Category: Fiction

Navid Kermani
Vierzig Leben
[Forty Lives]

Review

A book about God and the world: that, no more and no less, is what the well-known Islam scholar, Navid Kermani, offers us in Forty Lives, a collection of short — some extremely short — stories. They are not only about the cardinal concepts of Western culture and religion, eternal values such as love and reason, faith and duty, beauty and happiness, truth and fiction, they are just as much about Oriental wisdom and Persian mysticism — and many more things in heaven and earth besides.

Kermani’s pieces, which originally appeared in the Frankfurter Allgemeine and are here collected for the first time, bring together East and West just as naturally as they do comedy and despair, the material and the spiritual. The author, who was born in Iran and grew up in Germany, sets up correspondences between everyday happenings, commonplace settings and ordinary people on the one hand, and concepts of spirituality such as humility, goodness, consolation and revelation on the other.

Kermani puts these words, and others like them, under the microscope, seeking out their meaning, which is more than ever hidden today. He devotes one text to exemplifying each, all with titles in the same form: ‘On Hope’, ‘On Freedom’ etc. Contrary to expectation, however, these are not followed by philosophical disquisitions, but by literary miniatures of great poetic charm. In them Kermani explores the tonal range of these “cardinal” words through little, often grotesque stories from everyday life.

We feel his protagonists are people we know from our multicultural everyday world: the woman who lives in the flat across the way, LadyLilith, a chat-room acquaintance, a young woman from Isfahan and Professor Ioannis Rigas, “who, as is well known, teaches philosophy in Berlin but who, like all good men and true, is unwilling to leave Cologne, his home town, and so must endure the ever-worsening lot of the railway commuter.”

Kermani’s characters live in ordinary places such as the old Cologne district of Nippes or its yuppie ‘Belgian Quarter’, they trot along on match days to the Müngersdorf Stadium as loyal fans of FC Cologne, a team constantly flirting with relegation, or, as students of Sufi literature, take a job selling newspapers and soft drinks in a Hamburg kiosk. And it is in just such mundane surroundings — in the electrical store, at the pub on the corner, around the dinner table at home — that Kermani’s stories grant us a sudden, brief epiphany. Kermani has the ability to let true “beauty” shine through, to reveal great “wisdom”, or demonstrate the art of “contemplation” in the most unlikely and trivial of events.

All this is done with almost casual humour, for example in the story “On Curiosity” which describes how a certain Heiko Taylor “can spend hours, no, days, whole weeks booking a flight for some acquaintance or other,” which eventually leads to him writing, for an old school-friend, an encyclopaedic treatise on the mysteries of flight booking under the motto, “Human beings are human beings because they are different from all other human beings” — long after all their journeys have been booked and completed, of course.

Eccentric enthusiasts and searching sceptics, hesitant idealists and self-confident sporty types, all are united in their longing for faith, hope, love. And in these stories it always seems to be a matter of life and death, though told in a completely undramatic form and as succinctly as possible. Thus each of these fragments from a life represents, in the compass of only a few pages, one of the Forty Lives, as if seen under a magnifying glass, each little story becoming a kind of secularised saint’s life as, amidst all the mundane and the profane, it unexpectedly it touches on ultimate questions and allows us a fleeting glimpse of the spiritual.

With Forty Lives Kermani has written a book which is wise and whimsical, sad and funny, lightweight — both light and weighty. Taken together, these separate stories, only loosely connected with each other, combine to produce a picture of a world we all know and yet have never quite seen in that way: enlightenment guaranteed.!
Anne-Bitt Gerecke

By Anne-Bitt Gerecke, 19.04.2004

Translated by Mike Mitchell

Sparte: Belletristik

Navid Kermani
Vierzig Leben

Buchbesprechung

Ein Buch über die Gott und die Welt – nicht mehr und nicht weniger als das hat der bekannte Islamwissenschaftler Navid Kermani mit seinen Vierzig Leben, einem Band von Kurz- und Kürzestgeschichten vorgelegt. Denn hier geht es nicht nur um die „Königsworte“ abendländischer Kultur und Religion, um zeitlose Werte wie Liebe und Vernunft, Glauben und Pflicht, Schönheit und Glück, Dichtung und Wahrheit, sondern ebenso sehr um orientalische Lebensweisheit und persische Mystik – und noch vieles mehr zwischen Himmel und Erde.

