Profile

The Litrix.de online literature portal and translation programme was launched in 2003 by the Federal Cultural Foundation (Kulturstiftung des Bundes) and run initially under the auspices of the Goethe Institute together with input from the Frankfurt Book Fair. Since 2009 Litrix.de has been an integral part of the Literature and Translation Support section at the Munich headquarters of the Goethe-Institut, and as such is in a strong position to promote awareness of literature German and to foster its translation into other languages.
 
One of the core areas of Litrix.de’s work is to provide clear and concise information about the current German book market, thereby offering professionals abroad speedy access to outstanding new publications.
 
Litrix.de’s other key activity is its programme of support for translations of selected German books. This programme is aimed at publishing houses in language areas chosen for special focus for periods of several years at a time, and is intended to run side by side with existing support initiatives in regions where it seems especially important to encourage greater intercultural dialogue.
 
Each year an independent jury of distinguished experts draws up a list of approximately 20 titles from the worlds of fiction, non-fiction, and books for children and young people. The jury is made up of German literary critics and representatives from the target region with expertise in literature and publishing. They jointly select those books that appear particularly well suited to publication in the special-focus language.
 
The selected works are featured on Litrix.de in German, English and the relevant special-focus language in the form of reviews, sample passages of approximately 15 pages, and profiles of authors, illustrators and publishers. Litrix.de offers translation grants for the works thus featured, together with a contribution towards the cost of purchasing the publishing rights. This multilingual mode of presentation offers an international audience speedy access to newly published books.
 
Previous special-focus languages:
 
2004-2005: Arabic
2005-2006: Chinese
2007-2008: Portuguese (Brazil)
2009-2011: Spanish (Hispanic America / Argentina)
2012-2014: Russian
2015-2018: Arabic
 
For the period 2019-2020 Greek is Litrix.de’s special-focus language.
 
In addition to its information service and translation support programme, Litrix.de also fosters further-training opportunities for translators, and the development of networks that bring publishers from Germany and abroad into closer contact with each other.
 
Last but not least, Litrix.de also seeks to promote the direct exchange of people and their ideas both through and within the context of literature. Thanks to the Goethe-Institut’s worldwide infrastructure, Litrix.de is readily able to arrange reading tours and discussion sessions that bring German authors together with readers, colleagues, translators and publishers in other countries, and thereby foster intercultural dialogue free of all barriers.

Profil

Das Literaturportal und Übersetzungsförderungsprogramm Litrix.de wurde 2003 von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes als Initiativprojekt ins Leben gerufen und zunächst in der Trägerschaft des Goethe-Instituts und in Kooperation mit der Frankfurter Buchmesse durchgeführt. Seit 2009 ist Litrix.de integraler Bestandteil des Bereichs „Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung“ des Goethe-Instituts und kann dadurch nachhaltig zur aktiven Vermittlung aktueller deutschsprachiger Literatur und zur Förderung ihrer Übersetzung beitragen.

Eine der Kernaufgaben von Litrix.de ist es, kompakt und übersichtlich Informationen über den deutschsprachigen Buchmarkt zu präsentieren, um so professionellen Nutzerinnen und Nutzern aus dem Ausland den Zugang zu herausragenden Neuerscheinungen zu erleichtern.

Das zweite zentrale Anliegen von Litrix.de ist die Übersetzungsförderung. Diese wendet sich an Verlage der jeweiligen Schwerpunktsprache, die im Turnus von mehreren Jahren wechselt, und soll die bestehenden Fördermaßnahmen des Goethe-Instituts in jenen Regionen flankieren, in denen eine Intensivierung des Literaturaustauschs aktuell besonders wichtig erscheint.

Eine hochkarätig besetzte, unabhängige Fachjury trifft jährlich eine Auswahl von etwa 20 Titeln aus den Sparten Belletristik, Sachbuch sowie Kinder- und Jugendbuch. Die Jury setzt sich aus deutschen Literaturkritiker/innen und Literatur- und Branchenkennern aus der Zielregion zusammen. Gemeinsam wählen sie die Bücher aus, die für die Veröffentlichung in der Schwerpunktsprache besonders geeignet erscheinen.

Diese Titel werden mit Buchbesprechungen, 15-seitigen Leseproben sowie Informationen zu den Autor/innen, Illustrator/innen und zu den Verlagen auf Deutsch, Englisch und in der jeweiligen Schwerpunktsprache auf Litrix.de präsentiert. Für alle Titel des aktuellen Schwerpunkts bieten wir eine Übersetzungsförderung und einen Lizenzkostenzuschuss an. Durch die mehrsprachige Präsentation wird einem internationalen Publikum der schnelle Zugang zu jüngst erschienenen Büchern ermöglicht.

Schwerpunktsprachen waren bisher:

2004-2005: Arabisch
2005-2006: Chinesisch
2007-2008: Portugiesisch (Brasilien)
2009-2011: Spanisch (Hispanoamerika /Argentinien)
2012-2014: Russisch
2015-2018: erneut Arabisch

In den Jahren 2019/20 ist Griechisch der Förderschwerpunkt von Litrix.de.

Neben dem Informationsangebot und der Übersetzungsförderung engagiert Litrix.de sich in der beruflichen Qualifizierung von Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern sowie dem Aufbau von Netzwerken zwischen der deutschen und der internationalen Verlagsszene.

Außerdem möchten wir zum direkten (Meinungs-)Austausch durch und über Literatur anregen. Die weltweite Infrastruktur des Goethe-Instituts ermöglicht es uns, die deutschsprachigen Autor/innen bei Lesereisen oder Diskussionsveranstaltungen mit ihren Leser/innen, Übersetzer/innen und Verleger/innen im Ausland ins Gespräch zu bringen und so auch den unmittelbaren Dialog über literarische und gesellschaftliche Themen zu initiieren.