Bookworld
The Re-politicisation of the Novel

Ohde, Gugic, Sanyal, Bazyar © Suhrkamp, © Hoffmann und Campe, © Hanser Literaturverlage, © KiWi

Contemporary German-speaking literature is smug and apolitical. That, at any rate, was its reputation a few years back. However, quite the reverse is true now. Since Autumn 2020, the world of the novel has also become an arena for socio-critical debate. Who counts in our society, and whose voices are we hearing? Racism, sexism and class-consciousness are no longer mere phrases in our identity-conscious society: they are a lived reality. How can novels play their part in conveying this?

Last Autumn, Covid-related workplace closures and the cancellation of the Frankfurt Book Fair meant that numerous publication dates had to be pushed back. However, the trend towards politicised literature has remained the same. Retail book sales slumped by around 30% during the first three months of this year, as compared with the pre-Covid year 2019. This striking decline was acknowledged by the German Publishers and Booksellers Association; their president, Karin Schmidt-Friederich even went so far as to refer to this as a “catastrophic figure”. However, novels with an autobiographical slant - written from a female perspective, by those who feel marginalised on account of their skin colour, race and gender - are bucking the trend.
 
Deniz Ohde’s anonymous protagonist, for example, is the daughter of a Turkish woman and a working-class German man. In Streulicht (Sky Glow), she recounts her obstacle-strewn ascent from the grimy streets of industrial Frankfurt to the heights of university. As someone who grew up in the 90s, the protagonist of this highly praised debut novel remembers a time in which people thought the on-stage characters of Dragan and Alder were funny, whilst asylum seekers’ homes were being burned down.
 
The Austrian author Sandra Gugić likewise demonstrates in her novel Zorn und Stille (Anger and Silence) the ways in which deeply rooted prejudice can divide a family. Asra and Sima Banadinović arrive in Vienna from Yugoslavia towards the end of the 1970s. As migrant workers they uncomplainingly work their fingers to the bone. Their oldest daughter, who grows up in Austria, can’t begin to understand her parents’ way of life, and ultimately severs her relationship with them - while they cling doggedly to their national pride and their belief that Slobodan Milošević is to be the saviour of Yugoslavia.
 
We find an equally nuanced and humorous examination of so-called identity politics in Mithu Sanyal’s issue-based campus novel Identitti. Student Nivedita is the daughter of a Polish woman and an Indian man. Her world falls apart when Professor Sarasawati - whom Nivedita has idolised as a woman of colour and general life guru - is unmasked and stands revealed as a white German. Nivedita had been led by Saraswati’s theories to believe that she had finally been understood. Now, though, it isn’t just Saraswati who is unmasked, but an entire paradox at the heart of the way people view identity politics. Although inequality based on skin colour, ethnic origin or gender will eventually be overcome, the emotionally charged characteristics of ‘identity’ are still all too clearly evident in our contemporary society.
 
The same is true in Shida Bazyar’s novel Drei Kameradinnen (Sisters in Arms). In this, Bazyar demonstrates the differing perspectives of the dominant white population and people of colour either with or without a German passport. Saya, Hani and Kasih grow up together in a run-down block of flats at the edge of a small German town, and progress to their respective studies and apprenticeships. Following this, they all return home for a wedding. Their happy reunion, however, is overshadowed by the beginnings of the NSU Trial. This gives the three young women all the more reason to unite in solidarity with one another and to feel all the more angry with the Nazis. Cleverly, Bazyar’s narrator also provokes her readers, suggesting that they, too, may be prone to prevaricate and to jump to hasty conclusions.
 
That said: the issue at the heart of this novel is clear - as it is with all the others mentioned above. They are all attempts to awaken empathy. As we know, literature lends itself particularly well to this. Discrimination can’t be conveyed just via facts and figures. These authors and their characters give us a far better insight than mere statistics into the wishes, longings, hopes and fears of those who walk this path. These characters may be fictional, but they can still add their voices to contemporary socio-political debate.
 
Miriam Zeh works as a freelance literary critic and literary scholar in Frankfurt and Mainz, and presents radio shows for stations including Deutschlandfunk. She is also co-editor of POP Kultur & Kritik magazine, and is involved with the Books up! initiative (www.booksup.me / https://www.instagram.com/booksup.me/)

Translated by Helena Kirkby

Bücherwelt
Romane sind wieder politisch

Ohde, Gugic, Sanyal, Bazyar © Suhrkamp, © Hoffmann und Campe, © Hanser Literaturverlage, © KiWi

Wurde vor einigen Jahren noch lamentiert, die deutschsprachige Gegenwartsliteratur sei saturiert und unpolitisch, kann davon heute keine Rede mehr sein. Seit Herbst 2020 bestimmen sozialkritische Debatten die Romanwelten. Wer zählt zur Gesellschaft, und wem hören wir zu? Wie füllen sich identitätspolitische Schlagworte wie Rassismus, Sexismus und Klassismus mit Leben? Und was können Romane dazu beitragen?

