Category: Non-fiction

Thomas Medicus
Melitta von Stauffenberg. Ein deutsches Leben
[Melitta von Stauffenberg. A German life]

Biography

Review

​Something must have been in the air. The very year that Orville Wright manned the first controlled powered aircraft flight in history, the aviator Melitta Schiller was born. Aeronautics was Schiller’s life, but in the end it is also what killed her. Thomas Medicus' biography recounts this exceptional woman’s life story and her extraordinary career, which was as riven and contradictory as the era in which she lived.

Born 1903 in the Prussian province of Posen, she spent a happy childhood in a small town, which today is called Krotoszyn. Her father, the son of Galician Jews, converted to Protestantism, thus transforming himself into a typical national conservative of the Wilhelmina era. His position as an architect allowed his family to enjoy a carefree, educated middle-class life. WWI, however, changed everything.

According to Medicus, this event had a decisive influence on the then eleven-year Melitta Schiller’s future. She remained aloof from the others at her girls’ boarding school, and through a combination of ascetic practices and daring feats became addicted to experiences that pushed her beyond the limits: motorcycling, climbing and skiing in the Krkonoše Mountains, jumping into reservoirs from more than thirty feet high. Perhaps even then she knew diving would become her passion. At seventeen she piloted her first glider.

Born exactly half a century after Melitta Schiller, the journalist Thomas Medicus took nearly four years to complete her biography. Meticulous research brought to light rare bits of information garnered from documents, diaries, and eyewitness accounts. It is an impressive work filled with details about the aeronautics of her era and people who played even a minor role in her life. The particular strength of the book, however, is how Medicus manages to portray Schiller's life story as both a consequence and symptom of her era.

In the Weimar Republic, Melitta Schiller was clearly an anomaly: she was both a bohemian and an engineering science student in Munich; after her studies, she fast-tracked a stellar career in the relatively new field of aeronautic research in Berlin. She was both a test pilot and an engineer. This two-pronged approach set her apart from other aviators, such as Elly Beinhorn and her lifelong rival Hanna Reitsch.

Medicus painstakingly describes Melitta Schiller’s career against the backdrop of key political events of the era: Hitler’s Beer Hall Putsch, hyperinflation, and the seizure of power by the Nazis. Schiller profited from Germany’s secret rearmament and soon would be flying exclusively for the Nazi regime. The flapper turned "flying Amazon" was sporty, tanned, androgynous. With her closely cropped hair and a cigarette in her mouth, she perfectly fit the image. She worked in weapons research and developed propeller and dive sights. She conducted more than two thousand test flights in bombers and destroyers, sometimes diving fifteen times per day. In 1937, she was granted the title of flight captain. And she had a swastika emblazoned on the rear of her sport airplane.

How was it possible that a woman, who under the Nuremberg Laws was rendered a "Jewish half-breed of the first degree" under the Nazis, was able to make such an extraordinary career? Did she use the Nazi dictatorship to sponsor her passion for aviation? or was she exploited by the regime? Probably both are true. As a "non-Aryan," she always ran the risk of being discriminated against. But she allowed no doubts about her loyalty to the (National Socialist) "community.” In 1941, she was protected under the highest German authority (Reichssippenamt), receiving a certificate proving she was a full-blooded German citizen, and she was awarded the Iron Cross Second Class in Hermann Göring's villa.

How much of Schiller’s compliance with the regime was voluntary? To what degree was she forced to comply? Medicus vacillates between these two poles, yet is unable to find a definitive answer. To complicate matters further, she was married to the historian and Stefan George disciple, Alexander Schenk Graf von Stauffenberg, whose brother Claus had masterminded the attempt to assassinate Hitler on July 20, 1944. By this time, Schiller’s excessive flying had turned her into an exhausted, furrow-faced woman, "flown-out" as it was called back then. Today we would probably call it burned-out syndrome. After the failed assassination, the poster girl for the Nazi regime was taken into custody along with several others.

