Category: Non-fiction

Martin Geck
Wagner
[Richard Wagner. A Life in Music]

Biography

Review

[The English translation of this book has been published by The University of Chicago Press, Chicago 2013: Richard Wagner. A Life in Music]

​The composer Richard Wagner, whose two-hundredth birthday is being celebrated this year, is one of the most intriguing and controversial figures in music history. As to be expected, the anniversary has produced a flood of new biographies and studies, which owe their existence more to the calendar date than to any gaps in research being filled, and which therefore don’t necessarily offer a reassessment of the man or a deeper understanding of his work. A notable exception, where festive occasion and new findings are fortunate to overlap, is the Wagner biography of Martin Geck.

The trained musicologist Geck, born in 1936, has long been considered one of the most fascinating figures in his field in Germany thanks to his unconventional style and approach. Though renowned as the author of works on Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann, Mendelssohn, and Brahms, he is still regarded as a Wagner specialist, his knowledge and insights having steadily grown since becoming the founding editor of Wagner's complete works in 1966. What sets him apart more than anything is his broad intellectual horizon. Geck is not only a music scholar by training but a theologian and philosopher as well. He is highly literate, and is just as versed in the jungle of contemporary theories as he is in the labyrinth of historical research. He has a firm command of both the academic and journalistic styles of writing, and knows how to combine them into a brilliant and lively narrative voice.

A master of his material and the tools of his trade, he has no need to posit a hypothesis. It is enough for him to pose questions, which he then attempts to answer. But before undertaking any of this, Geck explains his “writerly ethic”: “It is not my aim to ‘figure out’ Wagner, but to learn something about myself and the age I live in.” In short, he is out to discover what’s behind the undiminished appeal of Wagner, particularly his opera works; what ideas, ideologies, values, or revaluations posterity attaches to them; whether his work conveys a “message” and, if so, how this differs from the projections of stage directors.

The author’s own perception of Wagner is described as “fascination and dread in a delicate balance.” This confession sets the stage for his subsequent investigation. Geck’s concern is the contradictions and ambivalencies of Wagner’s character, of his work and its reception. He is not so much the researcher, who endeavours to remain objective, aloof and abstract at all costs, but the learned and sceptical analyst-interpreter, who is nonetheless always emotionally involved as only an enthusiast can be. From this perspective the composer’s self-mystifications can be seen as part of a Gesamtkunstwerk, his remarks about “everything under the sun,” copiously recorded in Cosima’s diaries, a “treasure trove and trap at once.”

Martin Geck performs a graceful balancing act, between the “theatrical primal scene” in Wagner’s life and his later role as a “scent hound of modernity.” He effortlessly glides through the operas in chronological fashion, deploying a wealth of material, quotes and other food for thought, references and cross-references, without ever becoming wordy – bold leaps and accelerandos included. The “Apropos” section at the end of each of the book’s 14 chapters offers brief digressions, examining the relation between Wagner and Jews, both contemporary and later-born, skilfully applying the principle of ambivalence to the awkward question of whether or not Wagner’s anti-Semitism was detrimental to his work and legacy. Sample scores and informative illustrations, along with an index of works and a list of references, round off one of the most thought-provoking books to appear to date about the complex case of Richard Wagner. 
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 18.03.2013

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by David Burnett

Sparte: Sachbuch

Martin Geck
Wagner

Biografie

Buchbesprechung

​ Der Komponist Richard Wagner, dessen zweihundertster Geburtstag in diesem Jahr gefeiert wird, ist eine der schillerndsten und umstrittensten Figuren der Musikgeschichte. Erwartungsgemäß hat das Jubiläum eine Flut biographischer und monographischer Neuerscheinungen ausgelöst, die allerdings, weil sie ihre Entstehung eher einem Kalenderdatum verdanken als der Schließung von Forschungslücken, nicht zwangsläufig zur Neubewertung des Jubilars oder zum tieferen Verständnis seines Œuvres führen. Eine jener Ausnahmen, bei denen Anlass und Ergebnis glücklich zusammenfallen, ist die Wagner-Biographie von Martin Geck.

