Category: Non-fiction

Rüdiger Safranski
Romantik. Eine deutsche Affäre
[Romanticism. A german affair ]

Review

When Hanser Verlag published a book of nonfiction last fall bearing the title Romanticism. A German Affair, public interest was large and for a simple reason. The book’s author is Rüdiger Safranski, and once again he has pulled off what few others are capable of: he tells a story. He tells us the story about something called romanticism, something we thought we already knew everything about. We don’t. The romanticism in this book strikes us with a freshness and vigor we never would have expected.

The roughly four hundred pages of text is divided into two parts, Romanticism and The Romantic. Safranski dedicates the first part to the period spanning the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century, thus, to precisely the period commonly designated as romanticism. Safranski identifies essentially three events which, regarding Germany, served as the catalyst for this revolutionary cultural movement: Herder’s discovery of dynamic history, Schiller’s theory of play, and, of course, the French Revolution. Safranski is after more than simply drawing up a list of the period’s most influential poets and thinkers together with their works; he wants to capture the spirit which ultimately brought forth this vibrant spectacle of creativity and wealth of lofty theories, philosophical treatises, novels and poems.

The reaction against the Enlightenment, the calls for the autonomy of art, the shift towards the miraculous, the yearning for the secretive, the belief in the creative individual… Safranski conjures up all of these elements before the reader’s eye with his sheer ability to convey vividly even the most complex relationships. Likewise, even for readers familiar with the age, he colorfully illuminates Friedrich Schlegel’s progressive universal poetry and Fichte’s philosophy of the self, romantic irony in the works of Tieck and the magic realism of Novalis, Schleiermacher’s theology, and the famous gatherings in the Schlegel household in Jena. Safranski also exposes in a balanced manner the transformations that took place and the fissures which arose during the period. For example, he reveals how the mental horizon over the course of the romantic decades became more and more pinched, and he demonstrates how, based on Brentano and the Heidelberg romanticists, both a heightened interest in sagas, folk tales and the past, as well as the initial pursuit of universalism ultimately turned into patriotism.

In the second part, Safranski examines “the romantic mentality”. According to him, what originally emerged during the romantic period is still with us today. He tracks this mentality for more than a century, discovering it in Marx and Heine, the operas of Wagner, and in Nietzsche’s concept of the Dionysian. Following discussions of George and his circle, Hermann Hesse and Thomas Mann, Safranski focuses his attention on National Socialism and, towards the end of the book, the 60’s movement. Pivotal for the book’s second part is Safranski’s analysis of the much debated thesis that German romanticism abetted the catastrophe of the Holocaust – if not ultimately brought it forth, as historians such as Isaiah Berlin and Eric Voegelin have asserted.

It becomes clear no later than in the book’s second part that this is no traditional cultural-historical study. Anyone consulting Safranski’s “great story of romanticism” for dates, names and facts will be sorely disappointed, as there are, in fact, several things missing that a comprehensive treatment of the period would call for. As an explicitly European phenomenon, romanticism is unimaginable without the influences from other cultures – yet Safranski examines the period only with regards to Germany. Also omitted is the relationship of the individual arts to one other, so central to romanticism. Thus, painting is not mentioned at all, and music only in the form of Richard Wagner. Safranski further disregards the close contact between the natural sciences and romanticism, as well as the modifying self-perception of the movement’s female members and the artistic impulses they set free.

Yet to reproach Safranski for any of these issues would be to fail to recognize the book’s intent. By no means is he interested in adding another volume to the multitude of works already written on this period. When a declared specialist of romanticism such as Safranski takes on this topic, then it’s only because he wishes to deliver something new to the well-known debates. He achieves this in two ways.

First of all, Safranski succeeds in making the phenomenon of romanticism palpable. By skillfully alternating among biographic details, exciting plots, and vivid explanations of philosophical and aesthetic concepts of the period, he makes the entire romantic body of thought into something that can be directly experienced. And by doing so, it immediately becomes clear why romanticism, this “sequel to religion with aesthetic means” remains so attractive to us today.

