Category: Children's Books

Ingke Brodersen
Carola Stern
Eine Erdbeere für Hitler
[A strawberry for Hitler]

“History through stories”

“Hitler” was the name a horticulturist and ardent Nazi supporter from North Germany wanted to give a brand-new and highly successful variety of strawberry in the summer of 1933. This tiny footnote in botanical history exemplifies the absurdity and outlandishness of Hitler-worship after the NSDAP’s success in becoming first the ruling party and then the sole political party in Germany, and graphically demonstrates the universal gullibility of the period that often appears to adults and young people today so baffling and even ludicrous. In their book, Carola Stern and Ingke Brodersen have succeeded in giving us a clearer picture of the rise of Nazism, and more especially of daily life and of the social mechanisms at work in Germany “under the swastika”. In six of the book’s chapters, six different authors deal with various aspects of life between 1933 and 1945. Some of these chapters are autobiographical, others fictional — but they are prefaced by an introductory section entitled “The ‘Führer State’. On the Rise of a Dictatorship” that is a purely factual overview, and as such forms a solid background to the chapters that follow it.

The narrative sections of the book are interspersed with information boxes that serve to explain concepts and institutions specific to the period, and thus constitute a kind of glossary spread across the book as a whole.

Three of the six narrative sections tell the story of everyday life in the 30s and 40s — though from very different perspectives. The chapter “Mit dem Führer auf Fahrt” (“Hiking with Hitler”), which focuses on Nazi youth organisations, depicts three children with very different experiences of Nazi-controlled childhood and adolescence. For the son of a family marked by unemployment and abject failure, the Hitler Youth represents his first ever chance to outdo others, experience adventure, and taste power; the daughter of a somewhat sceptical couple, on the other hand, uses absorption into the organisation as a way of distancing herself from her parents and their views; whereas the Christian girl from a protestant family finds herself doing a dangerous double act in her attempts to honour both the values prevailing at home, and the values prevalent at school and in her youth organisation.

In the chapter entitled “Warum muss ein Soldat töten?” (“Why Do Soldiers Have to Kill?”), Ursula Wölfel, a well-known German children’s author born in 1922, recounts the story of a block of flats in the Ruhr area. As time goes by the inhabitants of the house undergo a process of change: boys become soldiers in the Wehrmacht and write letters from the front; political differences turn friends into enemies, while strangers become friends. The longer the war goes on, the harder people become and the more entrenched their positions, while their subsequent lives are affected for ever by their experiences in the communal air raid shelter.

The everyday life of the majority of the German population is not the only thing depicted in this book, however, for it also focuses on the fate of Germany’s Jews. In the chapter “Himmel und Hölle” (“Heaven and Hell”) Miriam Pressler recounts the doleful story of Hannelore, a Jewish girl from Leipzig, whom we first see in a zionist youth group preparing to emigrate to Palestine. When the Second World War begins in 1939 these young people are taken to Denmark, where they live in relative safety with Danish families — until they are hauled off to Theresienstadt concentration camp by the Nazis. Their lives are saved purely and simply by the fact that they were taken there from Denmark, for they are rescued from the camp by the Danish Red Cross shortly before the end of the war, and thus saved from deportation.

The chapter “Sag nicht, es ist fürs Vaterland” (“Don’t Say It’s for the Fatherland”) shows that it is possible even under the most brutal of regimes to offer resistance. Hermann Vinke’s wide-ranging survey not only covers well-known resistance groups such as the “Weisse Rose” (“White Rose”), but also less well known organisations such as the “Rote Kapelle” (“Red Orchestra”). Vinke’s main concern is to show that despite the enormous risks there were many people whose moral convictions were more powerful than their fear of the regime. Solitary activists like Georg Elser and symbolic figures such as the protestant pastor Heinrich Niemöller rub shoulders here with the seemingly “unpolitical” Swing Kids of Hamburg and the largely aristocratic Wehrmacht officers who planned and carried out the failed assassination attempt of 20 July 1944. This chapter in particular, however, prompts readers to undertake further research, since, given its necessary brevity, it can offer only a preliminary sketch of these multi-faceted movements and individuals.