Kermanis Feuilletons, ursprünglich in der Frankfurter Rundschau erschienen und nun gesammelt veröffentlicht, verbinden Orient und Okzident ebenso selbstverständlich wie Komik und Verzweiflung, Menschliches und Heiliges. Der aus dem Iran stammende und in Deutschland aufgewachsene Autor stellt Korrespondenzen her zwischen Alltagsgeschichten, Allerweltsorten und Durchschnittsmenschen einerseits und Begriffen des Heiligen wie Demut, Güte, Trost und Offenbarung andererseits.

Solche Wörter nimmt Kermani beim Wort und befragt sie nach ihrem heute mehr denn je verborgenen Sinn. Jedem von ihnen widmet er einen eigenen Exempeltext, und alle tragen sie Überschriften nach dem Muster „Von der Hoffnung“, „ Von der Freiheit“ etc. Doch entgegen der damit aufgerufenen Traditionserwartung folgt dem kein philosophischer Diskurs, sondern Literatur en miniature von hohem poetischen Reiz. Kermani erkundet in seinen Miniaturen den Klangraum dieser ‚heiligen’ Worte inmitten kleiner, oft skurriler Alltagsgeschichten.

Seine Protagonisten glauben wir aus unserer multikulturellen Alltagswirklichkeit zu kennen: So begegnen wir hier der Nachbarin aus dem Vorderhaus und der Chatbekanntschaft LadyLilith, der jungen Frau aus Isfahan und dem Professor Ioannis Rigas, „der bekanntlich Philosophie in Berlin lehrt, jedoch wie alle Gerechten seine Heimatstadt Köln nicht verlassen mag und also das immer schwerere Los eines Bahn-Pendlers trägt“.

Kermanis Figuren bevölkern Allerweltsorte wie Köln-Nippes oder das „Belgische Viertel“ der Domstadt, sie tummeln sich als treue Fans des ewig abstiegsgefährdeten 1. FC Köln im Müngersdorfer Stadion oder verdingen sich sufische Literatur studierend in einem Hamburger Kiosk. Und genau an solchen Orten der Alltäglichkeit wie dem Elektromarkt, der Eckkneipe oder dem heimischen Eßtisch wird in Kermanis Geschichten auf einmal ein Hauch von Ewigkeit spürbar. In den unscheinbarsten und nebensächlichsten Begebenheiten und Ereignissen vermag Kermani plötzlich die wahre „Schönheit“ aufscheinen zu lassen, die große „Weisheit“ zu offenbaren oder aber die Kunst der „Versenkung“ anschaulich zu machen.

Das alles geschieht hier mit beiläufigem Witz , wenn beispielsweise in der Geschichte „Von der Neugier“ geschildert wird, wie ein gewisser Heiko Taylor „Stunden, nein Tage, ganze Wochen damit verbringen [kann], für sich oder einen beliebigen Bekannten einen Flug zu buchen“, was ihn schließlich eine enzyklopädische Abhandlung über die Geheimnisse der Flugbuchung verfassen lässt, unter dem Motto „Der Mensch ist ein Mensch, weil er anders ist als andere Menschen“ – und das natürlich, nachdem alle Reisen längst gemacht sind.

Verschrobene Schwärmer und suchende Zweifler, zögernde Idealisten und zupackende Sportsfreunde: Sie alle verbindet die Sehnsucht nach Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung. Stets geht es irgendwie auch um Leben und Tod, aber in gänzlich undramatischer Form und denkbar lakonisch erzählt. Auf diese Weise werden die jeweils nur wenige Seiten langen Lebensausschnitte zum Exempel, stellen sie eines von Vierzig Leben wie unter dem Vergrößerungsglas dar, wird jede einzelne kleine Erzählung zu einer Art säkularisierter Heiligen-Vita, indem sie im Alltäglichen und Profanen unverhofft die letzten Dinge streift, das Heilige aufblitzen läßt.

Kermani ist mit seinen Vierzig Leben ein Buch gelungen, das klug und versponnen ist, traurig und komisch, leichtgewichtig, leicht und gewichtig. Zusammen gelesen ergeben diese selbständigen, nur lose verbundenen Erzählungen das Bild einer Welt, wie sie jeder von uns kennt und doch noch nie so gesehen hat – Erleuchtung garantiert!
Anne-Bitt Gerecke

Von Anne-Bitt Gerecke, 19.04.2004