Bookworld
Where we come from

Books
© Goethe-Institut

The search for identity, village tales, German lives: despite the corona virus 2020 is a strong year for books
 
By Christoph Schröder
 
Like everything else, the German book trade has been seriously affected by the Covid19 crisis. Although sales figures for June 2020 were unexpectedly strong, both booksellers and publishers will end up making a loss across the 2020 financial year as a whole. What with the cancellation of the Leipzig Book Fair and the ban on literary and other events, the reading public has had little opportunity to appreciate the full breadth of the unarguably high-quality output of new books this spring. As is evident from a new initiative launched by a countrywide network of literary event organisers, efforts are currently being made to re-launch these books - but the new autumn titles will already be in the shops by the end of July.

Once again this year readers will find themselves confronted with the theme of identity and the question of how individuals can establish a solid basis for their existence within a constantly changing and increasingly heterogeneous society - and they will also encounter the question of how the mounting ideological tensions and associated battle lines within society can be adequately reflected in literature. It is no coincidence that Saša Stanišić won last year’s German Book Prize with a work that bore the title Herkunft (‘Origins’) and through its autofictional mode of writing satisfied the growing desire for the literary processing of personal experiences. Olivia Wenzel’s novel 1000 Serpentinen Angst appeared in spring 2020. Born in 1985 in Weimar as the daughter of a punk mother and Angolan father, Wenzel undertakes a rhythmically structured, dialogue-based self-interrogation that repeatedly focuses on issues of institutional marginalisation and discrimination, and recounts the story of a stigmatised individual growing up in two different German polities - the GDR and the Federal Republic.

Olivia Wenzel, Ronya Othmann, Thilo Krause

The debut novel of Ronya Othmann, born 1993 in Munich, also comes under the heading of autofictional works by authors with a migrant background. At last year’s Tage der deutschsprachigen Literatur (the competition that determines the winner of the annual Ingeborg Bachmann Prize), the extract from Othmann’s novel submitted for consideration prompted an extremely complex discussion amongst the members of the jury centring on the problem of evaluating literary renderings of personal experience. Die Sommer, as her novel is entitled (‘The summers’), is due to appear this autumn, and tells the story of a life split between two different cultures. Leyla, the central figure, is the daughter of a German mother and a Yazidi Kurd - a member of the ethnic group notoriously persecuted as ‘infidels’ by ISIS and brutally slaughtered in 2014 in an act categorised by the UN as genocide.

It has to be acknowledged, however, that a migrant background is not indispensable to a convincing representation of the present-day world in this era of turmoil characterised not least by the disparities between people’s different experiences of reality. Thus for instance Elbwärts (‘Elbe-wards’) is due to be published in late August as the first novel by Thilo Krause, a writer known hitherto solely as a poet and as a winner of the distinguished Peter Huchel Prize for Poetry. Krause, born in Dresden, recounts in vivid, picturesque language the story of a couple who return to their home village in the region known as ‘Saxon Switzerland’. The past catches up with the first-person narrator in the form of guilt-stricken memories, while in the novel’s present nazis arrive and set up their summer camp, and the couple themselves are faced with rampant mistrust in the village. As is already clear from the title, Christoph Peters also focuses on village life in his Dorfroman (‘Village novel’), due out in August. In his fabulous 2012 novel Wir in Kahlbeck (‘We in Kahlbeck’), Peters - born in the Lower Rhein area of Germany - recounted the story of life in a Catholic boys’ boarding school near the Dutch border. Now, after a series of entertaining and highly intelligent forays into the detective-story world, Peters takes a new turn with his Dorfroman, in which the narrator goes to visit his parents in the village of ‘Hülkendonck’. Here again, returning home sparks a plethora of memories, and by the point where the novel’s main focus shifts to the construction of a nuclear power plant and the resulting ideological  battles, it is already clear that ‘Hülkendonck’ bears a more than passing resemblance to Peters’s own home village of Kalkar.

Two of the most notable books published so far this year deal with East German lives and experiences. Ingo Schulze’s cleverly constructed novel Die rechtschaffenen Mörder (‘The righteous murderers’), which was nominated for the Leipzig Book Fair Prize, reconstructs the story of a bookseller and antiquarian who in GDR days became a beacon of intellectual opposition, but lost everything once the wall fell: his means of earning a living, his standing within society, the entire basis of his intellectual life. No one needs him any more, no one wants to see him. Although it is left open whether he becomes truly radicalised and morphs into an enragé from the ranks of the well-educated middle class, Schulze’s novel nonetheless illuminates a pan-German problem, namely the ease with which someone who feels misunderstood can re-cast themself as an enemy of the system.

