Category: Non-fiction

Irene Heidelberger-Leonard
Jean Améry. Revolte in der Resignation
[Jean Améry. Revolt and Resignation]

Biography

Review

Irene Heidelberger-Leonard, the editor of the critical edition of Jean Améry’s works published by Klett-Cotta, brings a vast detailed knowledge of the journalistic, essayistic, and literary publications of this important Austrian author to bear in portraying Améry’s nexus of personal experience, literary creation, and public resonance. Heidelberger-Leonard’s multifaceted portrait of an author who was quite influential in many arenas depicts him against the backdrop of his times and is extraordinarily successful in pointing up the aspects of these times that shaped Améry’s life and writings.

Jean Améry, born Hans Mayer in 1912 in Vienna, is known to German readers primarily for his essayistic writings. His essay “On Torture,” which came out in 1965, first as a radio essay and then in printed form in the journal Merkur, describes and analyzes his experiences in Nazi interrogations and concentration camps. A first-hand account of this sort, which retains an intellectual detachment despite the author’s personal familiarity with the topic, was unique at that time and even today. Additional essay collections followed in rapid succession, and Améry was in high demand for interviews and discussions, once the Germans had become receptive to reappraising their own past after the Eichmann trial in Jerusalem and the Frankfurt Auschwitz process that began in late 1963.

As Heidelberger-Leonard’s book demonstrates, however, Améry was far more than a “professional concentration camper,” as he sometimes dubbed himself in a mixture of mockery and resignation. In a conscientious manner that incorporates ample detail, the author leads the reader through more than forty years of literary production. She begins with Améry’s first writing attempts as a schoolboy named Mayer, then moves on to his stint in the “salt mines” as a journalist and his abovementioned major essay collections, and concludes with an examination of his stories. For the most part, the biographer focuses on Améry’s literary works and uses his books as a basis to shed light on his personal, cultural, and political milieu.

The first third of the book centers on his family background, particularly on the family’s Austrian Catholicism and Judaism on the paternal side, and on urban life in Vienna and immersion in the rural idyll of the Ischl Mountains. The concept of home Améry developed in his later years in exile evidently had its roots in this period.

Améry began to participate in intellectual life at an early age. He experienced the civil war-like clashes between fascists and “Austromarxists,” and gradually embraced the ideas of the Viennese Circle, particularly those of the neo-positivists Carnap, Schlick, and Wittgenstein. He experienced a “rush of clarity” before he was even twenty, and in 1934, when there was a revolt against the Dollfuss government, Améry took an active role. He saw the signs of fascism looming on the horizon, but stayed in Austria until 1938 nonetheless, because he did not want to have his home wrenched away from him.

With one exception, relating to Améry’s first narrative work, Shipwrecked, Irene Heidelberger-Leonard’s depiction adheres closely to the biographical data until 1945.

In Shipwrecked, Améry created his (first) alter ego: the novel’s protagonist Eugen Althager. This work, which was never published, provides a “history of the Austrian mentality of the 1930s from the perspective of an unemployed Jewish self-educated man and intellectual.”

Then came his flight from Austria, arrival in Belgium, and first arrest in Brussels—absurdly, as an “enemy alien.” After his flight from a French prison camp in Gurs and his return to Belgium, Améry and his first wife Regine joined the Communist resistance to the Nazis. In 1943, he was arrested and tortured, and later—after he was “recognized” as a Jew—transported to Auschwitz-Monowitz. In early 1945, the Germans evacuated the camp and Améry was brought first to Dora-Mittelbau, a subcamp of Buchenwald, then to the concentration camp Bergen-Belsen, where he was eventually liberated by British troops in April 1945.

Améry began working on his essay The Psychology of the German People back in the spring of 1945, as well as on various fictionalized memoirs in which he dealt with the experience of torture and other topics. In contrast to his essay “On Torture,” which came out twenty years later, his fiction made the “mind triumph over matter” by having the tortured victim succeed in duping his tormentors with lies. The Psychology of the German People in particular offers astonishing insights into Améry’s outlook directly after his stay in a concentration camp. Instead of pronouncing all of the German people guilty, he is convinced that they are “reeducable,” “able to take responsibility for [their] … actions,” and “redeemable.”

Existentialism, in particular the writings of Jean-Paul Sartre, provided Améry with a way of looking at the world that supported this will to confidence, yet his lifelong correspondence with his school friend Ernst Mayer, and numerous letters to and from Maria Leitner, document Améry’s ongoing misery about the world and his incessant fluctuation between sanguine confidence and a conviction that existence is utterly pointless.

Birth of the Present-Day Era was published in 1961. In this “cultural essay,” Améry sought to fathom “nothing less… than the entire western world.” In doing so, he emerged from the “salt mines” of commissioned work.

