Category: Non-fiction

Herfried Münkler
Imperien. Die Logik der Weltherrschaft
[Empires. The logic of world domination]

Review

In his new book, Herfried Münkler treats the nature and significance of empires, a field of research on which no new studies have been conducted for a long time. Numerous publications in recent years have dealt with the global political role of the United States, but Münkler feels that most of these assume a “normative, evaluative perspective” that aims to support the proponents’ “long since preconceived positions.”

Münkler’s examination, on the other hand, approaches its subject in a “descriptive, analytical” manner. By describing and comparing the historical world empires and examining their actions both at the center and the peripheries, he makes it possible to draw conclusions about the options and risks facing empires in general. Many of these conclusions can be applied to the current global situation, thereby shedding light on the role and actions of the United States. Münkler does not take sides, he simply takes up the central question behind many of the crucial debates concerning the United States: “Does the world community need to rely on a supreme, imperial power for its own security? Or does this imperial power represent a grave disruption of the world order. …?”

For now it will be left open whether or not viewing the patterns of action of an imperial power from its own perspective and inner logic, as Münkler is occasionally accused of doing, is in itself assuming a “Machiavellian” point of view. Counterplans often introduce the Kantian notion of the peaceful and egalitarian coexistence of countries. Münkler’s book aims precisely to avoid such a polarization of perspectives, since it is of course far from Münkler’s intent to undervalue, let alone depict as naïve, the ideal of peaceful coexistence of peoples. He says it is important to consider, however, that the European experience is not always directly transferable to all other regions of the world. Since the decline of the Roman Empire, no significant imperial power has been able to develop in Europe. All European world empires, such as the Spanish, Portuguese, or British empires, were centered in Europe, but their peripheral expansion was located in Africa, Asia, and the Americas. Within Europe, a model of equal states under international law developed, whereas the political structures in most regions outside of Europe are based on contrasting experiences that might cause other political paths to seem more appropriate.

Münkler divides his book into six chapters, which lead step by step from a definition of the term empire as opposed to imperialism and hegemony, to a typology of the world empires, and to patterns of actions taken by imperial powers. Finally, he offers an analysis of the current world situation along with prospects of future options open to the European community of countries. In addition to notes and an extensive bibliography, the appendix also provides maps of historical empires from Ancient Greece to the empires of the Mongols and Chinese, Spanish, and British, right up to the current stationing of U.S. armed forces throughout the world.

Münkler first develops a definition of the term empire by describing spatial and temporal characteristics that need to be satisfied in order to speak of an empire in the first place. He also contrasts the term empire to that of state and hegemonic state. What conditions favor the development of an empire? The third chapter is dedicated to a typology of historical empires. Whereas the steppe empires such as those of the Mongols only advanced from the center out to the peripheral territories for booty, the classical thalassocracies such as Portugal and England controlled the trade routes and movement of goods, integrating areas far removed from their imperial centers into their trade relations. Large territorial empires, finally, needed a large military apparatus in order to secure the huge land areas.

In order for empires to remain secure over time it is imperative that they integrate the margins, letting them participate in the profits in both material and nonmaterial terms. No empire can establish itself long term without building up the infrastructure on the periphery. At the same time, however, this leads to a “pull of the margins”; marginal regions press into the empire’s sphere of influence in order to share in the benefits. If an imperial power can successfully pass the so-called “Augustan threshold” from expansionism to the more extensive consolidation phase by integrating the peripheries in terms of infrastructure, economy, and if possible also politics, the chances of consolidating the empire thereby grow.

Long-term high military costs and extensive infrastructural investments without the corresponding advantages for the center, on the other hand, carry the risks of “overexpansion” and thus instability for the imperial actor, who must provide some justification of his actions, especially materially, to the center. A balanced cost-benefit analysis is particularly necessary in so-called “democratic empires,” whose decisions must be legitimated by the voters.

In order to justify its actions and provide evidence that imperial action is generally necessary, the empire needs a mission. In the case of the Spanish empire in Latin America, this mission was to spread Christianity, and the British Empire asserted the principles of democracy and human rights in many places; today, the United States also has this missionary aim.

The sixth and final chapter of Münkler’s book deals with the current situation and the options open to the European countries. If Europe does not want to limit itself to participating in the costs of the imperial actions of the United States without being able to intervene in the decision-making processes, then according to Münkler it must act at least partly as an empire itself, and become actively engaged in the crisis regions beyond its perimeters.