In the closing chapter the educationist Hartmut von Hentig recounts his experience of the end of the war and of the ensuing developments in Germany in 1945. He writes about such matters as the rumours of Hitler’s death, the deployment of young boys and old men in the Volkssturm militia, the Nuremburg Trials, and the Allies’ negotiations concerning the future of Germany — a country teetering on the very edge of the void.

The two editors see their book as a warning, and as a means of helping young readers in particular to identify totalitarian developments at an early stage, and to oppose them. The book’s depiction of the everyday life of young people make it easier for readers to imagine themselves in their shoes, while the various examples of people who chose to defy the regime demonstrate that for every individual there comes a crucial moment of decision, even though making such decisions often meant putting their own lives at risk. Carola Stern in particular stresses in her afterword how difficult it is for an individual to make a choice that runs counter to prevailing opinion. And she sees her own experience as a frightening example of youthful gullibility and belated insight.
Heike Friesel

By Heike Friesel, 19.01.2006

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Ingke Brodersen
Carola Stern
Eine Erdbeere für Hitler

„Geschichte in Geschichten“

„Hitler-Erdbeere“ – so wollte ein Nazi-begeisterter Gärtner aus Norddeutschland im Sommer 1933 seine neueste, erfolgreiche Züchtung nennen. Als Beispiel für die Skurrilität und die Grenzenlosigkeit der Hitler-Verehrung nach dem Aufstieg der NSDAP zur Regierungs- und dann zur einzigen Partei illustriert diese Randnotiz sehr deutlich die allgemeine Verblendung, die den heutigen Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen oft so unverständlich und auch lächerlich erscheint. Ingke Brodersen und Carola Stern ist es mit ihrem Buch gelungen, das Heraufkommen des Nationalsozialismus, vor allem aber das Alltagsleben und die sozialen Mechanismen im Deutschland „unterm Hakenkreuz“ näher zu bringen. In sechs Kapiteln befassen sich sechs Autoren mit verschiedenen Aspekten des Lebens zwischen 1933 und 1945, einige der Texte sind autobiografisch, andere fiktiv, der einleitende Text „Von der Entstehung einer Diktatur“ ist hingegen – als Grundlage für die folgenden Abschnitte – ein reiner Sachtext.

In den erzählenden Teilen des Buches dienen Informationskästchen zur Erklärung zeitspezifischer Begriffe und Institutionen und bilden auf diese Weise ein über das gesamte Buch verteiltes Glossar.

Drei der sechs Texte erzählen vom Alltagsleben in den dreißiger und vierziger Jahren, allerdings aus sehr unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. Im Kapitel „Mit dem Führer auf Fahrt“, dessen zentrales Thema die NS-Jugendorganisationen sind, stehen drei Kinder im Mittelpunkt, die diese organisierte Kindheit und Jugend ganz verschieden erleben. Für den Sohn einer von Arbeitslosigkeit und Scheitern geprägten Familie bietet die Hitlerjugend zum ersten Mal die Möglichkeit, erfolgreicher als andere zu sein, Abenteuer zu erleben und Macht zu empfinden. Die Tochter eines eher skeptischen Elternpaares hingegen nutzt die Vereinnahmung durch die Organisation, um sich von den Eltern und deren Ansichten zu distanzieren. Für das christliche Mädchen aus evangelischem Hause ist vor allem der Spagat zwischen den Werten zu Hause und jenen in der Schule und der Jugendorganisation gefährlich.