With Helmut Heissenbüttel’s support, Améry began to publish his most important texts beginning in the mid-1960s. Between 1965 and 1971 he published three volumes of essays: At the Mind’s Limits, On Aging, and Lean Journeyman Years. It appeared that for the first time Améry was getting the reaction he had hoped for. The intellectual community, notably Heissenbüttel, Andersch, Paeschke, Bachmann, and Canetti, waxed enthusiastic. He also received numerous honors.

These books formed a trilogy in which autobiographical and contemporary historical perspectives intersected. At the Mind’s Limits: Contemplations by a Survivor on Auschwitz and its Realities takes a hard look at his experiences as a concentration camp inmate, the loss of “cultural personality” and the “mind’s limits,” which “failed him” in his hour of greatest need.

On Aging: Revolt and Resignation was published in 1968. Here Améry constructed a parallel between “being Jewish” and aging, which, according to Heidelberger-Leonard “requires a fair amount of imagination” to grasp. In Améry’s view, the “gaze of the Other… [is what] makes the aging person an aging person, the same way that the gaze of the anti-Semite makes a Jew a Jew.” This book was also a big success and continues to be reprinted time and again.

The final volume of the trilogy, Lean Journeyman Years, was published in 1971. In this book, the author took the geographical and chronological junctures of his life as points of departure for reflections on his life and times. Vienna, Paris, Cologne, 1938, 1943, 1945, and 1966 were the points at which Améry described “the chronological development of the intellect.” Heidelberger-Leonard finds that quotations, memories, and constructions are so organically interwoven, and the vigor that breathes life into the ideas so inspired, that philosophy and literature converge.”

The last section of the biography focuses on Jean Améry as a writer of fiction. Apart from On Suicide: A Discourse on Voluntary Death, which was published in 1976 and caused a sensation, Améry devoted himself in the final years of his life to the major project of finally making a name for himself as a literary figure and not “just” as an essayist.

Lefeu, or The Demolition, which was published in 1974, went on to become Améry’s greatest literary work. The protagonist is Lefeu/Feuermann, a Holocaust survivor, in whose conflicted personality both buried past and self-determined present are given expression. Améry’s final foray into the field of fiction was the text Rendezvous in Oudenaarde. Here, too, he experimented with the relationship between reality and fiction and tried to make them as congruent as possible, with the goal of “substantiating the reality of literary characters.” Jean Améry did not live long enough to find out how the public reacted to it, since he took his own life in October 1978 in Salzburg.

Irene Heidelberger-Leonard’s biography succeeds in revealing the inextricable entwinement of Améry’s life, thought, and writings. Even though her style might not appeal to some critics, and the minute subdivisions of the chapters may detract from the flow of the text at times, this biography demonstrates the importance of Améry in his era and shows that his relevance extends far beyond the slogans we associate with him.
Heike Friesel

By Heike Friesel, 19.07.2004

Translated by Shelley Frisch

Sparte: Sachbuch

Irene Heidelberger-Leonard
Jean Améry. Revolte in der Resignation

Biografie

Buchbesprechung

Als Herausgeberin der bei Klett-Cotta erscheinenden Werkausgabe Jean Amérys verfügt Irene Heidelberger-Leonard über eine außerordentliche Detailkenntnis der journalistischen, essayistischen und literarischen Veröffentlichungen dieses bedeutenden Autors. Ihre Biographie des Österreichers Améry spiegelt diese Kenntnis wider, indem sie den Autor in dem engen Beziehungsgeflecht von persönlichen Erfahrungen, literarischem Schaffen und der Reaktion seiner Umwelt auf seine Veröffentlichungen darstellt. Das facettenreiche Bild eines in vieler Hinsicht maßgeblichen Autors entsteht vor dem Hintergrund seiner Zeit – und diese Zeit in ihren für Améry entscheidenden Aspekten darzustellen ist der Autorin in außergewöhnlicher Weise gelungen.

Jean Améry, 1912 als Hans Mayer in Wien geboren, ist der deutschsprachigen Öffentlichkeit vor allem durch sein essayistisches Werk bekannt. 1965 erschien, zunächst als Radio-Essay, danach gedruckt im MERKUR, seine Schrift Die Tortur, in der er seine Erfahrungen in Nazi-Verhören und Konzentrationslagern beschreibt und analysiert. Eine solche Darstellung aus erster Hand, die trotz der persönlichen Nähe zum Thema die intellektuelle Distanz bewahrt, war bis dahin – und ist es wohl bis heute – einzigartig. In kurzer Folge erschienen weitere Essay-Bände, und Améry wurde ein gefragter Interview- und Diskussionspartner, als die deutsche Öffentlichkeit, die sich nach dem Eichmann-Prozess in Jerusalem und den Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozessen ab Ende 1963 allmählich einer Aufarbeitung der eigenen Vergangenheit öffnete.