Der 1936 geborene Musikwissenschaftler wird wegen seiner eigenwilligen Sprach- und Vermittlungskunst seit langem zu den interessantesten Vertretern seines Fachs in Deutschland gezählt. Und er gilt, obwohl er sich als Autor auch um Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann, Mendelssohn und Brahms verdient gemacht hat, als Wagner-Spezialist, dessen Kenntnis- und Erkenntnisreichtum stetig gewachsen ist, seit er 1966 Gründungsredakteur der Wagner-Gesamtausgabe wurde. Was ihn jedoch vor allem auszeichnet, ist sein weiter Horizont: Geck ist nicht nur Musikologe, sondern auch studierter Theologe und Philosoph; er ist literarisch hochgebildet; er bewegt sich im Dschungel zeitgenössischer Theorien so sicher wie im Dickicht der historischen Forschung; er beherrscht neben dem wissenschaftlichen Idiom auch das journalistische Schreiben und weiß beides zu einem glänzenden, lebendigen Erzählstil zu verschmelzen.

Wer derart souverän über seinen Stoff und sein Instrumentarium verfügt, muss keine These präsentieren, sondern kann Fragen formulieren, nach deren Antwort er selbst noch sucht. Martin Geck schickt diesen Fragstellungen sein „Autoren-Ethos“ voraus, das da lautet: „Ich will nicht Wagner auf die Schliche kommen, sondern mir selbst und meiner Zeit.“ Das bedeutet, er möchte ergründen, worin die ungebrochene Anziehungskraft vor allem des Wagnerschen Opernschaffens besteht, welche Ideen und Ideologien, Wert- oder Unwertbegriffe sich für die Nachwelt damit verbinden, ob das Werk „Botschaften“ vermittelt und wie diese sich von den Projektionen des Regietheaters unterscheiden.

Seine eigene Wahrnehmung Wagners erlebt der Autor als „Faszination und Grauen in einem empfindlichen Gleichgewicht“. Mit diesem Bekenntnis gibt er die Richtung seiner Untersuchung vor: Es geht ihm um die Widersprüche und Ambivalenzen in Wagners Person, in seinem Œuvre und in dessen Rezeptionsgeschichte. Gecks Ansatz ist hier weniger der des Forschers, der sich um Distanz, Objektivität und Abstraktion bemüht, als der des gelehrten, skeptisch analysierenden und interpretierenden, doch innerlich beteiligten Liebhabers. Aus dieser Perspektive lassen sich die Selbstmystifikationen des Komponisten als Teil seiner Arbeit am „Gesamtkunstwerk“ betrachten und seine Äußerungen „über Gott und die Welt“, die in Cosima Wagners Tagebüchern zu Tausenden überliefert sind, als „eine Fund- und zugleich eine Fallgrube“.

Martin Geck balanciert elegant auf der Grenze zwischen beiden, von der „theatralischen Urszene“ in Wagners Leben bis zu seiner späten Rolle als „Spürhund der Moderne“. So folgt er der Chronologie der Opern in geradezu tänzerischem Rhythmus, eine Fülle an Material, Zitaten und Denkimpulsen, Rück- und Wechselbezügen aufbietend, ohne je weitschweifig zu werden - kühne Sprünge und Accelerandi inklusive. Die Rubrik „À propos“, die jedem der 14 Kapitel nachgeschaltet ist, beleuchtet in knappen Exkursen das Verhältnis von Zeitgenossen und Nachgeborenen jüdischer Herkunft zu Wagner und wendet so das Prinzip der Ambivalenz klug auch auf die heikle Frage an, ob Wagners Antisemitismus sein Werk beschädigt habe. Notenbeispiele und aussagekräftige Abbildungen komplettieren neben Werkregister und Literaturverzeichnis eines der anregendsten Bücher über den schwierigen Fall Wagner, die bis dato erschienen sind.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 18.03.2013

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.