Category: Children's Books

Horst Rademacher
Am Rande des Kraters - Die unheimliche Faszination der Vulkane
[At the edge of the crater - The incredible fascination of volcanoes]

Review

We modern people of the early twenty-first century have an ambivalent relationship to nature. As a place of our longing we make it into an idyll in order to jump into our polluting cars and race to the next-closest—or even not so close—vacation area. At the same time we have become so far removed from nature that one of the widely circulated culture-critical anecdotes is that more and more city kids no longer know that milk in a container has anything to do with real-life cows.

We are confronted with the other side of nature through the media coverage of natural disasters. Hardly anything moves us as much as the eruption of unpredictable natural forces that go beyond our imagination. Just think of the undersea earthquake in the Indian Ocean and the resulting tsunami in 2004. Such events bring together our shock at the human suffering and the mesmerizing fascination with the boundless, threatening power of nature.

Such a disaster represented the very beginnings of modern geosciences: after a devastating earthquake almost totally destroyed the Portuguese capital of Lisbon and killed many thousands on November 1, 1755, Immanuel Kant dedicated several writings to a systematic, natural science explanation to counter the moral-theological interpretation of the quake as divine punishment.

Two hundred fifty years later, despite all the modern techniques of measurements and investigation, the elemental forces of nature have not lost any of their appeal, even for the scientists themselves. Horst Rademacher, in Am Rande des Kraters (At the Edge of the Crater), offers an absorbing report on the “incredible fascination of volcanoes” (that’s the book’s subtitle). The geophysicist and science journalist takes us along from one volcanic eruption to another, showing us volcanoes on almost all earth’s continents—drawing our attention to the fact that not all volcanoes spew fire—and painting a vivid picture of the job of a volcanologist.

We learn about the acute volcanic danger facing today’s large metropolises and megacities and about the hazard that eruptions pose for the food supply for many people and for the global climate. On the other hand, it is astonishing to read about the emergence of new life through nutrients from the earth’s interior and the particularly fertile volcanic soil. The excellent illustrations, often on facing pages, give us an idea of the attractive force of experiencing these multifarious natural spectacles.

Reading the book we immediately note that he takes both his subject matter and his audience very seriously. He doesn’t resort to a proactive, simplified language and doesn’t get bogged down in overly didactic diagrams and schematics or information boxes (although the book does offer well-planned and -designed ones). No, this is an author who has himself visited more than a hundred active volcanoes and he writes for an inquiring readership from youth to adult, simply drawing us along through his scientific adventure novel with its extended passages written as a first-person narrative.

Already in the first chapter we are stunned and puzzled to learn of a group of scientists that was surprised by an eruption in the crater of the Colombian Galeras in 1993, which resulted in the death of several researchers. The wider Rademacher’s panorama becomes, the more clear it is that science is barely beginning to understand the internal mechanisms of volcanoes. This is why every scientist must be aware that venturing to the edge of the crater is life-threatening. Nevertheless, the eyes of many volcanologists light up in that moment of danger and they are dispassionate about the possibility of their own death. This cannot be explained solely by the thrill of the proverbial “dancing on a volcano”; fascination seems to be too weak a word for the phenomenon. Why would someone face such a risk?

Horst Rademacher answers this question with a personal conclusion. He evokes “respect for every volcano” and admits that, “when in the middle of the night I observe a glowing lava flow sliding down the slope at Mount Aetna, I am not thinking of science.” Despite all his caution, however, he is as driven as the volcanologists he accompanies, going from one mountain to the next. His descriptions suggest how the volcanic elemental force of nature offers the viewer a sublime experience, a final evocation of that which is inaccessibly archaic. Therefore, Am Rande des Kratersmakes it directly comprehensible for readers that the word “fascination” comes from the Latin fascinare, to bewitch or enchant.
Vorname Name

By Michael Sellhoff, 01.05.2011

​Michael Sellhoff is a research associate at the Philosophical Seminar of the University of Kiel and is a freelance editor.

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Horst Rademacher
Am Rande des Kraters - Die unheimliche Faszination der Vulkane

Buchbesprechung

Wir modernen Menschen des frühen 21. Jahrhunderts haben ein ambivalentes Verhältnis zur Natur. Als Sehnsuchtsort machen wir sie zur Idylle, um in der Freizeit mit unseren umweltzerstörenden Autos in das nächste – oder auch gar nicht so nahgelegene – Erholungsgebiet zu brausen. Zugleich haben wir uns so weit von ihr entfernt, dass es zumindest zu den weit verbreiteten kulturkritischen Anekdoten zählt, dass immer mehr Stadtkinder den Zusammenhang von Milch im Tetra Pak und lebendigen Kühen gar nicht mehr kennen.