Heidelberger-Leonard zeigt in ihrem Buch aber auch, dass Améry weit mehr war als der „Berufs-KZler“, wie er sich selbst manchmal spöttisch-resigniert bezeichnete: Gewissenhaft und manchmal ein wenig detailverliebt führt sie den Leser durch mehr als vierzig Jahre literarischer Produktion, angefangen bei den ersten Schreibversuchen des Schülers Mayer über seine „Fronarbeit“ als Journalist und seine – oben bereits erwähnten – großen Essay-Bände bis hin zu seinen Arbeiten als Erzähler. In der Regel orientiert sich die Biographin am literarischen Schaffen Amérys und beleuchtet, von den Büchern ausgehend, die Beziehungen zu seinem persönlichen, kulturellen und politischen Umfeld.

Im ersten Drittel des Buches überwiegt die Darstellung des familiären Hintergrunds zwischen österreichischem Katholizismus und dem Judentum der Familie väterlicherseits, zwischen dem städtischen Leben Wiens und dem Eintauchen in die ländliche Idylle der Ischler Berge. Der Heimatbegriff des späteren Exilanten hat seine Wurzeln zum Teil sicher in dieser Zeit

Améry nimmt bereits früh am intellektuellen Leben teil, er erlebt die bürgerkriegsähnlichen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Faschisten und den „Austromarxisten“ mit und nähert sich im Denken dem Wiener Kreis um die Neo-Positivisten Carnap, Schlick und Wittgenstein an. Ein „Rausch der Klarheit“ erfasst den noch nicht Zwanzigjährigen, und als es 1934 zum Aufstand gegen die Regierung Dollfuß kommt, ist Améry aktiv beteiligt. Er erkennt die Zeichen des heraufziehenden Faschismus und bleibt dennoch bis 1938 in Österreich, denn er will sich die Heimat nicht nehmen lassen.

Mit einer Ausnahme, die sich auf Amérys erstes erzählerisches Werk, Die Schiffbrüchigen, bezieht, hält sich Irene Heidelberger-Leonards Darstellung bis 1945 eng an die biographischen Daten.

In Die Schiffbrüchigen schafft Améry mit dem Protagonisten Eugen Althager sein (erstes) alter ego. Der nie veröffentlichte Roman liefert eine „österreichische Mentalitätsgeschichte der dreißiger Jahre aus der Sicht eines arbeitslosen jüdischen Autodidakten und Intellektuellen“.

Es folgt die Flucht aus Österreich, die Ankunft in Belgien und die erste Verhaftung Amérys in Brüssel – absurderweise – als „feindlicher Ausländer“. Nach seiner Flucht aus dem französischen Gefangenenlager in Gurs und der Rückkehr nach Belgien engagieren sich Améry und seine erste Frau Regine im kommunistischen Widerstand gegen die Nazis. 1943 wird er verhaftet und gefoltert, später – nachdem er als Jude „erkannt“ wurde – nach Auschwitz-Monowitz verschleppt. Anfang 1945 evakuieren die Deutschen das Lager und Améry gerät über die Buchenwald-Außenstelle Dora-Mittelbau ins Konzentrationslager Bergen-Belsen, wo er schließlich im April 1945 von den britischen Truppen befreit wird.

Noch im Frühjahr 1945 beginnt Améry mit der Arbeit an seinem Essay Die Psychologie des deutschen Volkes sowie mit verschiedenen fiktionalisierten Erinnerungen, in denen er unter anderem auch die Erfahrungen der Folter verarbeitet. Anders als in seinem zwanzig Jahre später erschienenen Text Die Folter lässt er in der Fiktion den „Geist über die Materie siegen“, indem es dem gequälten Opfer gelingt, seine Peiniger mit Lügen zu täuschen. Vor allem aber Die Psychologie des deutschen Volkes erlaubt einen erstaunlichen Einblick in Amérys Haltung direkt nach der KZ-Haft. Anstatt die Gesamtheit der Deutschen schuldig zu sprechen, ist er überzeugt, dass sie „umerziehbar“ sind, „verantwortlich für [ihr] …Tun und besserungsfähig“.