Im Herbst letzten Jahres waren wegen coronabedingter Geschäftsschließungen sowie Ausfall der Frankfurter Buchmesse viele Buchveröffentlichungen verschoben worden, doch der Trend zur politischen Literatur bleibt ungebrochen. Zwar sackten im Sortimentsbuchhandel in den ersten drei Monaten dieses Jahres die Erlöse im Vergleich zum Zeitraum des Vor-Corona-Jahres 2019 um rund 30% ab – das gab der Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels bekannt und dessen Vorsteherin Karin Schmidt-Friederichs sprach sogar von einer "Katastrophen-Zahl" – doch gerade autobiographisch gefärbte Geschichten, die aus weiblicher Perspektive von Ausgrenzung aufgrund von Hautfarbe, Herkunft und Geschlecht erzählen, sind im Gespräch.

Deniz Ohdes namenlose Hauptfigur etwa, Tochter einer Türkin und eines deutschen Arbeiters, rekapituliert in Streulicht ihre hindernisreiche Aufsteigerinnengeschichte vom Frankfurter Industriegebiet an die Universität. Aufgewachsen in den 90er Jahren erinnert die Protagonistin dieses viel beachteten Debütromans an eine Zeit, in der Witze über die tumben Freunde Dragan und Alder auf deutschen Bühnen beklatscht wurden, während Unterkünfte von Asylbewerber:innen brannten.

Auch die österreichische Autorin Sandra Gugić zeigt in ihrem Roman Zorn und Stille, wie fest verankerte Vorurteile eine Familie entzweien können. Azra und Sima Banadinović kommen Ende der 70er Jahre aus der Sozialistischen Republik Jugoslawien nach Wien. Als Gastarbeiter:innen schuften sie bis zur Erschöpfung und beschweren sich nie. Vor allem ihre älteste Tochter, die in Österreich aufgewachsen ist, kann das nicht verstehen und bricht schließlich mit den Eltern, die unbeirrt an ihrer von Nationalstolz getragenen Hoffnung auf Slobodan Milošević als Retter Jugoslawiens festhalten.

Eine ebenso differenzierte wie humorvolle Auseinandersetzung mit der sogenannten Identitätspolitik gelingt Mithu Sanyal in ihrem Campus- und Debattenroman Identitti. Für Studentin Nivedita, Tochter einer Polin und eines Inders, bricht die Welt zusammen, als die von ihr als Woman of Colour und Lebensratgeberin verehrte Professorin Saraswati als weiße Deutsche enttarnt wird. In ihrer dekolonialen Theorie hatte Nivedita geglaubt, endlich Verständnis zu finden. Nun aber ist mit Saraswati auch ein Paradox identitätspolitischen Denkens entlarvt: Obwohl Ungleichbehandlung aufgrund von Hautfarbe, Herkunft oder Geschlecht langfristig überwunden werden soll, stehen die emotional aufgeladenen Identitätsmerkmale zunächst überdeutlich im Vordergrund.

So auch bei den Drei Kameradinnen aus Shida Bazyars Roman. Er zeigt, wie sehr sich die Wahrnehmungen von weißer Dominanzbevölkerung und People of Colour mit und ohne deutschen Pass unterscheiden. Saya, Hani und Kasih sind in heruntergekommenen Wohnblocks am Rande einer deutschen Kleinstadt gemeinsam aufgewachsen. Nach Ausbildung und Studium kehren sie für eine Hochzeit dorthin zurück. Das freudige Wiedersehen allerdings wird überschattet vom Beginn der NSU-Prozesse, die den drei jungen Frauen Anlass geben zu noch mehr Solidarität miteinander und noch mehr Wut auf Nazis. Auch ihr Lesepublikum geht Bazyars Erzählerin dabei aggressiv an, unterstellt ihm Vorbehalte und voreilige Schlüsse.

Nichtsdestotrotz ist das Anliegen auch dieses Romans deutlich: Drei Kameradinnen will, wie auch die anderen genannten Romane, Empathie wecken. Dafür ist Literatur schließlich besonders geeignet. Diskriminierung kann sie nicht nur mit Daten und zeithistorischen Fakten illustrieren. Vielmehr geben die Erzählungen dieser Autorinnen und ihrer Figuren Einblicke in Innenwelten, Wünsche, Sehnsüchte, Hoffnungen und Ängste. Die sind zwar fiktiv, können aber die reale gesellschaftspolitische Debatten bereichern.


Miriam Zeh ist freie Literaturkritikerin und Moderatorin, unter anderem beim Deutschlandfunk. Sie arbeitete als Literaturwissenschaftlerin in Frankfurt und Mainz, ist Mitherausgeberin der Zeitschrift POP. Kultur und Kritik und präsentiert bei Books up! Literatur für junge Leute auf Instagram.