Christoph Peters, Ingo Schulze, Lutz Seiler

Turning now to Lutz Seiler, born 1963 in Gera and winner of this year’s Leipzig Book Fair Prize for his novel Stern 111: Carl Bischoff, the book’s protagonist and Seiler’s alter ego, arrives in Berlin from Thuringia  in December 1989 and quickly finds fellowship in a commune in the Prenzlauer Berg district characterised by dreams of total freedom and a permanent state of quasi anarchy. At issue here is the crucial interstice between two contrary regimes - the GDR and the Federal Republic - and Seiler captures the full flavour of it by dint of great observational acuity and the use of powerful imagery. In parallel to this, Seiler also recounts the story of Carl’s parents, who start life all over again in West Germany and end up finding happiness on a completely different continent. Kruso, the protagonist of the earlier, eponymous novel that earned Seiler the German Book Prize, also pops up in Stern 111 as a radicalised street fighter intent on using erstwhile GDR border-guard dogs to defend squatted houses. This is a book of real literary and documentary merit - and it comes complete with a talking goat!

Self-affirmation, accounts of the coming-together of the country we live in, the experience of cultural heterogeneity - all those elements that we associate with the notion of ‘identity politics’ are still being richly reflected in current German-language literature. Despite the corona virus, 2020 is an excellent year for books!


Christoph Schroeder is a freelance writer (Süddeutsche Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit) based in Frankfurt am Main and is a lecturer in literary criticism at the university there.

Translated by John Reddick

Bücherwelt
Wo wir herkommen

Bücher
© Goethe-Institut

Identitätsfindung, Geschichten vom Dorf, deutsche Lebensläufe: Corona zum Trotz ist das Bücherjahr 2020 ein starkes.
 
Von Christoph Schröder
 
Die Corona-Krise hat auch die deutsche Buchbranche heftig getroffen. Auch wenn sich die Absatzzahlen für den Juni 2020 unerwartet stark gezeigt haben, wird das Geschäftsjahr 2020 sowohl für den Buchhandel als auch für die Verlage mit Verlusten abgeschlossen werden. Das Publikum hatte aufgrund der abgesagten Leipziger Buchmesse und des Veranstaltungs-Lockdowns nur geringe Chancen, die unbestritten hohe literarische Qualität der Frühjahrsnovitäten in ihrer Bandbreite zu würdigen. Literaturveranstalter versuchen nun nach und nach, diesen Büchern einen „zweiten Frühling“, so die Initiative eines bundesweiten Netzwerks, zu verschaffen, doch die neuen Herbsttitel liegen bereits ab Ende Juli in den Buchhandlungen.

Der Themenkomplex von Identitätsbildung und die Fragen nach der persönlichen Verankerung in einer sich wandelnden, zunehmend heterogenen Gesellschaft wird Leserinnen und Leser auch in diesem Jahr weiterhin beschäftigen; gleichwohl die Frage, wie sich die zunehmenden ideologischen Spannungen und Konfliktlinien literarisch abbilden lassen. Es ist kein Zufall, dass Saša Stanišić im vergangenen Jahr mit einem Werk den Deutschen Buchpreis gewonnen hat, das den Begriff „Herkunft“ im Titel trug und in einem autofiktionalen Schreibverfahren dem zunehmenden Bedürfnis nach der literarischen Gestaltung persönlicher Erfahrungen gerecht wurde. Im Frühjahr 2020 erschien Olivia Wenzels Roman „1000 Serpentinen Angst“. Wenzel, 1985 als Tochter einer Punkerin und eines angolanischen Vaters in Weimar geboren, unternimmt in ihrem Buch in Dialogform eine rhythmisch strukturierte Selbstbefragung, die immer wieder um Probleme struktureller Marginalisierung und Diskriminierung kreist und die von einem stigmatisierten Aufwachsen in zwei deutschen Staaten erzählt.

Olivia Wenzel, Ronya Othmann, Thilo Krause

In die Sparte der autofiktionalen Romane von Autorinnen und Autoren, deren biografischer Hintergrund migrantisch ist, fällt auch der Debütroman der 1993 in München geborenen Ronya Othmann. Mit einem Auszug aus dem Roman sorgte Othmann im vergangenen Jahr bei den Tagen der deutschsprachigen Literatur für eine ausgesprochen komplexe Jurydiskussion, die sich um die literarische Bewertbarkeit persönlicher Erfahrungen drehte. „Die Sommer“, so der Titel von Othmanns im Herbst erscheinenden Roman, ist ein Buch, das vom Leben und Erleben zwischen zwei Kulturräumen erzählt. Leyla, die Hauptfigur, ist die Tochter einer deutschen Mutter und eines jesidischen Kurden, jener Volksgruppe, die vom IS als Ungläubige verfolgt und in einem von der UN als Völkermord eingestuften Akt im Jahr 2014 brutal abgeschlachtet wurde. Die Zerrissenheit der Zeit, die sich auch in der Diskrepanz unterschiedlicher Erfahrungswirklichkeiten bemerkbar macht, braucht allerdings nicht zwingend einen Migrationshintergrund, um auf glaubhafte Weise Gegenwart abzubilden.
 
