darstellen lassen - zahlreiche Illustrationen, Infokästen, Schaubilder inklusive -, demonstriert der Journalist Nikolaus Nützel in seinem Jugendbuch "Mein Opa, sein Holzbein und der Große Krieg". Weitreichende historische, politische und mentalitätsgeschichtliche Zusammenhänge werden hier prägnant und angemessen vermittelt: So erklärt Nützel, was man sich im Deutschen Kaiserreich vom Einmarsch in Belgien am 3. August 1914 nach Maßgabe des Schlieffen-Plans versprochen hatte. Ungeschönt schildert er die Grausamkeiten des Schlachtfeldes, skizziert die eigentümliche Dynamik der Kriegswirtschaft und beschreibt die Versenkung des britischen Passagierschiffs "Lusitania". Mit einem Blick auf Imperialismus, Panslawismus und die Großmannssucht des "Alldeutschen-Verbands" wird die Vorgeschichte des Kriegs umrissen. Nazi-Herrschaft und Zweiter Weltkrieg rücken - unter Berufung auf eine unter Historikern keineswegs unumstrittene These - als "logische Konsequenz" aus den Geschehnissen zwischen 1914 bis1918 in den Fokus. Bis in die Kriege der Gegenwart spannt Nützel den Bogen. Aber es geht auch um Neonazis, die heute mit der Flagge des untergegangenen Kaiserreichs aufmarschieren und darum, weshalb in den alten Bundesländern kein staatliches Gymnasium nach dem 1919 ermordeten Antimilitaristen und Marxisten Karl Liebknecht benannt wurde.

Nützel belehrt seine jungen Leser, indem er ihnen auf Augenhöhe begegnet. Aus der Ich-Perspektive nähert er sich dem historischen Geschehen und erzählt davon, wie ihm als Schuljungen im Geschichtsunterricht die Gründe und Motive für den Kriegsbeginn nicht einleuchten wollten. Er erinnert sich an das Unbehagen, dass ihn während eines Urlaubs in Verdun befiel, wo 1916 eine der schrecklichsten und langwierigsten Schlachten zwischen Deutschen und Franzosen wütete. Vor allem aber ist es die eigene Familiengeschichte, durch die es Nützel gelingt, die Weltgeschichte zu veranschaulichen. Das Schicksal seines Großvaters, eines evangelischen Pastors namens August Müller, dient ihm als roter Faden durch die Gedanken- und Gefühlswelt vorangegangener Generationen. Als typischer Repräsentant des wilhelminischen „Hurra-Patriotismus“ zog der junge Müller im August 1914 jubelnd in den Krieg. Bereits wenige Wochen später war er wieder zu Hause. Ein Granatsplitter hatte ihn sein linkes Bein gekostet. An seine nationale Gesinnung klammerte er sich von nun an umso verbissener. Im Friedensvertrag von Versailles sah er eine "Schmach", die unbedingt gerächt werden musste. Die Demokratie der Weimarer Republik war ihm ein Ärgernis. Bereits vor 1933 war August Müller überzeugter Anhänger Hitlers.
Nützel weiß genau, vor welch große Herausforderung die abstrakten, unfassbaren Opferzahlen dieses Krieges einen jungen Menschen heute stellen. Deswegen lässt er neben seinem Großvater noch weitere Individuen aus der anonymen Masse heraus treten: Erwähnt wird das Schicksal des britischen Soldat Thomas Highate, der mit 19 Jahren als Deserteur erschossen wurde. Zitiert wird aus einem Brief des 22-jährigen Frontsoldaten Franz Blumenfeld: "Ich fürchte mich so vor der inneren Verrohung", schrieb dieser seiner Familie im Oktober 1914, als er zu seinem Schrecken begonnen hatte, sich an den Anblick der Leichen und das Geschrei der Schwerverletzten zu gewöhnen. Zwei Wochen später war der junge Mann, der nach dem Krieg Jurist werden wollte, tot.

Durch seinen individualisierende Darstellungen und seinen konsequent subjektiven Blick auf die Geschichte gerät Nützel gar nicht erst in Gefahr, mit letztgültigen Erklärungen aufzuwarten. Umso unerschrockener wagt er sich in seinem kleinen, klugen Buch an die großen Fragen - neben den historischen, auch an die philosophischen und die moralischen. „Was ist der Mensch?“ „Kann er überhaupt ohne Krieg sein?“ „Wie hätte ich mich verhalten, wenn ich in der gleichen Lage wie mein Großvater gewesen wäre?“ Für Nützel lässt sich keine Antwort auf diese Fragen geben. Doch sie gehen alle an und machen unmissverständlich klar, "was der Erste Weltkrieg mit uns zu tun hat".  
Marianna Lieder

Von Marianna Lieder, 19.12.2014

​Marianna Lieder ist seit 2011 Redakteurin beim „Philosophie Magazin“. Als freie Journalistin und Literaturkritikerin arbeitet sie u. a. für den Tagesspiegel, die Stuttgarter Zeitung und Literaturen.