Category: Non-fiction

Christoph Türcke
Philosophie des Traums
[The philosophy of dreams]

Review

This journey leads us from the Paleolithic Age to the contemporary digital world of infatuation with the television screen, from the underworlds of human consciousness to the brightly lit landscapes of modern offices and TV worlds: whoever reads Christoph Türcke’s The Philosophy of Dreams will discover that the book encompasses far more than its title suggests. It is concerned with nothing less than the basic structure of our thought and feeling, with the history of human dreaming and waking, and in addition to philosophy, it invokes anthropology and neurology, psychology and media sociology. Türcke makes it clear from the outset that without the capacity to dream mankind would never have become what it is today; and although animals dream too, what distinguishes the dream work of the human species is that it stores up the entire programme of the history of civilization.

In three long chapters, ‘Dream’, ‘Drive’ and ‘Word’, the Leipzig philosophy teacher unfolds the panorama of this history of civilization. Sigmund Freud’s decoding of dreams provides him with his system of coordinates but in many respects Türcke goes beyond the founder of psychoanalysis and probes the fractures in Freud’s work, exploring insights that transcend the established tenets of psychology. He begins, however, by paying attention to ‘the Paleolithic Age in us’, as he puts it, ‘that sediment of thought in Homo Sapiens deposited by millennia of laborious refinement of the nerves’. The hominids, who gradually learned how to give rocks a sharp edge in the course of painstaking, dedicated labour, shifted their attention from food to tools – this was a crucial displacement of instinctual energy, a training in endurance that was constantly refined over millions of years until it finally produced the first traces of culture. In the course of this struggle for survival, the physical attributes of Homo sapiens developed – his large brain and manual dexterity that go hand in hand with the deferred gratification of his instincts.

‘Condensation’ and ‘displacement’, the two central concepts of Freud’s Interpretation of Dreams, also serve as leitmotifs of Türcke’s philosophical approach. In the chapter headed ‘Dream’ he shows how Freud’s use of potent metaphors enables him to transpose the process of dreaming into an entirely new cultural setting. ‘Condensation’ and ‘displacement’ are the two ‘master processes’ that allow us to smuggle a particular motif past the ‘censor’ and into the dream and in that way to process material that is not amenable by the light of day. However, Freud was himself constrained to revise his thesis that dreams are wish-fulfilments. Soldiers traumatized in the First World War spoke a different language and this led Freud to introduce the death instinct into his theory. Soldiers returning home from the front found themselves experiencing a traumatic repetition compulsion. Their nervous system attempted to exorcise their terror by repeating it; they hoped to get rid of it by internalizing it. It is at this point that Türcke’s path diverges from Freud’s.

According to Türcke, there is something more fundamental than the erotic. It is the drive to escape from terror. And culture too may be said to have arisen from such repetition compulsions. Why do we assume the arduous burdens of culture, why are we so concerned to invent meanings, if we could manage without all that? ‘No drive-motivated being acts in this way from pure pleasure or out of caprice’, Türcke writes. He surmises that early collectives of hominids may well have reacted in a similar way to bad weather and wild animals, that is to say, they repeated the forces of nature by performing ritual sacrifices. The sacrifice is the earliest form of traumatic repetition compulsion. It represents the condensation and displacement of the terrors of nature – a mechanism that Freud believes originates with dreams. Stoning people to death, human sacrifices, burials – the first rituals arise from the traumatic compulsion to repeat, which at first does away with only the most unbearable excessive stimuli.

At key points of his history of civilization Türcke identifies an unbearable suffering, a terror that cannot be endured, and in this way he arrives at an utterly gory view of the humanization process. Everything is always deadly serious; the drives that lead mankind to achieve something new are seldom friendly or pleasurable. Sexuality can become the central driving force only after stoning and human sacrifices have done their worst. Sex is initially a symbol of something else, as Türcke shows in connection with the Gilgamesh Epic.

