opening event in cairo
Litrix.de is launching its new special-focus Arabic World (2015-2017)

Ricarda Junge in Kairo
© Mohamed Samaha / Goethe-Institut Kairo

​With a reading by Ricarda Junge from her novel „Die letzten warmen Tage“ [The last warm days] and a presentation of the programme, the new special-focus was launched at the Cairo International Literature Festival. 

In order to facilitate the exchange of knowledge and culture between Germany and the Arabic world, the Goethe-Institut’s translation grant programme Litrix.de will support translations of German literature into Arabic for the next three years. Litrix.de was launched in 2003, and is an integral part of the “Literature and Translation Program” of the Goethe-Institut headquarters in Munich. Every three years, the program focuses on a specific language. Thus far, Litrix.de has sponsored the translation of approximately 100 titles in the following focus languages: ​​Arabic (2004-05), Chinese (2005-6), Portuguese: Brazil (2007-08), Spanish: Hispano America / Argentina (2009-11) and Russian (2012-14). The Arabic world is once again the special focus from beginning 2015 through 2017.

Litrix’s special focus on the Arabic world 2015-2017 was launched at the end of February 2015 in Cairo. The event was held at the Kotob Khan Bookstore with a conversation about translation and the grant program. The evening began with a lecture by Dr. Cherifa Magdi, who provided a historical context to the translation movement from German to Arabic.

In 1835, Egypt founded the first translation academy. Cherifa Magdi noted that French was the source language and that mostly military manuals and scientific writings were being translated at that time. Around 1920, “The Sorrows of Young Werther” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe was translated into Arabic, and at this time “Faust” was translated as well. “The quantum leap to translating into German took place in the 1960s,” said Magdi Cherifa. Yet, even to this day, there is still a problem with bibliography and lexicography. There continues to be a lack of good, modern German-Arabic dictionaries. “Translators are forced to refer to English or French to research unfamiliar words,” says the translator. Even today, particularly in the areas of ​​psychology and philosophy, works are translated from English and French into Arabic rather than directly from the German. The problem also exists in fiction; of the 14 translations of Hermann Hesse into Arabic, only three were translated directly from the German.

This is where the Litrix grant program comes in. “From the very beginning, the special focus in 2004- 2005 was Arabic, and we are extremely curious to find out what has developed since then,” says Shoshana Liessmann of Litrix.de. It is about promoting literary exchange between Germany and the Arabic world. For the next three years, contemporary German literature will be presented on our Literature Portal  www.litrix.de . A jury consisting of Germans and Arabs select the new titles. Each spring and autumn, a jury of German critics draws up a list of new publications in German. After that literary experts from the Arabic jury select ten to twelve titles to be presented during the year on the website. Thus, new titles will continually be presented at www.litrix.de for the next three years.

The jury chooses titles from three categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, and Literature for Children and Young People. Each book featured on the portal includes a detailed book review, a lengthy excerpt of up to 15 pages, author portraits and details about the publishing company in German, English and Arabic respectively.  “It is crucial for prospective publishers to get an impression of the language and rhythm of a book,” says Shoshana Liessmann. Through the website, interested publishers can then directly contact the licensing department of the German publishing company to inquire about the translation rights.

Litrix.de grant program will cover the costs of translation into Arabic and subsidizes the cost of the license as well. “We’re hoping, of course, that we will soon see many books translated into Arabic,” says Shoshana Liessmann. But the promotion and exchange program does not stop at translation. Once a book has been translated into Arabic, Litrix.de endeavors, in close cooperation with the various Goethe Institute’s in the region, to bring the Arabic public into direct contact with the German authors and their books, for example, at book fairs in the Arabic world and at readings. “This exchange is very important to us,” says Shoshana Liessmann.

Such an exchange began at the launch of the grant program in Cairo at the Kotob Khan Bookstore. The German author Ricarda Junge read from her novel, “The last warm days,” one of the books featured on Litrix.de. The novel focuses on the divided Germany and narrates what happens to a country when a political system encroaches on family life. “I hope this reading will inspire you to engage with the German language,” said the author to the audience.