Second, Safranski explores the relationship between politics and romanticism. With precision and sophistication he examines the criticism mentioned above, concerning romanticism’s role in the catastrophe of the Third Reich by providing it with a spiritual heritage. Safranski demonstrates to what extent the romantic mentality truly did abet National Socialism and also where its ideas and ideals were betrayed by a “steel-bodied romanticism”. But Safranski doesn’t stop at this point in time. Instead – and here the text is doubtlessly original – he goes on to show which romantic elements were incorporated into the 60’s movement and its terrorist malignancies of the 1970’s.

The book’s closing, in which Safranksi’s reconstruction of the romantic comes to be understood as a disposition of the mind, is as simple as it is convincing: “Romanticism is the surplus value” for a fulfilling life, as long as it keeps its hands away from politics. With his inspired and inspiring investigation Safranski has offered us a milestone on the subject of romanticism as one of the central and most productive periods, both theoretically and artistically, in German cultural history. Romanticism is a sheer delight for all wide-eyed readers who thrive on seeing things in new ways.
Vorname Name

By Anne Nordmann, 08.04.2008

Translated by Franklin Bolsillo Mares

Sparte: Sachbuch

Rüdiger Safranski
Romantik. Eine deutsche Affäre

Buchbesprechung

Als der Hanser Verlag im letzten Herbst ein Sachbuch mit dem Titel Romantik. Eine deutsche Affäre veröffentlichte, stieß dies allgemein auf großes Interesse. Aus dem einfachen Grund, weil der Autor Rüdiger Safranski heißt und weil er auch in diesem Buch tut, worauf er sich wie kaum ein zweiter versteht: Er erzählt. Er erzählt uns von einem Phänomen namens Romantik, das wir alle längst zu kennen meinen, und das uns hier doch völlig neu und überraschend entgegentritt.

Der knapp vierhundert Seiten umfassende Text ist in zwei Bücher unterteilt, in Die Romantik und Das Romantische. Im ersten Buch widmet sich Safranski der Zeit vom Ende des 18. bis zum Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts, jener Epoche also, die gemeinhin als Romantik bezeichnet wird. Drei Ereignisse sind es im Wesentlichen, die er, bezogen auf Deutschland, als Auslöser und Wegbereiter für diese kulturrevolutionäre Bewegung sieht: Herders Entdeckung der dynamischen Geschichte, Schillers Spieltheorie und natürlich die Französische Revolution. Es geht Safranski nicht nur darum, die wichtigsten Dichter und Denker dieser Zeit nebst ihren Werken aufzuführen, sondern er will mehr: Er will den Geist einfangen, der dieses Feuerwerk an Kreativität, die Fülle von hochfliegenden Theorien, philosophischen Abhandlungen, Romanen und Gedichten überhaupt erst hervorgebracht hat.

Die Abkehr von der Aufklärung, die Forderung nach Autonomie der Kunst, die Hinwendung zum Wunderbaren, die Sehnsucht nach dem Geheimnis, der Glaube an das schöpferische Ich – all das lässt Safranski vor dem inneren Auge des Lesers aufleben, indem er noch die komplexesten Zusammenhänge plastisch und mitreißend zu vermitteln vermag. Ebenso ruft er selbst dem kundigen Leser Friedrich Schlegels progressive Universalpoesie und Fichtes Ich-Philosophie, die romantische Ironie in den Werken Tiecks und den magischen Idealismus von Novalis, Schleiermachers Religionslehre und die berühmten Zusammenkünfte im Hause der Schlegels in Jena auf anschauliche und erhellende Weise wieder ins Gedächtnis. Auch die Wandlungen und Brüche innerhalb der Epoche legt Safranski offen, wie sich zum Beispiel der gedankliche Horizont im Laufe der romantischen Jahrzehnte verengt, wie, ausgehend von den Heidelberger Romantikern um Brentano, ein gesteigertes Interesse für die Vergangenheit, für Sagen und Volksmärchen entsteht und wie das anfängliche Streben nach Universalismus in Patriotismus umschlägt – all das zeichnet er differenziert nach.

