Category: Non-fiction

Michael Hagner
Der Hauslehrer - Die Geschichte eines Kriminalfalls
[The private tutor - The story of a criminal case]

Review

In his Psychopathia Sexualis of 1886, Richard von Krafft-Ebbing, a Viennese doctor, was one of the first people to describe the phenomenon of the ‘child-beater’. When the sadistically inclined man is deprived of the true object of his desire, namely a woman, he attempts to gratify his drives by beating ‘arbitrarily chosen, living, feeling objects, children and animals’. It cannot be said that this definition of the ‘child beater’ greatly clarifies matters. And even when discussing teachers who abuse their position vis-à-vis male youths and children, the vagueness of the commentaries persisted. For example, in the account given of such a case by Albert Moll, the celebrated forensic doctor, the idea that a teacher’s violence might be sexually motivated is treated as secondary. Pride of place is given to the supposed masochism of the victimized pupil.

In the latter half of the nineteenth century, the connection between sadism and education was frequently touched on but never made fully explicit. The pioneers of sexology possessed neither an authoritative terminology nor a case that might be thought of as canonical. Shortly after the turn of the century a law student by the name of Andreas Dippold provided them with both. In October 1903 the twenty-four-year-old Dippold was put on trial in Bayreuth. He was accused of having beaten to death Heinz Koch, a banker’s son with whose education he had been entrusted. He was sentenced to eight years in prison with the loss of his civic rights for ten years. The public was outraged that this ‘beast’ had been let off so lightly; the newspapers were full of the case for months and gradually the term ‘Dippoldism’ made its entrance into the scientific textbooks as a synonym for teacher sadism.

In his historical study ‘The Private Tutor’, Michael Hagner devotes himself to answering the question why this case above all others made such waves throughout all classes in the German Empire at the turn of the century. Hagner is a historian of science in Zurich and he explores the origins of this scandal with a successful combination of meticulous documentary detail and narrative drama. His analysis shows how the various academic disciplines latched onto the media sensationalism with the result that ‘Dippoldism’ ended up as the paradigmatic example of a hitherto unknown species of sexual perversion.

Unlike all the journalists, medical experts, lawyers, psychologists and educationalists who sought at the time to exploit Heinz Koch’s death for their own pet theories, Hagner’s reconstruction of the events sticks to the facts as they have been handed down. The victim’s father, Rudolf Koch, was fully absorbed in his work as chairman of the Deutsche Bank and he delegated all questions of education to his wife Rosalie. As was customary in their circles the parents had high expectations of their eight children. Above all, the thirteen-year-old Heinz and Joachim, his younger brother by two years, were the babies of the family and their poor scholastic achievements and lack of discipline came as a disappointment to their parents. Even prestigious boarding schools failed to bring about improvements and so in 1902 the banker’s wife decided to employ Dippold to take charge of the upbringing of her two problem children. On the family estate in the Harz Mountains, far from their home in Berlin, the tutor was mandated to turn her sons into ‘decent people’. Dippold had informed her by letter of his preferred methods of education: a fat-free diet and rigorous physical training in the open air. Corporal punishment was inevitable in order to cure the boys of their chief vice: masturbation. His mother raised no objection.

Prior to the Dippold case, if any assertion about education could be said to have enjoyed universal acceptance in the German Empire it was the firm belief in the immorality of childhood masturbation. Even when the parents learned from third parties that the boys were covered in weals and bruises, they failed to intervene. Dippold went to ludicrous lengths to break his young wards of their habit of self-abuse. He forced them to make written confessions of their guilt; at night he tied down their hands and legs; often, he even slept between them. And of course, he continued to administer thrashings. The situation escalated when Dippold was given permission to take them back with him to his home in a village in Franconia. There he could pursue his educational regimen without the need to fear interference from members of the Koch household. On the morning of 8 March 1903, Heinz asked to be allowed to stay in bed. When a doctor was called that afternoon, there was nothing he could do beyond establishing that the boy was dead.

