Schnelleinstieg: Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)

Bookworld
Off to the countryside. The provinces as a new literary protagonist

Kreißler, Hansen, Randl, Zeh
© mairisch, © Penguin, © Matthes & Seitz, © Luchterhand

Authors such as Juli Zeh (Unterleuten, ‘Unterleuten’) and Dörte Hansen (Mittagsstunde, ‘Noon’) were already blazing the trail some years ago by focusing their novels on life in the countryside. This trend is now firmly established in contemporary literature, with numerous books appearing this year that centre on life in the provinces, but highlight it from drastically different perspectives: that of people fleeing from big-city life, of people whose families have lived in the countryside for generations, of those who are returning after a long absence in search of answers.

The longing for a peaceful life is at the heart of Lisa Kreissler’s novel Schreie & Flüstern (‘Screams and whispers’; Mairisch Verlag). Vera, a writer, Claus, a painter, and their son Siggi unexpectedly inherit a large sum of money. They decide to give up their life in Leipzig and buy an old farm in the West German provinces. But while Claus enjoys their new freedom, Vera finds the solitude difficult to cope with, and can forge a new relationship with nature only by becoming pregnant again. The ambivalences occasioned by country life that are hinted at here may well be very familiar to the author Lisa Kreissler herself, living as she does on an old farm in Lower Saxony.

The film director and writer Lola Randl lives in a village in the Uckermark district of Brandenburg. She too deals with village life in her new novel Angsttier (‘The Bogy-Beast’; Matthes & Seitz), in which she sends writer Jakob and his girlfriend Friedel in search of a house in the country. As already intimated by the novel’s title, their clichéd expectations of idyllic country-cottage life are soon turned upside down. After being attacked by wild animals, Jakob descends into a kind of madness that is described by Lola Randl only in very abstract terms. The protagonists’ longing for tranquillity and contentment remains unfulfilled, and their life in the village turns instead into a nightmare.

In Mirjam Wittig’s novel An der Grasnarbe (‘Scrubland’; Suhrkamp Verlag), which in places comes across as distinctly poetical, Noa, the first-person  narrator, undergoes rather less drastic experiences. In the big city, Noa suffers badly from panic attacks, but by guarding sheep and planting vegetables in the French countryside she seeks to get a better rapport with her own thought processes, and the change in location does at least afford her a beneficial change of perspective.

Whereas Schreie & Flüstern, Angsttier and An der Grasnarbe all tell of people who pine for rural life and the prospect of nature and self-renewal that it seems to portend, the protagonists of two other novels are driven by unresolved issues back to the villages of their childhood and youth. One of them is the protagonist in Johannes Laubmeier’s partly autobiographical debut novel Das Marterl (‘The shrine’; Klett-Cotta Verlag). Ten years after the death of his father in an accident, the narrator, Johannes, returns to his home village in Lower Bavaria, driven by the desire to immerse himself once again in the past. As the story develops, his fresh impressions of the once so familiar environment mesh with portrayals of the past as he remembers it, which results in his acquiring a sensitively handled and clearer understanding of the tragic loss of his father.
 
Achten, Schulz, Laubmeier, Wittig
© Piper, © Hanser, © Klett-Cotta, © Suhrkamp
In Willi Achten’s novel Rückkehr (‘Return’; Piper Verlag), Jakov Kilv goes back to his home village in Bavaria’s Lower Alps region after an absence of almost twenty-five years. Here too, re-encountering former friends and girl-friends, not least Liv, the big love of his early years, brings many memories back to life, especially of their last summer together, which had ended in a fire that caused the death of one of their friends. And so the first-person  narrator finds himself confronted once again with the question of who was responsible for what happened.

