Boje Verlag in der Bastei Lübbe GmbH & Co. KG

Cologne
Foreign rights
Home page: http://www.boje-verlag.de/

Profile

Founded 1949 in Stuttgart, Boje Verlag was considered for decades to be the leading children's book publisher in Germany. Boje Verlag has been home to scores of renowned authors and their program includes a large number of picture books from the limitless imagination of James Krüss which will soon be made available in new editions.

In 1986, Boje was sold by its founder Hanns-Jörg Fischer to the Pestalozzi Publishing Company in Erlangen. Since autumn 2006, Boje books have been published with a new approach. The publishing house, once part of the VEMAG Group in Cologne, has belonged to Bastei Lübbe since mid-2010. Boje publishes good stories by top authors and illustrators and is once again the best address to find German language picture, children's and young adult books.

The program features works in the areas of play and activity, picture books, children’s books, young adult books, and nonfiction and plans to publish a list of about 50 titles per year. Boje will make children books appealing and attractive through a lively, colorful and reliable program that satisfies the three basic needs: entertainment, knowledge, and inspiration. Such a philosophy demands high quality standards in literary content, design and production. Good writers are the foundation for fascinating stories and coherent information.

Boje Verlag in der Bastei Lübbe GmbH & Co. KG

Köln
Kontakt für Auslandslizenzen
Verlagshomepage: http://www.boje-verlag.de/

Verlagsporträt

​Der Boje Verlag, 1949 in Stuttgart gegründet, war jahrzehntelang einer der führenden Kinderbuchverlage. Vielen namhaften Autoren hat der Boje Verlag eine Heimat geboten; so ist eine große Zahl von Bilderbüchern aus der schier unerschöpflichen Fantasie von James Krüss bei Boje verlegt worden, die jetzt nach und nach in Neuausgaben wieder zugänglich gemacht werden.

1986 wurde Boje von seinem Gründer Hanns-Jörg Fischer an den Pestalozzi Verlag in Erlangen verkauft. Seit Herbst 2006 erscheinen die Boje-Bücher mit einem völlig neuen Konzept. Der Verlagssitz ist Köln, zunächst unter dem Dach der VEMAG; seit Mitte 2010 gehört der Verlag zu Bastei Lübbe. Boje verlegt gute Geschichten von erstklassigen Autoren und Illustratoren; er ist dabei, wieder eine erste Adresse im deutschsprachigen Bilder-, Kinder- und Jugendbuch zu werden.

Das Programm wird in den Bereichen Spiel- und Aktivbücher, Bilderbücher, Kinderbücher, Jugendbücher und Sachbücher mit etwa 50 Neuheiten pro Jahr aufgebaut. Boje will Kindern Bücher schmackhaft machen, indem er sie mit einem lebendigen, bunten und zuverlässigen Programm reizt, das die drei Grundbedürfnisse befriedigt: Unterhaltung, Wissen und Anregung zum Nachdenken. Eine solche Programm- Philosophie verlangt hochwertige Qualität in erzählerischer, gestalterischer, inhaltlicher und herstellerischer Hinsicht. Gute Autor(inn)en stehen für faszinierende Geschichten und stimmige Informationen.