Unlike other biographers, Medicus is convinced that Melitta Schiller had nothing to do with the assassination. Nonetheless, the event is considered the final turning point in her life. When she was released six weeks later, due to her “importance for the war effort”, she tried to help her imprisoned friends and family members, and flew her airplane over the Buchenwald concentration camp where her husband was imprisoned.

Four weeks before the war ended, she flew a training aircraft over the Lower Bavarian Danube Valley in search of her husband who was supposed to be brought to South Tyrol with several other special prisoners. Most likely an American fighter plane shot her down. Melitta Schiller survived the crash, but reportedly died on the way to hospital from a skull fracture. Rumors abounded: Were important secret documents from the resistance movement on board? Did she have a bad conscience? "Perhaps, or perhaps for other reasons,” admits Medicus. As in so much of Melitta Schiller's life, her death, too, remains a mystery.
Vorname Name

By Daniel Grinsted, 18.10.2012

​Daniel Grinsted is a cultural critic with a degree in Anglo-American literature. He works as a freelance arts journalist for the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, Börsenblatt and other media. 

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Sachbuch

Thomas Medicus
Melitta von Stauffenberg. Ein deutsches Leben

Biografie

Buchbesprechung

​Etwas lag wohl in der Luft. Die Fliegerin Melitta Schiller kam im selben Jahr zur Welt, in dem Orville Wright der erste gesteuerte Motorflug der Geschichte gelang. Die Luftfahrt sollte ihr Leben prägen und sie am Ende sogar das Leben kosten. Von dieser ungewöhnlichen Frau handelt Thomas Medicus' Biografie. Ihr Werdegang ist so zerrissen und widersprüchlich wie die Epoche, in der sie lebte.

Geboren 1903 in der preußischen Provinz Posen, verbringt sie eine glückliche Kindheit in einer Kleinstadt, die heute Krotoszyn heißt. Ihr Vater, Sohn galizischer Juden, hat sich protestantisch taufen lassen und sich zu einem nationalkonservativen Wilhelminer gewandelt. Seine Stellung als Baurat verschafft seiner Familie ein sorgenfreies, bildungsbürgerliches Leben. Dann kommt der Erste Weltkrieg und verändert alles.

Laut Medicus hatte dieses Ereignis entscheidenden Einfluss auf das weitere Leben der damals elfjährigen Melitta. Im Mädchenpensionat kapselt sie sich emotional ab, wird süchtig nach Grenzerfahrungen, die sie durch Askese und waghalsige Unternehmungen herbeiführt: Motorradfahren, Klettern und Skifahren im Riesengebirge, Sprünge in Stauseen aus mehr als zehn Metern Höhe. Vielleicht ahnt sie damals schon, dass Stürze einmal ihre große Leidenschaft werden sollen. Mit siebzehn steuert sie das erste Mal ein Segelflugzeug.

Der Journalist Thomas Medicus, genau ein halbes Jahrhundert nach Melitta Schiller geboren, hat fast vier Jahre an seiner Biografie gearbeitet. Akribische Recherchen förderten schwer auffindbare Informationen zutage, zusammengetragen aus Dokumenten, Tagebüchern und den Erinnerungen von Zeitzeugen. Es ist ein imponierendes Werk, das selbst Details wie die zeitgenössische Flugtechnik oder Figuren, die in Melittas Leben eher eine Nebenrolle spielen, ausführlich darstellt. Die besondere Stärke des Buches liegt jedoch darin, wie Medicus, Melittas Lebensgeschichte als Konsequenz und Symptom ihrer Zeit herausarbeitet.

In der Weimarer Republik war Melitta Schiller eine Ausnahmeerscheinung: eine Bohemienne, die in München Technische Physik studiert und anschließend eine steile Karriere in der jungen Berliner Luftfahrtforschung macht. Dem Fliegen widmet sie sich nicht nur als Testpilotin, sondern auch als Ingenieurin. Diese zweigleisige Herangehensweise unterschied sie von anderen Fliegerinnen wie Elly Beinhorn oder ihrer Intimfeindin Hanna Reitsch.