What was it like for her to hear her text translated into Arabic? “I feel as if I understand Arabic now,” replied the author and laughed. In fact, during the reading of her text in Arabic, Ricarda Junge rightly noted that a different section was read than she had previously read in German. Translation always entails a transfer into another language, and this means that words will resonate differently, said Shoshana Liessmann. Thus far, two novels by the author Ricarda Junge have been translated into French and Swedish. “I had nothing to do with the translation into French, but in Swedish I had a lively exchange with the translator,” says Ricarda Junge. It was a great experience to work so closely with the translator. Some phrases and idioms simply could not be translated. “During the process, I realized that it becomes a completely different book in translation.”

Author
Amira El Ahl, lives and works in Cairo as a journalist and correspondent for the Middle East.
February 2015
Translation
Zaia Alexander

Eröffnung in Kairo
Neuer Litrix-Schwerpunkt Arabische Welt 2015-2017

Ricarda Junge in Kairo
Ricarda Junge | © Mohamed Samaha / Goethe-Institut Kairo

Mit einer Lesung von Ricarda Junge aus ihrem Roman „Die letzten warmen Tage“ und einer Vorstellung des Litrix-Programms wurde der neue Schwerpunkt im Rahmen des Cairo International Literature Festivals eröffnet.

Für den Austausch von Wissen und Kultur zwischen Deutschland und der arabischen Welt will sich in den kommenden drei Jahren das Übersetzungsförderungsprogramm Litrix.de des Goethe-Instituts einsetzen. Litrix.de existiert seit 2003 und ist Teil des Bereichs „Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung“ in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München. Im Drei-Jahresrhythmus konzentriert sich das Programm jeweils auf eine bestimmte Sprache. Bislang hat Litrix.de die Übersetzung von rund 100 Titeln der bisherigen Schwerpunktsprachen Arabisch (2004-2005), Chinesisch (2005-2006), Portugiesisch: Brasilien (2007-08), Spanisch: Hispanoamerika/Argentinien (2009-2011) und Russisch (2012-2014) gefördert. Von Anfang 2015 bis Ende 2017 steht nun erneut die arabische Welt im Fokus.

Der Startschuss für den Litrix-Schwerpunkt Arabische Welt 2015-2017 fiel Ende Februar 2015 in Kairo. In der Buchhandlung Kotob Khan in Maadi drehte sich einen Abend lang alles um Übersetzungen und das Förderprogramm. Zu Beginn gab die Übersetzerin Dr. Cherifa Magdi einen Einblick in die historischen Hintergründe der Übersetzungsbewegung vom Deutschen ins Arabische.

In Ägypten eröffnete die erste Übersetzungshochschule im Jahr 1835. Ausgangssprache war damals das Französische und primär wurden Militärhandbücher und naturwissenschaftliche Schriften übersetzt, wie Cherifa Magdi erklärte. Etwa um 1920 wurden „Die Leiden des jungen Werthers“ von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ins Arabische übersetzt, und aus dieser Zeit stammt wohl auch eine Übersetzung des "Faust". „Der Quantensprung in der Übersetzung aus dem Deutschen kommt in den 1960er-Jahren“, sagt Cherifa Magdi. Doch bis heute gebe es ein Problem mit der Bibliographie und der Lexikographie. Es fehle an guten, modernen Deutsch-Arabischen Wörterbüchern. „Es ist immer noch erforderlich, über das Englische oder Französische zu gehen, um unbekannte Wörter zu erforschen“, sagt die Übersetzerin. Bis heute werde, vor allem im Bereich der Psychologie und der Philosophie, noch oft vom Englischen und Französischen ins Arabische übersetzt statt direkt aus dem Deutschen. Das Problem gebe es auch in der Belletristik, so sind zum Beispiel von 14 arabischen Hermann Hesse-Übersetzungen nur drei direkt aus dem Deutschen vorgenommen worden.

