Category: Fiction

Uwe Timm
Am Beispiel meines Bruders
[My brother's example]

Review

A diary, a few letters from the front, a comb, a tube of toothpaste, a packet of tobacco and the Iron Cross – for decades this was all that brought his brother Karl-Heinz, sixteen years his senior, within Uwe Timm’s reach. The successful author, an ardent story-teller, takes these ordinary objects as his point of departure in his study of his lost brother.

Timm’s brother volunteered for the SS Death’s Head Division in December 1942. He had fought in the German offensive at Kursk in Ukraine, where he died in October 1943 at the age of nineteen after both his legs had been amputated. In his latest book, My Brother’s Example, Timm describes Karl-Heinz’s life, cut far too short, and his long afterlife transfigured in the family’s memory. He probes his brother’s motives in volunteering for an elite Nazi unit, and the family values and structures that made that step if not likely at least possible.

Making use of his brother’s example, Timm pursues questions that have been of central importance to many German families since the Second World War, and for that very reason are often hushed up. Alternatively – and Timm presents this as an equally common counter-strategy – the incomprehensible involvement and actions of family members have been described again and again, “thus slowly eroding the original horror, making what happened understandable and ultimately entertaining”.

Timm sees the German past not in the abstract but as part of his own history, that is to say the history of his family, and therefore of his own present too: to approach it “in writing is an attempt to resolve what was merely retained in the memory, to find myself again.” Research into his family and self-confrontation thus merge in Timm’s clinically precise reconstruction of the figure of his brother.

Timm has tried to write about his brother several times before, repeatedly beginning to read his letters and diary entries, and he always had to give up. He felt an “apprehensive reluctance” to go on, such as he had felt in childhood for the fairy-tale of Bluebeard, which he could not read to the end until he was an adult. This approach in writing to the blind spot in the family tradition became possible only after the death of his parents and his sister. Not until then was he “free to write about him, and by free I mean that I could ask any questions and need not consider anyone or anything else.”

As he writes, his brother acquires contours: the big brother who was never there, who was “absent and yet present” and was constantly held up to little Uwe as an example. Setting out from the handful of extant letters and the diary, those few passages in which Karl-Heinz himself speaks in frighteningly curt, unemotional tones, Timm gradually puts together a psychological picture of his elder brother. He must have been a sensitive, dreamy boy who went to war full of idealism. At the same time, however, he wrote the apparently utterly callous diary entry that recurs like a leitmotiv: “Bridgehead over the Donez. 75 m away Ivan smoking cigarettes, fodder for my MG.”

An outstanding feature of Timm’s short prose work is the very fact that he does not resolve such contradictions, difficult as they are to grasp, nor does he try to reconcile them in retrospect. On the contrary: the collage-like text, consisting of remembered images, dreams, childhood anecdotes, incidents reported and experienced, and meta-reflections on the process of memory and of writing, bears witness to the way the narrator has wrestled with his material. Even the texture of his memoir thus reveals the contradictions and discontinuities of this painful written approach to a narrative subject that, while it may be distant in time, is emotionally very close to him. For the unspoken question behind the whole narrative is also, and constantly, what it has to do with the narrator himself.

Consequently his father, who fought in the First World War and characteristically maintained a military cast of mind until his early death, moves closer and closer to the centre of his research. This is not, however, a case of settling accounts with the paternal generation, but of approaching a father figure who remained alien to him in many ways with as open a mind as possible. Outright accusation is replaced here by the attempt to understand.

Not that Timm ignores the question of guilt and responsibility; on the contrary, he turns an unsparing gaze on the mechanisms of suppression at work within his own family. In the same way he dismantles carefully cultivated family legends, yet – and this is the great achievement of this book, a work that is humane through and through – yet without staging a pitiless showdown with his parents’ generation. Timm makes no excuses, but nor does he condemn either his father or his brother. Rather, he tries to show how in both cases “the horror arose from everyday life”.

It is through Timm’s radically personal vision that the reader too is drawn into this individual confrontation with historical responsibility. Timm becomes more than the chronicler of his own family’s tragedy; the many little snapshots which constitute his largely documentary account add up to an emotional history of the entire twentieth century in Germany. My Brother’s Example is a moving document that observes, with the utmost logical consistency, the fact that we cannot escape our own history but must accept it.