The process of condensing, displacing and reversing external terror unleashes the power of the imagination and also, in its wake, of language – it is the physiological activity of the nerves that drives human beings into taking further steps. But what exactly are drives? In his chapter on ‘drives’, Türcke ventures onto neurological terrain. He describes how nerve streams carve out paths, while fixed paths come into being. And in this original structure of repetition he perceives a physical prototype of the repetition compulsion that creates early ritual structures. One of his basic ideas here is once again that fear is the central motive force underlying the creation of human beings. Freud’s conception of the death instinct, which casts doubt on the validity of the pleasure principle, turns out to be no more than a spurious solution, in Türcke’s view. He prefers to install pain at the inception of the history of mankind. Unbearable pain is transformed by the traumatic compulsion to repeat into the cult of human sacrifice – ritual killings, in other words. This marks the beginnings of the history of the human mind.

In his chapter on ‘Words’ Türcke supplies the third pillar of his philosophy of dreams. The primitive imagination can only develop into true human mental activity if it is transformed into language. And here too we see terror at work: ‘The driving force behind the formation of sounds was traumatic shock, whose excess stimulation is on the lookout for ways out. One such way out is to emit sounds. People attempt, as it were, to expel the shock itself, to expunge it from their own organism.’ Words, then, start off as ‘exorcists’ that seek to ‘expel their cause, terror, entirely’. Türcke goes on to develop a complex linguistic theory or rather, a prehistory of language. That begins by naming the sacred, an action that converts terror into a protective power. This act of naming succeeds, over immense periods of time, in gradually endowing language with a grammatical structure.

The treatment of the final stage of Türcke’s archaeology of the mind, the ‘high-tech dreamtime’, is unfortunately somewhat compressed and given an inflection in the direction of cultural pessimism. The invention of film marks a historical caesura – it makes excessive demands on the human eye and man’s capacity to perceive in general. This downward spiral is constantly intensified by the world of our digital screens which deliver an unending series of visual shocks. Türcke fears for our basic ability to ‘dwell on things’, to process external impressions slowly and hence for our patience and dedication. ‘These dreamlike, hallucinatory sequences of images, ceaselessly broadcast by a global apparatus, make our living capacity to dream appear literally old, the images our dreams produce appear feeble in comparison and their entire activity seems to lag behind.’ He had argued along the same lines in his earlier book Erregte Gesellschaft, Philosophie der Sensation (2002) [Agitated Society, Philosophy of Sensation]. There he had warned about the flood of stimuli and the permanent state of over-excitement. However, these are the classical clichés dragged in whenever new media make their appearance. The truth is that printed books, novels, the radio and other inventions that begin by triggering panic demonstrate that the world does not come to an end; it just becomes a little less transparent.

The fact that The Philosophy of Dreams is speculative in some of its crucial passages can be seen as pure gain. After all, rehabilitating speculating as a philosophical method is precisely what Türcke sets out to do. We do not need to endorse every aspect of his attempt to explain the whole of culture as the product of the terror of killing– from human sacrifice via burial rites and on to the incest taboo and even right down to the creation of music. There are other theories which explain human development in less bloodthirsty terms. Nevertheless, The Philosophy of Dreams makes for riveting reading (we may draw attention in particular to the passages where he trashes Chomsky’s universal grammar and Lacan’s poststructuralist phallocracy). Türcke confronts us with the major questions without getting sidetracked in evolutionary, sociobiological, utilitarian or other one-dimensional explanations. How hominids became human beings or, to put it even more bluntly, what human beings ‘are’, are still great unknowns and they cannot be decoded simply by methods drawn from either the natural sciences or the humanities on their own.