Sorgfältig zeichnet Medicus Melittas Karriere vor dem Hintergrund der politischen Ereignisse nach: Hitlerputsch, Hyperinflation, Machtergreifung. Sie profitiert von der geheimen Wiederaufrüstung, kann das Fliegen im NS-Staat zu ihrem Lebensinhalt machen. Aus dem Flapper wird eine „fliegende Amazone“: sportlich, sonnengebräunt, androgyn. Mit Kurzhaarschnitt und Zigarette im Mundwinkel. Sie arbeitet in der Rüstungsforschung, entwickelt Propeller und Sturzflugvisiere. In Bombern und Zerstörern absolviert sie mehr als zweitausend Sturzflüge, manchmal fünfzehn am Tag. 1937 wird sie zum Flugkapitän ernannt. Am Heck ihres Sportflugzeugs prangt das Hakenkreuz.

Wie kam es, dass eine Frau, die nach den Nürnberger Gesetzen als „jüdischer Mischling ersten Grades“ galt, unter den Nationalsozialisten eine solche Karriere machte? Nutzte sie die NS-Diktatur für ihre Flugbegeisterung oder ließ sie sich vom Regime ausnutzen? Wahrscheinlich trifft beides zu. Als „Nicht-Arierin“ lief sie stets Gefahr, diskriminiert zu werden. Zweifel an ihrer Treue zur „Volksgemeinschaft“ wollte sie nicht aufkommen lassen. Wohl von höchster Stelle geschützt, erhält Melitta 1941 vom Reichssippenamt einen „Deutschblütigkeitsbescheid“, später in Hermann Görings Villa das Eiserne Kreuz II. Klasse.

Wie viel dieser Anpassung war freiwillig, wie viel erzwungen? Medicus arbeitet sich an dieser Gratwanderung ab, findet aber zu keiner klaren Position. Hinzu kommt, dass Melitta durch ihren Ehemann, den Historiker und George-Jünger Alexander Schenk Graf von Stauffenberg, mit der zentralen Person des Attentats vom 20. Juli 1944 verschwägert ist. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hat die exzessive Fliegerei sie zu einer übermüdeten, faltenzerfurchten Frau gemacht, „abgeflogen“ nannte man das damals. Heute würde man wohl von Burn-out sprechen. Die Sympathiewerberin für den NS-Staat wird nach dem misslungenen Anschlag zusammen mit weiteren Personen in Sippenhaft genommen.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Biografen ist Medicus überzeugt, dass Melitta mit dem Attentat nichts zu tun hatte. Das Ereignis wird dennoch zur letzten Zäsur ihres Lebens. Als man sie nach sechs Wochen wegen ihrer „Kriegswichtigkeit“ entlässt, versucht sie, ihren gefangenen Freunden und Familienmitgliedern zu helfen, kreist mit dem Flugzeug über dem KZ Buchenwald, in dem ihr Mann inhaftiert ist.

Vier Wochen vor Kriegsende fliegt sie mit einem Übungsflugzeug über das niederbayerische Donautal, auf der Suche nach ihrem Mann, der gemeinsam mit weiteren Sonderhäftlingen nach Südtirol gebracht werden soll. Wahrscheinlich schießt ein amerikanisches Jagdflugzeug sie ab. Melitta überlebt den Absturz, stirbt auf dem Weg ins Krankenhaus angeblich an einem Schädelbasisbruch. Gerüchte entstehen: Waren wichtige Geheimakten der Widerstandsbewegung an Bord? Hat die eigene Flak sie auf dem Gewissen? „Es könnte so, aber auch ganz anders gewesen sein“, räumt Medicus ein. Wie vieles in Melittas Leben bleibt auch ihr Tod ein Rätsel.          
Vorname Name

Von Daniel Grinsted, 18.10.2012

​Daniel Grinsted ist Kulturwissenschaftler und Anglist/Amerikanist. Er arbeitet als freier Kulturjournalist für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, das Börsenblatt und andere Medien.