Category: Children's Books

Rolf Lappert
Pampa Blues
[Backwater Blues]

Novel

Review

​Ben Schilling hates his life. His father, a wildlife biologist, died in a plane crash in Tanzania when he was only nine. His mother, a jazz singer, performs in small clubs all over Europe, leaving the 16-year-old to take care of his senile grandfather. To make matters worse, the boy is stuck in a dump called Wingroden which is located somewhere in northeastern Germany. Newspapers arrive two days late and hardly anybody in the tiny town owns a cell phone. If you rearrange the letters of the town’s name it spells: nowhere in German.

It’s summer 2011, and the heat virtually paralyzes the already painstakingly slow pace of life in Wingroden. Ben, the first-person narrator, thinks the town is like a museum –minus the visitors. According to him, anybody who ends up there had to have taken a huge detour. The teenager feels trapped and is desperate to get out, meet girls, go to a punk rock concert; he desires nothing more than to finally live a life of his own. Soon, though, Ben learns it isn’t enough to simply change locations; instead, the change has to come from within.

The Swiss author Rolf Lappert (b.1958) tells a story about growing-up without being preachy. Pampa Blues is a laconic, humorous, and wise coming-of-age novel. The protagonist is drawn so affectionately and true to life that it’s easy to identify with him. Lappert, a trained graphic designer, former jazz club owner, and creator of the hit comedy Mannezimmer (Men’s Room) appeals to his readers through his keen observations of human behavior.

Ben seems to be the sole teenager living in Wingroden, which explains his tendency to be silent and why he so rarely makes jokes. He spends every day and night with his 82-year-old grandfather, who keeps himself busy by cutting blue snippets from magazines and pasting them onto the walls of his room. A piece of sky and sea in a remote area, which, apart from wheat fields and a quarry turned man-made lake, has nothing to offer. Ben sees himself as a “damned girl Friday"; he cooks, washes and feeds his grandfather, who isn’t even able to tie his own shoes. Officially, Ben is supposed to be doing an apprenticeship with him as a gardener, but his true passion is for cars and tractors. He even built his own Tuk Tuk. His dream is to drive a VW bus to Africa. But until then, all he can do is wait.

Lappert impressively shows us that boredom needn’t be described in a boring fashion. Above all, he is able to reveal Ben's emotional dilemma: On the one hand, he loves his grandfather, who needs a caregiver, and he feels responsible for him. On the other, the old man is the very reason why Ben's life has been put on hold. Grandfather and grandson spend their evenings at the only pub in town; the beer serving as an "oral vaccine against the daily stupor." Even the dog drinks with them. Maslow, the bartender and “good soul” of the town, had once owned his own hotel and was a golf-pro in Florida. The man is both a role model and cautionary tale for Ben. He admires Maslow for his insane idea of wanting to turn Wingroden into a thriving tourist attraction, but he also looks down on him for it.

One of Maslow’s brainstorms, however, actually brings some life into the town: he fools his credulous neighbors into believing the spaceship he built had belonged to visiting extraterrestrials. He promises them that it will transform Wingroden into a pilgrimage site for UFO fans, along with hordes of tourists and profits. All that he needs is publicity. When the 20-year-old reporter Lena Kramer comes to town, Maslow seizes the moment. And Ben and falls head over heels in love.

After a Russian alcoholic is found stabbed to death in Wingroden, and one of the residents along with Maslow’s UFO end up in a prison yard, the sleepy town truly turns into a place that makes headlines. And Lena teaches Ben how to take his life into his own hands and become an adult. When Lena first came to the village, Ben had thought nobody would ever come to a dump like Wingroden looking for stories. Rolf Lappert proves that the best stories happen right where you’d never expect them. This is a wonderful young adult book that grownups are also sure to enjoy. 
Vorname Name

By Daniel Grinsted, 19.10.2012

​Daniel Grinsted is a cultural critic with a degree in Anglo-American literature. He works as a freelance arts journalist for the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, Börsenblatt and other media. 

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Rolf Lappert
Pampa Blues

Roman

Buchbesprechung

​Ben Schilling hasst sein Leben. Sein Vater, ein Wildbiologe in Tansania, starb bei einem Flugzeugabsturz, als er neun war. Seine Mutter tingelt als Jazzsängerin durch Europa und lässt den Sechzehnjährigen mit seinem dementen Opa allein. Und das alles in einem Kaff namens Wingroden, irgendwo in Deutschlands Nordosten. Zeitungen kommen mit zwei Tagen Verspätung an, ein Handy besitzt hier fast niemand. Stellt man die Buchstaben des Dorfnamens um, wird daraus: Nirgendwo.

