The German Jury (2013-2015)

Thomas Linden Thomas Linden holds a master's degree from the University of Cologne in philosophy, German literature, theater, film and television studies. As a journalist, he writes articles in the areas of literature, dance, theater and film for newspapers including: Kölnische Rundschau, Berliner Zeitung, Berliner Morgenpost and for the radio (Deutschlandfunk).
As a curator, he developed exhibition projects focusing on photography and illustration, including the recent exhibition "Monster" for the Museum of Applied Art in Cologne and "How Germany reinvented itself" at the LVR-Landesmuseum in Bonn.
Books as editor include “Alphabet with Illustrators“ and "Karl Hugo Schmölz - Architectural photography of the 50s” (Schirmer/Mosel Verlag).
His is particularly interested in processes of reading, which he discusses in his lecture presentation "Reading, a Survival Technique."


Jutta Person (b. 1971, Baden) is a Berlin-based freelance critic and cultural theorist. She studied German Studies, Italian Studies and Philosophy in Cologne and Italy. In  2004, she received her PhD from the University of Cologne with a dissertation on the history of physiognomy in the 19th Century. She writes for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Literaturen, Die Zeit and Philosophie Magazin.  She was non-fiction literature editor at Literaturen (2004- 2007), and since October 2011, has been head of the books section at Philosophie Magazin.


Christoph Schroeder (b.1973, Gross-Gerau) studied German Studies and Comparative Literature in Mainz. Since 1998, he has been a freelance writer and literary critic for newspapers such as: Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, and Tagesspiegel. He has been teaching literary criticism at the Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main since 2007.

Die deutsche Jury (2013-2015)


Thomas LindenThomas Linden erwarb seinen Magisterabschluss an der Universität zu Köln in den Fächern Philosophie, Germanistik, Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaft. Als Journalist war er tätig für Tageszeitungen (Kölnische Rundschau, Berliner Zeitung, Berliner Morgenpost) und Rundfunk (Deutschlandfunk) in den Bereichen Literatur, Tanz, Theater und Film.
In seiner Tätigkeit als Kurator entwickelt er Ausstellungsprojekte zur Fotografie und Illustrationskunst, wie zuletzt die Ausstellungen „Ungeheuer“ im Museum für Angewandte Kunst Köln oder „Wie sich Deutschland neu erfand“ im LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn. Als Herausgeber publizierte er das Buch „Alphabet mit Zeichnern“ und im Verlag Schirmer/Mosel die Publikation „Karl Hugo Schmölz – Architekturfotografie der 50er Jahre“.
Sein besonderes Interesse gilt den Prozessen des Lesens, die er in seinem Vortragsprojekt „Lesen, eine Überlebenstechnik“ verfolgt.


Jutta PersonJutta Person ist freie Kritikerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin, wurde 1971 in Südbaden geboren und lebt in Berlin. Studium der Germanistik, Italianistik und Philosophie in Köln und Italien, 2004 Promotion an der Universität zu Köln mit einer Arbeit zur Geschichte der Physiognomik im 19. Jahrhundert. Sie schreibt für die Süddeutsche Zeitung, für Literaturen, Die Zeit und das Philosophie Magazin. Von 2004 bis 2007 war sie Sachbuchredakteurin bei Literaturen, seit Oktober 2011 betreut sie das Ressort Bücher beim Philosophie Magazin.


Christoph SchröderChristoph Schröder, geboren 1973 in Groß-Gerau, studierte Germanistik und allgemeine und vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft in Mainz. Seit 1998 arbeitet er als freier Autor und Literaturkritiker, u.a. für die Süddeutsche Zeitung, die Zeit und den Tagesspiegel. Seit 2007 ist er Dozent für Literaturkritik an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main.