The post mortem found that in addition to the injuries inflicted by Dippold, Heinz had had a skull deformity from birth and also a renal weakness. The coroner failed to clarify whether these organic defects had been a factor exacerbating Dippold’s maltreatment and so leading to Heinz’s death. Nevertheless, the book is right to have as its subtitle ‘The Story of a Criminal Case’. Hagner does not indulge in speculations about the exact causes of death. His detective work is concentrated on uncovering the internal contradictions and the arbitrary nature of the many debates that raged at the time as public opinion struggled to achieve a dominant consensus. During the trial itself, Dippold had made no bones about his use of corporal punishment. He was convinced that his actions were in conformity with the pedagogical spirit of the age. He only became a sexual monster in the eyes of the public when for some reason the masturbatory practices of the Koch children were suddenly discounted. It was inconceivable, people argued, that such chubby, rosy-cheeked boys could ever have succumbed to this debilitating vice. While some journalists followed the example of the influential father in defending the sexual purity of his family, others condemned the parents as typical representatives of the irresponsible and decadent upper classes and pigeon-holed the crime as a symptom of general social degeneration. The trial became a peg on which to hang a wide variety of polemics that were connected in their turn to current debates in the legal and human sciences. The case arrived conveniently for the lawyers, who were heavily engaged at the time in the vigorous debates surrounding a reform of the penal code. Educationalists, psychiatrists and doctors had only recently discovered sadism as a psychopathology and were delighted to be able to canonize the Kochs’ private tutor as an empirical alternative to the examples of dubious scientific merit to be found in the writings of the Marquis de Sade.

Dippold himself soon found himself completely forgotten in this storm of indignation and debate. Hagner, however, is at pains not to exculpate him. Admittedly, he is not concerned with moral issues, nor does he succumb to the temptation to link the case with debates about child abuse in our own time arising from the events in the Odenwaldschule and a variety of Catholic schools. Hagner’s cool, many-layered analysis confines itself to a dissection of the discursive moment at the beginning of the last century. He provides an account of the social and cultural dynamic that transformed the tutor’s crime from a specific event into a paradigmatic case and he locates it in its historical context. Anyone who looks up ‘Dippoldism’ in a medical dictionary today will find it referred to as of only historical interest. As a diagnostic concept, it has vanished from the current vocabulary of psychopathology. Dippold himself served out his sentence and then tried to start a new life as a lawyer in Latin America, but at this point he disappeared from view.
Marianna Lieder

By Marianna Lieder, 01.03.2011

​Marianna Lieder works as a freelance journalist and literary critic for publications including the Tagesspiegel, the Stuttgarter Zeitung and Literaturen. She has been an editor at Philosophie Magazin since 2011.

Translated by Rodney Livingstone

Sparte: Sachbuch

Michael Hagner
Der Hauslehrer - Die Geschichte eines Kriminalfalls

Buchbesprechung

Als einer der ersten beschrieb der Wiener Arzt Richard von Krafft-Ebbing das Phänomen des „Knabengeisslers“ in seiner Psychopathia sexualis von 1886: Wenn dem sadistisch veranlagten Mann das eigentliche Objekt seiner Begierde, die Frau, nicht zur Verfügung stehe, versuche er seinen Trieb durch das Prügeln von „beliebigen, lebenden und empfindenden Objekten, Kindern und Thieren“ zu befriedigen. Sonderlich treffend scheint der Begriff des „Knabengeisslers“ hier also nicht. Auch dann, wenn es um Pädagogen ging, die ihre Position gegenüber männlichen Jugendlichen und Kindern ausnutzen, blieben die Kommentare unpräzise. In den Ausführungen etwa, mit denen der berühmte Gerichtsmediziner Albert Moll einen solchen Fall begutachtete, spielt die womöglich libidinös motivierte Gewalttätigkeit des Lehrers eine Nebenrolle, im Zentrum der Expertise stand der vermeintliche Masochismus der leidtragenden Schüler.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde der Zusammenhang von Sadismus und Erziehung immer wieder gestreift, aber nie eindeutig benannt. Den Pionieren der Sexualwissenschaft fehlte eine verbindliche Terminologie ebenso wie ein kanonischer Fall. Kurz nach der Jahrhundertwende lieferte ihnen ein Jura-Student namens Andreas Dippold beides: Im Oktober 1903 wurde dem damals Vierundzwanzigjährigen in Bayreuth der Prozess gemacht. Dippold war angeklagt, den seiner pädagogischen Obhut anvertrauten Bankierssohn Heinz Koch zu Tode geprügelt zu haben. Acht Jahre Zuchthaus und zehn Jahre Ehrberaubung wurden als Strafmaß verhängt. Die Bevölkerung zeigte sich entrüstet, dass die „Bestie“ so milde davon gekommen war, die Zeitungen kannten über Monate hinweg kein anderes Thema, und schon bald fand sich in wissenschaftlichen Lehrbüchern der Begriff „Dippoldismus“ als Synonym für Erziehersadismus.