Es ist der Sommer des Jahres 2011, und die Hitze lähmt das eh schon träge Leben in Wingroden. Für den Icherzähler Ben ist das Dorf wie ein Museum – nur ohne Besucher. Wer hier herkommt, muss sich schon gewaltig verfahren haben. Der Jugendliche fühlt sich gefangen und möchte einfach weg, Mädchen kennenlernen, mal ein Punkrock-Konzert besuchen. Endlich ein eigenes Leben führen. Dass dazu ein Ortswechsel nicht genügt, sondern ein innerer Wandel nötig ist, wird Ben bald merken.

Ohne die Moralkeule zu schwingen, erzählt der Schweizer Rolf Lappert, Jahrgang 1958, vom Erwachsenwerden. Pampa Blues ist ein lakonisch geschriebener, humorvoller und weiser Coming-of-Age-Roman. Mit einem Protagonisten, der so liebevoll und lebensnah gezeichnet ist, dass man sich leicht mit ihm identifizieren kann. Lappert, ausgebildeter Grafiker, ehemaliger Jazzklub-Betreiber und Entwickler der erfolgreichen Sitcom Mannezimmer, berührt durch genaue Beobachtungen allzu menschlicher Verhaltensweisen.

In Wingroden scheint Ben der einzige Teenager zu sein. Wohl auch deshalb ist er eher schweigsam und selten zu Scherzen aufgelegt. Tag und Nacht ist er mit seinem 82-jährigen Großvater zusammen, der seine Zeit damit verbringt, blaue Schnipsel aus Illustrierten zu schneiden und sie an die Wände seines Zimmers zu kleben. Ein Stück Himmel und Meer in einer Einöde, die außer Weizenfeldern und einem Baggersee nicht viel zu bieten hat. Ben fühlt sich als „das verdammte Mädchen für alles“, bekocht, wäscht und füttert seinen Opa, der sich nicht mal mehr selbst die Schuhe binden kann. Offiziell macht Ben bei ihm eine Gärtnerlehre, dabei gilt seine wahre Leidenschaft Autos und Traktoren. Sogar ein Tuk-Tuk hat er sich selbst gebaut. Sein großer Traum ist es, mit einem VW-Bus nach Afrika zu fahren. Bis dahin heißt es: warten.

Dass Langeweile keineswegs langweilig geschildert werden muss, zeigt Lappert auf beeindruckende Weise. Vor allem gelingt es ihm, Bens emotionalen Zwiespalt zu verdeutlichen: Einerseits liebt er seinen hilfsbedürftigen Opa und fühlt sich für ihn verantwortlich. Gleichzeitig ist er der Grund dafür, weshalb Bens Leben im Leerlauf steckt. Die Abende verbringen Großvater und Enkel in der einzigen Kneipe des Dorfes, das Bier dient als „Schluckimpfung gegen den täglichen Stumpfsinn“. Sogar der Hund trinkt mit. Maslow, Kneipier und gute Seele des Dorfes, ist als ehemaliger Hotelbesitzer und Golfprofi in Florida für Ben Vorbild und abschreckendes Beispiel zugleich. Dessen verrückte Ideen, die aus Wingroden einen blühenden Ort machen sollen, bewundert und belächelt er.

Durch eines dieser Hirngespinste kommt tatsächlich Bewegung ins Dorf: Mit einem selbst gebauten Raumschiff gaukelt Maslow seinen gutgläubigen Nachbarn den Besuch von Außerirdischen vor, voller Hoffnung, Wingroden in einen Wallfahrtsort für Ufologen verwandeln zu können. Mit scharenweise Touristen und entsprechendem Umsatz. Fehlt nur noch die Presse. Als es die zwanzigjährige Lena Kramer ins Dorf verschlägt, wittert Maslow in der vermeintlichen Reporterin seine große Chance. Und Ben verliebt sich Hals über Kopf.

Nachdem ein russischer Alkoholiker erstochen aufgefunden worden und Maslows Ufo mitsamt einem Dorfbewohner im Hof eines Gefängnisses gelandet ist, verwandelt sich das verschlafene Nest wirklich in einen Ort, der Schlagzeilen macht. Und Ben lernt durch Lena, was es heißt, sein Leben in die Hand zu nehmen, erwachsen zu sein. In einem Kaff wie Wingroden würde wohl niemand nach Geschichten suchen, vermutete Ben, als Lena ins Dorf kam. Dass sich die besten Geschichten gerade dort ereignen, wo man sie nicht erwartet, beweist Rolf Lappert mit diesem wunderbaren Jugendbuch, das auch Erwachsenen gefallen wird.        
Vorname Name

Von Daniel Grinsted, 19.10.2012

​Daniel Grinsted ist Kulturwissenschaftler und Anglist/Amerikanist. Er arbeitet als freier Kulturjournalist für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, das Börsenblatt und andere Medien.