Seldom has that most awkward of all German subjects – the problem of the involvement of members of one’s own family in National Socialism – been so personally and yet discreetly, so laconically and at the same time movingly discussed. The narrator’s avoidance of anything sensational or in the nature of a manifesto is as impressive as his courage in identifying and bringing to light what is usually concealed. He neither accuses nor excuses. My Brother’s Example is a model of the way in which the phenomenon commonly described as “coming to terms with the past” can be more than a cliché and become a literary art form.
Anne-Bitt Gerecke

By Anne-Bitt Gerecke, 19.01.2004

Translated by Anthea Bell

Sparte: Belletristik

Uwe Timm
Am Beispiel meines Bruders

Buchbesprechung

Ein Tagebuch, ein paar Feldpostbriefe, ein Kamm, eine Tube Zahnpasta, ein Päckchen Tabak und das Eiserne Kreuz – das ist alles, worin sein sechzehn Jahre älterer Bruder Karl-Heinz für Uwe Timm jahrzehntelang greifbar war. Diese banalen Gegenstände bilden für den erfolgreichen Autor und leidenschaftlichen Erzähler Timm den Ausgangspunkt einer Recherche nach dem verlorenen Bruder.

Freiwillig hatte sich Timms Bruder im Dezember 1942 zur SS-Totenkopfdivision gemeldet. Er hatte an der deutschen Offensive bei Kursk in der Ukraine teilgenommen und war dort im Oktober 1943 im Alter von neunzehn Jahren gestorben, nachdem ihm zuvor bereits beide Beine amputiert worden waren. Von diesem viel zu kurzen Leben und dem entsprechend langen Fortleben des Bruders im verklärenden Familiengedenken erzählt Timm in seinem jüngsten Buch Am Beispiel meines Bruders. Er fragt nach den Motiven des Bruders, sich zu dieser Eliteeinheit der Nazis zu melden und nach den Familienwerten und -strukturen, die diesen Schritt wenn nicht befördert so doch möglich gemacht haben.

Am Beispiel seines Bruders spürt Timm damit Fragen nach, die für viele deutsche Familien seit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zentral sind und gerade deswegen so oft totgeschwiegen werden. Oder aber – und das stellt Timm zurecht als ebenso gängige Gegenstrategie heraus – die unfassbaren Ereignisse und Verstrickungen der eigenen Familienmitglieder wurden immer und immer wieder erzählt, „was das ursprüngliche Entsetzen langsam abschliff, das Erlebte fassbar und schließlich unterhaltend machte“.

Die deutsche Vergangenheit ist für Timm nichts Abstraktes, sondern Teil der eigenen Geschichte, nämlich der Familiengeschichte, und damit auch der eigenen Gegenwart: Sich ihr „schreibend anzunähern, ist der Versuch, das bloß Behaltene in Erinnerung aufzulösen, sich neu zu finden.“ Familienrecherche und Selbstbegegnung verschmelzen also in Timms genau sezierender Rekonstruktion der Bruderfigur.

Schon mehrfach hat Timm versucht, über seinen Bruder zu schreiben, hat immer wieder angefangen, dessen Briefe und Tagebuchnotizen zu lesen, und jedes Mal die Lektüre abbrechen müssen. Ein „ängstliches Zurückweichen“ wie er es als Kind gegenüber dem Märchen von König Blaubart empfunden hatte, das er erst als Erwachsener zu Ende lesen konnte. Möglich wurde diese schreibende Annäherung an den blinden Fleck in der innerfamiliären Überlieferung jedoch erst nach dem Tod der Eltern und der Schwester. Da erst war er „frei, über ihn zu schreiben, und frei meint, alle Fragen stellen zu können, auf nichts, auf niemanden Rücksicht nehmen zu müssen“.