Der Frage, weshalb ausgerechnet die Causa Dippold solch hohe Wellen in sämtlichen Kreisen der wilhelminischen Gesellschaft schlug, widmet sich Michael Hagner in seiner diskursgeschichtlichen StudieDer Hauslehrer. In einer gelungenen Mischung aus dokumentarischer Akribie und erzählerischer Dramaturgie zeichnet der Zürcher Wissenschaftshistoriker die Entstehungsgeschichte eines Skandals nach und analysiert, wie die unterschiedlichen akademischen Disziplinen an die öffentlich-mediale Erregung anschlossen, um Dippold schließlich als Musterexemplar einer bis dato unbekannten Spezies ins Kabinett der sexuellen Perversionen einzuführen.

Anders als all die Journalisten, Mediziner, Rechtswissenschaftler, Psychologen und Pädagogen, die damals versuchten, den Tod Heinz Kochs für ihre jeweilige Position zu instrumentalisieren, hält sich Hagner bei der Rekonstruktion des Geschehens an die überlieferten Fakten: Der Vater des Opfers, Rudolf Koch, war vielbeschäftigter Vorstandssprecher der Deutschen Bank, sämtliche Erziehungsfragen delegierte er an seine Frau Rosalie. Standesüblich hoch waren die Erwartungen der Eltern an ihre acht Kinder. Vor allem die beiden Nesthäkchen, der 13-jährige Heinz und sein zwei Jahre jüngerer Bruder Joachim, enttäuschten durch Lernschwäche und Disziplinlosigkeit. Als selbst prestigeträchtige Internate versagten, beauftragte die Bankiersgattin im Jahr 1902 Dippold mit der Persönlichkeitsbildung ihrer Sorgenkinder. Fernab der Berliner Heimat, auf dem Familiengut im Harz, sollte der Hauslehrer „anständige Menschen“ aus ihren Söhnen machen. Auf dem Postweg unterrichtete Dippold sie über seine Erziehungsmethoden – fettarme Kost, rigorose Leibesertüchtigung im Freien, unvermeidlich sei auch körperliche Züchtigung, um das Hauptlaster der Jungen, die Masturbation, zu unterbinden. Die Mutter hatte keine Einwände.

Wenn im Kaiserreich vor dem Dippold-Prozess über irgendetwas pädagogischer Konsens herrschte, dann über die Verwerflichkeit der kindlichen Onanie. Auch als die Eltern von Dritten erfuhren, dass die Jungen mit Striemen und Prellungen übersät waren, griffen sie nicht ein. Mit den absurdesten Mitteln versuchte Dippold seinen Zöglingen die unterstellte Selbstbefriedigung auszutreiben. Er nötigte ihnen schriftliche Schuldbekenntnisse ab, fesselte sie nachts an Armen und Beinen, des Öfteren schlief er sogar zwischen ihnen. Und natürlich drosch er weiter auf sie ein. Die Situation eskalierte, als Dippold die Erlaubnis erhielt, mit den Jungen in sein fränkisches Heimatdorf umzuziehen, wo er sein Erziehungsregime völlig unbehelligt durch die Kochschen Hausangestellten fortführen konnte. Am Morgen des 8. März 1903 bat Heinz, im Bett bleiben zu dürfen. Als nachmittags ein Arzt gerufen werden musste, konnte dieser nur noch den Tod des Jungen feststellen.