Two other novels demonstrate how it is possible to revisit one’s childhood and youth purely through one’s own recollections. In Wir waren wie Brüder (‘We were like brothers’; Hanser, Berlin), the journalist Daniel Schulz describes the era of the 1990s in Brandenburg immediately following the Wende, a period marked by unemployment, right-wing violence and insecurity. The novel Nullerjahre (‘The noughties’; Kiepenheuer & Witsch)  by Hendrik Bolz, otherwise known as Rapper Testo, also deals with this period of drastic change. In a dramatic diction shot through with pop-cultural references, Bolz uses this autobiographical book to recount his youth on the Stralsund estate of prefabricated housing known as ‘Knieper West’. With their grippingly personal accounts of the post-Wende era in the East German provinces Daniel Schulz and Hendrik Bolz fill a previously yawning gap in German literature.

However, the ‘countryside’ doesn’t necessarily always imply an alluring idyll or a projection surface for a character’s memories: occasionally it just happens to be the focal point of a protagonist’s life. Thus Sven Pfizenmaier is disinclined to describe his novel Draussen feiern die Leute (‘People are partying outside’; Kein und Aber Verlag) as a ‘provincial novel’, despite the fact that the book is set in a village between Hanover and Celle. Pfizenmaier’s authorial interest is focused chiefly on three young adults who find themselves at the mercy of their own unusual and highly diverse characteristics. In addition, both in this village in Lower Saxony and in the countryside as a whole, young people start disappearing, with the result that the novel gradually morphs into a mystical thriller.
 
Bolz, Pfizenmaier, Bilkau, Kaiser-Mühlecker
© KiWi, © Kein & Aber, © Luchterhand, © S. Fischer
In her novel Nebenan (‘Next door’; Luchterhand Verlag), which is characterised throughout by a spooky atmosphere, Kristine Bilkau depicts a small village on the Kiel Canal where two women called Julia and Astrid live. As well as evoking the existential crises affecting the two women, Bilkau also focuses on the large number of empty dwellings in the nearby main town, and the sudden disappearance of a village family.

The writer Reinhard Kaiser-Mühlecker has previously been labelled the ‘chronicler of country life’, and his new book, too, is characterised by a gloomily melancholic overall tone. In Wilderer (‘Poacher’; Fischer Verlag) he depicts a collision between the different worlds of ‘town’ and ‘country’, as personified in the young farmer Jakob and the Salzburg artist Katja, who meet on an online dating platform and go on to share their lives.

A striking feature of this new genre of German-language literature about provincial life is that it frequently associates country life with an ominous atmosphere, with no sense of it promising a path to paradise. It’s almost as if today’s authors were determined to break with the one-dimensional cliché of carefree country life. For just as life outside towns is in reality highly multifarious, so too life in current variations of the ‘village novel’ is being depicted as hugely diverse. And as a result contemporary German-language literature is acquiring some interesting new dimensions.


Sally-Charell Delin is a journalist, presenter and reviewer at Saarland Radio. She presents book readings, the chat show ‘Literature in conversation’, and the podcast ‘Tabula rasa - Out with taboos’. She concentrates chiefly on culture, society, and new German-language literature.

Translated by John Reddick

Copyright: © 2022 Litrix.de

Schnelleinstieg: Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)

Bücherwelt
Ab aufs Land: Die Provinz als neue Hauptfigur der Literatur

Kreißler, Hansen, Randl, Zeh
© mairisch, © Penguin, © Matthes & Seitz, © Luchterhand

Schon vor einigen Jahren haben es Autorinnen wie Juli Zeh („Unterleuten“) oder Dörte Hansen („Mittagsstunde“) vorgemacht und das Landleben in den Fokus ihrer Romane gerückt. Dieser Trend ist nun vollends in der Literatur angekommen. So sind in diesem Jahr zahlreiche Bücher erschienen, die das Leben in der Provinz in den Mittelpunkt stellen. Dabei wird dieses Landleben aus ganz unterschiedlichen Perspektiven betrachtet: Aus Sicht der Stadtflüchtenden, der Alteingesessenen und derjenigen, die auf der Suche nach Antworten nach langer Abwesenheit zurückkehren.

