Category: Fiction

Nora Bossong
Webers Protokoll
[Weber's record]

Review

Ten years ago Nora Bossong would have been labeled as a “Fräuleinwunder”. Today, the 27-year-old can pass simply as an extremely gifted young writer. Having first garnered attention with her poetry before debuting as a novelist with Gegend in 2006, Bossong has now startled her readers with a plot that is rather unusual for authors her age. Weber’s Record is the intricate and elaborately fragmented story across several time periods of a diplomat who, in 1943, embezzles money as a German vice-consul in Milan and comes under the scrutiny of his new boss, an NS hardliner. In order to save his neck, he takes on a job helping people to escape Nazi Germany, but when these transactions get him into even deeper trouble, he defects to Switzerland. Following the war, his past catches up to him as he attempts to join the German Foreign Service.

Nora Bossong was inspired to write the novel after documents were accidentally discovered. Through painstaking research she has acquired not only a cogent understanding of history but also a remarkable flair for the atmosphere of the epochs and milieus she portrays. She alternates seamlessly between the Nazi era, the German post-war economic boom, and the present and skillfully allows a young narrator to reconstruct the case during an argument she has with an aged diplomat. Bossong moves elegantly from one scene to the next and consciously blurs the fine line between fiction and official records. The author is principally interested, however, in the yo-yoing of her protagonist, the hypochondriac and opportunistic Dr. Konrad Weber, whose imaginary eye problems illustrate – slightly too symbolically, perhaps – his fear of the truth and his preference for avoiding reality. Readers are thus meant to see Weber as a representative of the silent majority of his fellow citizens.

The phrase “Weber is certain” appears throughout the novel with a frequency that is hard to miss, yet implies the exact opposite. This timorous career man is incapable of gaining a sound understanding neither of himself and what motivates him, the incidents taking place around him, the political and social reality of the times, nor of the aims and motives of the people he deals with. Readers are thus left to speculate about the character of a man who performs his job scrupulously only to embezzle large sums of money, who assists Jews and opponents of the regime out of self-interest, not conviction, and who, though not a Nazi sympathizer, only fully distances himself from the regime in order to save his own skin.

Nora Bossong has created the shimmering polyvalence of her anti-hero and various minor characters with remarkable empathy and precision, while rooting them in a sophisticated narrative form. What’s more, she has risked interweaving the true story of Eugenio Pacelli, who as Pope Pius XII played a dubious and still controversial role during the Third Reich, with Weber’s own case. The chess game winding its way through the novel is an apt metaphor for an author of such combinative talents and highlights the intellectual ambitions of her undertaking. Finally, the recurring motif of the birdcage can be read not only as a reference to the self-contained system the characters are snared in, but also as an image of the delicate narrative construction in which readers themselves feel eerily trapped from cover to cover.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 01.03.2009

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by Franklin Bolsillo Mares

Sparte: Belletristik

Nora Bossong
Webers Protokoll

Buchbesprechung

Vor zehn Jahren hätte man Nora Bossong noch das Etikett „Fräuleinwunder“ angeklebt. Heute darf die 27-Jährige einfach eine besonders begabte Nachwuchsschriftstellerin sein, die zunächst mit Gedichten auffiel, dann 2006 mit Gegend ein vielbeachtetes Romandebüt vorlegte und nun mit einem für Autorinnen ihres Alters ungewöhnlichen Erzählstoff überrascht hat. Webers Protokoll ist die komplexe, kunstreich fragmentierte, auf mehreren Zeitebenen angesiedelte Geschichte eines Diplomaten, der 1943 als deutscher Vizekonsul in Mailand Gelder veruntreut, ins Visier seines neuen, stramm nationalsozialistischen Vorgesetzten gerät und, um sich aus der Klemme zu ziehen, einen Job als bezahlter Fluchthelfer übernimmt. Durch diese Geschäfte immer mehr in die Enge getrieben, setzt er sich in die Schweiz ab. Als er nach dem Krieg versucht, im diplomatischen Dienst der Bundesrepublik unterzukommen, holt ihn die Vergangenheit ein.

Nora Bossong ist von zufällig entdeckten Dokumenten zu dem Roman angeregt worden und hat sich durch akribische Recherchearbeit nicht nur ein fundiertes Geschichtswissen, sondern auch ein erstaunliches Gespür für die Atmosphäre der geschilderten Epochen und Milieus angeeignet. Souverän springt sie zwischen Nazi-Ära, Wirtschaftswunderzeit und Gegenwart hin und her, lässt eine junge Erzählerin im Streitgespräch mit einem betagten Diplomaten den Fall rekonstruieren, wechselt elegant die Schauplätze und lässt die Grenzen zwischen Aktenmaterial und Fiktion verschwimmen. Was sie jedoch vorrangig interessiert, ist das Changieren und Schwanken der Hauptfigur selbst, jenes hypochondrischen, opportunistischen Dr. Konrad Weber, dessen eingebildete Augenkrankheit vielleicht etwas zu symbolträchtig illustriert, dass er vor der Wahrheit zurückschreckt und die Wirklichkeit nicht sehen will – stellvertretend, sollen wir dabei mitdenken, für die schweigende Mehrheit seiner Landsleute und Zeitgenossen.

Mit unübersehbarer Häufigkeit erscheint die Formulierung „Weber ist sich sicher“, und sie bedeutet das schiere Gegenteil: Weder über sich selbst und seine Antriebe noch über die Vorgänge in seiner Umgebung, weder über die politische und gesellschaftliche Realität noch über die Absichten oder Beweggründe der Personen, mit denen er es zu tun hat, vermag dieser furchtsame Karrierist gesicherte Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Der Leser wiederum darf grübeln über den Charakter eines Menschen, der sein Amt gewissenhaft versieht und dann große Summen unterschlägt, der Juden und Regimegegnern nicht aus Überzeugung, sondern aus Eigennutz hilft, der mit den Nazis zwar nicht sympathisiert, aber den Bruch mit dem Regime nur vollzieht, um die eigene Haut zu retten.

Nora Bossong hat die flimmernde Polyvalenz ihres Antihelden sowie diverser Nebenfiguren mit bemerkenswerter Einfühlung und Scharfsicht gestaltet und in eine ausgeklügelte Erzähltechnik übersetzt. Sie hat überdies riskiert, die wahre Geschichte des Eugenio Pacelli, der als Papst Pius XII. während des Dritten Reichs eine dubiose und bis heute umstrittene Rolle spielte, mit dem Fall Weber zu verknüpfen. Dass eine Schachpartie sich als Metapher durch den Roman zieht, passt zum Kombinationstalent der Verfasserin und unterstreicht die intellektuelle Ambitioniertheit ihres Projekts. Und das wiederkehrende Motiv des Vogelkäfigs lässt sich nicht nur als Chiffre eines geschlossenen Systems deuten, aus dem es für die Figuren keinen Ausweg gibt, sondern auch als Abbild des feingliedrig konstruierten Erzählgefüges, in dem man sich für die Dauer der Lektüre auf fast gespenstische Weise als Mitgefangener fühlt.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 01.03.2009

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.