Freud chose a verse from Virgil’s Aeneid as his motto: ‘Flectere si nequeo superos, Acheronta movebo’ (‘If Heaven I cannot bend, then Hell I shall arouse’). Türcke for his part turns Freud into the Virgil who will guide him through the underworld of dreams. And anyone who lets himself be guided by The Philosophy of Dreams can look forward to an exacting, but also an original and inspiring journey through the night.
Jutta Person

By Jutta Person, 01.12.2009

Jutta Person, born 1971 in South Baden, studied German, Italian and Philosophy in Cologne and Italy and earned her doctorate with a dissertation on the History of Physiognomy in the 19th Century. The journalist and cultural scientist is based in Berlin and writes for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Literaturen, Die Zeit and the Philosophie Magazin. From 2004 – 2007, she was an editor at Literaturen, since October 2011, she has been in charge of the books department at Philosophie Magazin. She was a member of the jury for the German Book Prize in 2012.

(Updated: 2019)

Translated by Rodney Livingstone

Sparte: Sachbuch

Christoph Türcke
Philosophie des Traums

Buchbesprechung

Diese Reise führt von der Altsteinzeit bis in die bildschirmverliebte digitale Gegenwart, von den Unterwelten des menschlichen Bewusstseins bis in taghell ausgeleuchtete Büro-Landschaften und TV-Welten: Wer Christoph Türckes „Philosophie des Traums“ liest, wird feststellen, dass dieses Buch sehr viel mehr umfasst, als sein Titel vermuten ließe. Um nichts weniger als die Grundstruktur des Denkens und Fühlens geht es, um eine Menschheitsgeschichte des Träumens und Wachens, und neben der Philosophie kommen auch Anthropologie und Neurologie, Psychologie und Mediensoziologie zum Zuge. Ohne den Traum, dies macht Türcke von Beginn an deutlich, wäre der Mensch nicht zu dem geworden, was er ist; und obwohl auch Tiere träumen, ist in der Traumarbeit der menschlichen Spezies das ganze Programm ihrer Zivilisationsgeschichte aufgespeichert.

In drei großen Kapiteln, „Traum“, „Trieb“ und „Wort“, entfaltet der in Leipzig lehrende Philosoph das Panaroma dieser Zivilisationsgeschichte. Sigmund Freuds Entschlüsselung des Traums liefert dabei das Koordinatensystem, und doch führt Türcke in vielen Punkten über den Begründer der Psychoanalyse hinaus, untersucht die Bruchstellen in Freuds Werk und wagt Neuansätze jenseits der etablierten Psychologie. Zunächst einmal aber widmet sich das Buch „der Altsteinzeit in uns“, wie Türcke schreibt, „jenem Bodensatz des Denkens, den erst mühselige, jahrtausendelange Nervenarbeit im Homo sapiens abgelegt hat“. Die Hominiden, die in hingebungsvoller Kleinarbeit Geröllsteine scharfkantig machten, verschoben ihre Aufmerksamkeit von der Nahrung auf das Werkzeug – hier setzt eine entscheidende Verlagerung von Triebenergie ein, ein Ausdauertraining, das sich über die Jahrmillionen verfeinerte und erste Spuren von Kultur hervorbrachte. Im Zuge dieses Überlebenskampfes entwickelt sich auch die physische Ausstattung des Homo sapiens, sein großes Gehirn und seine manuelle Geschicklichkeit gehen mit der Fähigkeit zum Triebaufschub einher.

Verdichtung und Verschiebung, die beiden zentralen Begriffe in Freuds „Traumdeutung“, sind dabei leitmotivisch auch für Türckes philosophischen Ansatz. In seinem „Traum“-Kapitel führt er aus, wie Freud den Prozess des Träumens mithilfe starker Metaphern in ein ganz neues kulturelles Setting überführt. Zwei „Werkmeister“ sind es, nämlich Verdichtung und Verschiebung, die am „Zensor“ vorbei ein bestimmtes Motiv in den Traum schmuggeln, der wiederum das verarbeitet, was bei Tag nicht möglich ist. Doch seine These vom Traum als Wunscherfüllung muss Freud selbst revidieren: die Kriegstraumatisierten des Ersten Weltkrieg sprechen eine andere Sprache, so dass Freud einige Jahre später den Todestrieb in seine Theorie einführt. Die Kriegsheimkehrer erleben einen traumatischen Wiederholungszwang, ihr Nervensystem versucht, den Schrecken durch Wiederholung zu bannen, ihn loszuwerden, indem er einverleibt wird. Hier wählt Türcke einen anderen Weg als Freud.

