Category: Fiction

Sibylle Berg
Die Fahrt
[The journey]

Review

One feels rather inclined to warn anyone off Sybille Berg’s books who hasn’t as yet encountered them. In her implacably critical approach, her savage irony and her hatred of our imperfect world she has few equals among contemporary German writers. This is precisely why she is adored by her fans — and there are plenty of them! Following the success in 1997 of her debut novel Ein paar Leute suchen das Glück und lachen sich tot (‘Various people seek happiness and kill themselves laughing’), Berg has built up a reputation not only as a novelist but also as a playwright and newspaper columnist. Published in autumn 2007, her novel Die Fahrt (‘The Journey’) is her most recent work, and will doubtless mark a new peak in her creative output.

‘We wanted to escape because we wanted to find happiness. We wanted to escape from poverty and boredom, we wanted to escape from our lives.’ — these words could equally well serve as a summation of the leitmotif of misery that courses through Die Fahrt. None of the novel’s protagonists — and there are a good three dozen of them — are happy with the current state of their life, in their different ways all would prefer their lives to be better, more simple, more pleasant, more secure, more prosperous, more full of joy, more full of meaning. The book thus becomes one great multifarious search for happiness.

The sub-title of Die Fahrt characterises it as a novel. This seems strange at first, as we find ourselves confronted by seventy nine separate chapters, all of them self-contained stories that have a film-script ring to them. Their titles routinely consist of someone’s first name, and the name of a place. As you read on, you discover that some of the individual chapters’ central figures crop up more than once and that their paths occasionally cross. Certain events are also recounted twice, from different vantage points. The fact that in addition the different stories are encompassed within an overall framework makes the term ‘novel’, if not entirely compelling, then at least plausible.

In terms of their background, education and economic circumstances, Berg’s characters are as diverse as the countries and towns in which we encounter them. Thus for instance we meet Miki, the Los Angeles porn-film actress, Igor, the alcoholic miner from the Ukraine, Parul, the young mother breaking stones in a Bangladesh slum, and Mr.Ling, the Chinese doctor who has become a millionaire by trading in the organs of executees. However disparate the characters may be, however, they are all united in their discontentment with the here and now.

Those who can afford it travel far and wide in search of ‘a place that would change everything’. Like Helena, for example, who has ‘visited practically every single country for which there is a Lonely Planet guide’. Or Ruth, who ups sticks and goes to Israel for the sake of what she thinks is the one great relationship of her life, only to find herself dumped soon afterwards. The rest, the ones with no money, have no choice but to stay where they are and dream — in so far as they have enough energy left to dream — of a life that is different from their own. People like Olga from Khirgistan who regularly meets up with Western European men in the hope that one day one of them will take her home with him, ‘far from this place that she could never escape from through her own efforts’.

‘How random it is to be born somewhere and then have to stay there’ — such reflections force themselves not only on the characters within the book, but also on the reader. The fact that Berg so baldly juxtaposes the life-or-death problems of the have-nots who must stay put, and the feather-bedded problems of the haves who can up and go, makes the depictions of utter poverty stand out in particularly sharp and striking relief. The contrast between supposed misfortune and real misfortune is made even more intense by Berg’s choice of style: her customary and much-praised narrative stance whereby she manages through a judicious mix of quiet mockery and ironic distance to render pleasurable even the bitterest truths, gives way here to an almost entirely non-ironic and unsparing depiction of things as they actually are. There is a clear sense in this book that there is nothing left to laugh about. Absolutely nothing.

Is the world really such a dismal place, one might ask. Berg’s answer leaves little scope for reinterpretation: except for a few scattered oases of contentment such as Switzerland, ‘that sweet little sanatorium’, or Iceland with its mercifully scant population, there is nowhere the slightest bit nice. Wherever you look, there is loneliness, poverty and filth. As though wishing to engrave it for ever on our memories, Berg confronts us with simply endless variations on the theme of misery and the vain search for happiness and meaning. At the latest by the time you have reached half-way in the book you feel already familiar with every conceivable facet of the topic. But Berg writes on and on, offering both repetition and variation, trying ever new routes to happiness, depicting ever more journeys to ever more places — yet demonstrating in the end only the dismal certainty that in this world of ours there can be no personal development and no happiness, at least no enduring happiness.

