ViceVersa: German-Arabic Translation Workshop
The Inside Story

Arabische Übersetzerwerkstatt im Literaturhaus München 2017
© Goethe-Institut

When translators gather to discuss their projects, there is never enough time, regardless how much is available. Every aspect of the work is considered, reworked, deliberated, debated, doubted, questioned, turned around, discarded, restructured, reformulated. Tirelessly.

And the famous gold scale, which means weighing each and every word, becomes an indispensable tool that is constantly in operation. Everything gets thrown onto the scale: entire passages, sentences, phrases, words, letters, even periods, commas and exclamation marks.

We’re talking about the translated work, of course, but also about the original text. Given that translators are famous for being close and critical readers, during the process of translation questions inevitably get raised about the original. How should the written word be interpreted? What is the context? Is there a subtext? Are the constructions and formulations a question of the original language’s structure, or are they intended as a stylistic device? Can we identify the narrative voice? From which perspective is the story being told? The list of questions is endless.

The text is collectively scrutinized, examined, turned around, viewed from all sides, interpreted, viewed against the grain - both in form and content. And once these points have been clarified or addressed, seldom are we left with a definitive and unambiguous answer, because once again we are dealing with the question of translation, i. e. transferring the source text "adequately" into the target language. This is a matter of keen interest and inspires stimulating discussions. Here too, there is no "one right solution", but many possibilities and approaches.

Such a meeting of translators took place in early July 2017, as part of the bilingual German to Arabic ViceVersa Workshop program sponsored by the German Translators' Fund and Litrix. de, and the Goethe-Institut Translation Grant Program. Six loquacious translators - Ibrahim Abu Hashash (Palestine), Amira Amin (Egypt), Nevine Fayek (Germany/Egypt), Latifa El-Haddad (Germany/Morocco), Jessica Siepelmeyer (Germany), Kauthar Tabai (Germany/Tunisia) - met in Munich to discuss their current projects. The two workshop leaders Leila Chammaa (Germany) and Hebatallah Fathy (Germany/Egypt) added questions and comments that fueled the controversial debates.

The eight translators resided in the city's Literaturhaus for four days under ideal conditions. Cared for in every way and freed from the bothersome, time-consuming demands of everyday life, the language workers devoted themselves as a group—which is a rare exception, given that translators normally lead a rather hermetic life— to questions that cause them major headaches.

"Basics in the Morning" kicked off each workshop day with a warm up for the participants. During this session, translators dealt with perennial issues such as, "language in context," "dealing with humor, puns & co." and questions of "fidelity vs. license". After the theoretical introduction, we got down to business: working concretely on texts, which turned out to be extremely diverse and colorful, as the translators brought excerpts to translate from a wide variety of genres (novel, short story, satire, essay, children's book) that offered a broad spectrum of challenges in terms of content and style.

The program was rounded out in the afternoon by people working in various areas of the literature business. Invited guests offered insights into their work: Larissa Bender discussed the joys and hardships of an Arabic translator, Chinese language translator Karin Betz talked about the platform Weltlesebühne. Stefan Weidner, translator and publicist, spoke about bringing Arabic literature to the German public, and the authors Nemat Khaled and Ulla Lenze asked each other all sorts of questions about working with their translators and their experiences being translated.

Driven by enthusiasm for language and eagerness to exchange ideas, and equipped with the courage to have others look into their manuscripts and being open to criticism, all of them talked their heads off and the sponsors were carried away with them: Anne-Bitt Gerecke (Litrix. de, Berlin), Amira Elmasry (Litrix. de, Cairo) and Katrin Lange (Literaturhaus Műnchen).

A few of the many questions participants had on their minds were clarified along with new ones that arose during the workshop. But, as expected, we are far from finished. That is why the joy and anticipation for the Arab-German ViceVersa Workshop II in May 2018 is all the greater.

Leila Chammaa

Berlin, January 2018

Translated by Zaia Alexander

ViceVersa: Deutsch-Arabische Übersetzerwerkstatt
Aus dem Nähkästchen geplaudert

Arabische Übersetzerwerkstatt im Literaturhaus München 2017
© Goethe-Institut

Treffen sich ÜbersetzerInnen, um ihre Projekte zu besprechen, dann ist die Zeit, so viel davon auch zur Verfügung stehen mag, immer zu knapp. Es wird überlegt, nachempfunden, beratschlagt, debattiert, gezweifelt, in Frage gestellt, umgekrempelt, verworfen, restrukturiert, neuformuliert. Unermüdlich.