Dem Philosophen zufolge gibt es etwas Elementareres als das Erotische, nämlich den Trieb, vom Schrecken loszukommen. Und aus ähnlichen Wiederholungszwängen heraus entsteht auch Kultur. Warum nimmt man etwas so Mühevolles wie Kultur auf sich, warum erfindet man Bedeutungen, wenn es auch ohne ginge? „Kein triebgesteuertes Wesen tut so etwas aus Lust und Laune“, schreibt Türcke. Ganz ähnlich müssen die frühen Hominidenkollektive auf Unwetter und wilde Tiere reagiert haben, spekuliert er – mit der Wiederholung der Naturgewalten im rituellen Opfer. Das Opfer ist die früheste Form des traumatischen Wiederholungszwangs, in ihm wird der Naturschrecken verdichtet und verschoben – ein Mechanismus, der für Freud erst mit der Traumbildung einsetzt. Steinigungen, Menschenopfer, Bestattungen – die ersten Rituale entstehen durch den traumatischen Wiederholungszwang, der zunächst nur die unerträgliche Reizüberschüsse abführt.

An den zentralen Stellen seiner Zivilisationsgeschichte setzt Türcke auf eine unerträgliche Not, einen nicht auszuhaltenden Schrecken und kommt so zu einer recht blutrünstigen Menschwerdung: immer ist es tödlicher Ernst, selten sind es freundliche oder gar lustvolle Triebe, die den Menschen zu irgendetwas bringen. Die Sexualität kann erst nach Menschenopfer und Steinigung zur zentralen Triebkraft werden; Sexualität ist zunächst ist ein Symbol für etwas anderes, wie Türcke am Gilgamesch-Epos vorführt.

Durch Verdichtung, Verschiebung und Umkehrung des äußeren Schreckens entsteht die Kraft der Imagination und in ihrem Zuge auch die Sprache – es sind physiologische Nervenleistungen, die den Menschen zu etwas treiben. Was aber genau ist ein Trieb? In seinem „Trieb“-Kapitel wagt Türcke sich auf neurologisches Gebiet vor: Er beschreibt, wie Nervenströme sich ihren Weg bahnen, während feste Bahnen entstehen; und in dieser Ur-Struktur der Wiederholung entdeckt er eine physische Vorform des traumatischen Wiederholungzwangs, der die frühen Ritualstrukturen hervorbringt. Einer der Grundgedanken besteht auch hier wieder darin, dass die Angst das zentrale Movens der Menschwerdung ist. Freuds Konzeption des Todestriebs, der ja das Lustprinzip infrage stellt, erweist sich für Türcke nur als Scheinlösung. Verkürzt gesagt, entsteht bei Freud Kultur aus sublimierter Lust; dagegen setzt Türcke den Schmerz an den Beginn der Menschheitsgeschichte: das Unerträgliche wird durch den traumatischen Wiederholungszwang im Menschenopfer – rituellen Tötungen also – kultisch abgeleitet; hier setzt die Geschichte des Geistes ein.

Im „Wort“-Kapitel liefert Türcke die dritte Säule seiner Philosophie des Traums. Die primitive Vorstellungskraft kann erst dann zur eigentlich menschlichen Denktätigkeit werden, wenn sie sich in Sprache verwandelt. Und auch hier wirkt wieder der Schrecken: „Die treibende Kraft der Lautformung war traumatische Erschütterung, deren Reizüberschuss nach Auswegen suchte. Einer davon ist das Ausstoßen von Lauten. Es versucht gleichsam die Erschütterung selbst auszustoßen, sie aus dem eigenen Organismus herauszudrücken.“ Das Wort beginnt demnach „als Exorzist“, der „seinen Anlass, den Schrecken, aus der Welt schaffen“ will. Daraus entwickelt der Philosoph eine komplexe Sprachtheorie oder vielmehr: eine Vorgeschichte der Sprache. Die beginnt mit der Benennung des Heiligen, einem Akt, der das Schreckliche zur Schutzmacht umkehrt. Mit dieser Namensgebung entsteht, über immense Zeiträume hinweg, allmählich auch eine grammatische Struktur der Sprache.