It is accordingly no coincidence that the travellings in the book are evoked in its title by the word Fahrt rather than the word Reise. Both words translate as ‘journey’ — but Reise has venerable connotations in the German Bildungsroman tradition as a term symbolising the intellectual and spiritual progression of the hero, and there is no trace of any such progression here. Quite the reverse. At best Berg’s protagonists see fleeting glimpses of an escape route out of their misery when some of them begin to realise that the world would be a pleasanter place if instead of taking ourselves so seriously we recognised that we are simply ‘small parts of a larger whole’. It remains unclear just how seriously Berg means us to take these tentative first steps on the part of her characters towards a resolution of their predicament, for they are strikingly reminiscent of the beliefs and attitudes of those in Die Fahrt who come in for the severest criticism: ‘all those Europeans who, tired of their existence, came here in search of spirituality’, all those grubbing away in an esoteric search for ‘meaning’, the yoga freaks hoping to find salvation in eastern mysticism.

There can be no doubt about it: this book is not light reading. Berg’s bleak view of the world and its denizens is unlikely to leave her readers cold. Fortunately, however, the bleakness of her world view is not the only thing that marks her out: her fascinating observational gifts, her inexhaustible associative powers and her ironic humour make her writing a pleasure both intellectually and aesthetically. Even despair can prove cheering when the depressing nature of New York is exemplified by a parrot’s desire to hang itself, or when we hear the plaintive question about Germany: ‘how on earth did they manage to make an entire country look like so many packets of sliced bread?’

In short: do read Die Fahrt! It’s a book you will never forget!
Vorname Name

By Anne Nordmann, 02.06.2008

Translated by Helena Ragg-Kirkby

Sparte: Belletristik

Sibylle Berg
Die Fahrt

Buchbesprechung

Wer noch nie einen Text von Sibylle Berg in den Händen hatte, den möchte man eigentlich vor der Lektüre ihrer Bücher warnen. In ihrer unerbittlichen Kritik, ihrer beißenden Ironie und ihrem Hass auf unsere unvollkommene Welt ist diese Autorin mit wenigen vergleichbar, die derzeit in deutscher Sprache schreiben. Ihre Fans – und das sind nicht wenige – lieben sie genau dafür! Nach ihrem erfolgreichen Romandebüt von 1997, Ein paar Leute suchen das Glück und lachen sich tot, hat sich Berg nicht nur als Schriftstellerin, sondern auch als Dramatikerin und Kolumnistin einen Namen gemacht. Ihr jüngstes Werk, der im Herbst 2007 erschienene Roman Die Fahrt, bildet zweifellos einen neuen Höhepunkt ihres Schaffens.

„Wir wollten weg, weil wir das Glück finden wollten. Wir wollten aus der Armut weg, aus der Langeweile, wir wollten weg aus unserem Leben.“ So ließe sich auch das Leit- und Leid-Thema in Die Fahrt zusammenfassen. Keiner der Protagonisten – und das sind gut drei Dutzend – ist mit dem Ist-Zustand seines Leben zufrieden, jeder möchte es auf die eine oder andere Weise angenehmer, geborgener, reicher, freudvoller, sinnerfüllter, schlicht, besser haben. So wird der Roman zu einer einzigen großen Suche nach dem Glück.

Die Fahrt wird im Untertitel als Roman ausgewiesen. Das wirkt anfangs befremdlich, da wir es darin mit 79 Kapiteln zu tun haben, die alle in sich abgeschlossene, an Drehbuchsequenzen erinnernde Geschichten bilden. Deren Überschriften setzen sich jeweils aus einem Vornamen und einer Ortsangabe zusammen. Mit fortschreitender Lektüre zeigt sich, dass die Hauptpersonen der einzelnen Kapitel teilweise mehrfach auftreten und sich ihre Wege ab und zu kreuzen. Auch werden manche Ereignisse zweimal, aus verschiedenen Perspektiven, erzählt. Dass die einzelnen Geschichten dann auch noch von einer Art Rahmenhandlung eingeschlossen sind, macht die Genrebezeichnung ‚Roman’ zwar nicht zwingend erforderlich, aber doch nachvollziehbarer.

Bergs Figuren sind von ihrer Herkunft, ihrer Bildung und ihrem Lebensstandard her so unterschiedlich wie die Städte und Länder, in denen wir sie antreffen. So begegnen wir zum Beispiel Miki, der Pornodarstellerin aus Los Angeles, oder Igor, dem alkoholsüchtigen Bergarbeiter aus der Ukraine, Parul, der jungen Mutter, die im Slum in Bangladesh Steine klopft, oder Mr. Ling, dem chinesischen Arzt, der durch den Handel mit Organen von Häftlingen zum Millionär geworden ist. So ungleich die Figuren aber auch sein mögen, ihre Unzufriedenheit mit dem Hier und Jetzt eint sie alle.