Hier setzt das Litrix.de-Programm an. „Schon der allererste Förderschwerpunkt 2004 bis 2005 war Arabisch, und wir sind gespannt, was sich in der Zwischenzeit entwickelt hat“, sagt Shoshana Liessmann von Litrix.de. Es geht um den literarischen Austausch zwischen Deutschland und der arabischen Welt. Auf einem eigens dafür eingerichteten Literaturportal – www.litrix.de – wird in den kommenden drei Jahren zeitgenössische deutschsprachige Literatur vorgestellt. Die Titel-Auswahl trifft eine deutsch-arabische Jury. Jeweils im Frühjahr und im Herbst trifft eine deutsche Kritikerjury eine erste Vorauswahl aus den deutschsprachigen Neuerscheinungen, aus der die arabischen Literaturkenner dann in einem zweiten Schritt  die zehn bis zwölf Titel auswählt, die im Laufe des Jahres auf der Website präsentiert werden. So werden auf www.litrix.de in den kommenden drei Jahren laufend neue Titel vorgestellt .

Die Jury wählt Titel aus drei Sparten aus: Belletristik, Sachbuch und Kinder-/Jugendbuch. Zu jedem Buch gibt es auf dem Portal auf Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch jeweils eine ausführliche Buchbesprechung, umfangreiche Leseproben von bis zu 15 Seiten, Autorenporträts und Informationen zu den Verlagen. „Es ist wichtig, dass sich die interessierten Verleger einen eigenen Eindruck verschaffen können von der Sprache und dem Rhythmus eines Buches“, sagt Shoshana Liessmann. Über die Website können sich interessierte Verleger dann direkt mit der Lizenzabteilung des deutschsprachigen Verlags  in Verbindung setzen, um sich nach den Übersetzungsrechten zu erkundigen.

Das Übersetzungsförderungsprogramm von Litrix.de übernimmt die Kosten für die Übersetzung ins Arabische und gewährt auch einen Zuschuss zu den Lizenzkosten. „Wir hoffen natürlich, dass wir bald viele Bücher in arabischer Übersetzung vorliegen haben“, sagt Shoshana Liessmann. Doch die Förderung und der Austausch hören nicht bei der Übersetzung auf. Sobald ein Buch ins Arabische übersetzt ist, bemüht sich Litrix.de in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Goethe-Instituten in der Region darum, das arabische Publikum in direkten Kontakt mit den deutschen Autoren und ihren Bücher zu bringen, zum Beispiel auf Buchmessen in der arabischen Welt und bei Lesungen. „Der Austausch ist uns sehr wichtig“, sagt Shoshana Liessmann.

Dieser Austausch begann schon beim Startschuss des Förderprogramms in Kairo in der Buchhandlung Kotob Khan. Die deutsche Autorin Ricarda Junge las aus ihrem Roman „Die letzten warmen Tage“, einem der aktuell auf Litrix.de vorgestellten Bücher. Der Roman handelt vom geteilten Deutschland und erzählt davon, was es mit einem Land macht, wenn politische Systeme in Familien eingreifen. „Ich hoffe, Sie mit meiner Lesung für die deutsche Sprache begeistern zu können“, sagte die Autorin an das Publikum gerichtet.

Doch wie war es für sie, die Übersetzung ihres Textes ins Arabische zu hören? „Ich habe jetzt das Gefühl, ich verstehe Arabisch“, antwortet die Autorin auf die Frage und lacht. Denn tatsächlich bemerkte Ricarda Junge während der arabischen Lesung ganz richtig, dass ein anderer Teil gelesen wurde als der, den sie zuvor auf Deutsch gelesen hatte. Übersetzungen seien ja immer Übertragungen in eine andere Sprache, in der Wörter oft einen anderen Resonanzrahmen hätten, sagte Shoshana Liessmann. Bisher gibt es zwei Übersetzungen von Romanen der Autorin Ricarda Junge, eine ins Französische und eine ins Schwedische. „Vom Französischen habe ich gar nichts mitbekommen, aber im Schwedischen gab es einen regen Austausch mit dem Übersetzer“, sagt Ricarda Junge. Es sei eine großartige Erfahrung gewesen, so eng mit dem Übersetzer zusammenzuarbeiten. Manche Phrasen und Redewendungen ließen sich einfach nicht übersetzen. „Mir ist dabei klar geworden, dass es tatsächlich ein anderes Buch geworden ist.“
 

Autorin
Amira El Ahl, lebt und arbeitet als Journalistin und Korrespondentin für den Nahen und Mittleren Osten in Kairo.
Februar 2015