Der Wunsch nach einem friedlichen Leben steht im Zentrum des Romans „Schreie & Flüstern“ (Mairisch Verlag) von Lisa Kreißler. Die Schriftstellerin Vera, der Maler Claus und ihr Sohn Siggi kommen durch ein unverhofftes Vorerbe an eine große Summe Geld. Sie beschließen, ihr Leben in Leipzig hinter sich zu lassen und einen alten Hof in der westdeutschen Provinz zu kaufen. Doch während Claus die neue Freiheit liebt, tut sich Vera mit dem Alleinsein schwer und kann sich erst durch eine erneute Schwangerschaft mit der Natur verbinden. Die hier angedeuteten Ambivalenzen, die ein Leben auf dem Land mit sich bringt, könnten auch der Autorin Lisa Kreißler bekannt sein, denn sie lebt selbst auf einem alten Bauernhof in Niedersachsen.

In einem Dorf in der brandenburgischem Uckermarck wohnt die Regisseurin und Autorin Lola Randl. Auch sie verarbeitet das Dorfleben in ihrem neuen Roman: In „Angsttier“ (Matthes & Seitz) schickt Randl den Schriftsteller Jakob und seine Freundin Friedel auf die Suche nach einem Haus auf dem Land. Wie der Titel des Romans schon verrät, verkehrt sich die klischeebesetzte Erwartung an ein idyllisches Häuschen schnell ins Gegenteil. Jakob wird nach einem Angriff von wilden Tieren in einen von Lola Randl nur abstrakt beschriebenen Wahn hineingesogen. Der Wunsch nach Ruhe und Zufriedenheit bleibt unerfüllt, das Leben auf dem Dorf entwickelt sich zum Albtraum.

Etwas weniger drastisch ist die Erfahrung von Mirjam Wittigs Ich-Erzählerin Noa im in Teilen poetisch anmutenden Roman „An der Grasnarbe“ (Suhrkamp Verlag). In der Großstadt wird Noa von Panikattacken gequält, auf dem französischen Land sucht sie beim Schafe hüten und Gemüse pflanzen nach Distanz zu den eigenen Gedanken. Dieser Ortswechsel bringt ihr zumindest einen wohltuenden Perspektivwechsel.

Während „Schreie & Flüstern“, „Angsttier“ und „An der Grasnarbe“ von Menschen erzählen, die sich nach dem Landleben und den damit verbundenen Versprechen von Natur und Erholung sehnen, zieht es die Hauptfiguren zweier anderer Romane aufgrund offener Fragen in die Dörfer ihrer Jugend zurück. So zum Beispiel den Protagonisten in Johannes Laubmeiers autobiographisch geprägtem Debütroman „Das Marterl“ (Klett-Cotta Verlag). Der Erzähler Johannes kehrt zehn Jahre nach dem Unfalltod seines Vaters in sein Heimatdorf in Niederbayern zurück, getrieben von dem Wunsch, noch einmal in die Vergangenheit einzutauchen. Im Text vermischen sich neue Eindrücke der einst so vertrauten Umgebung mit Schilderungen der erinnerten Vergangenheit, wodurch eine sensible Annäherung an den tragischen Verlust des Vaters stattfindet.
 
Achten, Schulz, Laubmeier, Wittig
© Piper, © Hanser, © Klett-Cotta, © Suhrkamp
Nach fast 25 Jahren Abwesenheit kehrt Jakob Kilv in Willi Achtens Roman „Rückkehr“ (Piper Verlag) in sein Heimatdorf im bayerischen Alpenvorland zurück. Auch hier ruft das Wiedersehen mit Freund*innen und seiner Jugendliebe Liv Erinnerungen hervor: An den letzten gemeinsamen Sommer, der mit einem Brand endete und bei dem einer der Freunde ums Leben kam. Erneut stellt sich für den Ich-Erzähler die Frage, wer für den Vorfall verantwortlich war.