Der Schriftsteller Thilo Krause beispielsweise, bislang nur als Lyriker in Erscheinung getreten und für seine Gedichte mit dem bedeutenden Peter-Huchel-Preis ausgezeichnet, legt Ende August mit „Elbwärts“ seinen ersten Roman vor. Krause, in Dresden geboren, erzählt darin in einer bildreichen und anschaulichen Sprache von der Heimkehr eines Paares in ein Dorf in der Sächsischen Schweiz. Die Vergangenheit holt den Ich-Erzähler in Form von schuldhaft belasteten Erinnerungen ein, während in der Gegenwart Nazis ihr Sommerlager aufschlagen und dem Paar das Misstrauen des Dorfes entgegenschlägt. Ebenfalls aufs Dorf, und das bereits im Titel, begibt sich Christoph Peters in seinem im August erscheinenden „Dorfroman“. Peters, am Niederrhein geboren, hatte in seinem fabelhaften, 2012 erschienenen Roman „Wir in Kahlenbeck“ von einer Jugend in einem katholischen Jungeninternat an der niederländischen Grenze erzählt. Nun, nach diversen äußerst intelligenten und unterhaltsamen Ausflügen in das Genre des Krimis, setzt Peters mit dem „Dorfroman“ neu an: Sein Erzähler besucht die Eltern in Hülkendonck. Auch hier ist dies der Anlass für ein großes Erinnerungspanorama, und spätestens, wenn es um den Bau eines Atomkraftwerks und die daraus entstehenden ideologischen Kämpfe geht, wird klar, dass Hülkendonck Peters‘ Geburtsort Kalkar sehr ähnlich sein dürfte.
 
Ostdeutsche Erfahrungen und Lebensläufe thematisieren zwei der bemerkenswertesten Bücher, die in diesem Jahr bislang erschienen sind: Ingo Schulzes raffiniert komponierter und für den Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse nominierter Roman „Die rechtschaffenen Mörder“ rekonstruiert die Geschichte eines Buchhändlers und Antiquars, der zu DDR-Zeiten eine Art Leuchtturm der intellektuellen Opposition wird und nach dem Fall der Mauer alles verliert: Seine ökonomische Grundlage, seine Bedeutsamkeit, sein geistiges Fundament. Niemand braucht ihn mehr, niemand will ihn mehr sehen. Ob er sich tatsächlich radikalisiert und zu einem Wutbürger aus dem bildungdbürgerlichen Lager wird, lässt Schulze offen, doch der Roman erklärt ein gesamtdeutsches Phänomen: Wie jemand, der sich unverstanden fühlt, sich plötzlich als Systemgegner inszeniert.

Christoph Peters, Ingo Schulze, Lutz Seiler

Lutz Seiler wiederum, 1963 in Gera geboren, ist für seinen Roman „Stern 111“ mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse ausgezeichnet worden. Seilers Held und Alter Ego Carl Bischoff kommt im Dezember 1989 aus Thüringen nach Berlin und findet dort schnell Anschluss in einer Kommune in Prenzlauer Berg, die von der totalen Freiheit und einem quasi anarchistischen Dauerzustand träumt. Es ist die Epoche zwischen zwei Staaten, zwischen DDR und Bundesrepublik, die Seiler in starken Bildern und mit großer Beobachtungsschärfe festhält. Parallel dazu erzählt Seiler von Carls Eltern, die in Westdeutschland noch einmal von vorne anfangen und schließlich auf einem anderen Kontinent ihr Glück finden. Und auch Kruso, die Titelfigur aus Seilers gleichnamigen, mit dem Deutschen Buchpreis ausgezeichneten Roman, hat in „Stern 111“ einen Auftritt als radikalisierter Straßenkämpfer, der die ehemaligen DDR-Grenzhunde für den Schutz besetzter Häuser einsetzen will. Ein Buch von dokumentarischem und literarischem Wert – nur echt mit sprechender Ziege.
 
Selbstvergewisserung, Gründungsgeschichten des Landes, in dem wir leben, Erfahrungen von kultureller Heterogenität – was mit dem Begriff „Identitätspolitik“ umschrieben wird, findet in der Buchproduktion der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur auch 2020 einen ästhetisch breit gefächerten Ausdruck. Es ist ein starkes Bücherjahr, Corona zum Trotz.


Christoph Schröder, lebt als freier Autor (Süddeutsche Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit) in Frankfurt am Main und ist Dozent für Literaturkritik an der dortigen Universität.