Die andere Seite der Natur tritt uns in den medial aufbereiteten Naturkatastrophen entgegen: Kaum etwas bewegt uns derart wie der Ausbruch der unberechenbaren und alle Vorstellung sprengenden Naturgewalt – man denke nur an das Seebeben im Indischen Ozean und den darauffolgenden Tsunami im Jahr 2004. Aufs engste verbindet sich bei solchen Ereignissen unsere Erschütterung über das menschliche Leid mit der gebannten Schaulust an der unbegrenzt-bedrohlichen Macht der Natur.

Eine solche Katastrophe steht auch am Beginn der modernen Geowissenschaften: Nachdem am 1. November 1755 ein verheerendes Erdbeben die portugiesische Hauptstadt Lissabon nahezu vollständig zerstört und Zigtausend Todesopfer gekostet hatte, setzte Immanuel Kant der moraltheologischen Interpretation des Bebens als Gottesstrafe in mehreren seiner Schriften eine systematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Erklärung entgegen.

Auch zweihundertfünfzig Jahre später haben trotz aller modernen Mess- und Untersuchungstechniken die Urgewalten der Natur selbst für den Wissenschaftler nichts von ihrer Anziehungskraft eingebüßt. So weiß Horst Rademacher in Am Rande des Kraters auf packende Weise von der »unheimlichen Faszination der Vulkane« – so der Untertitel des Buches – zu berichten. Der Geophysiker und Wissenschaftsjournalist nimmt uns mit von Vulkanausbruch zu Vulkanausbruch, zeigt uns Vulkane in fast allen Erdregionen – dabei macht er uns zugleich darauf aufmerksam, dass gar nicht alle Feuer speien –, und erzählt anschaulich vom Beruf des Vulkanforschers.

Wir erfahren von der akuten vulkanischen Gefahr für heutige Groß- und Megastädte und über die Bedrohung, die von den Eruptionen für die Ernährungsgrundlage vieler Menschen und das Weltklima ausgeht. Daneben erstaunt die Entstehung neuen Lebens durch Nährstoffe aus dem Erdinneren und die besondere Fruchtbarkeit vulkanischer Böden. Vor allem aber lässt die exzellente, oft doppelseitige Bebilderung erahnen, welchen Sog das Erleben dieser mannigfaltigen Naturschauspiele auf den Betrachter auszuüben vermag.

Ganz schnell wird uns beim Lesen klar: Da meint es jemand ernst mit seinem Thema, ernst nimmt er aber auch sein Publikum. Kein vorauseilend nach unten angepasstes Sprachniveau, keine didaktisierende Verzettelung in Schaubildern hier und Info-Kästen dort (auch wenn das Buch diese wohlgesetzt ebenfalls zu bieten hat). Nein, hier wendet sich ein Autor, der selbst über hundert aktive Vulkane besucht hat, an eine wissbegierige Leserschaft vom Jugendlichen bis zum Erwachsenen und reißt uns durch seinen passagenweit in der Ich-Perspektive gehaltenen wissenschaftlichen Abenteuer-Roman einfach mit.

Im ersten Kapitel lesen wir noch mit bedrückender Irritation und Fassungslosigkeit, wie 1993 eine Forschergruppe im Krater des kolumbianischen Galeras von einer Eruption überrascht wird und mehrere Wissenschaftler sterben. Je weiter Rademacher sein Panorama aufspannt, desto deutlicher wird dann, dass der innere Mechanismus der Vulkane nur ansatzweise verstanden ist und deshalb jedem Forscher klar sein muss, dass er am Rande des Kraters sein Leben riskiert. Dennoch leuchten die Augen vieler Vulkanforscher im Augenblick der Gefahr, ist ihnen der mögliche Tod gleichgültig. Mit dem Nervenkitzel des sprichwörtlichen »Tanzes auf dem Vulkan« allein ist das nicht zu erklären, Faszination scheint ein zu schwaches Wort. Warum also setzt sich jemand diesem Risiko aus?

Horst Rademacher beantwortet diese Frage mit einem persönlichen Schluss, er beschwört den »Respekt vor jedem Vulkan« und offenbart: »Wenn ich nachts am Ätna beobachte, wie ein glühender Lavastrom den Hang hinab gleitet, denke ich nicht an die Wissenschaft.« Trotz aller Vorsicht ist auch er, wie die von ihm begleiteten Vulkanforscherinnen und -forscher, ein Von-Berg-zu-Berg-Getriebener, seine Schilderungen lassen uns erahnen, wie die vulkanische Urgewalt der Natur dem Betrachter eine Erfahrung der Erhabenheit erlaubt, eine letzte Andeutung des archaisch Unverfügbaren. So macht Am Rande des Kraters auch für den Leser unmittelbar nachvollziehbar, dass das Wort »Faszination« von verzaubern, behexen stammt.
Vorname Name

Von Michael Sellhoff, 01.05.2011

​Michael Selhoff arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Philosophischen Seminar der CAU Kiel und ist freiberuflicher Lektor.