Zwei weitere Romane zeigen, dass eine Rückkehr in die Kindheit und Jugend auch in der eigenen Erinnerung möglich ist. In „Wir waren wie Brüder“ (Hanser Berlin) beschreibt der Journalist Daniel Schulz die Nachwendezeit der 90er Jahre in Brandenburg, die von Arbeitslosigkeit, rechter Gewalt und Unsicherheit geprägt waren. Auch „Nullerjahre“ (Kiepenheuer & Witsch) von Hendrik Bolz, bekannt als Rapper „Testo“, setzt sich mit dieser Umbruchszeit auseinander. In einer rasanten, von popkulturellen Zitaten durchzogenen Sprache erzählt Bolz in seinem autobiographischen Buch von einer Jugend im Stralsunder Plattenbauviertel „Knieper West“. Mit ihren eindringlich persönlichen Blicken auf die Nachwendezeit in der ostdeutschen Provinz schließen Daniel Schulz und Hendrik Bolz eine Lücke in der deutschsprachigen Literatur.

Doch das Land muss nicht immer verheißungsvolle Idylle oder Projektionsfläche der Erinnerungen sein: Manchmal ist es auch einfach nur zufälliger Lebensmittelpunkt der Hauptfiguren. So möchte Sven Pfizenmaier seinen Roman „Draußen feiern die Leute“ (Kein & Aber Verlag) selbst nicht als „Provinzroman“ bezeichnen, und doch spielt das Buch in einem Dorf zwischen Hannover und Celle. Pfizenmaiers Erzählinteresse gilt vor allem drei jungen Erwachsenen, die jeweils von ganz unterschiedlichen, seltsamen Eigenschaften geplagt sind. Gleichzeitig verschwinden in dem niedersächsischen Dorf wie auch im ganzen Land junge Menschen, sodass sich der Roman nach und nach zu einer mystischen Kriminalgeschichte entwickelt.
 
Bolz, Pfizenmaier, Bilkau, Kaiser-Mühlecker
© KiWi, © Kein & Aber, © Luchterhand, © S. Fischer
In ihrem von einer unheimlichen Stimmung durchzogenen Roman „Nebenan“ (Luchterhand Verlag) porträtiert Kristine Bilkau ein kleines Dorf am Nord-Ostsee-Kanal, in dem die beiden Frauen Julia und Astrid leben. Neben der Beschreibung der persönlichen Lebenskrisen der Frauen, nimmt die Autorin auch den Leerstand in der nahen Kreisstadt und das plötzliche Verschwinden einer im Dorf lebenden Familie in den Fokus.

Und auch das neuste Buch des schon einmal als „Chronisten der ländlichen Welt“ bezeichneten Schriftstellers Reinhard Kaiser-Mühlecker ist von einem düster melancholischen Grundton geprägt. In „Wilderer“ (Fischer Verlag) lässt Kaiser-Mühlecker die zwei Welten Stadt und Land aufeinanderprallen, personifiziert durch den jungen Landwirt Jakob und die Salzburger Künstlerin Katja, die sich auf einer Online-Dating-Plattform kennenlernen und ihr Leben fortan gemeinsam bestreiten.

Auffällig an dieser neuen deutschsprachigen Provinz-Literatur ist, dass das Leben auf dem Land häufig mit einer unheilvollen Stimmung verbunden ist – vom verheißungsvollen Paradies keine Spur. Fast wirkt es, als würden Autor*innen mit dem eindimensionalen Klischee des sorgenfreien Landlebens brechen wollen. Denn so vielfältig das Leben außerhalb der Stadt in der Realität ist, so bunt wird es in den aktuellen Spielarten des „Dorfromans“ geschildert. Die deutschsprachige Gegenwartsliteratur wird dadurch um interessante Facetten bereichert.


Sally-Charell Delin ist Journalistin, Moderatorin und Rezensentin beim Saarländischen Rundfunk. Sie moderiert Lesungen, das Gesprächsformat "Literatur im Gespräch" und den Podcast "tabularasa  - weg mit Tabus". Thematisch beschäftigt sie sich vor allem mit junger, deutschsprachiger Literatur, Kultur und Gesellschaft.

Copyright: © 2022 Litrix.de