Application process and eligibility criteria

Eligibility criteria
 
Support is available exclusively for the translation of books written in the language of the current special-focus area and showcased on Litrix.de. The special-focus area for the years 2019 and 2020 is Greek.

It is a prerequisite of any funding that there be formal contracts between the foreign licensee and both the German licensor and the translator of the work. Grant monies are only disbursed once the relevant work has been published and specimen copies delivered to Litrix.de.

Grants are offered on the basis that the translator will receive a fee of €16 (max.) per 1800 German characters (including spaces). In the case of poetry and graphic novels, however, a special rate will be determined to reflect the difficulty of the material in question. Then maximum grant per book in respect of the translator’s fee is €5000.

The search for translators best suited to the relevant mode of writing will be undertaken in consultation with Litrix.de.

Litrix.de will normally contribute up to 50% of the costs of acquiring translation rights. Litrix.de will be pleased to offer its assistance in the relevant negotiations with German publishers.

Upon publication of the translation the Goethe Institute will disburse to the Greek publishing house the remaining balance of the translation grant specified in the Grant Agreement. Upon conclusion of the Grant Agreement itself the grant towards the cost of the foreign rights will be disbursed to the Greek publishing house together with an initial tranche of the translation grant. The Greek publishing house must undertake to forward this initial payment directly to the translator. The remainder of the translation fee is not disbursed until four specimen copies of the published translation have been received by Litrix.de.

The funding levels proposed for the programme of special focus on Greek are contingent on the underlying funds remaining fully available to Litrix.de. Should this no longer be the case, no legal rights will thereby accrue to grant-holders.


Application process
 
Application Form
 
Applications must include the following documentation:
 
1. Detailed calculation of costs, including number of copies to be printed
2. Copy of licensor-licensee translation rights contract
3. Copy of licensee-translator contract
4. Rationale of the project (position of the work within the publisher’s profile, target group aimed at, etc.)
 
Grants are subject to the following conditions:
 
1. At the point when a grant-offer is made the book in question must be neither already published nor in the process of being published.
2. The translation must be made directly from the original German.

Please send your application by mail or email to:

Goethe-Institut Athens
Literatur- und Übersetzungsförderung
Omirou Str. 14-16
P.O.Box 3 03 83
10033 Athens
Tel.:  ++30 210 366 1011 
Christine Tzimis

Antrag und Förderbedingungen

Förderbedingungen
 
Die Förderung bezieht sich ausschließlich auf die Übersetzung von Büchern, die in der aktuellen Schwerpunktsprache auf Litrix.de vorgestellt werden. Der aktuelle Förderschwerpunkt in den Jahren 2019/20 ist Griechisch.

Voraussetzungen für die Förderung sind jeweils ein Vertrag zwischen dem ausländischen Lizenznehmer und dem deutschen Lizenzgeber sowie mit dem Übersetzer des Werkes. Die Fördersumme wird erst bei Vorlage der publizierten Übersetzung ausgezahlt.

Gefördert wird:

die Übersetzung ins Griechische mit einem Übersetzerhonorar von max. 16 € pro 1.800 Zeichen (inklusive Leerzeichen) des deutschen Originals. Für die Übersetzung von Lyrik und Graphic Novels werden je nach Schwierigkeitsgrad des Textes individuelle Vereinbarungen zur Höhe des Übersetzerhonorars getroffen. Der maximale Förderrahmen pro Buch liegt bei 5.000 € für die Übersetzungskosten.

Die Suche nach geeigneten Übersetzern für die jeweilige Textsorte findet in Absprache mit Litrix.de statt.

Der Lizenzkostenzuschuss liegt in der Regel bei 50 Prozent. Litrix.de ist gern bei den Lizenzverhandlungen mit den deutschen Verlagen behilflich.

Das Goethe-Institut erstattet dem griechischen Verlag nach Erscheinen der Fremdsprachenausgabe die Übersetzungskosten bis zu der im Fördervertrag angegebenen Höhe. Nach Abschluss des Fördervertrags werden der Lizenzkostenzuschuss sowie eine erste Rate des Übersetzerhonorars an den griechischen Verlag ausgezahlt. Der griechische Verlag ist verpflichtet, diesen Abschlag auf das Übersetzerhonorar unmittelbar an den Übersetzer weiterzuleiten. Die Auszahlung der restlichen Übersetzungskosten erfolgt erst, wenn vier Belegexemplare der veröffentlichten Übersetzung bei Litrix.de eingegangen sind.
 
Der Förderrahmen für den Griechisch-Schwerpunkt wird unter dem Vorbehalt festgelegt, dass die Fördermittel für Litrix.de auch weiterhin in vollem Umfang zur Verfügung stehen. Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein, entstehen für den Geförderten hierdurch keinerlei rechtliche Ansprüche.


Antrag

Antragsformular

Dem Antrag auf Übersetzungsförderung müssen folgende Unterlagen beigefügt werden:

  1. Kostenkalkulation mit Angabe der Auflagenhöhe
  2. Lizenzvertrag
  3. Übersetzervertrag
  4. Projektbegründung (Einbettung des Werkes in das Verlagsprofil, angestrebte Zielgruppe etc.)

Voraussetzung für einen Zuschuss ist,
  1. dass das Buch zum Zeitpunkt des Bewilligungsbescheids nicht bereits im Druck oder erschienen ist.
  2. dass die Übersetzung aus dem deutschen Originaltext vorgenommen wird.

Die Antragsunterlagen senden Sie bitte per Post oder E-Mail an:

Goethe-Institut Athen
Literatur- und Übersetzungsförderung
Omirou Str. 14-16
P.O.B. 3 03 83
10033 Athen
Tel.: +30 210 3661011
Christine Tzimis