Münkler’s work is exemplary in its consideration of the present state of research, consulting all substantial sources on the subject of empire, theories of imperialism, and the role of hegemonic powers. Correspondingly extensive is the bibliography in the appendix, so that once one’s interest in the subject is sparked from reading this very informative book, a lot more can be discovered. Münkler’s style is objective without being dry. He always illustrates his statements by means of historical examples that are easy to visualize using the maps provided.

It is through the precise analysis of imperial structures that concrete political conclusions can be drawn. That is what makes this work stand out among the many books written in recent years on the role of the United States. Münkler’s analysis offers the European situation a number of new approaches and ideas through which to position the European Union within the global power play.
Heike Friesel

By Heike Friesel, 18.05.2006

Translated by Allison Brown

Sparte: Sachbuch

Herfried Münkler
Imperien. Die Logik der Weltherrschaft

Buchbesprechung

Herfried Münkler befasst sich in seinem Buch mit dem Wesen und der Bedeutung von Imperien, ein Forschungsfeld, zu dem es seit langem keine Untersuchungen gegeben habe. Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen haben sich zwar in den letzten Jahren mit der weltpolitischen Rolle der USA auseinandergesetzt, doch die meisten dieser Titel nehmen laut Münkler eine „normativ-wertende Perspektive“ ein, die die eigenen, „längst zuvor bezogenen Positionen stützen“ solle.

Münklers Untersuchung hingegen nähert sich ihrem Gegenstand auf „deskriptiv-analytische“ Weise. Indem Münkler die Weltreiche der Geschichte beschreibt, vergleicht und in ihrem Handeln sowohl in ihrem Zentrum als auch in der Peripherie untersucht, ermöglicht er Schlüsse über die Möglichkeiten und Risiken von Imperien generell. Viele dieser Schlussfolgerungen lassen sich auf die aktuelle Weltlage anwenden, so dass sich ein erhellender Blick auf die Rolle und das Verhalten der USA ergibt. Münkler ergreift nicht Partei, er nimmt nur die zentrale Frage auf, die hinter vielen der akuten USA-Debatten steht: „Ist die Weltgemeinschaft zu ihrer eigenen Sicherheit auf eine imperiale Vormacht angewiesen? Oder stellt diese imperiale Vormacht eine gravierende Störung der Weltordnung dar […]?“

Ob es schon eine „macchiavellistische“ Sicht der Dinge ist, die Handlungsmuster einer imperialen Macht aus deren eigener Perspektive und inneren Logik zu betrachten, wie es Münkler mitunter vorgeworfen wird, sei einmal dahingestellt. Als Gegenentwurf wird dabei oft die Kant’sche Vorstellung von der friedlichen und gleichberechtigten Existenz der Staaten angeführt. Eine solche Polarisierung der Perspektiven will Münkler mit seinem Buch gerade nicht unterstützen, denn es liegt ihm natürlich fern, das Ideal des friedlichen Zusammenlebens der Völker gering zu schätzen oder gar für naiv zu halten. Er gibt aber zu bedenken, dass sich die europäischen Erfahrungen nicht ohne weiteres auf alle Regionen der Welt übertragen lassen. In Europa konnte sich seit dem Niedergang des Römischen Reiches keine imperiale Macht von Bedeutung mehr entwickeln: alle europäischen Weltreiche wie das spanische, portugiesische oder britische Imperium hatten zwar ihr Zentrum in Europa, die ausgedehnte Peripherien aber befanden sich in Afrika, Asien und Amerika. Innerhalb Europas hingegen entwickelte sich das Modell völkerrechtlich gleichgestellter Staaten. Die politischen Strukturen in den meisten Regionen außerhalb Europas gründen aber auf gegensätzlichen Erfahrungen, die möglicherweise andere politische Wege sinnvoller erscheinen lassen.

Münkler unterteilt sein Buch in sechs Kapitel, die Schritt für Schritt von einer Definition des Begriffes „Imperium“ in Abgrenzung zu „Imperialismus“ und „Hegemonie“ über eine Typologie der Weltreiche bis hin zu Handlungsmustern imperialer Mächte führen und schließlich eine Analyse der heutigen Weltsituation und einen Ausblick in zukünftige Möglichkeiten der europäischen Staatengemeinschaft bieten. Ergänzend finden sich im Anhang Karten zu historischen Imperien von den Athenern über die Reiche der Mongolen und Chinesen, Spanier und Briten bis hin zur aktuellen Stationierung von US-Streitkräften in der ganzen Welt, außerdem Anmerkungen und ausführliche Literaturhinweise.