Die letzte Stufe dieser Mentalarchäologie, „High-Tech-Traumzeit“, ist leider recht gedrängt und kulturpessimistisch ausgefallen: Die Erfindung des Films markiert einen epochalen Einschnitt – eine Überforderung des Auges und des menschlichen Wahrnehmungsvermögens, die sich in unseren digitalen Bildschirmwelten mit ihren permanenten Bild-Schocks immer schlimmer fortsetzt. Türcke fürchtet um die elementare Fähigkeit des „Nachsitzens“, des langsamen Verarbeitens von äußeren Eindrücken, und in der Konsequenz um Geduld und Hingabe. „Jene traumartigen, halluzinatorischen Bildsequenzen, die eine global installierte Bildmaschinerie unablässig ausstrahlt, lassen die lebendige Traumkraft buchstäblich alt aussehen: ihre Bilder vergleichsweise blass, ihre Tätigkeit als ein Hinterherhinken.“ Auch in seinem Buch „Erregte Gesellschaft. Philosophie der Sensation“ (2002) hatte er vor Reizüberflutung und Dauererregung gewarnt – dies aber sind die klassischen Klischees bei historischen Medienwechseln. Dabei beweisen Buchdruck, Romane, Radio und andere, anfangs so gefürchtete Erfindungen: die Welt geht von neuen Medien nicht so schnell unter, sie wird nur ein bisschen unübersichtlicher.

Dass die „Philosophie des Traums“ an entscheidenden Stellen spekulativ ist, kann man als Gewinn zu werten; Türcke versucht ja gerade, die Spekulation als Mittel der Philosophie zu rehabilitieren. Seine Rückführung der gesamten Kultur auf den Schrecken der Tötung – vom Menschenopfer über den Bestattungsritus bis zum Inzesttabu, ja, bis zur Musik – muss man nicht in allen Punkten teilen; es gibt andere Theorien, die die Menschwerdung aus weniger blutrünstigen Triebfedern erklären. Dennoch ist die „Philosophie des Traums“ eine überaus fesselnde Lektüre (großartig auch die Passagen, in denen Chomskys Universalgrammatik und Lacans poststrukturalistische Phallokratie gebasht werden). Türcke stellt die ganz großen Fragen, ohne deshalb auf evolutionspsychologische, soziobiologische, utilitaristische oder ähnlich eindimensionale Erklärungen auszuweichen. Wie die Hominiden zu Menschen wurden, oder, noch wuchtiger formuliert, was der Mensch „ist“, sind die großen Unbekannten, die sich weder rein geistes- noch rein naturwissenschaftlich entschlüsseln lassen.

Freud hatte sich einen Vers aus Vergils Aeneis zum Motto gemacht („Flectere si nequeo superos, Acheronta movebo – „Kann ich die höheren Mächte nicht beugen, bewege ich doch die Unterwelt“), Türcke wiederum macht Freud zu seinem Vergil auf dem Weg in die Traum-Unterwelten. Und wer sich die „Philosophie des Traums“ zum Reiseführer nimmt, kann sich auf eine zwar strapaziöse, aber ebenso originelle wie inspirierende Nachtwanderung gefasst machen.
Jutta Person

Von Jutta Person, 01.12.2009

Jutta Person ist Literaturkritikerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin, sie schreibt unter anderem für die "Süddeutsche Zeitung", "Literaturen" und "Die Zeit". Beim "Philosophie Magazin" betreut sie als Redakteurin das Ressort Sachbücher.