Neben den von Dippold stammenden Verletzungen wurde bei der Obduktion diagnostiziert, dass Heinz seit seiner Geburt an einer Schädelfehlbildung und einer Nierenschwäche litt. Inwiefern diese organischen Defekte eine Rolle für den tödlichen Ausgang der Misshandlung gespielt haben könnten, bleibt ungeklärt. Dennoch trägt das Buch den UntertitelGeschichte eines Kriminalfalls zu Recht. Auf rückblickende Spekulationen über die genauen Todesursachen verzichtet Hagner, sein detektivisches Gespür konzentriert er darauf, die inneren Widersprüche und die Willkür der zahlreichen Debatten freizulegen, die damals um die Deutungshoheit des Vorfalls konkurrierten: Während der Gerichtsverhandlung machte Dippold keinen Hehl aus seiner Gewaltanwendung, glaubte er sein Handeln doch im Einklang mit dem pädagogischen Zeitgeist. Zum sexuellen Monstrum für die Öffentlichkeit wurde er erst, als das Onanie-Problem der Koch-Kinder plötzlich keine Rolle mehr spielte. Unmöglich, so wurde argumentiert, dass solch rosige, runde Jungen jemals diesem auszehrenden Laster gefrönt haben sollen. Während einige Journalisten dem einflussreichen Vater folgten, der die sexuelle Unbescholtenheit seiner Familie gegen den Angeklagten in Stellung brachte, sahen andere in den Eltern typische Repräsentanten der dekadenten, verantwortungslosen Oberschicht und stilisierten das Verbrechen zum Symptom des allgemeinen gesellschaftlichen Niedergangs. Der Prozess wurde zum Aufhänger für die unterschiedlichsten Polemiken, an die wiederum Rechts- und Humanwissenschaften anknüpften. Den Juristen kam der Fall in Zusammenhang mit der damals heftig diskutierten Reform des Strafrechts gelegen. Pädagogen, Psychiater und Mediziner hatten die Psychopathologie des Sadismus gerade erst entdeckt und kanonisierten den Hauslehrer der Kochs nicht zuletzt so begierig, weil er sich als empirische Alternative zu den wenig wissenschaftlichen Beispielen aus den Schriften des Marquis de Sade gewissermaßen aufdrängte.

Die eigentliche Person Dippolds, die bei diesem Sturm der Entrüstung und Debatten völlig aus dem Blick geriet, wird von Hagner keineswegs exkulpiert. Allerdings geht es dem Autor nicht um moralische Fragen, ebenso wenig erliegt er der Gefahr, das von ihm verhandelte Geschehen mit der aktuellen Missbrauchsdiskussion anlässlich der Vorfälle in der Odenwaldschule und verschiedenen katholischen Bildungsstätten zu verzahnen. Die kühle, vielschichtige Analyse Hagners beschränkt sich auf eine diskursgeschichtliche Zäsur zu Beginn des vergangenen Jahrhunderts; die gesellschaftlich-kulturelle Dynamik, durch die sich das Verbrechen des Hauslehrers vom spezifischen Ereignis zum paradigmatischen Fall wandelte, wird in ihrer zeitgeschichtlichen Bedingtheit beschrieben. Wer heute „Dippoldismus“ in medizinischen Lexika nachschlägt, erfährt, dass es sich um eine historische Bezeichnung handelt. Aus der gegenwärtigen psychopathologischen Diagnostik ist der Begriff verschwunden. Dippold selbst hat sich nach Ende seiner Haftstrafe in Lateinamerika als Anwalt versucht, hier verliert sich auch seine Spur.
Marianna Lieder

Von Marianna Lieder, 01.03.2011

​Marianna Lieder ist seit 2011 Redakteurin beim „Philosophie Magazin“. Als freie Journalistin und Literaturkritikerin arbeitet sie u. a. für den Tagesspiegel, die Stuttgarter Zeitung und Literaturen.