Zunächst entwickelt Münkler eine Definition des Imperiumsbegriffs, zum einen, indem er zeitliche und räumliche Merkmale beschreibt, die erfüllt sein müssen, damit überhaupt von einem Imperium gesprochen werden kann. Zum anderen stellt er den Begriff des Imperiums jenen des Staates und des Hegemonialstaates gegenüber. Welche Bedingungen begünstigen die Entstehung eines Imperiums? Im dritten Abschnitt widmet sich Münkler einer Typologie historischer Imperien: Während die Steppenimperien wie die der Mongolen jeweils nur dann vom Zentrum in die Gebiete der Peripherie vorstießen, um Beute zu machen, kontrollierten die klassischen See-Imperien wie Portugal oder England die Handelsrouten und Warenströme und integrierten auch die weit vom imperialen Zentrum entfernten Gebiete in ihre Handelsbeziehungen. Große Landimperien schließlich benötigten große Militärapparate, um die riesigen Territorien zu sichern.

Um das Imperium auch auf Dauer zu sichern, ist es unverzichtbar, seine Ränder zu integrieren und an den Gewinnen materiell und ideell teilhaben zu lassen. Ohne den Ausbau der Infrastruktur in der Peripherie kann sich kein Imperium dauerhaft etablieren. Gleichzeitig entsteht auf diese Weise aber ein „Sog der Ränder“, Randregionen drängen in den Einflussbereich des Imperiums, um an den Vorteilen zu partizipieren. Gelingt es der imperialen Macht, die „augusteische Schwelle“ zu überwinden und die Peripherie infrastrukturell, ökonomisch und möglicherweise auch politisch einzubinden, so steigt damit die Wahrscheinlichkeit der Konsolidierung des Imperiums.

Langfristig hohe militärische Kosten und aufwändige Infrastrukturinvestitionen ohne entsprechenden Nutzen für das Zentrum hingegen bergen die Gefahr einer „Überdehnung“ und damit der Instabilität des imperialen Akteurs, der sein Handeln im Zentrum ideell und in noch stärkerer Weise materiell rechtfertigen muss. Vor allem in so genannten „demokratischen Imperien“, die ihre Entscheidungen von den Wählern legitimieren lassen müssen, ist die Notwendigkeit einer ausgewogenen Kosten-Nutzen-Relation besonders groß.

Um seine Handlungen zu rechtfertigen und die generelle Notwendigkeit imperialen Handelns zu belegen, braucht das Imperium eine Mission. Im Falle des spanischen Imperiums in Lateinamerika bestand diese in der Verbreitung des christlichen Glaubens, das Britische Imperium setzte vielerorts Grundsätze der Demokratie und der Menschenrechte durch, und auch die Vereinigten Staaten haben heute diesen missionarischen Anspruch.

Im sechsten und letzten Kapitel befasst sich Münkler mit der aktuellen Situation und den Handlungsmöglichkeiten der europäischen Staaten. Will Europa sich nicht darauf beschränken lassen, sich an den Kosten des imperialen Handelns der Vereinigten Staaten zu beteiligen, ohne dabei in Entscheidungsprozesse eingreifen zu können, so muss es, so Münklers These, selbst zumindest teilweise als Imperium agieren und sich aktiv mit den Krisengebieten an seinen Rändern auseinandersetzen.

Münklers Arbeit stützt sich in beispielhafter Weise auf die vorhandene Forschungslage und zieht alle maßgeblichen Arbeiten zum Thema Imperium, Imperialismustheorien und der Rolle Hegemonialmächte heran. Entsprechend umfänglich ist die Literaturliste im Anhang, so dass man – durch die Lektüre dieses höchst aufschlussreichen Buches angeregt – noch vieles zu diesem Thema entdecken kann. Münklers Stil ist sachlich, ohne trocken zu sein. Er veranschaulicht seine Aussagen stets durch historische Beispiele, die man sich im Kartenteil noch einmal vor Augen führen kann.

Es ist die genaue Analyse imperialer Strukturen, die konkrete politische Schlussfolgerungen ermöglicht und dieses Buch aus der Menge der Titel heraushebt, die sich in den letzten Jahren mit Rolle der USA in der Welt befasst haben. Dabei bietet Münklers Analyse der europäischen Situation eine Reihe neuer Ansätze und Ideen für die Positionierung der Europäischen Union im globalen Kräftespiel.
Heike Friesel

Von Heike Friesel, 18.05.2006