Im Abschnitt „Warum muss ein Soldat töten“ erzählt Ursula Wölfel, selbst Jahrgang 1922 und eine bekannte deutsche Kinderbuchautorin, die Geschichte eines Mietshauses im Ruhrgebiet. Die Bewohner des Hauses verändern sich im Laufe der Zeit, Jungen werden zu Wehrmachtssoldaten und schreiben Briefe von der Front, Freunde werden wegen politischer Differenzen zu Feinden, Fremde zu Vertrauten. Je weiter der Krieg fortschreitet, desto mehr verhärten sich die Menschen und die Fronten, und die Erlebnisse im Luftschutzkeller prägen ihr weiteres Leben.

Doch nicht nur der Alltag der Mehrheit der Deutschen wird in diesem Buch geschildert, auch das Schicksal der jüdischen Bevölkerung Deutschlands ist Thema. Im Kapitel „Himmel und Hölle“ berichtet Mirjam Pressler vom Leidensweg des jüdischen Mädchens Hannelore aus Leipzig, das sich in einer zionistischen Jugendgruppe auf die Ausreise nach Palästina vorbereitet. Als 1939 der zweite Weltkrieg beginnt, werden die Jugendlichen nach Dänemark gebracht und leben dort in relativer Sicherheit bei dänischen Familien, bis sie von den Nazis ins Konzentrationslager Theresienstadt verschleppt werden. Nur die Tatsache, dass sie aus Dänemark kamen, rettet ihnen das Leben, als sie kurz vor Kriegsende vom dänischen Roten Kreuz aus dem KZ herausgeholt und vor der Deportation bewahrt werden.

Die Möglichkeiten, auch unter dem brutalsten Regime Widerstand zu leisten, beschreibt das Kapitel „Sag nicht, es ist fürs Vaterland“. Nicht nur so bekannte Widerstandsgruppen wie die „Weiße Rose“, sondern auch weniger bekannte Organisationen wie die so genannte „Rote Kapelle“ sind Gegenstand der umfangreichen Darstellung von Hermann Vinke. Ihm geht es vor allem darum zu zeigen, dass es trotz der großen Bedrohung viele Menschen gab, deren moralische Überzeugungen stärker waren als die Angst vor dem Regime. Einzelgänger wie Georg Elser oder Symbolfiguren wie der evangelische Pfarrer Heinrich Niemöller stehen hier neben der vordergründig „unpolitischen“ Swing-Jugend aus Hamburg und den meist adligen Wehrmachtsoffizieren, die das fehlgeschlagene Attentat vom 20. Juli 1944 planten und ausführten. Da im Rahmen eines solchen Kapitels aber nur ein erster Eindruck dieser vielschichtigen Persönlichkeiten und Bewegungen vermittelt werden kann, regt dieser Text besonders zum Weiterforschen an.

Im abschließenden Kapitel berichtet der Pädagoge Hartmut von Hentig, wie er das Kriegsende und die Entwicklungen in Deutschland im Jahr 1945 erlebt hat. Er schreibt von den Gerüchten über Hitlers Ende, vom Einsatz der Kinder und der alten Männer im Volkssturm, von den Nürnberger Kriegsverbrecherprozessen und den Verhandlungen der alliierten Siegermächte über die Zukunft Deutschlands, das in jeder Hinsicht vor dem Nichts stand.

Die beiden Herausgeberinnen verstehen ihr Buch als Warnung und Hilfe vor allem für junge Leser, totalitäre Strukturen frühzeitig zu erkennen und sich gegen diese zu stellen. Die Schilderung des Alltagslebens junger Leute erleichtert es den Lesern sich in deren Situation hinein zu versetzen, die Beispiele regimekritischen Verhaltens zeigen, dass es für den Einzelnen immer den Moment der Entscheidung gibt, auch wenn diese Entscheidungen oft lebensbedrohlich sein konnten. Vor allem Carola Stern geht in ihrem Nachwort auf die Schwierigkeit ein, sich als Individuum gegen die herrschende Meinung zu entscheiden. Auch ihre eigenen Erfahrungen wertet sie als erschreckendes Beispiel für jugendliche Verblendung und späte Einsicht.
Heike Friesel

Von Heike Friesel, 19.01.2006