Die, die es sich leisten können, fahren durch die Welt, um herauszufinden, „ob es einen Ort gäbe, [...] der alles ändern würde“. So wie Helena, die „fast alle Länder bereist [hatte], über die ein Lonely Planet existierte“. Oder Ruth, die zu ihrer vermeintlich großen Liebe nach Israel aufbricht, um dort wenig später sitzengelassen zu werden. Die anderen, die Mittellosen, bleiben notgedrungen, wo sie sind, und träumen – wenn die Kraft dafür ausreicht – von einem anderen als dem eigenen Leben. Es sind Menschen wie Olga aus Kirgistan, die sich regelmäßig mit westeuropäischen Männern trifft, in der Hoffnung, dass doch noch einer kommt und sie mitnimmt: „Weit weg von diesem Ort, den sie aus eigener Kraft nie würde verlassen können.“

„Wie zufällig das ist, das Wohin-geboren-Werden-und-dann-da-verharren-Müssen“ – nicht nur die Figuren, auch der Leser kann sich derartigen Überlegungen nicht verschließen. Indem Berg die Existenzsorgen derer, die bleiben müssen, und die ‚Luxussorgen’ derer, die gehen können, übergangslos aneinanderreiht, treten die Szenen des wahren Elends besonders unvermittelt und dadurch noch eindrücklicher hervor. Der Kontrast zwischen vermeintlichem und tatsächlichem Unglück wird auf stilistischer Ebene noch verstärkt: Bergs viel gelobte Erzählhaltung, die mit einer Mischung aus leisem Spott und ironischer Distanz auch die bittersten Wahrheiten noch geradezu vergnüglich zu präsentieren weiß, schlägt hier um in eine schonungslose und meist gänzlich ironiefreie Situationsbeschreibung. Man spürt, dass es hier nichts mehr zu lachen gibt. Gar nichts mehr.

Ist die Welt wirklich ein so trostloser Ort? möchte man fragen. Die Bergsche Antwort lässt wenig Interpretationsspielraum: Bis auf die vereinzelten Oasen der Zufriedenheit, die Schweiz etwa, das „niedliche kleine Sanatorium“, oder das bevölkerungsarme Island, ist es nirgendwo schön. Einsamkeit, Armut und Dreck, wohin man auch blickt. Als wolle sie es für immer unvergesslich machen, präsentiert Berg schier endlose Variationen des Elends und der gescheiterten Sinn- und Glückssuche. Spätestens nach der Hälfte des Buches meint man, alle Facetten zu kennen. Doch Berg schreibt weiter. Wiederholt und variiert. Immer neue Versuche werden unternommen, des Glückes doch noch habhaft zu werden, eine weitere Reise, einer neuer Ort – manifestiert wird dadurch aber letztlich nur die traurige Gewissheit, dass es auf dieser Welt keine Entwicklung und kein Glück, zumindest kein dauerhaftes, geben kann.

So ist es auch kein Zufall, dass der Roman Die Fahrt und nicht die Reise heißt, denn mit dem für den Bildungsroman typischen Motiv der Reise als Sinnbild für die geistige und seelische Entwicklung des Protagonisten haben diese Fahrten nichts gemein. Im Gegenteil. Denkbare Auswege aus dieser Misere blitzen bestenfalls auf, wenn bei einigen der Figuren die Erkenntnis reift, dass die Welt „ein erfreulicherer Ort“ wäre, wenn wir uns nicht zu wichtig nehmen würden, sondern „uns als Teilchen eines großen Ganzen begriffen“. Es bleibt offen, wie ernst es Berg mit derartigen Lösungsansätzen ist, klingen sie doch verdächtig ähnlich wie die Glaubenssätze derjenigen, die in Die Fahrt besonders scharf kritisiert werden: „all die von ihrem Dasein gelangweilten Europäer, die wegen der Spiritualität hierherkamen“, die esoterischen Sinnsucher und die Yoga-Freaks, die in östlichen Heilslehren ihre Erfüllung zu finden hoffen.

Ohne Frage: dieses Buch ist keine Schonkost. Bergs rabenschwarzer Blick auf die Welt und ihre Bewohner lässt den Leser schwerlich kalt. Glücklicherweise zeichnet sie sich aber nicht nur durch diese schonungslose Weltsicht aus, sondern ihre faszinierende Beobachtungsgabe, ihr unerschöpfliches Assoziationsvermögen und ihr ironischer Witz machen die Lektüre ihrer Texte zu einem intellektuellen wie auch ästhetischen Vergnügen. Wenn sich als Beweis dafür, dass New York Depressionen hervorruft, dort sogar ein Papagei erhängen will, oder wenn es über Deutschland heißt, „[...] wie haben die das nur hingekriegt, ein ganzes Land so aussehen zu lassen wie abgepackte Mischbrotscheiben?“, kann nämlich selbst die Trostlosigkeit noch erheitern.

Kurzum: Lesen Sie Die Fahrt. Sie werden dieses Buch nicht mehr vergessen!
Vorname Name

Von Anne Nordmann, 02.06.2008