Und die berühmte Goldwaage ist dabei unverzichtbares Gerät im Dauereinsatz. In die Waagschale wird alles geworfen: ganze Passagen, Sätze, Phrasen, Wörter, Buchstaben, ja sogar Punkt, Komma und Ausrufungszeichen. Der Übersetzung, das ist klar. Aber auch des Originals. Denn Übersetzer sind bekanntlich äußerst genaue und kritische Leser. Folglich ergeben sich in der Auseinandersetzung mit der Übersetzung unweigerlich auch Fragen an den Originaltext. Wie ist das Geschriebene zu verstehen? Was ist der Kontext? Gibt es einen Subtext? Sind die vorliegenden Formulierungen der Struktur der Originalsprache geschuldet oder beabsichtigtes Stilmittel? Welche narrative Haltung lässt sich erkennen? Aus welcher Perspektive wird erzählt? Endlos lang ist die Liste der Fragen.

Der Text wird kollektiv unter die Lupe genommen, beleuchtet, gewendet, von allen Seiten betrachtet, interpretiert, gegen den Strich gebürstet – formal und inhaltlich. Und sind diese Punkte geklärt bzw. angesprochen, denn eine eindeutige, definitive Antwort gibt es selten, geht es wieder an die Übersetzung, also darum, den Ausgangstext „adäquat" in die Zielsprache zu bringen. Ein Anliegen, das überaus gesprächsanregend ist. Denn auch hier gibt es nicht „die eine richtige Lösung", sondern viele Möglichkeiten und Ansätze.

Ein solches Übersetzertreffen fand also Anfang Juli 2017 im Rahmen einer vom Deutschen Übersetzerfonds und Litrix.de, dem Übersetzungsförderungsprogramm des Goethe-Instituts, geförderten zweisprachigen ViceVersa-Werkstatt für die Sprachkombination Deutsch-Arabisch statt. Sechs diskutierfreudige ÜbersetzerInnen – Ibrahim Abu Hashash (Palästina), Amira Amin (Ägypten), Nevine Fayek (Deutschland/Ägypten), Latifa El-Haddad (Deutschland/Marokko), Jessica Siepelmeyer (Deutschland), Kauthar Tabai (Deutschland/Tunesien) – mit je einem Projekt im Gepäck begegneten sich in München. Dazu kamen noch die beiden Workshop-Leiterinnen Leila Chammaa (Deutschland) und Hebatallah Fathy (Deutschland / Ägypten), die die kontroversen Debatten mit ihren ständigen Kommentaren und Fragen zusätzlich anheizten.

Die acht ÜbersetzerInnen residierten vier Tage lang im Literaturhaus der Stadt in traumhaften Verhältnissen. Rundum versorgt und damit von den lästigen, zeitfressenden Anforderungen des Alltags befreit, widmeten sich die SpracharbeiterInnen – ausnahmsweise in Gesellschaft, denn Übersetzer führen im regulären Leben ein Eremitendasein – ungebremst den Fragen, die ihnen Kopfzerbrechen bereiten.

Zum Auftakt eines jeden Werkstatttages wurde quasi zum Aufwärmen die Sitzung „Grundsätzliches am Morgen" abgehalten, in der übersetzerische Dauerbrenner wie „kontextgemäße Sprache", „zum Umgang mit Humor, Wortspielen & Co." und „Treue versus Freiheit" besprochen wurden. Nach dem theoretischen Einstieg ging es dann zur Sache: zur konkreten Textarbeit. Diese gestaltete sich überaus vielfältig und bunt, denn die mitgebrachten Arbeitsproben gehörten verschiedenen Genres an (Roman, Kurzgeschichte, Satire, Essay, Kinderbuch) und boten inhaltlich und stilistisch ein breites Spektrum an übersetzungstechnischen Herausforderungen.

Am Nachmittag wurde das Programm dann jeweils durch Impulse aus verschiedenen Bereichen des Literaturbetriebs abgerundet. Geladene Gäste boten Einblick in ihre Arbeit: Larissa Bender in die Freuden und Nöte einer Arabischübersetzerin, die Chinesisch-Übersetzerin Karin Betz in die Aktivitäten der Weltlesebühne. Stefan Weidner, Übersetzer und Publizist, sprach über die Vermittlung von arabischer Literatur an das deutsche Publikum. Und die Autorinnen Nemat Khaled und Ulla Lenze stellten sich allerlei Fragen zur Kooperation mit ihren Übersetzern und zu ihren Erfahrungen mit dem Übersetzt-Werden.

Von Sprachbegeisterung und dem Drang nach Austausch getrieben und mit gebührend viel Mut ausgerüstet, sich ins Manuskript schauen zu lassen und es der Kritik preiszugeben, redeten sich alle die Köpfe heiß und rissen die Beisitzenden Anne-Bitt Gerecke (Litrix.de, Berlin), Amira Elmasry (Litrix.de, Kairo) und Katrin Lange (Literaturhaus München) mit.

Einige der vielen mitgebrachten und neuentstandenen Fragen konnten geklärt werden. Aber fertig sind wir – wie zu erwarten war – längst nicht geworden. Deshalb ist die Freude auf die für Mai 2018 geplante arabisch-deutsch ViceVersa-Werkstatt II umso größer.

Leila Chammaa

Berlin, Januar 2018