Der große Bruder, der nie da, „in seiner Abwesenheit aber immer präsent war“ und dem kleinen Uwe stets als „das Vorbild“ vorgehalten wurde, gewinnt im Prozeß des Schreibens Konturen. Ausgehend von den wenigen erhaltenen Briefen und dem Tagebuch, den wenigen Stellen also, aus denen Karl-Heinz in erschreckend knapper, emotionsloser Form selbst spricht, setzt Timm nach und nach ein Psychogramm des großen Bruders zusammen. Ein sensibler, verträumter Junge muß er gewesen sein, der voller Idealismus in den Krieg gezogen ist. Zugleich ist er aber auch der Verfasser der leitmotivisch wiederkehrenden, vollkommen inhuman erscheinenden Tagebuchnotiz: „Brückenkopf über den Donez. 75 m raucht Iwan Zigaretten, ein Fressen für mein MG.“

Ein große Qualität von Timms kurzem Prosastück liegt genau darin, dass er derartige Widersprüche und Unfassbarkeiten nicht auflöst oder nachträglich harmonisiert. Im Gegenteil zeugt der collageartige Text aus Erinnerungsbildern, Träumen, Kindheitsanekdoten, Gehörtem und Erlebten und Meta-Reflexionen über den Prozeß des Erinnerns und des Schreibens von dem Ringen des Erzählers mit seinem Stoff. Auf diese Weise enthüllt bereits die Textur des Erinnerungsbuches die Widersprüche und Diskontinuitäten dieses schmerzhaften Heranschreibens an den zwar zeitlich fernen, aber emotional sehr nahe gehenden Erzählgegenstand. Denn hinter allem steht unausgesprochen immer auch die Frage, was das Erzählte mit dem Erzähler selbst zu tun hat.

In den Mittelpunkt der Recherche rückt daher immer mehr der Vater, der bereits im Ersten Weltkrieg gekämpft hat und bis zu seinem frühen Tod von soldatischem Denken geprägt bleibt. Es geht dabei jedoch nicht um die Abrechnung mit der Vätergeneration, sondern um eine möglichst vorurteilsfreie Annäherung an diese in vielen Punkten fremd gebliebene Vaterfigur. Die bloße Anklage wird hier durch das Bemühen um Verständnis ersetzt, was aber nicht heißt, dass Timm die Frage nach Schuld und Verantwortung nicht stellen würde.

Im Gegenteil richtet er einen schonungslosen Blick auf die Verdrängungsmechanismen innerhalb der eigenen Familie. Auf diese Weise demontiert er auch die sorgsam gepflegte Familienlegende, jedoch – und das ist die große Leistung dieses durch und durch humanen Buches – ohne zu einer gnadenlosen Abrechnung mit der Elterngeneration zu werden. Timm entschuldigt nichts, aber er verurteilt den Vater auch nicht, ebenso wenig wie den Bruder. Vielmehr versucht er zu zeigen, wie bei beiden „aus dem Alltäglichen […] das Schreckliche erwachsen“ ist.

Gerade durch Timms radikal persönliche Sichtweise wird auch der Leser in diese individuelle Auseinandersetzung mit der historischen Verantwortung hineingezogen. Timm wird so nicht nur zum Chronisten der eigenen Familientragödie, sondern die vielen kleinen Momentaufnahmen seines weitgehend dokumentarischen Berichts liefern zugleich eine Gefühlsgeschichte des ganzen deutschen 20. Jahrhunderts. Am Beispiel meines Bruders ist ein bewegendes Dokument, das sich mit äußerster Konsequenz der Erkenntnis stellt, dass man seiner Geschichte nicht entkommen kann, sondern sie annehmen muß.

Selten ist das immer noch heikelste aller deutschen Themen – die Frage nach der Verstrickung von Angehörigen der eigenen Familie in den Nationalsozialismus – so persönlich und doch diskret, so lakonisch und zugleich anrührend behandelt worden. Der Verzicht des Erzählers auf alles Manifesthafte oder Sensationelle beeindruckt ebenso wie seine Courage, Verschwiegenes einzukreisen und ans Licht zu holen, aus einer Haltung heraus, die weder anklagt noch beschönigt. Am Beispiel meines Bruders ist ein Exempel dafür, wie die sogenannte Vergangenheitsbewältigung aus dem Klischee heraustreten und zur literarischen Kunstform werden kann.
Anne-Bitt Gerecke

Von Anne-Bitt Gerecke, 19.01.2004