Der Existentialismus und insbesondere die Schriften Jean Paul Sartres eröffnen für Améry eine Weltanschauung, die diesen Willen zur Zuversicht unterstützt. Der lebenslange Briefwechsel mit seinem (Schul-)Freund Ernst Mayer sowie die zahlreichen Briefe an und von Maria Leitner dokumentieren dagegen Amérys ständiges Leiden an der Welt, seinen unaufhörlichen Wechsel zwischen hoffnungsvoller Zuversicht und der Überzeugung von der absoluten Sinnlosigkeit des Daseins

1961 erscheint Geburt der Gegenwart, eine „Kultur-Reportage“, mit der Améry „nichts weniger (…) als die ganze westliche Welt“ ausloten will und mit der er zugleich aus der „Fron“ der Auftragsarbeiten heraustritt.

Von Helmut Heißenbüttel unterstützt, beginnt Améry ab Mitte der sechziger Jahre mit der Veröffentlichung seiner wichtigsten Texte. So erscheinen zwischen 1965 und 1971 die Essaybände Jenseits von Schuld und Sühne, Über das Altern und Unmeisterliche Wanderjahre. Zum ersten Mal, so scheint es, trifft Améry auf das Echo, das er sich erhofft, und die intellektuelle Öffentlichkeit, z.B. Heißenbüttel, Andersch, Paeschke, Bachmann und Canetti, äußert sich enthusiastisch. Hinzu kommen zahlreiche Ehrungen.

Es handelt sich um eine Trilogie, in der sich die autobiographische und zeitgeschichtliche Perspektive verbinden. So setzt sich Jenseits von Schuld und Sühne. Bewältigungsversuche eines Überwältigten mit seinen Erfahrungen in der Lagerhaft, dem Verlust der „kulturellen Persönlichkeit“ und den „Grenzen des Geistes“ auseinander, der ihm in der Stunde der größten Not „den Dienst verweigert“ hat.

1968 erscheint Über das Altern. Revolte und Resignation. Améry konstruiert hier eine Parallele zwischen „Judesein“ und Altern, die nachzuvollziehen laut Heidelberger-Leonard „einiger Phantasie bedarf“. In Amérys Sicht ist es „der Blick der Anderen (…), der den Alternden zum Alternden macht, genauso wie es der Blick der Antisemiten ist, der den Juden zum Juden macht.“ Auch dieses Buch ist ein großer Erfolg und wird in mehreren Auflagen immer wieder herausgebracht.

1971 erscheint der letzte Band der Trilogie: Unmeisterliche Wanderjahre, in dem der Autor die örtlichen und zeitlichen Zäsuren seines Lebens als Ausgangspunkte für seine „zeitbiographischen“ Überlegungen nimmt. Wien, Paris, Köln, 1938, 1943, 1945 und 1966 sind die Punkte, an denen Améry „die Zeitentwicklung des Geistigen“ darstellt. Heidelberger-Leonhard spricht hier von einer „Engführung von Philosophie und Literatur (…), so organisch ist das Verweben von Zitiertem, Erinnertem und Erfundenem, so inspiriert der Elan, der den Ideen Atem einflößt“.

Der letzte Teil der Biographie rückt den Erzähler Jean Améry in den Mittelpunkt. Außer seinem Aufsehen erregenden Buch Hand an sich legen. Über den Freitod, das noch 1976 erscheint, widmet sich Améry in seinen letzten Lebensjahren dem großen Projekt, doch noch als Literat und nicht „nur“ als Essayist zu reüssieren.

Lefeu oder Der Abbruch schließlich, 1974 erschienen, soll Amérys großes literarisches Werk werden. Protagonist ist Lefeu/Feuermann, ein Überlebender des Holocaust, in dessen zwiegespaltener Persönlichkeit verschüttete Vergangenheit und selbstbestimmte Gegenwart zum Ausdruck kommen. Amérys letzter Versuch auf dem Feld der Fiktion ist der Text Rendezvouz in Oudenaarde. Auch hier spielt er mit dem Verhältnis von Realität und Fiktion und versucht, diese so weit wie möglich zur Deckung zu bringen, wodurch die „Realität literarischer Figuren (…) erhärtet“ werden soll. Die Reaktion der Öffentlichkeit erlebt Jean Améry nicht mehr, da er sich im Oktober 1978 in Salzburg das Leben nimmt.

Irene Heidelberger-Leonard gelingt es in ihrer Biographie, das Leben, Denken und Schreiben Amérys in ihrer unauflöslichen Wechselwirkung darzustellen. Mag auch ihr Stil dem einen oder anderen Kritiker nicht gefallen, mag auch die sehr kleinteilige Gliederung der Kapitel an einigen Stellen den Lesefluss etwas beeinträchtigen: Diese Biographie zeigt, wie wichtig Améry in seiner Zeit war und dass seine Relevanz weit über die mit ihm assoziierten Schlagworte hinausgeht.
Heike Friesel

Von Heike Friesel, 19.07.2004