Im zweiten Buch untersucht Safranski „das Romantische als Geisteshaltung“. Hervorgegangen aus der Epoche der Romantik, lässt sich diese Safranski zufolge bis heute wiederfinden. Er verfolgt sie durch mehr als ein Jahrhundert, wird fündig bei Marx und Heine, in den Opern Wagners und bei Nietzsches Prinzip des Dionysischen. Nach dem George-Kreis, Hermann Hesse und Thomas Mann nimmt die Spurensuche schließlich den Nationalsozialsozialismus und, zum Abschluss des Buches, auch die Bewegung der 68er in den Blick. Zentral für dieses zweite Buch ist die Auseinandersetzung mit der vieldiskutierten These, die deutsche Romantik habe die Katastrophe des Holocaust begünstigt, wenn nicht letzten Endes sogar herbeigeführt, wie sie die Ideenhistoriker Isaiah Berlin und Eric Voegelin in jüngster Zeit vertreten haben.

Spätestens in diesem zweiten Teil wird deutlich, dass wir es hier nicht mit einer kulturgeschichtlichen Darstellung im klassischen Sinn zu tun zu haben. So geht zwangläufig in die Irre, wer Safranskis „große Erzählung über die Romantik“ auf Daten, Namen und Fakten abfragt. Es fehlt so manches, wonach eine umfassende Darstellung der romantischen Epoche verlangt hätte. Als ein explizit europäisches Phänomen ist die Romantik nicht denkbar ohne die Einflüsse aus anderen Kulturen – von Safranski jedoch wird sie nur in Bezug auf Deutschland untersucht. Ebenso ausgespart bleibt das für die Romantik so zentrale Verhältnis der Künste untereinander; die Malerei kommt gar nicht vor und die Musik nur in Gestalt Richard Wagners. Auch die enge Beziehung zwischen den Naturwissenschaften und der Romantik lässt er ebenso außer Acht wie das veränderte Selbstverständnis der weiblichen Mitglieder der romantischen Bewegung und die von ihnen ausgehenden künstlerischen Impulse.

Safranski dies aber vorzuwerfen, würde bedeuten, die Absicht seines Buches zu verkennen. Selbstverständlich geht es ihm nicht darum, der Vielzahl von Literaturgeschichten über diese Epoche eine weitere hinzuzufügen. Wenn sich ein ausgewiesener Romantikspezialist wie Safranski dieses Themas annimmt, dann nur, um der altbekannten Debatte Neues hinzuzufügen. Das tut er in zweierlei Hinsicht.

Zum einem gelingt es ihm, das Phänomen Romantik nicht nur intellektuell nachvollziehbar zu machen. Durch den gekonnten Wechsel von biographischen Details, spannenden Plots und der anschaulichen Erklärung von philosophischen und ästhetischen Konzepten der Zeit macht er das romantische Gedankengut auch erleb- und erfahrbar. Und mehr noch: Er macht unmittelbar nachvollziehbar, was die Romantik, diese „Fortsetzung der Religion mit ästhetischen Mitteln“, bis heute attraktiv macht.

Zum anderen untersucht Safranski das Verhältnis von Politik und Romantik. Präzise und differenziert setzt er sich mit dem oben genannten Vorwurf auseinander, die Romantik habe der Katastrophe des Dritten Reiches die geistige Vorgeschichte geliefert, sie quasi erst möglich gemacht. Er zeigt auf, inwieweit eine romantische Geisteshaltung dem Nationalsozialismus tatsächlich Vorschub geleistet hat und wo ihre Ideen und Ideale im Sinne einer „stählernen Romantik“ missbraucht worden sind. An diesem Punkt der Geschichtsschreibung bleibt Safranski aber nicht stehen, sondern er weist nach – und dieser Schritt ist zweifellos originell – in welcher Form romantische Elemente auch in die 68er-Bewegung, einschließlich ihrer terroristischen Auswüchse in den siebziger Jahren, eingeflossen sind.

Der Schluß, in den Safranskis Rekonstruktion des Romantischen als Geisteshaltung mündet, ist so einfach wie überzeugend: „Romantik ist der Mehrwert“ für ein erfülltes Leben, der Politik aber sollte sie tunlichst fern bleiben. Mit seiner ebenso inspirierten wie inspirierenden Spurensuche hat Safranski zweifellos einen Meilenstein in der Auseinandersetzung mit der Romantik als einer der zentralen und theoretisch wie künstlerisch produktivsten Epochen der deutschen Kulturgeschichte vorgelegt, dem viele entdeckungsfreudige und begeisterungsfähige Leser zu wünschen sind.
Vorname Name

Von Anne Nordmann, 08.04.2008